Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

Political Risk

By Condoleezza Rice, Amy Zegart
Authors:
Condoleezza Rice, Amy Zegart
Political risk - the probability that a political action could significantly affect an organisation - is changing fast, and it's more widespread than ever before.In the past, the chief concern used to be whether a foreign dictator would nationalise the country's oil industry or impose onerous new regulations. Today, political risk stems from a widening array of political agents, from Twitter users and terrorists to local officials, transnational activists, hackers and insurgents. What's more, the very institutions and laws that are supposed to reduce uncertainty and risk often increase it instead. This means that in today's globalised world there are no 'safe' bets. Political risk affects companies and organisations of all sizes, operating everywhere from London to Lahore, even if they don't know it.Political Risk investigates and analyses this shifting landscape, suggests what businesses can do to navigate it, and explains how all of us can better understand and deal with these rapidly changing geopolitical dynamics.
  • More

A Planet for the President

By Alistair Beaton
Authors:
Alistair Beaton
This is a story written over a decade ago.Before Fake News, or Alternative Facts, or even social media.It told the story of a not-too-distant future, which really was not too distant.*The President of the United States is facing a global catastrophe.The environment is in meltdown. People are dying. Americans are dying.Even he can't ignore it.There's hardly a corner of the world that isn't in crisis.And that's when he's persuaded of a truth his advisers hold to be self-evident: That it's time to think the unthinkable.The problem isn't power, or politics, or the planet, or the President.It's the People.*Hilarious and horrifying - this enormously entertaining satire has never been more razor-sharp, revelatory or relevant. What readers are saying about this hilarious, critically acclaimed novel:'For anyone who likes laughs and thrills in one package and who's been following recent developments in the White House this is an absolute must.' Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars'This political and satirical novel manages to be both thrilling and funny. And, given its prescience, scary too. The characters, the setting and the plot are fantastic and believable. A real page turner.' Amazon Reviewer,5 stars'A frighteningly plausible thriller, which imagines what might happen if the White House were finally to believe that something had to be done about global warming ... clever, funny and a really good read.' Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars'This thriller is packed with good jokes and tells a tale that is utterly credible. Parts were jaw-droppingly frightening and I wished I could have put it down but thesharp humour and pacey plot made me keep reading. It's a laugh and a chiller in one book.' Amazon Reviewer,5 stars

The Perfect Kill

By Robert Baer
Authors:
Robert Baer
What is the definition of assassination? Robert Baer's boss at the CIA once told him, 'It's a bullet with a man's name on it.' Sometimes assassination is the senseless act of a psychotic, a bloodletting without social value. Other times, it can be the sanest and most humane way to change the course of conflict: one bullet, one death, case closed. Assassination has been dramatised by literature and politicised by infamous murders throughout history, and for Robert Baer, one of the most accomplished agents ever to work for the CIA, it's a source of endless fascination. Over several decades, Baer served as an operative, from Iraq to India and beyond. In THE PERFECT KILL, he takes us on a wildly entertaining narrative adventure through a history of political murder, interweaving his first-hand experience and his decades-long cat-and-mouse hunt for the greatest assassin of the modern age. A true maverick with an undeniably captivating personal story, Baer pulls back the curtain to give a glimpse of the underbelly of world politics, and the quiet murderers who operate on the fringe of our society.
  • More

Perilous Question

By Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser
The two-year revolution that totally changed how Britain is governed.Internationally bestselling historian Antonia Fraser's new book brilliantly evokes one year of pre-Victorian political and social history - the passing of the Great Reform Bill of 1832, an eventful and violent year that featured riots in Bristol, Manchester and Nottingham.The time-span of the book is from Wellington's intractable declaration in November 1830 that 'The beginning of reform is beginning of revolution' to 7 June 1832, when William IV reluctantly assented to the Great Reform Bill, under the double threat of the creation of 60 new peers in the House of Lords and the threat of revolution throughout the country. Wider themes of Irish and 'negro emancipation' underscore the narrative.The book is character driven; we learn of the Whig aristocrats prepared to whittle away their own power to bring liberty to the country, the all-too-conservative opposition who included the intransigent Duchess of Kent and Queen Adelaide and finally the 'revolutionaries' like William Cobbett, author of Rural Rides.These events led to a total change in the way Britain was governed, a two-year revolution that Antonia Fraser brings to vivid dramatic life.
  • More

