Related to: 'Ilona Andrews'

Gollancz

Wild Hunger

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill
Gollancz

Slaying It

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill
W&N

Memoirs and Reflections

Evgeny Kissin
Authors:
Evgeny Kissin
W&N

Lenin the Dictator

Victor Sebestyen
Authors:
Victor Sebestyen

Victor Sebestyen's intimate biography is the first major work in English for nearly two decades on one of the most significant figures of the twentieth century. In Russia to this day Lenin inspires adulation. Everywhere, he continues to fascinate as a man who made history, and who created a new kind of state that would later be imitated by nearly half the countries in the world.Lenin believed that the 'the political is the personal', and while in no way ignoring his political life, Sebestyen's focus will be on Lenin the man - a man who loved nature almost as much as he loved making revolution, and whose closest ties and friendships were with women. The long-suppressed story of his ménage a trois with his wife, Nadezhda Krupskaya, and his mistress and comrade, Inessa Armand, reveals a different character to the coldly one-dimensional figure of legend.Told through the prism of Lenin's key relationships, Sebestyen's lively biography casts a new light the Russian Revolution, one of the great turning points of modern history.

W&N

Heyday

Ben Wilson
Authors:
Ben Wilson

HEYDAY brings to life one of the most extraordinary periods in modern history. Over the course of the 1850s, the world was reshaped by technology, trade, mass migration and war. The global economy expanded fivefold, millions of families emigrated to the ends of the earth to carve out new lives, technology revolutionised communications, while steamships and railways cut across vast continents and oceans, shrinking the world and creating the first global age.It was a decade of breathtaking transformation, with striking parallels for our own times. The 1850s saw the laying of the first undersea cable in 1851, the rush for gold from California to Australia, while fleets of pirate vessels docked in Hong Kong harbour, eager to take advantage of booming trade. The West's insatiable hunger for land, natural resources and new markets encouraged free trade, bold exploration and colonisation as never before. In a fast-paced, kaleidoscopic narrative, the acclaimed historian Ben Wilson recreates this time of explosive energy and dizzying change, a rollercoaster ride of booms and bust, focusing on the lives of the men and women reshaping its frontiers. At the centre stands Great Britain. The country was the peak of its power as it attempted to determine the destinies of hundreds of millions of people.A dazzling history of a tumultuous decade, HEYDAY reclaims an often overlooked decade that was fundamental not only in in the making of Britain but of the modern world.

Gollancz

Gallow: The Fateguard Trilogy

Nathan Hawke
Authors:
Nathan Hawke
Gollancz

Elves: Rise of the TaiGethen

James Barclay
Authors:
James Barclay

THE ELVES ARE ENSLAVEDCalaius is occupied by an implacable, relentless enemy. The great elven cities are little more than prison camps. Elven slaves are forced to destroy their beloved rainforest to harvest timber for their masters.The enemy has no mercy, no honour and little skill in battle. The enemy is Man.Those few elves who remain free are fragmented, in squabbling factions, and they must unite before they can take a stand. Many believe that the battle is already lost, but Auum is not one of them. He knows Men's numbers are great but their tactics are weak; he knows Men think the Elves are already beaten; he is convinced that his people must fight now, or see their race destroyed. Takaar disagrees. He believes Elven salvation lies in unlocking their magic, not in fighting pitched battles against Man. He is determined to save his people too, but his tactics are entirely different ... and if some Elves must die now to ensure Calaius will be free of Man in the future, it's a sacrifice he is willing to make.The Elves must choose their sides. Whatever they decide, victory will win their freedom ... and failure will mean extermination ...

Gollancz

Biting Cold

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill

The sixth entry in Chloe Neill's Chicagoland Vampires series, perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Kelley ArmstrongTurned into a vampire against her will, Merit found her way into the dark circle of Chicago's vampire underground, where she learned there was more to supernaturals than met the eye, and more supernaturals than the public ever imagined. And not all the secrets she learned were for sharing - among humans or inhumans.Now Merit is on the hunt, charging across the stark American Midwest, tailing a rogue supernatural intent on stealing an ancient artefact that could unleash catastrophic evil on the world. But Merit is also the prey. An enemy of Chicagoland is hunting her, and he'll stop at nothing to get the book for himself. No mercy allowed. No rules apply. No lives spared. The race is on.

