Related to: 'Francesca Jakobi'

W&N

The Reunion

Guillaume Musso
Authors:
Guillaume Musso

THE #1 SENSATION WITH OVER HALF A MILLION COPIES SOLD IN FRANCEFrench Riviera, winter 1992.On a freezing night, as her high school campus is engulfed by a snowstorm, 19-year-old Vinca Rockwell runs away with her philosophy teacher with whom she's been having a secret affair.No one will ever see her again.French Riviera, spring 2017.Formerly inseparable, Fanny, Thomas and Maxime - Vinca's best friends - have not spoken in twenty-five years. But when they receive a notice from their old school detailing the plans for a new gymnasium and inviting them to a class reunion, they know they must go back one more time.Because there is a body buried in that building... ...and they're the ones who put it there.

W&N

Long Shot

Azad Cudi
Authors:
Azad Cudi
Trapeze

Deep Dark Water

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman
W&N

Lenin the Dictator

Victor Sebestyen
Authors:
Victor Sebestyen
W&N

The Vanity Fair Diaries: 1983–1992

Tina Brown
Authors:
Tina Brown

'Indiscreet, brilliantly observed, frequently hilarious' Evening Standard'Hang on - it's a wild ride' Meryl StreepIt's 1983. A young Englishwoman arrives in Manhattan on a mission. Summoned in the hope that she can save Condé Nast's troubled new flagship Vanity Fair, Tina Brown is plunged into the maelstrom of competitive New York media. She survives the politics and the intrigue by a simple stratagem: succeeding. Here are the inside stories of the scoops and covers that sold millions: the Reagan kiss, the meltdown of Princess Diana's marriage to Prince Charles, the sensational Annie Leibovitz cover of a gloriously pregnant, naked Demi Moore. Written with dash and verve, the diary is also a sharply observed account of New York and London society. In its cinematic pages the drama, comedy and struggle of raising a family and running an 'it' magazine come to life.

Orion

Where the Missing Go

Emma Rowley
Authors:
Emma Rowley

The twisty, gripping psychological thriller about a mother working at a Missing Persons helpline who receives a desperate phone call from her own daughter, who went missing four years before - perfect for fans of I LET YOU GO by Claire Mackintosh and TELL NO ONE by Harlan Coben.My name is Kate.I volunteer at a local charity - young people who have run away from home call meand I pass on messages to their loved ones, no questions asked.I don't get many phone calls, and those I do are usually short and vague, or pranks.But this morning a girl named Sophie called.I'm supposed to contact her parents to let them know their child is safe.The problem is, Sophie isn't safe.And Sophie is my daughter.read by Beth Eyre and Elaine Fellowes(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Seven Dials

When Likes Aren’t Enough

Tim Bono
Authors:
Tim Bono
W&N

Bitter

Francesca Jakobi
Authors:
Francesca Jakobi

LONGLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN 2018'Brilliantly paced, moving, thoughtful and sharp. Loved it.' Renée Knight, author of Disclaimer 'Bitter, yes, but also sweet - and moving, and searching, and quietly devastating: a novel to detonate the heart' A.J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window'Wonderful . . . It's a very painful story but told with a kind of lightness and grace. Francesca Jakobi completely inhabits Gilda, in all her pain and obsession, all her self-deception and self-sabotage. An absolutely astonishing first novel' Michael Frayn, author of Spies 'Bitter is stormingly good, deliciously addictive, as gripping as Zoe Heller's Notes on A Scandal. It's got to be the beach read of 2018!' Peter Bradshaw, Guardian Film Critic 'Gloriously sinister and yet heartbreaking. Brilliant' Nicci Cloke, author of Close Your EyesIt's 1969, and while the summer of love lingers in London, Gilda is consumed by the mistakes of her past. She walked out on her beloved son Reuben when he was just a boy and fears he'll never forgive her. When Reuben marries a petite blonde gentile, Gilda takes it as the ultimate rejection. Her cold, distant son seems transformed by love - a love she's craved his entire adult life. What does his new wife have that she doesn't? And how far will she go to find out? It's an obsession that will bring shocking truths about the past to light . . .Bitter is a beautiful and devastating novel about the decisions that define our lives, the fragility of love and the bond between mother and son.

W&N

City of Lies

Ramita Navai
Authors:
Ramita Navai
Orion

Operation Mayhem

Steve Heaney, MC, Damien Lewis
Authors:
Steve Heaney, MC, Damien Lewis
W&N

Grumpy Old Christmas

Stuart Prebble
Authors:
Stuart Prebble

The highly successful 'Grumpies' return full of the Christmas spirit.So - 'tis the season to be jolly is it? Well, not in the household of the Grumpy Old Man it isn't. In the case of the GOM, 'tis the season to have to put up with even deeper layers of vexation than usual, and the only thing worth celebrating is that it looks as though you might after all be surviving to the end of what has been another crap year.Everything about Christmas gets up our snitches. Everything. From the breakfast telly presenters who tell us it's now just 120 shopping days to go, to the annual festive strike by airport baggage handlers. From office parties where drunken juniors have waited the whole year to tell you what 'the trouble with you is...', to parents videoing their precocious brats at the atrocious school nativity play where your kid is playing the part of the donkey's rear end. From the woman next door who drops in to show your wife the diamond ring her prat of a husband has bought her, to the 150th opportunity to see 'Whistle Down the Wind' on the telly.And speaking of wind, there's the festive Xmas turkey that tastes like blotting paper soaked in a puddle and sends your digestive system to hell. And how on earth are we really supposed to look happy when someone buys us a tie with a picture of xxxxing Santa on it? Eh?

