Related to: 'Graham Joyce'

Trapeze

How to be Champion

Sarah Millican
Authors:
Sarah Millican
W&N

The Maker of Swans

Paraic O’Donnell
Authors:
Paraic O’Donnell

'Compulsive reading . . . rich, strange, beautiful' Helen Macdonald, author of H is for Hawk'A strange, new and captivating look at a magical realm . . . Lavishly entertaining' Independent'Enthralling . . . a literary feast' StylistThe world had forgotten Mr Crowe and his mysterious gifts. Until he killed the poet. He lived a secluded life in the fading grandeur of his country estate. His companions were his faithful manservant and his ward, Clara, a silent, bookish girl who has gifts of her own. Now Dr Chastern, the leader of a secret society, arrives at the estate to call Crowe to account and keep his powers in check. But it is Clara's even greater gifts that he comes to covet most. She must learn to use them quickly, if she is to save them all.

W&N

The Enchanted

Rene Denfeld
Authors:
Rene Denfeld

'THE ENCHANTED wrapped its beautiful and terrible fingers around me from the first page and refused to let go after the last. A wondrous book... so dark, yet so exquisite.' Erin Morgentern, author of The Night CircusA prisoner sits on death row in a maximum security prison. His only escape from his harsh existence is through the words he dreams about, the world he conjures around him using the power of language. For the reality of his world is brutal and stark. He is not named, nor do we know his crime. But he listens. He listens to the story of York, the prisoner in the cell next to him whose execution date has been set. He hears the lady, an investigator who is piecing together York's past. He watches as the lady falls in love with the priest and wonders if love is still possible here. He sees the corruption and the danger as tensions in 'this enchanted place' build. And he waits. Because every monster was once a child, and even monsters have a story . . .A powerful and hauntingly beautiful novel for fans of THE GREEN MILE and THE SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION.

Gateway

Hydrosphere

John Glasby, A.J. Merak
Authors:
John Glasby, A.J. Merak

The Colony on Rigel IV had been founded seven hundred years earlier but for the past six centuries, they had been forced to exist on the bottoms of the great oceans of the planet, kept there by the tremendously potent weapons of the alien star-race which had swept down out of space and wiped them off the land masses of the new world.Kerrel Stevens found himself trapped in one of the Shells, unable to remember how he came to be there, aware only that for some strange reason, he held the secret which could release these people from their terrible existence, but that his memory and all of the knowledge which could help in the struggle against the aliens had been erased from his mind.In the Shells, he finds what he is seeking - others like himself, different from the people who had become used to this life on the sea bottom, where science had gradually given way to superstition and witchcraft - and this chance meeting provides the key which unlocked the amnesia in his mind. For him, it opened the doorway to the surface of this strange, impossible planet, plunging him breathlessly towards the stars- and the unbelievable secret which spelt destruction for the alien star-race.

W&N

Red Nile

Robert Twigger
Authors:
Robert Twigger

A rip-roaring yet intimate biography of the mighty Nile by Robert Twigger, award-winning author of ANGRY WHITE PYJAMAS. 'A tour de force' FINANCIAL TIMES.So much begins on the banks of the Nile: all religion, all life, all stories, the script we write in, the language we speak, the gods, the legends and the names of stars. This mighty river that flows through a quarter of all Africa has been history's most sustained creator.In this dazzling, idiosyncratic journey from ancient times to the Arab Spring, award-winning author Robert Twigger weaves a Nile narrative like no other. As he navigates a meandering course through the history of the world's greatest river, he plucks the most intriguing, colourful and dramatic stories - truly a Nile red in tooth and claw.The result is both an epic journey through the whole sweep of human and pre-human history, and an intimate biography of the curious life of this great river, overflowing with stories of excess, love, passion, splendour and violence.

Gollancz

The Year of the Ladybird

Graham Joyce
Authors:
Graham Joyce
Orion

Touching Distance

Graham Hurley
Authors:
Graham Hurley

'There is no one writing better police procedurals today.' Daily TelegraphA killing without mercy. A crime with no motive. Three random killings. Or something much, much worse? DS Jimmy Suttle is trying to get his life back on track. His marriage has fallen apart and he rarely sees his young daughter, Grace. But then a murder shuts the door on the chaos of his personal life...The victim was shot through the head at the wheel of his car on a lonely moorland road. The only witness? His two-year-old son, strapped into the rear child seat. Within days, two more killings, equally professional, equally without motive.Meanwhile, Suttle's estranged wife is embarking on an investigation of her own in the world of journalism. But the story brings her to the question at the very heart of Jimmy's case - what does it take to make a man kill?Why readers love Graham Hurley:'There is no one writing better police procedurals today.' Daily Telegraph'Well-written and plotted, utterly convincing and really exciting... Excellent' Daily Mail'One of the great talents of British police procedurals... every book he delivers is better than the last' Independent on SundayFans of Ian Rankin, Peter James and Peter Robinson will love Graham Hurley:Faraday and Winter1. Turnstone 2. The Take 3. Angels Passing 4. Deadlight 5. Cut to Black 6. Blood and Honey 7. One Under 8. The Price of Darkness 9. No Lovelier Death 10. Beyond Reach 11. Borrowed Light 12. Happy Days Jimmy Suttle1. Western Approaches 2. Touching Distance 3. Sins of the Father 4. The Order of Things * Each Graham Hurley novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Gollancz

