Related to: 'The Frozen Heart'

W&N

The Wind from the East

Almudena Grandes
Authors:
Almudena Grandes

'This magnificent saga of shipwrecked lives grips from the first sentence and weaves parallel intrigues of memory and survivial, money and revenge, resolved only in the closing pages' IndependentIn a small seaside suburb two strangers arrive - Juan Olmedo, accompanied by his mentally disabled brother and his young niece, and Sara Gomez, an enigmatic woman in her fifties. Both have their reasons for fleeing the city. Sara's father had returned from the Civil war a broken man, unable to support his family. In desperation, her mother was forced to give up the young baby to her childless employer. Growing up amidst a background that would never truly be her own, Sara was forever caught between her love of the good life and her feelings of duty towards a family and a poverty that repelled her. Now Sara has more money than she had ever dreamed of, but her freedom has come at a price. Juan also has his reasons for wanting to start again. A doctor in the local ER unit, he is haunted by a tragedy in his family's past and by a secret sexual obsession that threatens the fragile equilibrium he has found in his new home. An emotional, sensual, sweeping epic saga for fans of Elena Ferrante and Maggie O'Farrell.

W&N

The Ages of Lulu

Almudena Grandes
Authors:
Almudena Grandes

A stunning erotic novel that has sold over 1 million copies worldwide - FIFTY SHADES OF GREY for a more sophisticated and adventurous reader.Long before FIFTY SHADES OF GREY, Grandes was dazzling the literary world with this highly charged novel about a young woman embarking on a series of sexual adventures.Lulu's journey begins won the night she loses her virginity to Pablo - her brother's best friend and twelve years her senior. Their relationship is obsessive - not possessive - and their appetites for new erotic territory are insatiable. Lulu's thirst for sexual discovery takes her through voyeurism, power plays and homoeroticism. But soon her forays into illicit and dangerous sex threaten to absorb her completely.

Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into thirty-six languages and are bestsellers worldwide.Ian Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He is the recipient of four Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. In 2004, Ian won America's celebrated Edgar Award for Resurrection Men. He has also been shortlisted for the Anthony Award in the USA, won Denmark's Palle Rosenkrantz Prize, the French Grand Prix du Roman Noir and the Deutscher Krimipreis. Ian Rankin is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews, Edinburgh, Hull and the Open University.A contributor to BBC2's Newsnight Review, he also presented his own TV series, Ian Rankin's Evil Thoughts. Rankin is a number one bestseller in the UK and has received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons. www.ianrankin.net Twitter @Beathhigh

Julie Cohen

Julie Cohen grew up in the western mountains of Maine. Her house was just up the hill from the library and she spent many hours walking back and forth, her nose in a book. She studied English Literature at Brown University and Cambridge University and is a popular speaker and teacher of creative writing, including classes for the Guardian and Literature Wales. Her books have been translated into fifteen languages and have sold nearly a million copies; DEAR THING was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick. Julie lives in Berkshire with her husband, son and a terrier of dubious origin.You can find Julie on Twitter: @julie_cohen or you can visit her website: www.julie-cohen.com.

Kitty Danton

Kitty Danton was born and grew up in Devon where her books are set. She spent time as a news journalist and a mature student before working in publishing. She lives in London.

Michael Connelly

A former police reporter for the Los Angeles Times, Michael Connelly is the internationally bestselling author of the Harry Bosch thriller series. The TV tie-in series - Bosch - is one of the most watched original series on Amazon Prime and is now in its third season. He is also the author of several bestsellers, including the highly acclaimed legal thriller, The Lincoln Lawyer, which was selected for the Richard & Judy Book Club in 2006, and has been President of the Mystery Writers of America. His books have been translated into thirty-nine languages and have won awards all over the world, including the Edgar and Anthony Awards. He spends his time in California and Florida.To find out more, visit Michael's website or follow him on Twitter or Facebook.www.michaelconnelly.com@Connellybooksf/MichaelConnellyBooks

Michèle Forbes

Born in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Michèle Forbes is an award-winning theatre, television and film actress. Her first novel, Ghost Moth, was published in 2013 to great critical acclaim and Forbes was shortlisted for Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards. She lives in Dalkey, Dublin. www.micheleforbesauthor.com

Mike Dash

Mike Dash read history at Cambridge and received his PhD from the University of London. Having worked for the Fortean Times and The Ministry of Sound, he is now setting up his own company.