No Imprint

Me, Myself And Prague

Rachael Weiss
Authors:
Rachael Weiss

I tripped across the Charles Bridge just before first light, all alone apart from a sleepy pickpocket just clocking on for the morning shift, my heels clacking on the cobblestones, the early morning sky a beautiful deep blue. Armed only with a romantic soul and a pressing need to escape her overbearing family, Rachael Weiss heads for Prague in search of her Bohemian roots, with vague plans to write the next great Australian novel and perhaps, just perhaps, fall madly in love with an exotic Czech man with high cheekbones.They make it seem so easy, those other women who write of uprooting themselves from everything they know, crossing the world and forming effortless friendships with strangers, despite not understanding a word they say, while reinventing themselves in beautiful European cities. So it's not surprising that Rachael is completely unprepared for the realities that confront her in her strange new world. Initially starry-eyed, she quickly has to grapple with perplexing plumbing, extraordinarily rude checkout chicks, and the near-incomprehensible Czech language. In this warm and witty tale of life in a foreign land, Rachael, somewhat to her own surprise, finds herself gradually creating a second home in Prague, complete with an eccentric and unlikely tribe of extended family and friends; and realises along the way that while she's been striving so hard to become someone else, she has inadvertently grown to rather like the person she has always been. Me, Myself & Prague is a sweet and surprising memoir of discovering hope, self, family and friendship, Czech-style.

No Imprint

Soffritto

Every Italian cook has a soffritto - the 'starter kit' of olive oil, herbs, garlic and other core ingredients from which a great dish is built. Lucio Galletto was in search of the soffritto of his life.In 1938, 16-year-old Anna Galletto ran away with Gino Guelfi, the charming gelato maker she'd met at a local dance. In 1943, Anna's brother Mauro escaped from a German prison camp and hunted fascists in the marble mountains of Carrara. In 1951, Mauro and Gino built a shack on a beach next to the ruins of a 2000-year-old Roman city. They started selling fish soup to the artists and writers who were holidaying in the area and became legendary for the way they used the local specialties: parmesan, pecorino, olive oil, pasta, pesto, balsamic vinegar, truffles and prosciutto. In 1975, Mauro's son Lucio arrived for work at the restaurant, fell in love with a beautiful girl sitting in the bar, and ran away with her to Australia.In a new century, Lucio returns to his birthplace - Lunigiana, in north west Italy - on a mission to understand the family, the food and the culture that prepared him to create a successful restaurant in a new world 17,000 kilometres away. Farmers, fishermen, war heroes, winemakers, waiters, hunters, cooks, cousins, aunts, shepherds and scholars told him their secrets and inspired this story, told beautifully by David Dale.

W&N

Rudyard Kipling: Everyman Poetry

Rudyard Kipling
Authors:
Rudyard Kipling

Includes the ever popular "If", along with the best of Kipling's powerful, fluent poetry.

Jennifer Worth recounts to Danuta Kean how her memoirs were born

An interview with the late Jennifer Worth

The late Jennifer Worth, author of the CALL THE MIDWIFE trilogy, recounted to Danuta Kean how her memoirs were born

An interview

Jennifer Worth

The late Jennifer Worth, author of the CALL THE MIDWIFE trilogy, recounted to Danuta Kean how her memoirs were born

Clare Corbett

Clare Corbett has had a successful career on stage, screen and radio. Theatre credits include 'To Kill A Mocking Bird' 'Pygmalion' and Spoonface Steinberg' and her TV credits include BBC's 'Spooks,' 'Fastnet' and 'Final Demand'. A winner of the prestigious Carleton Hobbs Radio Award, she has appeared in over 250 radio plays including 'Absolute Power' 'Venus and Adonis' and ' Dr Zhivago'. Her other voice work comprises of Aardman Animation's ' the planet sketch' and numerous audiobooks (children and adult) including 'Poppy Shakespeare', 'Swallowing Grandma' and 'Child X'. She read 'Alys, Always' by Harriet Lane for Orion.

Rachael Weiss

Rachael Weiss worked as a secretary before finding her voice and getting her first book published. She currently lives in Prague where she is technically the in-house writer for a hotel but, since the only thing she has to write is the website and occasional stiff letters to defaulting customers, in reality she's the odd-jobs girl. She supplements her income by writing horoscopes for a series of obscure suburban and specialist papers and thus feels justified in describing herself as a syndicated columnist. Rachael's greatest achievement to date is a fourth place in the New South Wales Scrabble tournament. One day she hopes to play Czech Scrabble. She is the author of Are We There Yet (Allen & Unwin, 2005) and is currently working on her third book.

Rudyard Kipling

Born in Bombay, India, but raised in England from the age of five, Rudyard Kipling (1865-1936) is today best known as the author of such classics of literature as The Jungle Book (1894), Kim (1902) and Just So Stories (1902). He returned to India in 1882 to become a journalist and local newspaper editor and began writing supernatural stories set in his native continent. Kipling was the first British writer to be award the Nobel Prize for Literature, in 1907.

Q&A

Tilly Bagshawe

Tilly Bagshawe, author of SHOWDOWN, answers our questions.