Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

The PC Grant Collection

By Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
NEW, EXTENDED EBOOK BOXSET WITH FIVE PC GRANT NOVELS IN ONE PLACEMy name is Peter Grant and until January I was just a probationary constable in that mighty army for justice known to all right-thinking people as the Metropolitan Police Service (and as the Filth to everybody else).Then one night, in pursuance of a murder inquiry, I tried to take a witness statement from someone who was dead but disturbingly voluble, and that brought me to the attention of Inspector Nightingale, the last wizard in England.Now I'm a Detective Constable and a trainee wizard, the first apprentice in fifty years, and my world has become somewhat more complicated: nests of vampires in Purley, negotiating a truce between the warring god and goddess of the Thames, and digging up graves in Covent Garden . . . and there's something festering at the heart of the city I love, a malicious vengeful spirit that takes ordinary Londoners and twists them into grotesque mannequins to act out its drama of violence and despair.Collected here are the first three books in the PC Peter Grant series - RIVERS OF LONDON, MOON OVER SOHO and WHISPERS UNDER GROUND.

A Plague of Swords

By Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
ONE ENEMY HAS FALLENA GREATER ONE REMAINSNOW IT'S WAR . . .The Red Knight withstood the full might of his enemy, and won the day. In a victory which will be remembered through the ages, he brought disparate factions together and turned them into allies against a more powerful foe than they had ever seen.Now, he will need his allies more than ever.Because behind one adversary hid another - one with allies of their own - whose goal was never to destroy Alba, but to distract the Kingdom while achieving his true aim. And whatever it is, it's probably not in the Red Knight's interest.With one army defeated, now the Red Knight must fight again . . . and for every one of his allies there is a corresponding enemy. Spread out in different lands, and on sea, it will all come down to one last gamble. And to whether or not the Red Knight has guessed their foe's true intentions.With each throw of the dice, everything could be lost . . .
  • More

The Pillars of Creation

By Terry Goodkind
Authors:
Terry Goodkind
FAITH OF THE FALLEN took The Sword of Truth into a new decade and onto new heights of intense, thoughtful and meaningful fantasy while never losing sight of the need to tell a compelling and sweeping story.THE PILLARS OF CREATION continues that progression and is written so that new readers to the series can plunge into the richness of his world. Terry Goodkind investigates new depths in his characters and is working to change fantasy and to make The Sword of Truth the dominant fantasy series of the first decade of the new millennium. The new novel introduces a new character, Jennsen, and takes Richard and Kahlan to the ends of the earth as they attempts to track down an unstoppable demon before it kills them and lays waste to the world.
  • More

The PC Grant Novels

By Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
My name is Peter Grant and until January I was just a probationary constable in that mighty army for justice known to all right-thinking people as the Metropolitan Police Service (and as the Filth to everybody else). Then one night, in pursuance of a murder inquiry, I tried to take a witness statement from someone who was dead but disturbingly voluble, and that brought me to the attention of Inspector Nightingale, the last wizard in England.Now I'm a Detective Constable and a trainee wizard, the first apprentice in fifty years, and my world has become somewhat more complicated: nests of vampires in Purley, negotiating a truce between the warring god and goddess of the Thames, and digging up graves in Covent Garden . . . and there's something festering at the heart of the city I love, a malicious vengeful spirit that takes ordinary Londoners and twists them into grotesque mannequins to act out its drama of violence and despair.Collected here are the first three books in the PC Peter Grant series - RIVERS OF LONDON, MOON OVER SOHO and WHISPERS UNDER GROUND.
  • More

Patricia McKillip SF Gateway Omnibus Volume Two

By Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip
Patricia A. McKillip is the author of a number of hugely acclaimed fantasies, including THE FORGOTTEN BEASTS OF ELD and OMBRIA IN SHADOW, both of which won the WORLD FANTASY AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL, and THE RIDDLE-MASTER OF HED and its sequels, which have been compared to Gene Wolfe's epic BOOK OF THE NEW SUN. She has won the MYTHOPOEIC AWARD three times and in 2008 was given the WORLD FANTASY AWARD FOR LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT. This omnibus collects three of her later works: SONG FOR THE BASILISK, NEBULA-nominee THE TOWER AT STONY WOOD and the WORLD FANTASY AWARD-shortlisted OD MAGIC.
  • More

