Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

Emigrants

By James Evans
Authors:
James Evans
'Marvellously engaging' The Times'Brisk, informative and eye-opening' Daily TelegraphIn the 1600s, vast numbers of people left England for the Americas. Crossing the Atlantic was a major undertaking, the voyage long and treacherous. Why did they go?Emigrants casts vivid new light on the population shift which underpins the rise of modern America. Using contemporary sources including diaries, court hearings and letters, James Evans brings us the extraordinary personal stories of the men and women who made the journey of a lifetime.
  • More

Enigma

By Hugh Sebag-Montefiore
Authors:
Hugh Sebag-Montefiore
The complete story of how the German Enigma codes were broken. Perfect for fans of THE IMITATION GAME, the new film on Alan Turing's Enigma code, starring Benedict Cumberbatch.Breaking the German Enigma codes was not only about brilliant mathematicians and professors at Bletchley Park. There is another aspect of the story which it is only now possible to tell. It takes in the exploits of spies, naval officers and ordinary British seamen who risked, and in some cases lost, their lives snatching the vital Enigma codebooks from under the noses of Nazi officials and from sinking German ships and submarines. This book tells the whole Enigma story: its original invention and use by German forces and how it was the Poles who first cracked - and passed on to the British - the key to the German airforce Enigma. The more complicated German Navy Enigma appeared to them to be unbreakable.
  • More

Empire of the Deep

By Ben Wilson
Authors:
Ben Wilson
The bestselling complete history of the British Navy - our national story through a different prism.The story of our navy is nothing less than the story of Britain, our culture and our empire. Much more than a parade of admirals and their battles, this is the story of how an insignificant island nation conquered the world's oceans to become its greatest trading empire. Yet, as Ben Wilson shows, there was nothing inevitable about this rise to maritime domination, nor was it ever an easy path. EMPIRE OF THE DEEP: THE RISE AND FALL OF THE BRITISH NAVY also reveals how our naval history has shaped us in more subtle and surprising ways - our language, culture, politics and national character all owe a great debt to this conquest of the seas. This is a gripping, fresh take on our national story.
  • More

The Estate We're In

By Nicola Baird
Authors:
Nicola Baird
An overview of car culture, addressing questions such as: what is Carhenge? Is the A13 Britain's Route 66? And why are we addicted to fast cars?Whether you are passionate about classic cars, suffer from road rage, know a boy racer or protested against the Newbury bypass, this book is for you. Focusing on the driving forces behind car culture - freedom, speed and the political clout of the motor lobby - it asks the million dollar question: if driving is so much fun, why do we hate every other driver on the road?

The Emperor's Last Victory

By Gunther E Rothenberg
Authors:
Gunther E Rothenberg
A leading expert examines one of Napoleon's most decisive but least analysed victoriesIn early July 1809 Napoleon crossed the Danube with 187,000 men to confront the Austrian Archduke Charles and an army of 145,000 men. The fighting that followed dwarfed in intensity and scale any previous Napoleonic battlefield, perhaps any in history: casualties on each side were over 30,000. The Austrians fought with great determination, but eventually the Emperor won a narrow victory. Wagram was decisive in that it compelled Austria to make peace. It also heralded a new, altogether greater order of warfare, anticipating the massed manpower and weight of fire deployed much later in the battles of the American Civil War and then at Verdun and on the Somme.
  • More

Emotions Revealed

By Paul Ekman
Authors:
Paul Ekman
'A charming, sound, sane map to the world of emotions, the perfect guide' Daniel Goleman, author of EMOTIONAL INTELLIGENCE.Using 40 years of groundbreaking research, Paul Ekman explores why and when we become emotional and what happens when we do - the external signs and facial expressions. So much of what we communicate is non-verbal. In this very practical book, Paul Ekman helps the reader to observe the underlying, concealed emotions that we can observe in those around us, and understand why our bodies react in the ways they do. EMOTIONS REVEALED also helps the reader to identify why they might feel 'overly' emotional in some situations, and why some people wear their heart on their sleeve whilst others manage to conceal their feelings, even from those close to them. Chapters include 'When do we get emotional?', 'Changing what we become emotional about' as well as 'Anger', 'Fear', 'Surprise' and 'Happiness'.Most importantly, it shows how we can apply this understanding to everyday situations to improve our quality of life.
  • More

Eminent Churchillians

By Andrew Roberts
Authors:
Andrew Roberts
A controversial account of the Churchill years by a bestselling historian.This highly praised book by the Wolfson History Prize-winning author of SALISBURY tackles six aspects of Churchilliana and uncovers a plethora of disturbing facts about wartime and post-war Britain.His revelations include: - The case for the impeachment of Lord Mountbatten- The Nazi sympathies of Sir Arthur Bryant, hitherto considered a ¿patriotic historian¿- The British establishment¿s doubt about Churchill¿s role after Dunkirk- The appeasement of the trade unions in Churchill¿s Indian summer- The inside story of black immigration in the early 1950s- The anti-Churchill stance adopted by the Royal Family in 1940
  • More
1