Related to: 'Mina Holland'

W&N

Righteous

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide

'The best discovery I've come across in a long time' Michael ConnellyWhen the beautiful woman you've longed for since boyhood calls and asks you to find her missing sister, what do you do? If you are Isaiah Quintabe - IQ to his friends - you'll do everything you can. The girl, an erratic DJ and gambling addict, has gone missing in Las Vegas - with a frightening loan shark, Chinese Triad gangsters, and her own deadbeat boyfriend hot on her tail. But IQ's search takes an unexpected turn when he meets a criminal mastermind who knows something about the murky circumstances surrounding his own brother's death . . .'Witty and confident, with a bustling plot, this is a worthy follow-up to Ide's excellent debut' Guardian

W&N

The Tuscan Year

Elizabeth Romer
Authors:
Elizabeth Romer
Orion

A Family Recipe

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Trapeze

Alive

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton

For fans of Val McDermid, Elly Griffiths and Peter May, prepare to delve into the dark world of The Craftsman with Alive, the ghostly short story thriller by Sunday Times bestseller Sharon Bolton.A dark moon is rising. A perfect black circle, barely visible in the night sky, the dark moon casts its void over the wind-scorched moor, over the soaring mass of a great limestone hill, and over the town that cowers in its shadow. The dark moon is the absence of moon before the slender silver crescent of the new moon appears again and people can breath a little easier.The month is March and the night is clear and cold, black as pitch. The full moon in March is known as the Worm Moon, welcome despite its ominous name, marking as it does the end of winter and the emergence of earthworms from the thawing ground. Dark moons have never been named, although they are sometimes called the dead moons. The dark moons reign over nights when people stoke up their fires, draw their curtains tighter and try to think happy thoughts. In the town of Sabden at the foot of Pendle Hill in Lancashire they usually fail.In Sabden's soot-blackened terraced houses, the sleepers' dreams darken when the moon leaves the sky. Infants wake up cold, mothers tremble with elusive fears for their children and old folks slip a little closer to death. Only the Craftsman welcomes the dark moon. Alone in the town, he is awake, and ready to start work.Alive is a nail-biting, heart-racing, page-turning thriller that will have you up all night and includes an extract of Sharon's upcoming novel The Craftsman. Alive is the perfect appetiser to wet your appetite for Sharon's crime-fiction reads - a gripping tale that will leave you terrified to turn the lights off!

Orion

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit
Authors:
Dirk Kurbjuweit

READ THE MOST CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER OF 2018:'You'll never see your neighbours in the same light again' OBSERVER'Beautifully written, frightening and absorbing' THE TIMES'As intellectually stimulating as it is gripping *****' DAILY TELEGRAPH'[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller' - SUNDAY TIMES'Something we've not see before in contemporary crime fiction' GUARDIAN'Takes you right into the heart of darkness' MAIL ON SUNDAY'There's a twist at the end that is worth waiting for' INDEPENDENT'A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs' WOMAN&HOME'If you liked WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN, try FEAR' - BBC NEWS'This creepy tale of obsession will make you wonder 'what would I do?' SUNDAY MIRROR'A gripping tale of domestic terror' IRISH TIMES'A must have new read' DAILY EXPRESSYou'd die for your family. But would you kill for them?Family is everything. So what if yours was being terrorised by a neighbour - a man who doesn't listen to reason, whose actions become more erratic and sinister with each passing day?You go to the police, but they can't help you. You become afraid to leave your family at home alone. But there's nothing more you can do to protect them.Is there?FEAR is the most original thriller of 2018 - for fans of LULLABY, THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL and THE GUILTY WIFE.************What people are saying about FEAR:'I'm intrigued by Dirk Kurbjuweit's novel FEAR, about a stalker living downstairs' - LIONEL SHRIVER, THE OBSERVER'Brilliantly done to play on every parents' deepest fears' - FIONA BARTON, bestselling author of THE WIDOW'Thought-provoking, intelligent and genuinely chilling' - ELIZABETH HAYNES, author of INTO THE DARKEST CORNER'A terrific, original thriller - I loved it' JOANNE HARRIS'FEAR makes us sympathetic to violent revenge, accessories to murder' - HERMAN KOCH, author of THE DINNER'I loved it. So rich and claustrophobic' - RENEE KNIGHT, author of DISCLAIMER'The most original thriller of the year' - NETGALLEY'Expertly constructed, highly entertaining and thought-provoking' - Cloggie, Amazon reviewer'If you're looking for a thriller with psychological insight, I highly recommend this one' - Marjorie, Amazon reviewer'Not your usual thriller' - Fiona, Amazon reviewer-------------------------FEAR is translated from the German by Imogen Taylor

W&N

Here Comes Trouble

Simon Wroe
Authors:
Simon Wroe

'1984 crossed with ADRIAN MOLE' Daily Mail'SCOOP meets BORAT' TLS'Scarily prophetic about news, freedom and truth' Antonia HodgsonA STORY FOR OUR TROUBLED TIMESEllis Dau dreams of the West - of London, New York and Ashford, Kent. But he is growing up in Kyrzbekistan, a secretive nation where revolution barely makes the news. A country where the newspapers peddle outright lies, and larger-than-life characters make promises they can't keep.Following his expulsion from school, Ellis is sent to work with his father. His father is editor of The Chronicle, the last bastion of free speech in their strange, strange land. And it is under threat.As Ellis navigates his collapsing, blacked-out city - and his feelings for the local oligarch's daughter - he realises that some things are worth fighting for. But can he save his family and the newspaper fuelled only by youth, grain spirit and unrequited love?

