Related to: 'June Hampson'

Seven Dials

The Hairy Dieters Make It Easy

Hairy Bikers
Authors:
Hairy Bikers
Orion

The Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness

Laura Kemp
Authors:
Laura Kemp

Sometimes all it takes to make the world a better place is a small act of kindness...When Ceri Price arrives in the small seaside village of Dwynwen in West Wales, she only means to stay for a couple of nights - long enough to scatter her mother's ashes, and then go back to her life as a successful make-up entrepreneur. But a case of mistaken identities means she lands a job as the barmaid in the local pub, she unexpectedly finds friendship, and wonders if love might follow... But when the plans for a new housing estate put the local woodland under threat, she fears the way of life here could disappear.Then mysterious acts of kindness start springing up around the village - a string of bunting adorns the streets, a new village signpost appears out of nowhere and someone provides paint to spruce up the houses on the seafront. Who is behind these acts of kindness and can they help in the race to save the village from the faceless developers...?Welcome to Dwynwen: Village of Love. Where friendship flourishes and love blossoms...Read by Lowri Walton(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

W&N

Les Parisiennes

Anne Sebba
Authors:
Anne Sebba

WINNER OF THE FRANCO-BRITISH SOCIETY BOOK PRIZE 2016What did it feel like to be a woman living in Paris from 1939 to 1949? These were years of fear, power, aggression, courage, deprivation and secrets until - finally - renewal and retribution. Even at the darkest moments of Occupation, glamour was ever present. French women wore lipstick. Why?It was women who came face to face with the German conquerors on a daily basis - perhaps selling them their clothes or travelling alongside them on the Metro, where a German soldier had priority over seats. By looking at a wide range of individuals from collaborators to resisters, actresses and prostitutes to teachers and writers, Anne Sebba shows that women made life-and-death decisions every day, and, in an atmosphere where sex became currency, often did whatever they needed to survive. Her fascinating cast includes both native Parisian women and those living in Paris temporarily: American women and Nazi wives, spies, mothers, mistresses, and fashion and jewellery designers. Some women, like the heiress Béatrice de Camondo or novelist Irène Némirovsky, converted to Catholicism; others like lesbian racing driver Violette Morris embraced the Nazi philosophy; only a handful, like Coco Chanel, retreated to the Ritz with a German lover.In enthralling detail Sebba explores the aftershock of the Second World War and the choices demanded. How did the women who survived to see the Liberation of Paris come to terms with their actions and those of others? Although politics lies at its heart, Les Parisiennes is the first in-depth account of the everyday lives of women and young girls in this most feminine of cities.

Orion

The English Girl

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb

Joan Seabrook, a fledgling archaeologist, has fulfilled a lifelong dream to visit Arabia by travelling from England to the ancient city of Muscat with her fiancé, Rory. Desperate to escape the pain of a personal tragedy, she longs to explore the desert fort of Jabrin, and unearth the treasures it is said to conceal.But Oman is a land lost in time - hard, secretive, and in the midst of a violent upheaval - and gaining permission to explore Jabrin could prove impossible. Joan's disappointment is only alleviated by the thrill of meeting her childhood heroine, pioneering explorer Maude Vickery, and hearing first-hand the stories that captured her imagination and fuelled her ambition as a child.Joan's encounter with the extraordinary and reclusive Maude will change everything. Both women have things that they want, and secrets they must keep. As their friendship grows, Joan is seduced by Maude's stories, and the thrill of the adventure they hold, and only too late does she begin to question her actions - actions that will spark a wild, and potentially disastrous, chain of events.Will the girl that left England for this beautiful but dangerous land ever find her way back?(p) 2016 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

The Night Falling

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
Orion

The Crying Game

June Hampson
Authors:
June Hampson
Orion

The Misbegotten

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb

A powerful and absorbing mystery from the Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author of THE LEGACY.Bath, 1821. When Rachel Crofton marries, her new life soon takes a more unexpected turn as she is invited to become the companion to the reclusive Jonathan Alleyn, a man tormented by the disappearance of his childhood sweetheart, Alice.Starling, servant to the Alleyn family, is convinced that Alice, the woman she loved as a sister, was stolen from her. Did Alice run away? Or did something more sinister occur? As Rachel and Starling try to expose the lies, they find others are desperate to forget, and will go to extreme lengths to do so. . .Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb's sweeping historical dramas: 'An enormously talented writer' Santa Montefiore 'Webb have a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart and exploring the truth of love' Kate Williams 'Katherine Webb's writing is beautiful' Elizabeth Fremantle 'A truly gifted writer of historical fiction' Lucinda Riley 'Katherine's writing is rich, vivid and evocative' Iona Grey

