Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

The Lazy Guru's Guide to Life

By Laurence Shorter
Authors:
Laurence Shorter
The Lazy Guru is a guide to effortless living.Based on the ancient principles of mindfulness, this beautifully illustrated and relaxing guide will make life flow just the way it should. Using simple tools and techniques, the Lazy Guru will teach you how to achieve more by doing less. This guide includes:Beditating instead of meditatingLetting go of stressful 'shoulds'Learning to use the self-organising principleCreating space in your work and at homeA happier and richer life is possible for everyone using the techniques in this life-changing book. So embrace your inner Lazy Guru and release the stress and anxiety of the modern world.
  • More

Lemmy

By Mick Wall
Authors:
Mick Wall
In 'The Ace of Spades', Motörhead's most famous song, Lemmy, the born-to-lose, live-to-win frontman of the band sang, 'I don't want to live forever'. Yet as he told his friend of 35 years, former PR and biographer Mick Wall, 'Actually, I want to go the day before forever. To avoid the rush...'. This is his strange but true story. Brutally frank, painfully funny, wincingly sad, and always beautifully told, LEMMY: THE DEFINITIVE BIOGRAPHY is the story of the only rock'n'roller never to sell his soul for silver and gold, while keeping the devil, as he put it, 'very close to my side'. From school days growing up in North Wales, to first finding fame in the mid-60s with the Rockin' Vicars; from being Jimi Hendrix's personal roadie ('I would score acid for him'), to leading Hawkwind to the top of the charts in 1972 with 'Silver Machine' ('I was fired for taking the wrong drugs'); from forming Motörhead ('I wanted to call the band Bastard but my manager wouldn't let me'), whose iconoclastic album NO SLEEP 'TIL HAMMERSMITH entered the UK charts at No. 1.Based on Mick's original interviews with Lemmy conducted over numerous years, along with the insights of those who knew him best - former band mates, friends, managers, fellow artists and record business insiders - this is an unputdownable story of one of Britain's greatest characters. As Lemmy once said of Wall, 'Mick Wall is one of the few rock writers in the world who can actually write and seems to know anything about rock music. I can and do talk to him for hours - poor bastard.' With the hard part of his journey now over, Lemmy is set to become a legend. LEMMY: THE DEFINITIVE BIOGRAPHY explains exactly how that came to be.
  • More

Let’s Talk about Death (over Dinner)

By Michael Hebb
Authors:
Michael Hebb
For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed co-founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most difficult yet important conversation Of the many critical conversations we will all have throughout our lifetime, few are as important as the ones discussing death - and not just the practical considerations, such as DNRs and wills, but what we fear, what we hope, and how we want to be remembered. Yet few of these conversations are actually happening. Inspired by his experience with his own father and countless stories from others who regret not having these conversations, Michael Hebb cofounded Death Over Dinner - an organisation that encourages people to pull up a chair, break bread, and really talk about the one thing we all have in common. Death Over Dinner has been one of the most effective end-of-life awareness campaigns to date; in just three years, it has provided the framework and inspiration for more than a hundred thousand dinners focused on having these end-of-life conversations. As Arianna Huffington said, 'We are such a fast-food culture, I love the idea of making the dinner last for hours. These are the conversations that will help us to evolve.' Let's Talk About Death (over Dinner) offers keen practical advice on how to have these same conversations - not just at the dinner table, but anywhere. There's no one right way to talk about death, but Hebb shares time- and dinner-tested prompts to use as conversation starters, ranging from the spiritual to the practical, from analytical to downright funny and surprising. By transforming the most difficult conversations into an opportunity, they become celebratory and meaningful - ways that not only can change the way we die, but the way we live.
  • More

Like a Bat Out of Hell

By Mick Wall
Authors:
Mick Wall
  • More

The Little Book of Wonder

By Bernadette Russell
Authors:
Bernadette Russell
When was the last time you felt 'wonder'? The feeling of amazement and admiration, caused by something beautiful, remarkable, or unfamiliar is one that, as children, we experienced often. But as adults we have grown tired and cynical and spend more time looking down at our phones than looking up at the sky. We no longer experience the power of awe nor its proven benefits.The Little Book of Wonder encourages you to be creative, feel curious and seek wonder in the world around us. Focussed around seven themes, echoing the seven wonders of the world, the book will explore:1. The Wonder of You2. Into the Woods3. Curious4. Magic5. Creativity6. The Road Less Travelled7. Positivity
  • More

The Little Book of Kindness

By Bernadette Russell
Authors:
Bernadette Russell
The Little Book of Kindness will teach you how to be kind to yourself, to strangers, to those you love, to the world - every day, at every opportunity. Prompted by the seeming hopelessness of the world around her, Bernadette Russell undertook a pledge to be kind to a stranger every day for a year. The experience left her wanting to inspire others. The Little Book of Kindness is packed with fun ideas, practical tips and interactive exercises that encourage you to 'be kind' in every area of life - online, to strangers, to the environment, in your community, to yourself - and change the world, one act of kindness at a time.
  • More

