Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

The Girl No One Wanted

By Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
She was the girl no one wanted. Violent and disruptive, no foster carer could cope with Leanne's behaviour. Can Maggie Hartley succeed where so many others failed? Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis. ***** A TRUE SHORT STORY BY THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR MAGGIE HARTLEYEleven-year-old Leanne is out of control. Since being taken into care at the age of three, she has had over forty placements, each carer less able to cope with her anger and destruction than the last. Late one night, foster carer Maggie Hartley receives a terrified call from Leanne's current placement, who has barricaded herself in her bathroom to protect herself from Leanne's rage. With the police on standby, Maggie manages to diffuse the situation but Leanne is left without a home once more. Maggie is Leanne's only hope. But this is her last chance. If this placement fails, she will have to be put in a secure unit. Then Leanne threatens Maggie with a knife and makes accusations against her that have to be investigated by Maggie's superiors. Where most others would simply walk away, Maggie refuses to give up on the little girl who's never known love. Can Maggie get through to Leanne and begin to help her heal? Will the girl no one wanted find her forever home?A true short story by The Sunday Times bestselling foster carer Maggie Hartley. Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis.
  • More

Goodbye Europe

By Various
Authors:
Various
This is not a book about politics. It is a book about what makes us British, and what makes us European.Spend time with some of your favourite writers and artists in this truly unique collection spanning everything from art, language, food, music and movies, to war, literature, driving, nudity, geography, smoking and nature.Featuring pieces of exceptional quality from some of our most treasured novelists, historians, journalists, poets and artists, including: Jessie Burton, Richard Herring, Alain de Botton, Tom Bradby, Val McDermid, Matt Haig, Afua Hirsch, Lionel Shriver, Sarah Perry, Sanjeev Bhaskar, Ian Rankin, Owen Jones, Mark Kermode, Robert Macfarlane, Chris Riddell, Former Prime Minister Jim Hacker and many more.A must-read for anyone who wants to understand the times we live in, our relationship with the continent, and ourselves.* * * * *INCLUDES PIECES BY:Yasmin Alibhai-Brown, Sanjeev Bhaskar, Tom Bradby, Jessie Burton, Ben Collins (aka The Stig), Colonel Tim Collins, Robert Crampton, Adam Dant, Alain de Botton, Kate Eberlen, Matt Frei, Nicci French, Simon Garfield, Jonathan Lynn writing as Former Prime Minister Jim Hacker, Matt Haig, Richard Herring, Jennifer Higgie, Afua Hirsch, Owen Jones, Oliver Kamm, Alex Kapranos, Mark Kermode, Hari Kunzru, Olivia Laing, Marie Le Conte, Amy Liptrot, Robert Macfarlane, Henry Marsh, Val McDermid, Ian McEwan, Hollie McNish, Kate Mosse, Jenni Murray, Sarah Perry, Ian Rankin, Jacob Rees-Mogg, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Chris Riddell, Andrew Roberts, Will Self, David Shrigley, Lionel Shriver, Sunny Singh, Ece Temelkuran, Rob Temple, Bee Wilson, Sarah Winman
  • More

Go! Go! Go!

By Will Pearson, Rusty Firmin
Authors:
Will Pearson, Rusty Firmin
Inspiration for the major motion picture 6 Days, starring Jamie Bell as Rusty FirminGo! Go! Go! tells the action-packed story of the 1980 Iranian Embassy siege. It is a comprehensive and gripping account of an unforgettable six-day drama that shook Britain - and the wider world - to the core. Drawing on original and unseen source material from ex-SAS soldier Rusty Firmin, the police and the British Government, Go! Go! Go! takes us to the heart of the whole operation.The assault planning and training, strategy and tactics are described in detail, and the personal stories of the gunmen revealed - who they were, where they came from, why they did it and Saddam Hussein's direct involvement. Compelling accounts of each day of the siege from the hostages' points of view show how they dealt with captivity individually and collectively. And new material explains the negotiators' tactics and their cool exterior versus their internal turmoil as negotiations reached crisis point.
  • More

Girls Will Be Girls

By Emer O'Toole
Authors:
Emer O'Toole
Being a woman is, largely, about performance - how we dress and modify our bodies, what we say, the roles we play, and how we conform to expectations. Gender stereotypes are still deeply embedded in our society, but Emer O'Toole is on a mission to re-write the old script and bend the rules of gender - and she shows how and why we should all be joining in.Exploring what it means to 'act like a girl', Emer takes us on a hilarious and thought-provoking journey through her life (including singing 'Get Your Pits Out for the Lads' on national TV after growing out her body hair). Cross-dressing, booty-shaking, sexual disasters, family dinners and full-body waxing are all lovingly dissected in search of wisdom.With game-changing ideas, academic intelligence and laugh-out-loud humour, this book will open your mind and revolutionise the way that you think about gender.
  • More

