Related to: 'Andrew Pyper'

Orion

The Only Child

Andrew Pyper
Authors:
Andrew Pyper
Orion

I, Witness

Niki Mackay
Authors:
Niki Mackay
Gollancz

A Plague of Swords

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

ONE ENEMY HAS FALLEN. A GREATER ONE REMAINS. NOW IT'S WAR . . .The Red Knight withstood the full might of his enemy, and won the day. In a victory which will be remembered through the ages, he brought disparate factions together and turned them into allies against a more powerful foe than they had ever seen.Now, he will need his allies more than ever.Because behind one adversary hid another - one with allies of their own - whose goal was never to destroy Alba, but to distract the Kingdom while achieving his true aim. And whatever it is, it's probably not in the Red Knight's interest.With one army defeated, now the Red Knight must fight again . . . and for every one of his allies there is a corresponding enemy. Spread out in different lands, and on sea, it will all come down to one last gamble. And to whether or not the Red Knight has guessed their foe's true intentions.With each throw of the dice, everything could be lost . . .

Orion

The Damned

Andrew Pyper
Authors:
Andrew Pyper
Orion

Dark Road

Ian Rankin, Mark Thomson
Authors:
Ian Rankin, Mark Thomson
Orion

The Beat Goes On: The Complete Rebus Stories

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

There is no detective like DI Rebus - brilliant, irascible and endlessly frustrating both to his friends and his long-suffering bosses. For over two decades he has walked through the dark places of Edinburgh . . .Now Rebus's life is revealed through this complete collection of stories, from his early days as a young DC in 'Dead and Buried' right up to the dramatic, but not quite final, retirement in 'The Very Last Drop'.This is the ultimate Ian Rankin treasure trove - a must for aficionados as well as a superb introduction to anyone looking to experience DI John Rebus, and the dark and twist-filled crimes he has to investigate, for the very first time.Read by James MacPherson, featuring a preface and 'Rankin on Rebus' read by Ian Rankin.(p) 2014 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Standing in Another Man's Grave

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

REBUS IS BACK.The superb No.1 bestseller from 'Britain's best crime novelist' EXPRESSA series of seemingly random disappearances - stretching back to the millennium.A mother determined to find the truth.A retired cop desperate to get his old life back...It's been some time since Rebus was forced to retire, and he now works as a civilian in a cold-case unit. So when a long-dead case bursts back to life, he can't resist the opportunity to get his feet under the CID desk once more. But Rebus is as stubborn and anarchic as ever, and he quickly finds himself in deep with pretty much everyone, including DI Siobhan Clarke.All Rebus wants to do is uncover the truth. The big question is: can he be the man he once was and still stay on the right side of the law?

Orion

Lost Girls

Andrew Pyper
Authors:
Andrew Pyper
Orion

The Demonologist

Andrew Pyper
Authors:
Andrew Pyper

Winner of the 2014 International Thriller Writers Award for Best Novel.The unsettling, unique and utterly compelling new novel from the bestselling author of LOST GIRLS.Professor David Ullman is a world authority on demonic literature. So when offered a luxury trip to Venice to consult on a 'phenomenon' he accepts, taking his daughter, Tess, with him. But in Venice, things take a sinister, terrifying turn when a man speaks in the voice of David's dead father, repeating the last words he ever spoke to his son. Then Tess disappears before his eyes. Yet as she falls into the waters of the Grand Canal, she pleads with her father:'Find me...'

Orion

The Guardians

Andrew Pyper
Authors:
Andrew Pyper

There's no such thing as an empty house...Don't all kids think there's a haunted house in their neighbourhood? Can you remember yours?What if, as a child, you knew something bad really had happened in that house? What if you actually saw it? Then you tried to forget it for the next thirty years?And then, one day, you had to go back inside that house? Andrew Pyper's THE GUARDIANS is a ghost story for grown-ups. Prepare to enter the Thurman House on Caledonia Street. You have been warned...

Orion

Witch Hunt

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

Watchman

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

A classic Ian Rankin from the No.1 bestselling author of THE COMPLAINTS.Bombs are exploding in the streets of London, but life seems to have planted more subtle booby-traps for Miles Flint. Miles is a spy. His job is to watch and to listen, then to report back to his superiors, nothing more. The job, affording glimpses into the most private lives of his victims, appeals to Miles. He doesn't lust after promotion, and he doesn't want action. He wants, just for once, not to botch a case. Having lost one suspect - with horrific consequences - Miles becomes too involved with another, a young Irish woman. His marriage seems ready to crumble to dust. So does his home. But Miles is given one last chance for redemption - a trip to Belfast, which quickly becomes a flight of terror, murder and shocking discoveries. But can the voyeur survive in a world of violent action?

