Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

The Little Book of Kindness

By Bernadette Russell
Authors:
Bernadette Russell
The Little Book of Kindness will teach you how to be kind to yourself, to strangers, to those you love, to the world - every day, at every opportunity. Prompted by the seeming hopelessness of the world around her, Bernadette Russell undertook a pledge to be kind to a stranger every day for a year. The experience left her wanting to inspire others. The Little Book of Kindness is packed with fun ideas, practical tips and interactive exercises that encourage you to 'be kind' in every area of life - online, to strangers, to the environment, in your community, to yourself - and change the world, one act of kindness at a time.
  • More

The Little Ghost Girl

By Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
A true story of an abused little girl desperate for somone to love her, and the foster carer who refused to give up on her. A heartbreaking true story by Sunday Times bestselling author Maggie Hartley. Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis.*****Abused, starved and neglected. Ruth was a little ghost of a girl when she arrived into foster mother Maggie Hartley's care. As soon as Ruth arrived on her doorstep, it was clear to foster carer Maggie Hartley that Ruth had seen and experienced things that no 11-year-old should have to. Pale, frail and withdrawn, Ruth had been conditioned to 'see no evil, speak no evil'. Raised by a cruel stepmother and father, Ruth had been abused, underfed and ignored, while her half-siblings lived a life of luxury. Ruth is in desperate need of help, but can Maggie get through to her and unlock the harrowing secret she carries? With no one left in the world to love Ruth, it's up to Maggie to help her find her voice; to be a ghost no more, and bring those who've harmed her to justice.An uplifting and ultimately redemptive read, perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis.
  • More

Lipstick And Powder

By Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
With all the grit and glitz of the 1970s East End, the new Sally Worboyes is simply compellingAnna has everything to make her happy - a husband, a lovely little house in Bethnal Green, two much-longed-for twin baby boys. But recently her husband Frank has been acting differently. He's started coming home late, drinking more heavily. More than once Anna has been sure she's caught a whiff of perfume on his shirts. When confronted, Frank brushes Anna's cautious questions aside, but somehow, Anna knows deep down that something is wrong in their marriage. Anna's sisters run an upmarket escort agency from a fine Victorian house nearby. It can be a risky business, but watching the carefree, laughter-filled banter of the women who work there, Anna begins to long for the girl she once was. Does being a wife and mother really mean that her dancing days are over? Maybe not. Old family friend Rob, a policeman who walks a fine line between right and wrong, is keen to show Anna a good time, even if her husband isn't...
  • More

Love & Laughter

By Lilian Harry
Authors:
Lilian Harry
A delightfully warm novel about the rebuilding of lives in Plymouth and Portsmouth after the Second World War.The War is over at last and in Plymouth and Portsmouth, two of Britain's greatest seaports, and the task of rebuilding must begin. But it is not only streets, businesses and homes that have been laid waste. Lives, too, have been devastated. Marriages have been disrupted, family life shattered, and now the inhabitants must find their own way back to normality - if they can remember what that is.Lucy Pengelly is just one woman whose life has been torn apart by the war. What will happen when her husband returns from the POW camp in the Far East? And what of the growing friendship between Lucy and her friend David, who played such an important part in their lives during the Blitz?
  • More
  • Little Giant Encyclopedia Of Meditation And Blessings

    By Nahaniel Altman
    Authors:
    Nahaniel Altman
    Explore meditation techniques or read prayers for protection, healing, peace, praise and more. Consult this spiritual companion for connection or comfort at any time for any need.

    Last Flight of the Luftwaffe

    By Adrian Weir
    Authors:
    Adrian Weir
    The account of one of the most extraordinary stories to come from the closing days of the Second World War.Desperate times drive determined men to desperate measures. In April 1945, their cause already clearly lost, an ill-assorted, ill-equipped group of Luftwaffe crew decided on one final 'death or glory' kamikaze mission - their trage an incoming USAAF Eighth Air Force bomber formation, their only weapons their aircraft.Adrian Weir has researched this remarkable flight to retell it minute by minute: a hopeless gesture of immense courage, thrilling as the reader flies in the cockpit with the German pilots towards the unstoppable aircarft of the Mighty Eighth. Including accounts from the survivors of the mission, this is one of the most extraordinary stories to come from the closing days of the Second World War.
    • More
  • Little Giant Encyclopaedia Of Superstition

    By Group Diagram
    Authors:
    Group Diagram
    Further Publication in the Little Giant Encyclopedia seriesCovers superstitions from all over the worldHandy format and price make this a perfect gift purchase

    Lights Out Liverpool

    By Maureen Lee
    Authors:
    Maureen Lee
    The first of the Liverpool Pearl Street novels set against the backdrop of the Second World War.As Britain stands alone against a monstrous enemy, the inhabitants of Pearl Street face hardship and heartbreak with courage and humour. The war touches each of them in a different way: for Annie Poulson, a widow, it means never-ending worry when her twin boys are called up and sent to France; Sheila Reilly's husband, Cal, faces the terror of U-Boat attacks; Eileen Costello is liberated from a bitter, loveless marriage when her husband is sent to Egypt and she goes to work in a munitions factory - and falls in love. And Jessica Fleming, down on her luck, is forced to return to the street she'd hoped never to see again.
    • More
    1