Orion

A Mother's Journey

June Hampson
Authors:
June Hampson
Gollancz

The Shifting Price of Prey

Suzanne McLeod
Authors:
Suzanne McLeod
Orion

A Half Forgotten Song

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb

From the bestselling author of The Legacy comes a powerful dual narrative, set between now and the 1930s, exploring the dark heart of obsessive love. For fans of Tracy Rees, Jenny Ashcroft and Rosanna Ley1937In a village on the Dorset coast, fourteen-year-old Mitzy Hatcher has had a wild and lonely upbringing - until the arrival of renowned artist Charles Aubrey, his exotic mistress and their daughters, changes everything. Over the next three summers, Mitzy glimpses a future she had never imagined, and a powerful love is kindled in her. A love that grows from innocence to obsession; from childish infatuation to something far more complex.Years later, a young man in an art gallery looks at a hastily drawn portrait and wonders at the intensity of it. The questions he asks lead him to a Dorset village and to the truth about those fevered summers in the 1930s...A Half Forgotten Song is an absorbing and intoxicating mystery around a love that takes hold and won't let go.Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb's novels: 'An enormously talented writer' Santa Montefiore 'Webb has a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart and exploring the truth of love' Kate Williams 'Katherine Webb's writing is beautiful' Elizabeth Fremantle 'A truly gifted writer of historical fiction' Lucinda Riley 'Katherine's writing is rich, vivid and evocative' Iona Grey

Orion

Fighting Dirty

June Hampson
Authors:
June Hampson

The final, heart-pounding instalment in June Hampson's compelling gangland saga series.It's 1983 and Daisy Lane is battling to keep her son, Jamie, under some kind of control. His older brother Eddie is about to come out of prison after a stretch for manslaughter, and his release couldn't come soon enough. In Eddie's absence, Jamie has matured from a tearaway teenager to a hardened criminal with a psychotic edge to his character. He's responsible for the death of Roy's bit-on-the-side along with a string of other violent episodes. Only Eddie can keep his young brother from acting out his darkest desires. As Eddie emerges from prison, he finds that the world has moved on. The criminal underworld is tougher with fewer allegiances than ever before. Eddie decides to reject Roy's offer of help and instead go it alone, setting up his own gang - who plan the most audacious heist Britain has seen in decades. Will Eddie manage to pull it off? Or will his brother be his undoing?

Orion

Jail Bait

June Hampson
Authors:
June Hampson
Orion

Fatal Cut

June Hampson
Authors:
June Hampson
Orion

Damaged Goods

June Hampson
Authors:
June Hampson
Orion

Broken Bodies

June Hampson
Authors:
June Hampson

Daisy Lane comes home a widow intent on revenge in this stunning follow up to June Hampson's successful debut TRUST NOBODYDaisy Lane returns to her home town of Gosport after a spell abroad. She's been getting over the bad times, having lost both her husband Kenny and her lover Eddie to violent deaths. But in the months away from home Daisy has not been idle - she's given birth to a baby boy, and she's been plotting her revenge on Roy Kemp, the man who killed her lover. But is it possible for a vulnerable woman to take on a man like Roy Kemp and not be badly hurt?Roy's dealings are not confined to London; his reach extends south, right down to the coast. Could he be the man behind the recent slaying of prostitutes? And is the killer of these women also responsible for the two badly abused bodies of young boys that have been found on waste ground in Gosport?Meanwhile Daisy's best friend Vera has given up the life of the streets to run a massage parlour, and policeman DS Vinnie Endersby, on the trail of the Krays in London, finds himself pulled back to Gosport by his powerful attraction to Daisy.

Orion

Trust Nobody

June Hampson
Authors:
June Hampson

In a man's world it's every woman for herself... The brilliant debut novel from a new star on the Orion list.It is 1962 and Daisy Lane, whose husband Kenny is in jail for robbery, runs and lives over the family's cafe in Gosport with Kenny's older brother Eddie. Daisy looks out for pretty, vulnerable, 16-year-old Suze, who works in the cafe and, along with prostitute Vera, who also shares the house, the women form a strong and lasting bond.The Lane brothers suffered a violent childhood, but Eddie took the brunt of the beatings. He has grown into a handsome, resourceful villain with a streak of viciousness that leads him to commit acts of terrifying violence to get his way - and Daisy prefers not to know the details of Eddie's 'business' dealings.But hard man Eddie has an Achilles heel - Daisy. She resists him, but when her visits to Kenny in jail become more and more difficult, it is Eddie she turns to for support. Then Eddie pulls a racket too far, venturing on the patch of a villain who is even harder and more territorial than he is.And Daisy discovers the hard way to trust nobody - especially not the man you love...

Q&A

June Hampson

June Hampson, author of TRUST NOBODY, answers our questions.

An Interview

June Hampson

Danuta Kean finds out about the real underworld experiences which inform June Hampson’s novels.

Maureen Lee

Maureen Lee was born in Liverpool and had numerous short stories published and a play professionally staged before her first novel was published. Her award-winning novels have earned her many fans. Her latest novel, The Leaving of Liverpool, was a Sunday Times top ten bestseller. She is an RNA winner, and writes full time. Maureen now lives in Colchester, Essex.To find out more, visit www.maureenlee.co.uk

An Interview

Rebecca Stott

Rebecca Stott discusses The Coral Thief