Gollancz

Drink Deep

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill

The fifth entry in Chloe Neill's Chicagoland Vampires series, perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Kelley ArmstrongClouds are brewing over Cadogan House, and recently turned vampire Merit can't tell if this is the darkness before the dawn or the calm before the storm. With the city itself in turmoil over paranormals and the state threatening to pass a paranormal registration act, times haven't been this precarious for vampires since they came out of the closet. If only they could lay low for a bit, and let the mortals calm down.That's when the waters of Lake Michigan suddenly turn pitch black - and things really start getting ugly.Chicago's mayor insists it's nothing to worry about, but Merit knows only the darkest magic could have woven a spell powerful enough to change the very fabric of nature. She'll have to turn to friends old and new to find out who's behind this, and stop them before it's too late for vampires and humans alike.

Gollancz

Magic Strikes

Ilona Andrews
Authors:
Ilona Andrews

When magic strikes and Atlanta goes to pieces, it's a job for Kate Daniels!Drafted into working for the Order of Merciful Aid, mercenary Kate Daniels has more paranormal problems than she knows what to do with these days. And in Atlanta, where magic comes and goes like the tide, that's saying a lot.But when Kate's werewolf friend Derek is discovered nearly dead, she must confront her greatest challenge yet. As her investigation leads her to the Midnight Games - an invitation-only, no-holds-barred ultimate preternatural fighting tournament - she and Curran, the Lord of the Beasts, uncover a dark plot that may forever alter the face of Atlanta's shapeshifting community ...

Gollancz

Magic Burns

Ilona Andrews
Authors:
Ilona Andrews

Down in Atlanta, tempers - and temperatures - are about to flare ...As a mercenary who cleans up after magic gone wrong, Kate Daniels has seen her share of occupational hazards. Normally, waves of paranormal energy ebb and flow across Atlanta like a tide. But once every seven years, a flare comes, a time when magic runs rampant. Now Kate's going to have to deal with problems on a much bigger scale: a divine one.When Kate sets out to retrieve a set of stolen maps for the Pack, Atlanta's paramilitary clan of shapeshifters, she quickly realizes much more is at stake. During a flare, gods and goddesses can manifest - and battle for power. The stolen maps are only the opening gambit in an epic tug-of-war between two gods hoping for rebirth. And if Kate can't stop the cataclysmic showdown, the city may not survive ...

Gollancz

Magic Bites

Ilona Andrews
Authors:
Ilona Andrews
Gollancz

Elfsorrow

James Barclay
Authors:
James Barclay

Legends of the Raven: One THE ELVES ARE DYING.The rivalry between the four colleges of magic has brought misery and war to Balaia, and throughout it the Elves have remained apart. They have watched, aloof and untouched, from their homeland of Calaius as human dynasties came and went. Until now. Suddenly, the Elves are dying in their thousands, seemingly struck down at random. Ilkar, an Elven mage, is uniquely placed to find the cause of this plague and put an end to it. For Ilkar is one of The Raven: a tiny mercenary band of warriors and mages, bound together by a vow stronger than blood. Over many years their prowess has become legendary. But like elves, even heroes are mortal ...

Gollancz

Demonstorm

James Barclay
Authors:
James Barclay
Members of the creative writing community Movellas were challenged to write an original short story using the starting point, and inspiration of a hidden power – such as that discovered in Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow & Bone, the first book in the Grisha Trilogy.

MOVELLAS and LEIGH BARDUGO competition winner revealed

Members of the creative writing community Movellas were challenged to write an original short story using the starting point, and inspiration of a hidden power – such as that discovered in Leigh Bardugo's Shadow & Bone, the first book in the Grisha Trilogy.

Chloe Neill

Chloe Neill was born in the south of the USA and currently resides in Nebraska. SOME GIRLS BITE was her debut novel and the first in the Chicagoland Vampires series. She is also the author of the YA Dark Elite series.

An Interview

Simon Sebag Montefiore

Simon Sebag Montefiore explains to Danuta Kean why he is fascinated with Stalin.

Coming November 2013

Read an Extract from Michael Connelly's THE GODS OF GUILT

Read an early extract from THE GODS OF GUILT by Michael Connelly, coming November 2013 by clicking the READ button below.

All of the details

Orion Art and Design Student Competition

The Versions of Us is a beautiful, vibrant, uplifting literary novel, published to much critical acclaim. Central to the story is a painting, which we would like you to interpret in any way you want. The winner will have the opportunity to work with the award-winning Art Department at Orion Books and have their design appear on a book. They will also win a 12 month mentoring course from Illustration Ltd, who will provide support with your portfolio so it’s ready for graduation, and you can visit the agency in London who will option your work for future representation.

Ground-breaking new project will see story published in weekly chapters on immersive app

Julian Fellowes Brings the Serial into the Digital Age

Downton Abbey creator Julian Fellowes and Orion Publishing are delighted to announce an exciting new publishing project that has its roots in the writing of Dickens, Hardy and Gaskell.