Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

The Spark Girl

By Fiona Ford
Authors:
Fiona Ford
'A compelling first novel which I promise you won't be able to put down' Daisy Styles, bestselling author of The Bomb Girls Can her fight for the country fix her broken heart? A knock on the door early one morning wouldn't normally be cause for concern but it is 1941, Britain is at war, and Kitty Williams's fiancé Joe is far from home fighting Hitler with the Navy. As Kitty's heart is shattered into pieces hearing the news she had been dreading, resolve kicks in and she becomes more determined than ever to do her bit for the war effort. Signing up to the Women's Army is just the sort of challenge Kitty needs and on meeting new recruits Mary, Di and Peggy, she is happy to learn that the challenge won't be a lonely one. But it also won't be easy and when bombs start to fall on her home town of Coventry, and supposed allies turn against her, Kitty must find the strength she never knew she had to save her family, fix her broken heart and help her country to victory.The Spark Girl is an absorbing and poignant saga, perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Ellie Dean. The second book in the series, The Spark Girl's Promise is now available for pre-order'a fabulous debut from an immensely talented author' Annie Groves'Ford gets to the heart of what it was like to live through the dangerous war years in this warm, captivating, down-to-earth story which is brimming with engaging characters, adventure, romance and heartbreak.' Lancashire Post 'Fiona Ford has written a charming and very appealing story...Kitty Williams is the girl we all want to be.' Swirl and Thread'an enjoyable read with a twist towards the end to keep the reader engaged until the next one!' Jera's Jamboree
  • More

The Seven Streets of Liverpool

By Maureen Lee
Authors:
Maureen Lee
Liverpool, 1942. As the residents of Pearl Street prepare for Christmas, adversity and tragedy bring them ever closer together. A powerful new saga from the bestselling author of AFTER THE WAR IS OVER.Eileen is worried about the growing distance between herself and her RAF husband since he was seriously injured. Why does Nick find every excuse to stay in London on his weekends off, not returning to his loving wife and gorgeous little boy in Liverpool? Lena Newton has longed for a baby of her own but, with her husband posted overseas with the Navy, it's looking unlikely. Lena's lonely days are brightened by visits to the cinema with her neighbour, Mr Ransome, until a familiar face returns to Pearl Street...Since she discovered her American lover was already married, Kitty has hidden away, too ashamed to return to Pearl Street in disgrace with her baby. Finally facing her fears - and her old friends and neighbours - Kitty learns that life has one more surprise in store for her. As the final years of the war are played out, Pearl Street sees friendships forged, hearts broken, babies born and the most joyful of reunions.Once again SUNDAY TIMES Top 10 bestseller Maureen Lee brings to life the small Liverpool street where everyone has a key on a string in their letter box, in case a friend is in need...
  • More
  • Snowfall in Burracombe

    By Lilian Harry
    Authors:
    Lilian Harry
    It may be winter, but in the Devonshire village of Burracombe there is always warmth and friendship, no matter what troubles arise...In the village of Burracombe, nothing stays secret for long and behind the peaceful, rural charm there's always a scandal to uncover, a newcomer to the village to set tongues wagging, a happy occasion to celebrate or friends to help their neighbours through the tough times.It's December 1953 and for Stella Simmons, recovering from a car crash, the winter wedding that she and her sweetheart had planned seems impossible. Elsewhere in the village, Jackie Tozer is dreaming of America and Hilary Napier, who thought the war had robbed her of her chance of happiness, has to ask herself if she could ever imagine leaving her life at the big house for the sake of love and adventure. The darkest time of the year finds everyone asking questions with no easy answer.As snow falls softly on the village, Burracombe proves once again that there's always a surprise just around the corner.
    • More

    Secrets of the Lost Symbol

    By Dan Burstein, Arne de Keijzer, Sean Barrett, Sean Barrett
    Authors:
    Dan Burstein, Arne de Keijzer, Sean Barrett
    Read by:
    Sean Barrett
    Delve into a whole new world of secret societies, ancient mysteries, hidden symbols, new-age philosophy and cutting-edge science... Discover: the role the Freemasons played in US history; the 'real' Katherine Solomon; the true background of the 'Ancient Mysteries'; the reality of Noetic science and much more...Presenting ideas from world renowned historians, code-breakers, symbologists, theologians, philosophers and scientists, Burstein and de Keijzer break through the web of conspiracies, mythologies, encrypted signs and alternate histories.SECRETS OF THE LOST SYMBOL is a must-read for anyone who wants to separate reality, speculation, fact and fiction in Dan Brown's global phenomenon.Read by Sean Barrett(p) 2010 Orion Publishing Group
    • More

