Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

The Stealers' War

By Stephen Hunt
Authors:
Stephen Hunt
Weyland has been at war. Invaded by a technologically advanced enemy, the cities sacked, and what fragile peace remained torn apart by a civil war.All anyone should want is a return to peace.But Jacob Carneham still wants his revenge; and if he can lure the invaders into the mountain he can have it. He can kill them all. If he does, there may never be peace again.If he doesn't, Weyland will never be free of the threat of invasion.The northern horse lords are planning an attack. A future Empress is fighting to save her daughter. Jacob's son is trying to restore peace and stability to Weyland, alongside the rightful King. And behind it all is a greater struggle, which may spell the end for them all . . .
  • More

The Slow Regard of Silent Things

By Patrick Rothfuss
Authors:
Patrick Rothfuss
The University, a renowned bastion of knowledge, attracts the brightest minds to unravel the mysteries of enlightened sciences like artificing and alchemy. Yet deep below its bustling halls lies a complex and cavernous maze of abandoned rooms and ancient passageways - and in the heart of it all lives Auri.Formerly a student at the University, now Auri spends her days tending the world around her. She has learned that some mysteries are best left settled and safe. No longer fooled by the sharp rationality so treasured by the University, Auri sees beyond the surface of things, into subtle dangers and hidden names.At once joyous and haunting, THE SLOW REGARD OF SILENT THINGS is a rich, atmospheric and lyrical tale, featuring one of the most beloved characters from Rothfuss' acclaimed fantasy series.
  • More

The Splintered Gods

By Stephen Deas
Authors:
Stephen Deas
Praised by the likes of Joe Abercrombie and Brent Weeks, Stephen Deas has made dragons his own.Captured by an unknown enemy and forced to wage war on his rivals, the Dragon Queen has found herself hated and feared by all the people of this new land. There is little they can do to hurt her while she has her dragon, but she cannot escape while the magic necklace she is forced to wear remains active - or it will throttle her. And the enemies of her new master are gathering for revenge ...Lost in a body that isn't his own, Berren - the Bloody Judge - continues his search for the man who stole his life. Accompanied by a single Adamantine soldier, they scrabble to survive in a world shaken by the Dragon Queen's attack and suspicious of all those who are strangers. But there is another power inside Berren, one which escapes when he is in danger and has the habit of disintegrating those around him. And that power has its own agenda ... One that will lead it to the Dragon Queen, and battle.The critics, fellow authors and readers alike are agreed - if you love dragons and epic fantasy, Stephen Deas is the writer for you. The man who brought dragons back to their full glory, might and terror.
  • More

Steelheart

By Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Ten years ago, Calamity came. It was a burst in the sky that gave ordinary men and women extraordinary powers. The awed public started calling them Epics. But Epics are no friend of man. With incredible gifts came the desire to rule. And to rule man you must crush his wills. Nobody fights the Epics...nobody but the Reckoners. A shadowy group of ordinary humans, they spend their lives studying Epics, finding their weaknesses, and then assassinating them.And David wants in. He wants Steelheart - the Epic who is said to be invincible. The Epic who killed David's father. For years, like the Reckoners, David's been studying, and planning - and he has something they need. Not an object, but an experience. He's seen Steelheart bleed. And he wants revenge.
  • More

Seasonal Baking

By Fiona Cairns
Authors:
Fiona Cairns
Seasonal baking from the Royal cake maker.Royal cake maker, Fiona Cairns, knows how important the seasons are when creating delicious cakes. Not only are ingredients at their very best and cheapest, but it also makes sense to be in tune with the changing colours, moods and celebrations of the seasons. In the spring, why not try baking early rhubarb and vanilla custard cupcakes? On a hot summer's day enjoy a mango pavlova, and on a cold winter's afternoon curl up by the fireside and share a slice of chocolate and cardamom tart. From edible gifts to party and celebration cakes, plus decorating ideas and drink suggestions, SEASONAL BAKING is full of inspiration whatever the time of year or occasion. Fiona Cairns supplies cakes for Waitrose, Selfridges, Harrods, Sainsbury's and Bon Marche Paris and was the official cake designer for Prince William and Kate Middleton's wedding. Many of the cakes in this book are accompanied by decorating ideas, as well as seasonal drink suggestions. Whether you find yourself in the kitchen wondering what to bake for the simple pleasure of it, to share or give to a friend or maybe bake for a party large or small - whatever the time of year or occasion, you will find plenty of ideas.
  • More

