Related to: 'Ilona Andrews'

Gollancz

Wild Hunger

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill

When a grizzly murder threatens to change the paranormal balance of power-and bring an end to years of peace between humans and supernaturals-a new generation must fight for Chicago. As the only vampire child ever born, some believed Elisa Sullivan had all the luck. But the magic that helped bring her into the world left her with a dark secret. Shifter Connor Keene, the only son of North American Central Pack Apex Gabriel Keene, is the only one she trusts with it. But she's a vampire and the daughter of a Master and a Sentinel, and he's prince of the Pack and its future king.When the assassination of an ambassador brings old feuds to the fore again, Elisa and Connor must choose between love and family, between honor and obligation, before Chicago disappears forever.Return to Chicagoland. Meet the family . . .

Gollancz

Slaying It

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill

Merit, the Sentinel of Chicago's Cadogan House, is pregnant. She's ready to meet her daughter, but also excited to see her feet again. While out on an evening walk, Merit stops to help a man in need, only to find herself the victim of a kidnapping attempt. Someone with a serious debt to some very serious people thinks Cadogan House will pay a rich reward for Merit's return.Jonah, the handsome captain of Grey House's guards, is on his way to a meeting at Cadogan--and if he's honest with himself, to drop in on Cadogan's gorgeous and brilliant chef, Margot--when he stumbles on the aftermath of the attack. He'll stop at nothing to help the Cadogan vampires, including Margot, face down the threat.Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires series'Wonderful entertainment' Charlaine Harris, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Midnight, Texas novels'Neill's Chicago is an edgier, urban Bon Temps' Heroes and Heartbreakers'I was drawn in...from page one and kept reading far into the night' - Julie Kenner, New York Times bestselling author of the Devil May Care novels

W&N

Lenin the Dictator

Victor Sebestyen
Authors:
Victor Sebestyen

'A fresh, powerful portrait of Lenin' Anne Applebaum, author of Red Famine'Richly readable ... An enthralling but appalling story' Francis Wheen, author of Karl MarxThe cold, one-dimensional figure of Lenin the political fanatic is only a partial truth. Drawing on extensive material that has only recently become available, Sebestyen's gripping biography casts an intriguing new light on the character behind the politics.In reality, Lenin was a man who loved nature as much as he loved making revolution, and his closest relationships were with women. He built a state based on terror. But he was a highly emotional man given to furious rages and deep passions. While never ignoring the politics, Sebestyen examines Lenin's inner life, his relationship with his wife and his long love affair with Inessa Armand, the most romantic and beguiling of Bolsheviks. These two women were as significant as the men - Stalin or Trotsky - who created the world's first Communist state with him.

W&N

Memoirs and Reflections

Evgeny Kissin
Authors:
Evgeny Kissin

Evgeny Igorevitch Kissin is a Russian-British-Israeli classical pianist. He first came to international fame as a child prodigy. He has been a British citizen since 2002 and an Israeli citizen since 2013. He has a wide repertoire and is especially known for his interpretations of the works of the Romantic era, particularly those of Frédéric Chopin, Sergei Rachmaninoff and Franz Liszt.The first two parts describe Kissin's childhood in Russia and his family's decision to live abroad after the attempted putsch at the Moscow White House. The third part consists mostly of his views of other pianists and conductors, as well as memories of people he met during his early years and career.Kissin writes about his parents, his sister, his grandparents and his teachers with tender affection and touching detail that gives his memoirs the transparency of water. Here are the things and the people and events that formed him, nurtured and challenged him, and the individuals who made him feel gratitude, amazement and awe. And, of course, it is infused with his lifelong engagement with making music, an obsessive love that captured him when he was young.The book throws a good deal of light on the life and attitudes of the mainly Russian Jewish intelligentsia, the problems of visas to America, Britain and other countries, and his views on performance of music, his own compositions in music and verse, and his personal approach to concerts. It also offers Kissin's philosophy of life and his understanding of human nature derived from meetings with learned people, books and his own day-to-day experience. He does not indulge in false modesty, but takes a realistic view of who he is in the eyes of the world.

W&N

Heyday

Ben Wilson
Authors:
Ben Wilson

'Excellent . . . This is narrative history of the highest quality' Andrew Lycett, Sunday Telegraph'Wonderfully engrossing and intelligent . . . clever and entertaining' Dominic Sandbrook, Sunday TimesHEYDAY brings to life one of the most extraordinary periods in modern history. The 1850s was a decade of breathtaking transformation, with striking parallels for our own times. The world was reshaped by technology, trade, mass migration and war. The global economy expanded fivefold, millions of families emigrated to the ends of the earth to carve out new lives, technology revolutionised communications, while steamships and railways cut across vast continents and oceans, shrinking the world and creating the first global age.In a fast-paced, kaleidoscopic narrative, the acclaimed historian Ben Wilson recreates this time of explosive energy and dizzying change, a rollercoaster ride of booms and bust, focusing on the lives of the men and women reshaping its frontiers. At the centre stands Great Britain. The country was the peak of its power as it attempted to determine the destinies of hundreds of millions of people. A dazzling history of a tumultuous decade, HEYDAY reclaims an often overlooked period that was fundamental not only in in the making of Britain but of the modern world.