Some Kind of Fairy Tale

Graham Joyce
Authors:
Graham Joyce

SOME KIND OF FAIRY TALE is a very English story. A story of woods and clearings, a story of folk tales and family histories. It is as if Neil Gaiman and Joanne Harris had written a fairy tale together.It is Christmas afternoon and Peter Martin gets an unexpected phonecall from his parents, asking him to come round. It pulls him away from his wife and children and into a bewildering mystery.He arrives at his parents' house and discovers that they have a visitor. His sister Tara. Not so unusual you might think, this is Christmas after all, a time when families get together. But twenty years ago Tara took a walk into the woods and never came back and as the years have gone by with no word from her the family have, unspoken, assumed that she was dead. Now she's back, tired, dirty, dishevelled, but happy and full of stories about twenty years spent travelling the world, an epic odyssey taken on a whim.But her stories don't quite hang together and once she has cleaned herself up and got some sleep it becomes apparent that the intervening years have been very kind to Tara. She really does look no different from the young women who walked out the door twenty years ago. Peter's parents are just delighted to have their little girl back, but Peter and his best friend Richie, Tara's one time boyfriend, are not so sure. Tara seems happy enough but there is something about her. A haunted, otherworldly quality. Some would say it's as if she's off with the fairies. And as the months go by Peter begins to suspect that the woods around their homes are not finished with Tara and his family...

Gollancz

The Silent Land

Graham Joyce
Authors:
Graham Joyce
Gollancz

Smoking Poppy

Graham Joyce
Authors:
Graham Joyce
Gollancz

The Facts of Life

Graham Joyce
Authors:
Graham Joyce

THE FACTS OF LIFE tells the story of an extraordinary family of seven sisters living in Coventry during the Second World War.Presided over by an indomitable matriach, the sisters live out a tangled and fraught life that takes them through the Blitz, war work and on into the hopeful postwar years, and a bizarre interlude for one of them in a commune.And through it all wanders the young son of one of the sisters, passed from sister to sister, the innocent witness to a life that edges over into the magical.Winner of the World Fantasy Award for best novel, 2003

Gollancz

The Tooth Fairy

Graham Joyce
Authors:
Graham Joyce
W&N

The Limits of Enchantment

Graham Joyce
Authors:
Graham Joyce

The best novel yet from a World Fantasy Award and four time British Fantasy Award winning author.This is the story of a young woman growing up in the midlands in 1966 - a woman who may be a witch. As a baby, Fern was taken in by Mammy Cullen who schooled her in the art of old hedgerow medicine, of traditional midwifery, herbs, folk songs and tales. She comes of age in the 1960s but lives on the margins of society until a group of Beatniks descends on the small village she calls home. Then a young woman dies after visiting Mammy for a brew to stop her pregnancy, setting off a landslide of events that threatens everything Fern has ever known.

Browse our news stories

News

Read the latest news from Orion and our authors on our news page.

SOME KIND OF FAIRY TALE WINS BEST NOVEL

Graham Joyce Wins British Fantasy Award

Graham Joyce received a standing ovation at the 1,000-strong awards ceremony of the World Fantasy Convention in Brighton on Sunday 2nd November 2013, after picking up the Best Fantasy Novel Award for an unprecedented sixth time in his career.

Members of the creative writing community Movellas were challenged to write an original short story using the starting point, and inspiration of a hidden power – such as that discovered in Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow & Bone, the first book in the Grisha Trilogy.

MOVELLAS and LEIGH BARDUGO competition winner revealed

Members of the creative writing community Movellas were challenged to write an original short story using the starting point, and inspiration of a hidden power – such as that discovered in Leigh Bardugo's Shadow & Bone, the first book in the Grisha Trilogy.

An Interview

Graham Hurley

Graham Hurley talks to Simon Spanton about his lead characters and the gritty setting of Portsmouth that they inhabit.

An Interview

Rebecca Stott

Rebecca Stott discusses The Coral Thief

Kate Ackley wins the Orion and Illustration Ltd Student Illustration Competition

The Orion Publishing Group and the leading illustration agency, Illustration Ltd, have announced that Kate Ackley from the University of Wolverhampton has won their inaugural Student Illustration Competition.

SECOND WORLD WAR SURVEY REVEALS WORRYING GAPS IN OUR BASIC KNOWLEDGE ABOUT THE CONFLICT

Just How Much Do We Know Our History?

A survey carried out by YouGov, to find out how many facts about the Second World War we actually know, has revealed some worrying gaps in our basic knowledge about the conflict. The survey was done online, in association with Antony Beevor, the international bestselling author of The Second World War, and the Orion Publishing Group.