Mil Millington

Mil Millington is the creator of the cult website www.thingsmygirlfriendandIhavearguedabout.com and co-founder of www.theweekly.co.uk. He writes for various newspapers and magazines and was named by the Guardian as one of the top five debut novelist of 2002. Mil lives in the West Midlands with his girlfriend and their two children.

Nathan Englander

Englander is also the author of the internationally bestselling story collection For the Relief of Unbearable Urges and the novel The Ministry of Special Cases (both Faber in the UK and Knopf in the US). Translated into twenty-two languages, he has received a Guggenheim Fellowship, a PEN/Malamud Award, the Bard Fiction Prize, the Sue Kaufman Prize from the American Academy of Arts & Letters and was a Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize 2013. He lives in Brooklyn.www.nathanenglander.com@NathanEnglanderwww.facebook.com/NEnglandernathanenglander.tumblr.com/

Nicholas Crane

Nicholas Crane is an author, geographer, cartographic expert and recipient of the Royal Scottish Geographical Society's Mungo Park Medal in recognition of outstanding contributions to geographical knowledge, and of the Royal Geographical Society's Ness Award for popularising geography and the understanding of Britain. He has presented several acclaimed series on BBC2, among them Map Men, Town, Britannia and Coast. He was elected President of the Royal Geographical Society in 2015.Follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/nicholascrane.

Nicola Tyrer

Nicola Tyrer is a freelance journalist who works for the DAILY MAIL and DAILY TELEGRAPH. Her first book, THEY FOUGHT IN THE FIELDS, a history of the Land Army sold over 20,000 copies in hardback.

Peter Straub

Peter Straub is the New York Times bestselling author of more than a dozen novels, most recently of A DARK MATTER. LOST BOY LOST GIRL l and IN THE NIGHT ROOM are winners of the Bram Stoker Award. He lives in New York City.

Pip Vaughan-Hughes

Pip grew up in South Devon. He studied medieval history at London University and later worked as a reader for a literary agency when he wasn't dabbling as a bike messenger, saxophonist, food critic, gardener and restaurant owner. He now lives in Devon with his wife and children.

Rebecca Stott

Rebecca Stott is a writer and broadcaster. She writes both fiction and non-fiction, is affiliated to the Cambridge history of science department and is Professor of English Literature and Creative Writing at UEA. Her work, in radio writing, fiction and non-fiction, weaves together history, literature and the history of science. She is the author of the non-fiction book DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE and the novel GHOSTWALK.

Rene Denfeld

Rene Denfeld is the bestselling author of The Enchanted, which was longlisted for the 2015 Impac Prize, won the 2014 Prix du Premier Prize - one of France's most prestigious literary awards - as well as being cited for numerous other literary honours, including an ALA Medal for Excellence. In addition to working with death row inmates as a licensed investigator, Rene has worked with sex trafficking victims, and volunteers in foster adoption advocacy. She lives in Portland, Oregon, with her three children, all adopted from foster care.http://renedenfeld.com/

Richard Morgan

Richard Morgan was, until his writing career took off, a tutor at Strathclyde University in the English Language Teaching division. He has travelled widely and lived in Spain and Istanbul. He is a fluent Spanish speaker. Winner of the Arthur C. Clarke, John W. Campbell and Philip K. Dick Awards his books are published around the world. He lives in Norwich with his family.

Rob Grant

Rob Grant was born in Salford. Determined not to let them hold him back he (after a protracted period doing any old thing) went on to co-create and write with Doug Naylor the astonishingly successful TV series RED DWARF. He also wrote the DARK AGES and STRANGERERS TV series.

Robert A. Heinlein

Robert A. Heinlein (1907-1988) was educated at the University of Missouri and the US Naval Academy, Annapolis. He served as a naval officer for five years but retired in 1934 due to ill health. He then studied physics at UCLA before beginning to publish sf with 'Lifeline' for Astounding Science Fiction in 1939. Among his many novels are Stranger in a Strange Land, The Door into Summer, Double Star, Starship Troopers and The Moon is a Harsh Mistress.

Robin Maxwell

Robin Maxwell lives in Pioneertown, California, with her husband, two parrots and a dog. She has long been fascinated by Anne Boleyn and her era. Her novel VIRGIN, PRELUDE TO THE THONE, is a Los Angeles Times bestseller.