Gollancz

Gallow: The Fateguard Trilogy

Nathan Hawke
Authors:
Nathan Hawke

I have been Truesword to my friends, Griefbringer to my enemies. To most of you I am just another Northlander bastard here to take your women and drink your mead, but to those who know me, my name is Gallow. I fought for my king for seven long years. I have served lords and held my shield beside common men. I have fled in defeat and I have tasted victory and I will tell you which is sweeter. Despise me then, for I have slain more of your kin than I can count, though I remember every single face.Gallow is an honest man, but not one you would want to cross. Left behind in a country that despises him, all he wants is to live a peaceful life. But the return of his countrymen on another invasion puts paid to his dreams. And when he is called upon, he will fight.Perfect for fans of historical fiction who want a little more bite to their reading, this trilogy earned rave reviews from authors such as Conn Iggulden and James Barclay.

Gollancz

Elves: Beyond the Mists of Katura

James Barclay
Authors:
James Barclay

Thousands of years ago the elves were enslaved by the Wytch Lords. Murdered in their thousands, worked to death in slave gangs and divided against themselves, the wounds inflicted by man run deep - and elves have very long memories. Two of them - Auum and Takaar - led the rise against their enslavers, and united their people against men in order to free their nation. Now Calaius is at peace ... but that doesn't mean their nation is safe.Men need their help.The Wytch Lords have rallied, men's magic has grown more powerful, and their politics have become altogether more dangerous. Especially now: one of the mages has created a spell, called Dawnthief, which has the potential to destroy all living things on the planet. All four magical colleges are fighting to seize it and, in the background, the Wytch Lords have schemes of their own. Schemes which involve crushing the elven nation for good. Whoever seizes the spell, it places the elves in tremendous danger. But can Auum and Takaar overcome their differences and work together to save Calaius? And even if they can, is it not already too late ... ?Find out more on his website, www.jamesbarclay.com, or you can follow @barculator on Twitter.

Gollancz

Elves: Rise of the TaiGethen

James Barclay
Authors:
James Barclay
Gollancz

Biting Cold

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill

The sixth entry in Chloe Neill's Chicagoland Vampires series, perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Kelley ArmstrongTurned into a vampire against her will, Merit found her way into the dark circle of Chicago's vampire underground, where she learned there was more to supernaturals than met the eye, and more supernaturals than the public ever imagined. And not all the secrets she learned were for sharing - among humans or inhumans.Now Merit is on the hunt, charging across the stark American Midwest, tailing a rogue supernatural intent on stealing an ancient artefact that could unleash catastrophic evil on the world. But Merit is also the prey. An enemy of Chicagoland is hunting her, and he'll stop at nothing to get the book for himself. No mercy allowed. No rules apply. No lives spared. The race is on.

Gollancz

Drink Deep

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill
Gollancz

Magic Strikes

Ilona Andrews
Authors:
Ilona Andrews
Gollancz

Magic Burns

Ilona Andrews
Authors:
Ilona Andrews
Gollancz

Magic Bites

Ilona Andrews
Authors:
Ilona Andrews
Gollancz

Elfsorrow

James Barclay
Authors:
James Barclay
Members of the creative writing community Movellas were challenged to write an original short story using the starting point, and inspiration of a hidden power – such as that discovered in Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow & Bone, the first book in the Grisha Trilogy.

MOVELLAS and LEIGH BARDUGO competition winner revealed

Members of the creative writing community Movellas were challenged to write an original short story using the starting point, and inspiration of a hidden power – such as that discovered in Leigh Bardugo's Shadow & Bone, the first book in the Grisha Trilogy.

Chloe Neill

Chloe Neill was born in the south of the USA and currently resides in Nebraska. SOME GIRLS BITE was her debut novel and the first in the Chicagoland Vampires series. She is also the author of the YA Dark Elite series.

An Interview

Simon Sebag Montefiore

Simon Sebag Montefiore explains to Danuta Kean why he is fascinated with Stalin.

Coming November 2013

Read an Extract from Michael Connelly's THE GODS OF GUILT

Read an early extract from THE GODS OF GUILT by Michael Connelly, coming November 2013 by clicking the READ button below.

All of the details

Orion Art and Design Student Competition

The Versions of Us is a beautiful, vibrant, uplifting literary novel, published to much critical acclaim. Central to the story is a painting, which we would like you to interpret in any way you want. The winner will have the opportunity to work with the award-winning Art Department at Orion Books and have their design appear on a book. They will also win a 12 month mentoring course from Illustration Ltd, who will provide support with your portfolio so it’s ready for graduation, and you can visit the agency in London who will option your work for future representation.

Ground-breaking new project will see story published in weekly chapters on immersive app

Julian Fellowes Brings the Serial into the Digital Age

Downton Abbey creator Julian Fellowes and Orion Publishing are delighted to announce an exciting new publishing project that has its roots in the writing of Dickens, Hardy and Gaskell.