Related to: 'Stellar Assignment'

Adapted from the novel by award-winning crime author Denise Mina

NEWS: The Field of Blood Returns to BBC1

The Field Of Blood, adapted from the novel by award-winning crime author Denise Mina, returns to BBC1 this week with a stellar cast, including David Morrissey, Katherine Kelly, Jayd Johnson and Ford Kiernan.

Gateway

Angado

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

On Angado's planet, there was a man who knew the whereabouts of the lost Earth. Earl Dumarest, born on Earth, longed to find the way home. Because they were comrades in arms, Angado would help Earl find that man - for a price.For Angado was returning to a complex of high-tech cunning and high-wealth power . . . the prodigal son against whom all would plot. The Cyclan, who had put a fabulous price on Dumarest's head, were also closing in. But Dumarest was willing to stay to the bitter end - for the priceless reward of forgotten Terra.(First published 1984)

Gateway

Symbol of Terra

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb
Gateway

The Temple of Truth

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

In relentless pursuit of Earl Dumarest come the emotionless minions of the Cyclan. Seeking the body-switching formula which would make them masters of the universe, they must seize Dumarest alive to gain his secret.It all comes together on the world of the Guardians, where in the great temple of their fanatical faith, the true co-ordinates of Earth are listed. There Dumarest will battle the Cyclan . . . while the fate of all humanity hangs in the balance.(First published 1985)

Gateway

The Return

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

Dumarest had learned in the hard school of experience and he came equipped with certain attributes. He had very fast reflexes, he carried a knife and knew how to use it, he wore travellers garb which, because of the metal mesh buried within the thermal plastic, gave him protection against the lash of a claw, the rip of thorns, the cut and thrust of edged weapons. Most important of all, he had an overriding determination to survive no matter what the cost.On Gath this wasn't easy...(First published 1997)

Gateway

Child of Earth

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

There should have been soft breezes scented with entrancing perfumes, the soothing warmth of a golden sun, lakes of wine and mountains of grain, trees adorned with fruit and bud and flower, shrubs bearing a profusion of glittering gems. Herbs and spices to provide freedom from pain, a return to youthful zest, an end of aging and decay. Salves and ointments and natural fungi to cure all physical ills. . .For this was Earth, that planet of legend, the paradise for which all yearned and hungered to find. The world of joy and beauty and riches beyond the wildest dreams.Instead Earl Dumarest found a landscape of unremitting hostility. Could this really be the fabled home world for which he had spent his entire life searching . . . ?(First published 2008)

Gateway

Death God's Doom

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

There was something eerie about the storm . . . The blizzard had risen too fast, the wind howling as if from the throat of a rabid dog . . .the entire world had turned into a featureless hell of ubiquitous white. A world in which Malkar knew himself . . . to be completely lost.

Gateway

The Sleeping City

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb
Gateway

The Winds of Gath

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

This is the tale of Earl Dumarest. Space-wanderer, gladiator-for-hire, seeker of Man's forgotten home.Dumarest's search begins on the ghost-world of Gath, where he becomes unwilling champion of the Matriarch of Kund, and must undergo a fight-to-the-death at stormtime.Victory could give Dumarest his first clue to the whereabouts of the planet he fled from as a child - an obscure world scarred by ancient wars, which lies countless light years from the thickly populated centre of the galaxy; a world no-one else in the inhabited universe believed exists.Earth, the birthplace of Man.(First published 1967)

Gateway

The Gholan Gate

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

DOORWAY TO UTOPIA"Beyond that curtain of darkness lies paradise."That was the promise of the doorway known as the Gholan Gate, a doorway so ancient that its makers had vanished millions of years before the first Earthly life crawled out of the primeval oceans. It was still functioning in the possession of its discoverers.To go through it was to enter a universe where all your dreams came true - where your every wish was obeyed, every fantasy became reality, where you could play God to your heart's content.But there was a price, for once beyond the Gholan Gate, you would live only in hopes for a second visit, and a third. . . . And to get the right for that return to paradise a man would sell his soul, his people, his world.Cap Kennedy entered THE GHOLAN GATE once . . . and the result became cosmic history.