W&N

How Babies Think

Alison Gopnik, Andrew Meltzoff, Patricia K Kuhl
Authors:
Alison Gopnik, Andrew Meltzoff, Patricia K Kuhl

A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now discovering how young children develop emotionally and intellectually, and are beginning to realize that from birth babies already know a staggering amount about the world around them. In the first book of its kind for a popular audience, three leading US scientists draw on twenty-five years of research in philosophy, psychology, computer science, linguistics and neuroscience to reveal what babies know and how they learn it.

Follow your favourites

Authors on Twitter

Follow your favourite authors on Twitter

Isabel Ashdown

Isabel Ashdown was born in London and grew up on the south coast of England. She is the author of four novels and winner of the Mail on Sunday Novel Competition. After giving up a successful career in product marketing to study English at the University of Chichester, her debut GLASSHOPPER was published and named as one of the best books of the year by the Observer and the London Evening Standard. She has a first class degree in English and an MA in Creative Writing with distinction. In 2014 Isabel was Writer in Residence at the University of Brighton, where she has taught on their Creative Writing MA. Along with dachshund Leonard she is a volunteer for Pets as Therapy, as part of their Read2Dogs scheme. Isabel lives in West Sussex with her carpenter husband, two children and their dogs.

Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into thirty-six languages and are bestsellers worldwide.Ian Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He is the recipient of four CWA Daggers including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. In 2004, Ian won America's celebrated Edgar Award. He has also been shortlisted for the Anthony Award in the USA, won Denmark's Palle Rosenkrantz Prize, the French Grand Prix du Roman Noir and the Deutscher Krimipreis. Ian Rankin is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews, Edinburgh, Hull and the Open University.A contributor to BBC2's Newsnight Review, he also presented his own TV series, Ian Rankin's Evil Thoughts. Rankin is a No.1 bestseller in the UK and has received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons. www.ianrankin.net Twitter @Beathhigh

The Demonologist Wins International Thriller Writers Award for Best Novel

Orion are delighted to announce that Andrew Pyper's THE DEMONOLOGIST has won the coveted International Thriller Writers Award for Best Novel.

Alison Gopnik

Alison Gopnik received her BA from McGill University and her PhD. from Oxford University. She was a Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada University Research Fellow at the University of Toronto from 1983-1988 and in 1988 became a professor of psychology at the University of California at Berkeley. She is an internationally recognized leader in the study of children's learning and the author of over 100 articles and two books, WORDS, THOUGHTS AND THEORIES (coauthored with Andrew Meltzoff), MIT Press, 1997 and THE SCIENTIST IN THE CRIB (coauthored with Andrew Meltzoff and Patricia Kuhl) William Morrow, 1999. and THE SCIENTIST IN THE CRIB was enthusiastically reviewed in US News and World Report, Time, Science, The New Yorker, the Washington Post and The New York Review of Books (among others). She has also written for The Times Literary Supplement, The New York Review of Books and the New York Times. She has been President of the Society for Philosophy of Psychology, Associate Editor of Child Development, the leading journal in the field and an Osher Fellow at the Exploratorium in San Francisco. She lives in Berkeley, California with her husband and three sons.

Ian Rankin Returns With The 20th Rebus

The Orion Publishing Group has announced the welcome return of John Rebus in Ian Rankin’s new novel EVEN DOGS IN THE WILD. It is the twentieth book in the Rebus series and will be published in autumn 2015.

Steve Cavanagh

Steve Cavanagh was born and raised in Belfast before leaving for Dublin at the age of eighteen to study Law. He currently practices civil rights law and has been involved in several high profile cases; in 2010 he represented a factory worker who suffered racial abuse in the workplace and won the largest award of damages for race discrimination in Northern Ireland legal history. He holds a certificate in Advanced Advocacy and lectures on various legal subjects (but really he just likes to tell jokes). He is married with two young children.Follow Steve on Facebook at facebook.com/SSCav1 and Twitter @SSCav