Golden Boy

By Abigail Tarttelin
Authors:
Abigail Tarttelin
  • More

Great Harry's Navy

By Geoffrey Moorhouse
Authors:
Geoffrey Moorhouse
Ground-breaking history of how King Henry VIII created England's navyIt was Henry VIII who began the process of making England a first-rate sea-power. He inherited no more than seven warships from Henry VII, yet at his own death the King's Navy had 53 seaworthy ships afloat (much the same size as the Royal Navy today) manned by almost 8,000 sailors.Henry VIII originally needed a navy to hold the English Channel and blockade the enemy while he invaded France. Later when invasion from the continent grew serious Henry's navy fought in many actions.Moorhouse doesn't only deal with seagoing exploits. Thanks to Henry VIII dockyards were built (Greenwich and Deptford), timber had to be felled in quantities previously unknown (from land seized during the dissolution of the monasteries), and hemp (for rope) was harvested; new skills were developed, not least the gun-founders and the master shipwrights.Some of the ships were celebrated - 'Henry Grace a Dieu' (aka 'Great Harry') was the biggest ship in the world - 1,000 tons, 122 guns, crew of 700 and the 'Mary Rose' (500 tons, 80 guns, 40 crew) became one of the most famous after she heeled over too far, took water and sank with the loss of almost all hands off Portsmouth.
  • More

Globalising Hatred

By Denis MacShane
Authors:
Denis MacShane
A hard-hitting essay combined with factual reportage on the new anti-semitism throughout Europe.This book argues that what the 21st century now faces is an ideological assault based on hatred of Jews which is as serious as any major threat to universal values as the world has faced. Anti-semitism is the visible language and action of a deeper threat to world peace, to the achievements of the human spirit we call the Enlightenment, and undermines vital work to address problems like poverty and the challenges of the environment.Denis MacShane's survey of 21st century anti-semitism is based on the All-Party Commission of Enquiry which was chaired by the author in the UK. His book considers examples in Europe and how anti-semitism is now a linking mechanism between different extremisms, usually but not exclusively of the Right. It lists in detail the anti-semitism in national party politics, including the European Parliament, and it examines how Holocaust denial is not a question of liberal free-expression issues but an organised ideological position. The new anti-semitism arises from three main sources: state-sanctioned anti-semitism; that of terrorist movements like Al Qaeda; and that of political movements like the Muslim Brotherhood and its off-shoots and spokesmen.The book is both a cri de coeur for a new tolerance and a resolution to throw light on 21st century anti-semitism, which has left Europe to become a new form of mobilising politics across many continents.
  • More

Glue-Gun Projects

By Jo Packham
Authors:
Jo Packham
The focus is on easy ways to spruce up decorative accessories or fashion them from scratch quickly, choosing among seventeen types of glue. Ready to decorate readers homes are a variety of picture frames; holiday trees comprising empty thread spools, pinecones, candy canes, or other materials; Christmas ornaments; three-dimensional collages; bookends; and wreathes, among others.

Glass Painting for the First Time

By Doris Sorensen
Authors:
Doris Sorensen
Glass painting can be as simple as sponging on a little colour to make a fun design, or as elaborate as texturing and frosting detailed patterns. You¿ll be amazed at what you can do, especially when guided by an introduction that answers all the basic questions: what do I need to get started, and what will it cost? What kinds of applicators and paint do I use? How do I apply a pattern, and achieve different effects, from 'drip and glaze' to reverse imaging? For every technique there¿s a project - like an Italian glass bottle with millefiori and a monogrammed box with stencilling. As you advance, combine colours on a Heart to Heart Canning Jar Lamp; co-ordinate different pieces of whiteware in a Funky Tea Set; and design with laydowns and one-strokes.

Glass Painting In An Afternoon

By Mickey Baskett
Authors:
Mickey Baskett
Simple, easy-to-copy designs, harmonious use of colour and thorough and detailed instructionsIntroductory chapter provides information on paints, supplies and techniques including different manners of application35 projects grouped by type

Glass Art

By Plaid
Authors:
Plaid
Fully illustrated throughoutAn inexpensive craft idea that is suitable for beginners
1