Orion

Mamma

Mina Holland
Authors:
Mina Holland

A collection of oral histories with recipes exploring the influence of family on our relationship with food.Food is key in our culture. Of late there has been a penchant for reinventing nostalgic home favourites in restaurants and cookbooks leading to a desire to know where our food and its traditions come from.For most of us there is a desire to return to our childhood kitchen, the smells and tastes of the dishes evoke comfort and wonderful memories. Those childhood meal times form the foundation of our taste buds and how we now cook. MAMMA: REFLECTIONS ON THE FOOD THAT MAKES US is a collection of oral histories about the food we ate as a child, our mother's cooking and all that it signifies and encapsulates throughout our life.A fascinating trip around the globe, the book features interviews with some of the world's best-loved cooks including Jamie Oliver, Yotam Ottolenghi, Claudia Roden, Alice Waters, Stanley Tucci and many more.MAMMA: REFLECTIONS ON THE FOOD THAT MAKES US is about bringing food back to basics, about going home.

Orion

A Kind of Love Story

Tom Sellers
Authors:
Tom Sellers

The story behind life in a world-renown Michelin-starred restaurant.Tom Sellers is a luminary of the British culinary scene. His Restaurant Story opened its doors in April 2013; its innovative literary-inspired menu, taking diners on 'a personal journey through food', has won him huge critical and public acclaim. Story was awarded its first Michelin star just five months after opening. This stunning book will be your chance to enter the visionary mind of one of the most original chefs of our time, and discover the truth behind the tales of his brilliant food.

Orion

Angels With Dirty Faces

Jonathan Wilson
Authors:
Jonathan Wilson
W&N

The Versions of Us

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett
Orion

The Daughter's Secret

Eva Holland
Authors:
Eva Holland

Eleven days in the life of a mother as she tries to navigate herself and her family through the aftershocks of a scandal. Six years ago, aged fifteen, Rosalind's daughter Stephanie ran away with teacher Nathan Temperley, triggering a media frenzy and resulting in Temperley's arrest and imprisonment. Although the family - Rosalind, her husband Dan, Stephanie and son Freddy - don't talk about what happened, their lives have been shaped by it and everything that came after. When Rosalind discovers that Temperley is about to be released from prison, she's forced to re-examine the events of six years ago.Read by Rachel Atkins(p) 2015 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Eat Your Way To Lower Cholesterol

Ian Marber, Laura Corr, Sarah Schenker
Authors:
Ian Marber, Laura Corr, Sarah Schenker

Delicious, cholesterol-lowering recipes for all the family from leading medical and nutritional experts.The fact is that 60 per cent of Britons have unhealthy cholesterol levels and doctors agree that food is the best approach when it comes to lowering cholesterol. This is not a weight-loss diet but a cookbook based on the very latest medical research into key foods that are proven to have an active role in reducing cholesterol.Food and nutrition expert Ian Marber and Dr Laura Corr have identified six key foods: fibres such as beans and pulses, nuts, soya, healthy oils, oats and other beta-glucan foods, and smart foods - that are proven to help lower cholesterol by up to 20% in just three months. EAT YOUR WAY TO LOWER CHOLESTEROL will include advice on how to balance your diet and keep eating the foods you love, including cheese, eggs, red meat and shellfish. This groundbreaking cookbook combines the latest medical and nutritional information with delicious recipes, all of which contain key cholesterol-lowering ingredients.

W&N

The Longest Night

Gavin Mortimer
Authors:
Gavin Mortimer
BY MINA HOLLAND

Mama: The Food That Makes Us

Amanda Harris, Deputy Publisher, Non-fiction at Orion Publishing Group has bought UK & Commonwealth Rights from Jon Elek at United Agents for Mina Holland’s MAMA: THE FOOD THAT MAKES US. Weidenfeld & Nicolson are to publish the book as a hardback and eBook (£18.99, £9.99) in February 2017.

Browse our news stories

News

Read the latest news from Orion and our authors on our news page.

W&N to publish Among the Wholesome Children by Sarah Weinman

The publishers of the first UK edition of Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov (1959), are to publish Sarah Weinman's account of the abduction and tragic life of Sally Horner, the real-life inspiration for Lolita.

All the details

Orion Art and Design Student Competition 2017

Deliciously fuss-free Chinese recipes from The Dumpling Sisters’ Kitchen

The Dumpling Sisters to be published by Weidenfeld & Nicolson

The first book by The Dumpling Sisters will be published by Weidenfeld & Nicolson in hardback and eBook format in May 2015.

An Interview

Rebecca Stott

Rebecca Stott discusses The Coral Thief

Crime and Thrillers