    Secrets of Mary Magdalene

    By Dan Burstein
    Authors:
    Dan Burstein
    A dazzling look at the most elusive figure in Christ's lifeMary Magdalene was a key figure in Christ's life. She was present at his Crucifixion and she was also the first person to see him resurrected. According to Dan Brown's multi-million selling THE DA VINCI CODE, she was also his wife and the mother of his children. In the Gospels, she is described as an outcast and a harlot. This may be due to the disciples' jealousy of Jesus' love for Mary and the closeness of his relationship with her that was not replicated in his relationships with them. In SECRETS OF MARY MAGDALENE, Dan Burstein explodes the myths and analyses who Mary Magdalene was, the true nature of her relationship with Christ and her role in the Christian faith. Did Mary write her own Gospel? If so, what did it say? Where did she come from? Was she Jewish? How did she live? So many questions exist about this lady, Google can find mention of her on 1,740,000 sites in 0.3 seconds. This book will find the answers.

    A Song at Twilight

    By Lilian Harry
    Authors:
    Lilian Harry
    A powerful novel from bestselling author Lilian Harry, set in and around a Devon airfield during the Second World War.It is 1943, and the quiet of Harrowbeer, in Devon, is disrupted by increased activity at the nearly airfield built at the beginning of the war. Among the squadrons moving in are pilots from Britain, Canada and Poland. The airfield, with its noise and its population, has a massive impact on the peaceful villages nearby - an impact that will affect some inhabitants for the rest of their lives.Alison, married to a pilot and newly pregnant, soon makes friends with the locals, particularly with May, who finds herself caught up in the life of the RAF, watching and waiting as the pilots and crew carry out their dangerous missions.Then, on the night when Alison's baby is born, her husband is reported missing and Alison and May find themselves facing a dilemma all too familiar to the wives and sweethearts of those who flew the Spitfires, Hurricanes and other aircraft to protect their country during this time of war.
    • More

    Sacred Trees

    By Nahaniel Altman
    Authors:
    Nahaniel Altman
    Examines how different cultures have incorporated trees into their everyday traditions and worship

    Spirit Herbs

    By Mary Dean Attwood
    Authors:
    Mary Dean Attwood

    Spirit Medicine

    By Wolf Moondance
    Authors:
    Wolf Moondance

    A Star Shines Over Mt. Morris Park

    By Henry Roth
    Authors:
    Henry Roth
    'A landmark of the American literary century' Boston GlobeSixty years after the publication of his great modernist masterpiece, Call It Sleep, Henry Roth returned with Mercy of a Rude Stream - a sequence of four internationally-acclaimed epic novels of immigrant life in early-twentieth century New York.In Henry Roth's extraordinary novel we are introduced to Ira Stigman and his dazzlingly-evoked immigrant world of New York's Jewish Harlem. It is 1914 and the news of the outbreak of war is the first of many events to impinge on Ira's life and that of his family. Here is a boy struggling with racism, with his raging and unpredictable father, with the unsettling emergence of sexuality and with a world in the grip of momentous change. 'The literary comeback of the century' Vanity Fair'As unquenchably vibrant with life as the immigrants whose existence it commemorates' Sunday Times 'A dynamic and moving event . . . a stirring portrait of a vanished culture . . . a poignant chapter in the life-drama of a unique American writer' Newsweek'Although it is sixty years since a new novel by Mr Roth last hit the bookshelves, it has been worth the wait' The Economist'Fresh and touching' Wall Street Journal'A precision of detail which brings the sounds from the tenements, the heat of the sidewalk steaming off the pages' Sunday Express 'A meticulous evocation of a now-distant episode of the American experience' New York Times Book ReviewMercy of a Rude Stream: The Complete Novels includes 1) A Star Shines Over Mt. Morris Park2) A Diving Rock on the Hudson3) From Bondage4) Requiem for Harlem.
    • More

    Spirit Healing

    1