Patricia McKillip SF Gateway Omnibus Volume One

By Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip
Patricia A. McKillip is the author of a number of hugely acclaimed fantasies, including The Riddle-Master of Hed and its sequels, which have been compared to Gene Wolfe's epic Book of the New Sun, and The Forgotten Beasts of Eld and Ombria in Shadow, both of which won the World Fantasy Award for best novel. She has won the Mythopoeic Award three times and in 2008 was given the World Fantasy Award for lifetime achievement. This omnibus collects three of her later works: In the Forests of Serre, Alphabet of Thorn and The Bell at Sealey Head. IN THE FORESTS OF SERRE: In the tales of World Fantasy Award-winning author Patricia McKillip, nothing is ever as it seems. A mirror is never just a mirror; a forest is never just a forest. Here, it is a place where a witch can hide in her house of bones and a prince can bargain with his heart...where good and evil entwine and wear each others' faces...and where a bird with feathers of fire can quench the fiercest longing... ALPHABET OF THORN: One of the most spectacular fantasists of our time, Patricia A. McKillip creates fairy tale worlds of wonder and magic. Now, she opens the page on a time and place where an orphan girl is haunted by thorns...a reluctant queen rules between sea and sky... and epics never end... THE BELL AT SEALEY HEAD: Sealey Head is a small town on the edge of the ocean, a sleepy place where everyone hears the ringing of a bell no one can see. On the outskirts of town is an impressive estate, Aislinn House, where the aged Lady Eglantyne lies dying, and where the doors sometimes open not to its own dusty rooms, but to the wild majesty of a castle full of knights and princesses.
  • More

Poison

By Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough
POISON is a beautifully illustrated re-telling of the Snow White story which takes all the elements of the classic fairytale that we love (the handsome prince, the jealous queen, the beautiful girl and, of course, the poisoning) and puts a modern spin on the characters, their motives and their desires. It's fun, contemporary, sexy, and perfect for fans of ONCE UPON A TIME, GRIMM, SNOW WHITE AND THE HUNTSMAN and more.You can learn more about Sarah Pinborough at www.sarahpinboough.co.uk, or by following @SarahPinborough on twitter.
  • More

Promise Not To Tell

By Jennifer McMahon
Authors:
Jennifer McMahon
Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and teens who enjoy dark, compelling thrillers, this powerful novel is part coming-of-age novel, part ghost story and part psychological thriller.Kate Cypher has returned home to Vermont, after a telephone call from friends who are worried about her mother's failing health. On the night she arrives, a young girl is murdered, a horrific crime that eerily mirrors another from Kate's childhood. Three decades earlier, her misfit friend Del, shunned and derided by her classmates as 'the potato girl', was brutally slain. Del's killer was never found, and Del achieved immortality in local legends and ghost stories.Now, as the new murder investigation draws Kate irresistibly in, her past and present collide in terrifying and unexpected ways. But nothing is quite what it seems - and the grim spectres of her childhood are far from forgotten...
  • More

The Pellucidar SF Gateway Omnibus

By Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs
From the vaults of The SF Gateway, the most comprehensive digital library of classic SFF titles ever assembled, comes an ideal introduction to the fantastic worlds of one of the greatest adventure writers of all time, Edgar Rice Burroughs. The son of a Civil War veteran, Edgar Rice Burroughs was a prolific writer for the early pulp magazines. Famous the world over as the creator of Tarzan - and in SF circles for his Martian tales featuring John Carter - Burroughs is a household name. But there was more to him than apemen and four-armed Martians! This omnibus collects his tales of the world within a hollow Earth: At the Earth's Core, Pellucidar and Tanar of Pellucidar.
  • More

Prisoner of the Indies

By Geoffrey Household
Authors:
Geoffrey Household
An exciting historical children's story from the acclaimed author of ROGUE MALE.The exciting sixteenth-century story of the Englishman Miles Phillips and his fifteen-year journey to New Spain, where he encounters a tropical paradise, good food, and the Inquisition...

The Paper Grail

By James P. Blaylock
Authors:
James P. Blaylock
A strange man (named Howard) on a strange quest (for a Paper Grail) in a strange land (California) . . . A lot of fuss for a folded scrap of paper. But considering all the odd people searching for the Grail, it must be something special. Something magical . . .

The Prince Of Mist

By Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Authors:
Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  • More

Powers

By Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin
The final part in the story that started with GIFTS, and the tale of Gry Barre of Roddmant and Orrec Caspro of Caspromant, two children with extraordinary powers.They play a part in VOICES too, the sequel to GIFTS, in which Memer, a girl who has grown up in a captured city, is part of the people's fight for freedom.And now, in POWERS, we have the conclusion to Ursula Le Guin's beautifully written, powerful and moving story of the Western Isles, a tale that will leave every reader begging for more.
  • More
1