Related to: 'Nicholas Best'

Orion

Clash of Empires

Ben Kane
Authors:
Ben Kane

HAS ROME FINALLY MET ITS MATCH?'A triumph!' Harry Sidebottom 'Exceptional' Anthony Riches'Fans of battle-heavy historical fiction will, justly, adore Clash of Empires' The Times****************THE MIGHT OF ROMEThe great general Hannibal Barca is on the verge of defeat. Victory will crown Rome the most powerful empire in the world. While the ambitious senator Flamininus plots his path to power...THE GLORY OF GREECEOnly unconquered Greece stands in the way of glory. King Philip V of Macedon's mighty phalanx is an enemy Rome has long feared, and one that has never known defeat.THE HEROES OF HISTORYDemetrios has dreamed of fighting with the phalanx his whole life, but the young villager will soon learn that, in a clash of empires, you're only ever one swing of the sword away from death - or entering legend.CLASH OF EMPIRES is the gripping first novel in a new series from the master of historical fiction - for fans of Simon Scarrow, Harry Sidebottom, Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell.*** PRE-ORDER BEN KANE'S NEW NOVEL, THE FALLING SWORD, TODAY ***What readers are saying about Ben Kane's masterful new historical novel:'I have not read much about the Roman Invasion of Greece 200-197BC, so with a breath of fresh air up pops Ben Kane with a very masterful tale' Amazon review'Grabs you from the start and never lets go' - Harry Sidebottom, author of the THE LAST HOUR'Ben does a great job telling the story from both Greek and Roman perspective' Amazon review'I haven't enjoyed a book this much for ages' - Giles Kristian, author of LANCELOT

The Murder Room

Gold Was Our Grave

Henry Wade
Authors:
Henry Wade

Hector Berrenton returns home from hospital after a serious car accident to find a terse note: San Podino. This is yours. Fallon next.Suspecting Berrenton's car has been tampered with, the North Sussex Police call in Scotland Yard. Chief Inspector John Poole, put in charge of the investigation, quickly discovers that three years earlier Berrenton and his partner, Jocelyn Fallon, had been on trial accused of fraud. The crime they were accused of was in connection with a Bolivian goldmine, San Podino, and though the two men were acquitted, a number of investors suffered considerable financial loss.Soon Inspector Poole is dealing with attempted murder . . .

The Murder Room

The Missing Partners

Henry Wade
Authors:
Henry Wade
The Murder Room

The Duke of York's Steps

Henry Wade
Authors:
Henry Wade
The Murder Room

Too Soon to Die

Henry Wade
Authors:
Henry Wade

Colonel Jerrod has just six months to live, but he needs a year if he is to save Brackton, the family estate, from crippling death duties. Then his ambitious son, Grant, has an idea, one that involves Colonel Jerrod's carefree brother, Philip, and which develops into a complicated fraud that, he hopes, will safeguard Brackton for future generations.But there is a boating accident, in which Colonel Jerrod is believed drowned, and a visit at Brackton from the Inland Revenue to clear up some routine questions . . . Before long, Chief Inspector Poole finds himself drawn into the investigation with questions of his own.

The Murder Room

Heir Presumptive

Henry Wade
Authors:
Henry Wade

Eustace Hendel, head of the younger branch of a rich and titled family, suddenly realises that, as the result of a holiday accident, the question of the succession to the entailed estates holds more than just academic interest for him.Eustace is in financial difficulties, and in love; all his problems would be solved were he himself heir presumptive to old Lord Barradys. Other members of the elder branch are still living - but accidents do happen.Yet Eustace is not the only family member with an interest in the inheritance . . .

W&N

East West Street

Philippe Sands
Authors:
Philippe Sands
The Murder Room

The Litmore Snatch

Henry Wade
Authors:
Henry Wade

Harborough is a large seaside town on the north-east coast of England, whose local paper, the Harborough Post, mounts a campaign against the city's funfairs. Soon the proprietor of the newspaper, Herbert Litmore, gets two anonymous threatening letters, which he takes to the Chief Constable. Then Litmore's ten-year-old son, Ben, is kidnapped on his way home from the city Youth Club.Another letter to Litmore follows, demanding a £10,000 ransom . . .A search is begun to locate Litmore's mysterious enemy, and the police investigation starts to unravel a web of greed, jealousy, adultery and blackmail that has formed beneath Harborough's quiet surface.