Promise Not To Tell

By Jennifer McMahon
Authors:
Jennifer McMahon
Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and teens who enjoy dark, compelling thrillers, this powerful novel is part coming-of-age novel, part ghost story and part psychological thriller.Kate Cypher has returned home to Vermont, after a telephone call from friends who are worried about her mother's failing health. On the night she arrives, a young girl is murdered, a horrific crime that eerily mirrors another from Kate's childhood. Three decades earlier, her misfit friend Del, shunned and derided by her classmates as 'the potato girl', was brutally slain. Del's killer was never found, and Del achieved immortality in local legends and ghost stories.Now, as the new murder investigation draws Kate irresistibly in, her past and present collide in terrifying and unexpected ways. But nothing is quite what it seems - and the grim spectres of her childhood are far from forgotten...
  • More

A Private Affair

By Lesley Lokko
Authors:
Lesley Lokko
No matter who you are, love comes at a price...Sam, the ugly duckling who grew into a swan. Now beautiful and wealthy, with a glittering career, no one can understand why she's still on her own. When she meets a handsome stranger on holiday, things finally seem to be falling into place... Meaghan, a true survivor. The teenage runaway who worked her way off the streets, she was swept off her feet by a young army officer, to live on the other side of the world, finally escaping the family she loathed...Dani, the beautiful misfit, desperately looking for daddy in all the wrong places, and finding instead a man who will teach her everything that is wrong and corrupt about love.And Abby, the model wife, everything her husband and family could want and more, but never being herself. Until a dark secret threatens to pull her well-ordered life apart.
  • More

The Perfect Couple

By Robyn Sisman
Authors:
Robyn Sisman
Is all fair in love and war? Find out in the irresistible new rom-com from Robyn Sisman...Kate is a rising star in one of London's top barristers' chambers. Smart, competitive and driven, she is jubilant when she lands a high-profile case representing the TV talent show mogul Jez Carnaby. Children are involved, as are houses, helicopters, racehorses, private islands, and money - lots of it. Winning this case will guarantee Kate the success and stability she craves. There's only one problem: on the opposing legal team is her own husband, Rikki.Frost settles on their previously hot marriage. Kate is outraged by Rikki's sympathy for his female client, whom Kate sees as a negligent mother and freeloader. Rikki is disgusted that contact with Carnaby is making her as selfish as her client. Suddenly issues which they could laugh off or resolve in bed erupt into quarrels, whether about who puts out the rubbish bin or about Kate's ambivalence towards having children. Fighting the case in the court by day while sharing a bed by night, both must reassess their ideas about parenthood, fidelity and the equality of men and women in a modern marriage. From the leafy quadrangles and panelled chambers of London's legal heartland to glitzy country mansions, THE PERFECT COUPLE is a fun and fast battle of the sexes, packed with wit and emotional truth.

Putin And The Rise Of Russia

By Michael Stuermer
Authors:
Michael Stuermer
A brilliant analysis of Putin and the key role a resurgent Russia has to play in world affairs.When the Soviet Union collapsed, the world was left wondering about its destiny. Russia is still an enormous power with a population exceeding 140 million, immense military resources and giant energy reserves - in short, a vast land full of promise and opportunity.Russia has the potential to be a force of stability or a force of turmoil, but when it comes to global affairs, can she be persuaded to join the world order? Will yesterday's revolutionary power become tomorrow's stabilizer?Professor Stuermer's authoritative and timely account considers a Russia going through a defining phase after the departure of Vladimir Putin. History is on the move: we face an open and challenging future in which Russia, for better or for worse, will play a key role.
  • More

Playing the Game

By Belle de Jour
Authors:
Belle de Jour
The first novel from the most infamous call girl in town...Game over? Belle is starting to wonder if she should call time on the call girl business: get a day job, a life free from secrets and have a 'normal' relationship with the Boy. But will Belle cope with the nine-to-five, a staggering decline in her underwear budget and no more paid sex? As Belle explores life and love after the game, her story is frank, smart and refreshingly honest. Punctuated with advice, anecdotes and reflections in her inimitable voice, this is a novel of secrets and lies, scabrous wit and more than a little lust.
  • More
1