Related to: 'Mina Holland'

W&N

The Tuscan Year

Elizabeth Romer
Authors:
Elizabeth Romer

In 1972 Elizabeth Romer moved to a farmhouse in Tuscany, where she discovered a life moulded by the past and tasted the simple, sublime flavours of traditional Italian cooking for the first time. Here, she introduces the Cerotti family who farm one section of the valley, and vividly describes, month by month, the Tuscan year. From January's prosciutto and salame, to cheese-making in March, to threshing the corn in high summer, to the game and chanterelles of autumn, and the chestnut woods of November and December. In the heart of the Cerotti household wonderful meals are prepared using fresh and simple ingredients, governed by the rhythms of the changing seasons. Elizabeth Romer presents the fare for high days and holidays as well as every day, from fresh garlic and wild herbs to fried flowers and carnival cakes. This magical book reveals the secrets of an ancient way of life and cuisine, with dozens of delicious recipes to bring the flavour of Tuscany to any kitchen.

Orion

A Family Recipe

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Trapeze

Alive

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton
W&N

Righteous

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide

'Joe Ide is the best new discovery I've come across in a long time' Michael Connelly'One of the most remarkable debuts I've read...Deliciously quirky, written with exceptional panache and a fine ear for dialogue, it introduces the world to an LA private detective who might just become the Holmes of the 21st century' DAILY MAIL'In a way, the hate felt good. You were righteous, godlike, the dispenser of justice . . .'Super-smart sleuth Isaiah Quintabe - IQ to his friends - has built a mostly respectable life for himself, helping out friends and neighbours when he can and taking the occasional case to make ends meet. But there is one mystery that still haunts him almost ten years later - did his brother really die in a hit-and-run or was there more to the story behind his death? IQ has been approached by his brother's former girlfriend Sarita, whose younger sister, an erratic DJ and gambling addict, has gone missing in Las Vegas - with a frightening loan shark, Chinese Triad gangsters, and her own deadbeat boyfriend hot on her tail. Accompanied once more by his fast-talking, don't-call-me-a-sidekick partner Dodson, IQ heads off for the casinos and massage parlours of Las Vegas. His quest takes an unexpected turn when he meets a criminal mastermind who knows something about the murky circumstances that surrounded his brother's death. But when Isaiah learns the truth, what will he do with it?IQ was WINNER of the ANTHONY AWARD for Best Debut, the SHAMUS AWARD for BEST FIRST P.I. NOVEL. the MACAVITY AWARD for Best First Novel; SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 EDGAR AWARD and STRAND CRITICS AWARD.

W&N

Here Comes Trouble

Simon Wroe
Authors:
Simon Wroe
Orion

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit
Authors:
Dirk Kurbjuweit
Orion

Mamma

Mina Holland
Authors:
Mina Holland
Orion

A Kind of Love Story

Tom Sellers
Authors:
Tom Sellers

The story behind life in a world-renown Michelin-starred restaurant.Tom Sellers is a luminary of the British culinary scene. His Restaurant Story opened its doors in April 2013; its innovative literary-inspired menu, taking diners on 'a personal journey through food', has won him huge critical and public acclaim. Story was awarded its first Michelin star just five months after opening. This stunning book will be your chance to enter the visionary mind of one of the most original chefs of our time, and discover the truth behind the tales of his brilliant food.

Orion

Angels With Dirty Faces

Jonathan Wilson
Authors:
Jonathan Wilson

The definitive history of Argentinian football from the award-winning author of Inverting the PyramidDiego Maradona, Gabriel Batistuta, Juan Román Riquelme, Sergio Agüero, Lionel Messi ... Argentina is responsible for some of the greatest footballers on the planet. Their rich, volatile history is made up of both the sublime and the ruthlessly pragmatic.Argentina is a nation obsessed with football, and Jonathan Wilson, having lived there on and off during the last decade, is ideally placed to chart the five phases of Argentinian football: the appropriation of the British game; the golden age of la nuestra, the exuberant style of playing that developed as Juan Perón led the country into isolation; a hardening into the brutal methods of anti-fútbol; the fusing of beauty and efficacy under César Luis Menotti; and the ludicrous (albeit underachieving) creative talent of recent times. More than any other nation Argentina lives and breathes football, its theories and myths. The subject is fiercely debated on street corners and in cafes. It has even preoccupied the country's greatest writers and philosophers.Angels with Dirty Faces is the definitive history of a great footballing nation and its many paradoxes.