A Liverpool Secret

By Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Liverpool, 1932: Can a chance meeting lead to a fresh start?Lillian Taylor dreams of a world beyond the locked gates of the convent orphanage where she grew up. For ten years she has learned to survive without love, facing the cruel whims and hard faith of the Mother Superior.But the arrival of a glamorous visitor changes everything. Claiming to be her aunt, Anna Ainsley offers Lilian a home in one of Liverpool's smartest streets, and a future the lonely teenager never could have imagined. To grasp it, Lilian must open her heart, and learn the rules of a world she's been taught to believe is full of sin and danger. Sophisticated, wealthy and full of ideas about what a young woman can achieve, Anna turns Lilian's world upside down. In return, Lilian will show Anna that birth and wealth can't buy a good heart. But can she seize her chance of happiness without facing the secrets of her past? A gripping and heartwarming family saga that is perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Katie Flynn and Rosie Goodwin.
  • More

Living the Life More Fabulous

By Tricia Cusden
Authors:
Tricia Cusden
Living the Life More Fabulous will be pounced on by older women who will find it instructive, reassuring and like a best friend, full of friendly advice' Joanna LumleyThere has never been a better time to be an older woman. We are fitter, healthier and living longer than at any time in history. My intention is to show you how to live your extra bonus of time as fabulously as possible.Living the Life More Fabulous is an irresistible guide to feeling great, whatever your age. Featuring topics such as beauty, style, confidence and health it provides advice on how to live an engaged life and keep an active mind.Whether you are looking for ideas to update your look, improve your general well-being or take an exciting or much-needed new direction, this book will encourage and empower you to live your life to the full.
  • More
  • Liz Earle's 6-Week Shape Up Plan

    By Liz Earle
    Authors:
    Liz Earle
    The complete guide to eating well, avoiding cravings, shedding weight, beating cellulite and hitting the beach happy this summer.A fully revised and updated diet plan from bestselling beauty and wellbeing writer Liz Earle, including:- A brand new selection on food combining with delicious recipes- Menus to fill you up and stop cravings- A great mix of exotic and familiar dishes- At-a-glance charts showing fat, sugar and calorie levels- The best toning exercises and techniques to beat cellulite- A variety of instant options, vegetarian meals and tasty low-fat deserts

    The Lost Gardens Of Heligan

    By Tim Smit
    Authors:
    Tim Smit
    The glorious No.1 bestsellerUntil the First World War, the estate gardens at Heligan were one of the glories of Cornwall. Thereafter, through growing neglect, they slipped gradually to sleep. This is the amazing story of their rediscovery and restoration, or the Victorian vision and ingenuity which first created that subtropical paradise, and of the modern obsession and improvisation which recreated it.
    • More

    The Love of the Game

    By Mark Chapman
    Authors:
    Mark Chapman
    BBC sports presenter Mark Chapman is no longer in his physical prime. There is an argument to suggest he has never been in his physical prime. Now in his forties, he is facing a world of knee replacements and ever-expanding waistlines, whilst his children are thriving.There is huge pride that they are doing so well, mixed with a fair amount of jealousy that actually they are better at a wide range of sport than he ever was. He is passionate about sport and it has played a huge part in his life. His parents encouraged him from a very early age and he wants to pass the baton on to his son and daughters. Although there is every chance he might drop it and have a massive strop instead. He is also very aware of the huge changes in sport today compared to when he was growing up; and he is determined that his own attitude to his son and daughters' sport - be it football, netball, cricket or gymnastics - will be exactly the same. And he wants to shine a light on grass roots sports - the incredible and largely unsung contribution that volunteers make in the sporting commnity, without whom - for example - no professional footballer would be in the game today.Funny, touching, passionate about sport and parenthood, Mark Chapman paints sport as a touchstone for everything important: growing up, becoming a parent, enjoying family time, getting old, learning how to win (and how to lose gracefully), the legacy we all hope to leave our children; in short, life and all that goes into it.
    • More

    The Love of a Family

    By Rebecca Shaw
    Authors:
    Rebecca Shaw
    A heart-warming standalone novel from Sunday Times bestseller Rebecca Shaw about the importance of family and being there for one another - perfect for fans of Lilian Harry, Rosie Clark, Alexandra Brown and Cathy Woodman.'A very gifted storyteller and that is quite an art' Sunday Telegraph *Myra and Graham Butler lead the kind of lives where everything is neat, tidy and predictable. That is until they're named guardians to their young nephews.Myra makes it clear she doesn't want the responsibility. After a terrible loss early in their marriage, she vowed never to open her heart again, and has turned her back on friends and family since. Now she has two children and a rabbit turning her house - and her heart - upside down.It will take danger, more heartbreak and a small dog for Myra and Graham to realise that, even if you don't know what you're doing, sometimes love is enough. That they're going to need help to muddle through. That, sometimes, it takes a village.*
    • More
    1