The Soddit

By Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
Bingo Sac Grabbins is asked by the coughing wizard Gandef and some (oddly Welsh) dwarves to help them relieve the great dragon Smug of his gold.SF author and Tolkien scholar Adam Roberts has written a parody that is both hilarious and intelligent. With knowing digs at the fantasy genre in general and the mystique that has built around Middle Earth in particular this will make Tolkien's 21st century readers laugh in a way that BORED OF THE RINGS made his fans of 1969 laugh.
  • More

The Sookie Stackhouse Companion

By Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
The complete guide to the internationally bestselling Sookie Stackhouse TRUE BLOOD booksTHE SOOKIE STACKHOUSE COMPANION is a unique guide to Sookie Stackhouse and her dark fantasy Southern-Gothic world, as well as an in-depth look at the award-winning HBO series TRUE BLOOD.The book features a brand-new Sookie story and Charlaine's own map of Bon Temps, never before published, with every place of interest in the town, including Merlotte's bar and Sookie's home.Other treats include:* An introduction by Charlaine about the impact Sookie Stackhouse has had on her writing career, and the influence on the genre at large* A large section on the award-winning HBO series TRUE BLOOD* Detailed summaries of each novel and entries on every important character, event and setting in the series, in Sookie's voice.* An overview of Sookie's world, including information on the vampires, shapeshifter/wereanimal, and fairie factions* Interviews with Charlaine Harris and Alan Ball* A selection of favourite Bon Temps recipes
  • More

The Sweet Scent of Blood

By Suzanne McLeod
Authors:
Suzanne McLeod
THE SWEET SCENT OF BLOOD is the first book of SPELLCRACKERS.COM, a sexy, sassy new series guaranteed to spice up your reading life, and perfect for fans of Kim Harrison.Genevieve Taylor is a Sidhe, one of the noble fae, and she's unusual, even in present-day London where celebrity vampires, eccentric goblins and scheming lesser fae mix freely with the human population. Genny is a rising star at Spellcrackers.com, where she finds the `M' in magic - and that invariably leads to mischief, malice and - too often - murder. Spellcrackers.com is affiliated to the Witch Council, whose ancient tenets prohibit any contact with vampires. Genny also works as a volunteer at a clinic which treats victims of vampire attacks. Then there's her extra-curricular activity, extracting vulnerable fae lured by the local fang gangs. Genny certainly doesn't wants any closer involvement with the vampire community.But when Mr October, one of the hot calendar pin-up vamps, is accused of violently murdering his girlfriend, Genny's called on to repay an old debt and prove his innocence. And that means consorting with some of the sexiest vamps in London!
  • More

Strange Itineraries

By Tim Powers
Authors:
Tim Powers
Strange Itineraries takes you down haunted byways into the heart of Tim Powers country, where you will find turbulent ghosts, secretive immortals and mysterious Ether Bunnies. Containing Tim Powers' short fiction from 1982 to 2004, including his delightful collaborations with James P. Blaylock, Strange Itineraries will enchant you and lead you astray.

The Stone Giant

By James P. Blaylock
Authors:
James P. Blaylock
Theophile Escargot, cast out of Twombly Town for the crime of stealing his own pie, bade a midnight farewell to his unfeeling neighbours and set out on a journey to fabled Balumnia. There he would clash with the master of an elfin airship and a conniving, marble-stealing dwarf; battle to save Leta, a beautiful maid possessed by a malevolent witch; discover magical powers that could make him a hero; and unearth secrets of the legendary land itself.Return to the magical world of The Elfin Ship and The Disappearing Dwarf in this fabulous book.

Soffritto

Every Italian cook has a soffritto - the 'starter kit' of olive oil, herbs, garlic and other core ingredients from which a great dish is built. Lucio Galletto was in search of the soffritto of his life.In 1938, 16-year-old Anna Galletto ran away with Gino Guelfi, the charming gelato maker she'd met at a local dance. In 1943, Anna's brother Mauro escaped from a German prison camp and hunted fascists in the marble mountains of Carrara. In 1951, Mauro and Gino built a shack on a beach next to the ruins of a 2000-year-old Roman city. They started selling fish soup to the artists and writers who were holidaying in the area and became legendary for the way they used the local specialties: parmesan, pecorino, olive oil, pasta, pesto, balsamic vinegar, truffles and prosciutto. In 1975, Mauro's son Lucio arrived for work at the restaurant, fell in love with a beautiful girl sitting in the bar, and ran away with her to Australia.In a new century, Lucio returns to his birthplace - Lunigiana, in north west Italy - on a mission to understand the family, the food and the culture that prepared him to create a successful restaurant in a new world 17,000 kilometres away. Farmers, fishermen, war heroes, winemakers, waiters, hunters, cooks, cousins, aunts, shepherds and scholars told him their secrets and inspired this story, told beautifully by David Dale.
1