Orion

The Daughter's Secret

Eva Holland
Authors:
Eva Holland

A pupil. A teacher. A mother's worst nightmare An addictive novel of psychological suspense. A gripping crime thriller for fans of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies and Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard.My daughter is a liar. A liar, liar, liar. And I'm starting to see where she gets it from.When Rosalind's fifteen-year-old daughter, Stephanie, ran away with her teacher, this ordinary family became something it had never asked to be. Their lives held up to scrutiny in the centre of a major police investigation, the Simms were headline news while Stephanie was missing with a man who was risking everything.Now, six years on, Ros takes a call that will change their lives all over again. He's going to be released from prison. Years too early. In eleven days' time.As Temperley's release creeps ever closer, Ros is forced to confront the events that led them here, back to a place she thought she'd left behind, to questions she didn't want to answer. Why did she do it? Where does the blame lie? What happens next?Readers love this gripping psychological thriller:'Unputdownable''Compelling' 'Leaves its mark' 'Tense and emotionally charged'

Orion

Eat Your Way To Lower Cholesterol

Ian Marber, Laura Corr, Sarah Schenker
Authors:
Ian Marber, Laura Corr, Sarah Schenker

Delicious, cholesterol-lowering recipes for all the family from leading medical and nutritional experts.The fact is that 60 per cent of Britons have unhealthy cholesterol levels and doctors agree that food is the best approach when it comes to lowering cholesterol. This is not a weight-loss diet but a cookbook based on the very latest medical research into key foods that are proven to have an active role in reducing cholesterol.Food and nutrition expert Ian Marber and Dr Laura Corr have identified six key foods: fibres such as beans and pulses, nuts, soya, healthy oils, oats and other beta-glucan foods, and smart foods - that are proven to help lower cholesterol by up to 20% in just three months. EAT YOUR WAY TO LOWER CHOLESTEROL will include advice on how to balance your diet and keep eating the foods you love, including cheese, eggs, red meat and shellfish. This groundbreaking cookbook combines the latest medical and nutritional information with delicious recipes, all of which contain key cholesterol-lowering ingredients.

W&N

The Longest Night

Gavin Mortimer
Authors:
Gavin Mortimer

On 10-11 May 1941, Londoners thought the Nazi bombs would never stop falling as the London Blitz reached its furious zenith. These are the true stories from the survivors of one of the longest nights in the Second World War'An excellent book . . . Mortimer has interviewed scores of survivors for this gripping tale' Scotland on SundayOn the afternoon of Saturday 10 May 1941, crowds gather at Wembley to watch Arsenal play Preston in the Cup Final. Australian journalist John Hughes starts his shift at Reuters in Fleet Street; 20-year-old Reenie Carter reports for duty at her fire station in Westminster Abbey; RAF pilot Guy Gibson relaxes in the sun before his night patrol; Vera Lynn drives in for an evening concert. Meanwhile, thousands of German airmen are preparing for a massive night raid.Gavin Mortimer has interviewed many survivors of this night to reveal the reality of the London Blitz. In a matter of hours, 1,486 Londoners were killed, 11,000 houses were destroyed, and millions of lives were changed for ever.

W&N

Anna of all the Russias

Elaine Feinstein
Authors:
Elaine Feinstein

Life of the Russian poet who withstood Stalinism and became an inspiration to millionsAnna Akhmatova is recognised as one of the greatest poets of Russian literature, an iconic figure who gave voice to the suffering of the Russian people during the brutal years of Stalin's Terror.Akhmatova began writing at a time when 'to think of a woman as a poet was absurd' but her genius soared above any such category. Hailed as a great beauty, she married three times yet her personal life was shot through with tragedy and her only son and third husband were held captive in the Gulags. Through illness, poverty and repression she maintained her resistance to the regime, with a dignity and composure that led her to be dubbed 'Anna of all the Russias'.

BY MINA HOLLAND

Mama: The Food That Makes Us

Amanda Harris, Deputy Publisher, Non-fiction at Orion Publishing Group has bought UK & Commonwealth Rights from Jon Elek at United Agents for Mina Holland’s MAMA: THE FOOD THAT MAKES US. Weidenfeld & Nicolson are to publish the book as a hardback and eBook (£18.99, £9.99) in February 2017.

Browse our news stories

News

Read the latest news from Orion and our authors on our news page.

W&N to publish Among the Wholesome Children by Sarah Weinman

The publishers of the first UK edition of Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov (1959), are to publish Sarah Weinman's account of the abduction and tragic life of Sally Horner, the real-life inspiration for Lolita.

All the details

Orion Art and Design Student Competition 2017

Deliciously fuss-free Chinese recipes from The Dumpling Sisters’ Kitchen

The Dumpling Sisters to be published by Weidenfeld & Nicolson

The first book by The Dumpling Sisters will be published by Weidenfeld & Nicolson in hardback and eBook format in May 2015.

An Interview

Rebecca Stott

Rebecca Stott discusses The Coral Thief

Crime and Thrillers