W&N

Three Corvettes

Nicholas Monsarrat
Authors:
Nicholas Monsarrat

This is how the war at sea really was...Nicholas Monsarrat's war, in those dark years of 1939-1945, was a ferocious, unforgiving, terrible war: the Battle of the Atlantic. An RNVR officer, he served on His Majesty's corvettes, tough little ships charged with the impossible task of seeing vital convoys safely through the packs of marauding U-boats. Between watches he kept a record of life on board, the good times and the bad, true tales of heroism, fear and all too often death. This was the war at sea as it really was. The three books were sensationally published even while the war raged about him, and make a fascinating prelude to the post-war The Cruel Sea.Also in this edition are his other short pieces on the sea, including the stories HMS Marlborough Will Enter Harbour and The Ship That Died of Shame. Here is some of the most dramatic literature of the sea ever written, from one of the finest writers of his generation.

W&N

Napoleon

Alistair Horne
Authors:
Alistair Horne
W&N

We Gave Our Today

William Fowler
Authors:
William Fowler

The Lost Voices of our 'Forgotten Army' in the war with Japan 1941-45.Nearly a million strong by 1944, the British 14th Army fought and ultimately conquered the Japanese forces that invaded Burma and strove to break through into India. But the victory was hard won, with great suffering along the way. With priority given to defeating Germany, these troops were last in line for additional men and equipment, and they joked about being "The Forgotten Army." Here is the story of these remarkable soldiers, whose monument at Kohima reads: 'When You Go Home, Tell Them Of Us And Say, For Their Tomorrow, We Gave Our Today.'

W&N

The Hopeless Life Of Charlie Summers

Paul Torday
Authors:
Paul Torday

A modern A TALE OF TWO CITIES by the bestselling author of SALMON FISHING IN THE YEMEN.Hector Chetwode-Talbot, Eck to his friends, has left the army and is slightly at a loss as to what to do next, when he is approached by an old army pal, Bilbo Mountwilliam. Bilbo runs an investment fund company and business is booming. Bilbo persuades Eck to join the company as a 'greeter' for moneyed clients. All Eck has to do is supply the contacts with entertainment and large G&Ts and then the fund managers will do the rest.Soon Eck is able to buy himself a luxury sports car and decadent flat. It is on a golfing trip to France that Eck first meets Charlie Summers, a fly-by-night entrepreneur whose latest scheme is to import Japanese dog food into the UK.Soon Charlie lands on Eck's doorstep with his suitcase, intent on staying and relaunching his dog food business in the area. But with the financial crash looming, Eck begins to ask himself if they are so very different...

W&N

Trafalgar

Nicholas Best
Authors:
Nicholas Best
W&N

The Last Valley

Martin Windrow, Martin Windrow
Authors:
Martin Windrow, Martin Windrow
W&N

The Kappillan of Malta

Nicholas Monsarrat
Authors:
Nicholas Monsarrat

'One of the most memorable characters of post-war fiction' Daily ExpressA classic novel set in the siege of Malta 1940-1942 from the bestselling author of The Cruel SeaFather Salvatore was a simple, lumbering priest, a Kappillan serving the poor Valetta, when war came out of the blue skies to pound the island to dust.Now amid the catacombs discovered by a chance bomb, he cared for the flood of homeless, starving, frightened people who sought shelter from the death that fell unceasingly from the sky.His story, and the story of Malta, is told in superbly graphic pictures of six days during the siege. Each of those days brought forth from the Kappillan a message of inspiration to keep them going - the legendary tales of six mighty events of Malta's history which shone through the centuries and gathered them together in a fervent belief in their survival.

W&N

The Kings & Queens of England

Nicholas Best
Authors:
Nicholas Best

A beautifully illustrated companion to the Royal family throughout historySpanning ten dynasties of England's monarchs, The Kings and Queens of England presents portraits and potted biographies of England's monarchs. Spanning from the Normans through to the House of Windsor, this exquisite little book captures the personalities behind the crowns and records the landmarks, traditions and events of each reign.

An Interview

Rebecca Stott

Rebecca Stott discusses The Coral Thief

Q&A

Tilly Bagshawe

Tilly Bagshawe, author of SHOWDOWN, answers our questions.

Ground-breaking new project will see story published in weekly chapters on immersive app

Julian Fellowes Brings the Serial into the Digital Age

Downton Abbey creator Julian Fellowes and Orion Publishing are delighted to announce an exciting new publishing project that has its roots in the writing of Dickens, Hardy and Gaskell.

Nicholas Monsarrat

Nicholas Monsarrat was born in Liverpool in 1910, and was educated at Trinity College, Cambridge. He served in World War II, first as a member of an ambulance brigade and then as a member of the Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve. His lifelong love of sailing made him a capable naval officer, and he served with distinction on a series of small warships. Resigning his wartime commission in 1946, Monsarrat entered the diplomatic service. He turned to writing full time in 1959, settling on the Mediterranean island of Gozo. He died in 1979 and was buried at sea from a destroyer, off Portsmouth.