Related to: 'Mina Holland'

W&N

Righteous

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide

'The best discovery I've come across in a long time' Michael ConnellyWhen the beautiful woman you've longed for since boyhood calls and asks you to find her missing sister, what do you do? If you are Isaiah Quintabe - IQ to his friends - you'll do everything you can. The girl, an erratic DJ and gambling addict, has gone missing in Las Vegas - with a frightening loan shark, Chinese Triad gangsters, and her own deadbeat boyfriend hot on her tail. But IQ's search takes an unexpected turn when he meets a criminal mastermind who knows something about the murky circumstances surrounding his own brother's death . . .'Witty and confident, with a bustling plot, this is a worthy follow-up to Ide's excellent debut' Guardian

Seven Dials

The Modern Italian Cook

Joe Trivelli
Authors:
Joe Trivelli

*OBSERVER FOOD MONTHLY'S #1 FOOD BOOK OF 2018*'This is a cookbook everyone should have in their kitchen. I will certainly have it in mine.' - Ruth RogersFrom Joseph Trivelli, co-head chef of the world-renowned River Café, comes the ultimate classic guide to laid-back, comforting Italian food.Trivelli first learned to cook watching his Italian grandmother transform a few simple ingredients into something mouth-watering within their family kitchen. In this, his first book, he brings up-to-date all the traditional Italian food he grew up with alongside his own inventive creations.Featuring over 150 original recipes that cater for quick dinners right up to family feasts, Joe's focus is on fewer ingredients, exquisitely prepared. With chapters on pasta, fish, meat, vegetables and baked dishes, these are recipes sympathetic to the home cook - easy to throw together but look and taste incredible every time.Beautifully designed with evocative photography throughout, this is the Italian cookbook every modern kitchen needs.***'This is a book I shall be referring to very often. All the recipes are the real classic ones and yet they all have a touch of originality which gives them a new and welcome dimension. Bravo Joe.' - Anna del Conte'I still haven't met a chef who has such a genuine love of food and its role in bringing people together.' - Stephen Harris, The Sportsman'A truly personal collection of inspired recipes: all at once clever, quirky, thoughtful and witty. A joy.' - Simon Hopkinson'Already one of my favourite cookery writers, this is next-level Joe Trivelli. Seasoned with good writing, saturated in great recipes, there is so much to love about this book. Like its writer, The Modern Italian Cook is a quiet triumph. I love it.' - Allan Jenkins'Wonderful.' - Giorgio Locatelli'Excellent . . . the writing is simple, clean, humble and evocative; the recipes are special and all seem so delicious.' - Itamar Srulovich, Honey & Co

W&N

The Tuscan Year

Elizabeth Romer
Authors:
Elizabeth Romer

In 1972 Elizabeth Romer moved to a farmhouse in Tuscany, where she discovered a life moulded by the past and tasted the simple, sublime flavours of traditional Italian cooking for the first time. Here, she introduces the Cerotti family who farm one section of the valley, and vividly describes, month by month, the Tuscan year. From January's prosciutto and salame, to cheese-making in March, to threshing the corn in high summer, to the game and chanterelles of autumn, and the chestnut woods of November and December. In the heart of the Cerotti household wonderful meals are prepared using fresh and simple ingredients, governed by the rhythms of the changing seasons. Elizabeth Romer presents the fare for high days and holidays as well as every day, from fresh garlic and wild herbs to fried flowers and carnival cakes. This magical book reveals the secrets of an ancient way of life and cuisine, with dozens of delicious recipes to bring the flavour of Tuscany to any kitchen.Read by Maggie Mash(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Orion

A Family Recipe

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Orion

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit
Authors:
Dirk Kurbjuweit

The Guardian, Daily Telegraph and Irish Times Book of the Year.'Something we've not seen before in contemporary crime fiction' GUARDIAN'[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller' SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB'As intellectually stimulating as it is gripping' DAILY TELEGRAPH, BOOKS OF THE YEAR 2018'Takes you right into the heart of darkness' MAIL ON SUNDAY'A must-have new read' DAILY EXPRESS'Wonderfully sinister' THE OBSERVER'Frightening' THE TIMES'Addictive' INDEPENDENT'Terrific' JOANNE HARRIS'Brilliantly done' FIONA BARTON'A great achievement' HERMAN KOCH'Claustrophobic and unsettling' BBC NEWS'[A] creepy tale of obsession' SUNDAY MIRROR'An unsettling tale of merciless self-scrutiny' RENEE KNIGHT'A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs' WOMAN & HOME*********How far would you go to protect your family?Family is everything. So what if yours was being terrorised by a neighbour - a man who doesn't listen to reason, whose actions become more erratic and sinister with each passing day?You go to the police, but they can't help you. You become afraid to leave your family at home alone. But there's nothing more you can do to protect them.Or is there...?FEAR is a brilliantly grippling, original psychological thriller - for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL and THE DINNER.-------------------------FEAR is translated from the German by Imogen Taylor

Orion

Here Comes Trouble

Simon Wroe
Authors:
Simon Wroe

Following his expulsion from school, seventeen-year-old dreamer Ellis Dau is sent to work with his father. His father is editor of The Chronicle, the last bastion of free speech in their strange, strange land. And it is under threat: from heavy-handed policemen, mysterious revolutionaries, and the resident Russian billionaire. As Ellis navigates his collapsing, blacked-out city - and his feelings for the oligarch's beautiful daughter - he realises that some things are worth fighting for. But can he save his family and the newspaper fuelled only by youth, grain spirit and unrequited love?Read by Max Dowler(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Mamma

Mina Holland
Authors:
Mina Holland
Orion

A Kind of Love Story

Tom Sellers
Authors:
Tom Sellers

The story behind life in a world-renown Michelin-starred restaurant.Tom Sellers is a luminary of the British culinary scene. His Restaurant Story opened its doors in April 2013; its innovative literary-inspired menu, taking diners on 'a personal journey through food', has won him huge critical and public acclaim. Story was awarded its first Michelin star just five months after opening. This stunning book will be your chance to enter the visionary mind of one of the most original chefs of our time, and discover the truth behind the tales of his brilliant food.