Gateway

Derai

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

Still driven by his search for Man's fabled birthplace, Earl Dumrest accepts a commission to guard the Lady Derai, heiress to the proud House of Caldor, on the feudal world of Hive.On Derai's home planet, Dumarest had hoped to meet a living witness to Earth. But instead he finds himself in the lists of the deadly Contest on Folgone - with the Lady of Caldor as prize.And on Folgone, for the first time, Dumarest confronts the Cybers: ruthless, emotionless tools of a great Gestalt which holds the mighty of the universe in its grip - a power which may yet provide him with the key to his quest for Earth.

Gateway

Toyman

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb
Gateway

The Eater of Worlds

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

THE VAULT IN THE VALLEYOn a far semi-desert world, shunned by trade routes, and unattractive to star travellers, there is a barren and isolated valley. Dominating this valley is a great time-eroded Sphinx-like construction - a mass known to the few who have looked upon it as the Skull of Sykoris.Cap Kennedy followed a dangerous trail across many worlds - a trail of murder, duels, and evil - to find that it ended there, before the Skull, confronting a mystery older than all mankind.Beneath that Sphinx lay something desired by Earth's old enemies. Beneath it lay something that lured the criminal minds of many worlds. But what it was none knew - until Cap Kennedy himself released the frightful power of the Eater of Worlds.

Gateway

Earth Enslaved

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

THROUGH THE TERROR TOROIDIt could have been a black hole - one of those terrifying rips in space that defy all laws. That it was artificial in origin did not make it any less deadly. Worst of all, that strange extra-galactic torus was drifting into an intersect with Earth in its orbit. The result would be devastation beyond concept.Cap Kennedy and his three companions were considered expendable in such a cause. And Cap himself volunteered to dare the impossible - to turn that cosmic hole aside.What he fell into was an adventure utterly different than anything he had expected. The novel of EARTH ENSLAVED is a real surprise package for the legion of Cap Kennedy's followers.

Gateway

Kalin

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb
Gateway

Planet of Dread

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb
Gateway

The Jester at Scar

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

Scar: a harsh, inhospitable world with a vicious and shifting population of prospectors, drawn from every corner of the galaxy by rumours of a miraculous golden spore.To this violent planet come two more travellers, ready to try their luck among its lethal jungles: the cruel, mocking Lord of Jest - and Dumarest, driven by destiny on his endless search for Lost Earth . . . (First published 1970)

Gateway

Spawn of Laban

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

IN THE "DOC" SMITH TRADITIONThe planet was fine for big game hunters. And it was the tradition there that one must have a trophy before one could call oneself truly a man.If that were all, it would hardly interest Cap Kennedy because his trophies consisted of planets saved for Terra and missions accomplished. But there was something on Eriadne which was not just a hunt trophy - something which required the presence of Kennedy and his men to check on. One of these things was a fragment of Zheltyana construction which outdated all civilisation.But the hunt proved to be a double one - Kennedy against an unslayable monster and a lost world of monsters against Kennedy. And if he lost, it would be Terra itself that would be a trophy on some alien's hunting lodge wall.SPAWN OF LABAN is one of the best - a real edge-of-the-seat science fiction chiller in the tradition of Edward E. Smith and Edmond Hamilton

Gateway

Lallia

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

Dumarest continues his restless wandering - combing the spaceways for an ancient and almost forgotten planet called Earth. Then, on a primitive world, he fights a giant mutant for the life of the lovely psychic Lallia - and wins a vital clue that could lead him to the end of his quest . . . (First published 1971)

Gateway

Technos

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb
Gateway

The Genetic Buccaneer

E.C. Tubb
Authors:
E.C. Tubb

THE HAND OF DR KAIFENGBy tampering with the genes of humanity to create a super-race - that was the ideal of many scientific Utopians.By tampering with the genes of humanity to create a super-army - that was a dream of many military commanders.By tampering with the genes of humanity to create a horde of obedient but brilliant monsters - that was the scheme of Dr. Kaifeng.For Cap Kennedy, the abduction of a dozen leading geneticists spelled trouble for Earth. For their trails led not to some idealist, or to some would-be Napoleon, but pointed only at the one man in the galaxy who might prove to be more powerful than the legions of Terra themselves.