W&N

The Versions of Us

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett
Orion

The Daughter's Secret

Eva Holland
Authors:
Eva Holland

My daughter is a liar. A liar, liar, liar. And I'm starting to see where she gets it from.When Rosalind's fifteen-year-old daughter, Stephanie, ran away with her teacher, this ordinary family became something it had never asked to be. Their lives held up to scrutiny in the centre of a major police investigation, the Simms were headline news while Stephanie was missing with a man who was risking everything.Now, six years on, Ros takes a call that will change their lives all over again. He's going to be released from prison. Years too early. In eleven days' time.As Temperley's release creeps ever closer, Ros is forced to confront the events that led them here, back to a place she thought she'd left behind, to questions she didn't want to answer. Why did she do it? Where does the blame lie? What happens next?

Orion

Eat Your Way To Lower Cholesterol

Ian Marber, Laura Corr, Sarah Schenker
Authors:
Ian Marber, Laura Corr, Sarah Schenker

Delicious, cholesterol-lowering recipes for all the family from leading medical and nutritional experts.The fact is that 60 per cent of Britons have unhealthy cholesterol levels and doctors agree that food is the best approach when it comes to lowering cholesterol. This is not a weight-loss diet but a cookbook based on the very latest medical research into key foods that are proven to have an active role in reducing cholesterol.Food and nutrition expert Ian Marber and Dr Laura Corr have identified six key foods: fibres such as beans and pulses, nuts, soya, healthy oils, oats and other beta-glucan foods, and smart foods - that are proven to help lower cholesterol by up to 20% in just three months. EAT YOUR WAY TO LOWER CHOLESTEROL will include advice on how to balance your diet and keep eating the foods you love, including cheese, eggs, red meat and shellfish. This groundbreaking cookbook combines the latest medical and nutritional information with delicious recipes, all of which contain key cholesterol-lowering ingredients.

W&N

The Longest Night

Gavin Mortimer
Authors:
Gavin Mortimer

On 10-11 May 1941, Londoners thought the Nazi bombs would never stop falling as the London Blitz reached its furious zenith. These are the true stories from the survivors of one of the longest nights in the Second World War'An excellent book . . . Mortimer has interviewed scores of survivors for this gripping tale' Scotland on SundayOn the afternoon of Saturday 10 May 1941, crowds gather at Wembley to watch Arsenal play Preston in the Cup Final. Australian journalist John Hughes starts his shift at Reuters in Fleet Street; 20-year-old Reenie Carter reports for duty at her fire station in Westminster Abbey; RAF pilot Guy Gibson relaxes in the sun before his night patrol; Vera Lynn drives in for an evening concert. Meanwhile, thousands of German airmen are preparing for a massive night raid.Gavin Mortimer has interviewed many survivors of this night to reveal the reality of the London Blitz. In a matter of hours, 1,486 Londoners were killed, 11,000 houses were destroyed, and millions of lives were changed for ever.

W&N

Anna of all the Russias

Elaine Feinstein
Authors:
Elaine Feinstein

Life of the Russian poet who withstood Stalinism and became an inspiration to millionsAnna Akhmatova is recognised as one of the greatest poets of Russian literature, an iconic figure who gave voice to the suffering of the Russian people during the brutal years of Stalin's Terror.Akhmatova began writing at a time when 'to think of a woman as a poet was absurd' but her genius soared above any such category. Hailed as a great beauty, she married three times yet her personal life was shot through with tragedy and her only son and third husband were held captive in the Gulags. Through illness, poverty and repression she maintained her resistance to the regime, with a dignity and composure that led her to be dubbed 'Anna of all the Russias'.

BY MINA HOLLAND

Mama: The Food That Makes Us

Amanda Harris, Deputy Publisher, Non-fiction at Orion Publishing Group has bought UK & Commonwealth Rights from Jon Elek at United Agents for Mina Holland’s MAMA: THE FOOD THAT MAKES US. Weidenfeld & Nicolson are to publish the book as a hardback and eBook (£18.99, £9.99) in February 2017.

Browse our news stories

News

Read the latest news from Orion and our authors on our news page.

W&N to publish Among the Wholesome Children by Sarah Weinman

The publishers of the first UK edition of Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov (1959), are to publish Sarah Weinman's account of the abduction and tragic life of Sally Horner, the real-life inspiration for Lolita.

All the details

Orion Art and Design Student Competition 2017

Deliciously fuss-free Chinese recipes from The Dumpling Sisters’ Kitchen

The Dumpling Sisters to be published by Weidenfeld & Nicolson

The first book by The Dumpling Sisters will be published by Weidenfeld & Nicolson in hardback and eBook format in May 2015.

An Interview

Rebecca Stott

Rebecca Stott discusses The Coral Thief

Crime and Thrillers