Related to: 'Act of Faith'

Orion

Coming Home to Island House

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

An enchanting tale of one family coming together and finding their way from the Sunday Times bestselling author.It's the summer of 1939, and after touring an unsettled Europe to promote her latest book, Romily Temple returns home to Island House and the love of her life, the charismatic Jack Devereux. But when Jack falls ill, his estranged family are called home and given seven days to find a way to bury their resentments and come together. With war now declared, each member of the family is reluctantly forced to accept their new stepmother and confront their own shortcomings. But can the habits of a lifetime be changed in one week? And can Romily, a woman who thrives on adventure, cope with the life that has been so unexpectedly thrust upon her?Praise for Erica James:'A beautifully crafted and hugely uplifting tale of friendship, history and love. A real gem' - Isabelle Broom, Heat'A captivating tale of love and loss' - Sunday Express Magazine'Delightful...a blend of emotion and wry social observation' - Daily Mail'A captivating read: beautifully written and heartrendingly sad' - Daily TelegraphFans of Santa Montefiore, Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell and Rosamunde Pilcher will love the warm characters and storytelling in this wonderful new bestseller from Erica James.

Orion

Song of the Skylark

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

The Dandelion Years

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

A gorgeous tale of friendship and love from Sunday Times bestseller Erica James.Ashcombe was the most beautiful house Saskia had ever seen as a little girl. A rambling pink cottage on the edge of the Suffolk village of Melbury Green, its enchanting garden provided a fairy-tale playground of seclusion, a perfect sanctuary to hide from the tragedy which shattered her childhood.Now an adult, Saskia is still living at Ashcombe and as a book restorer devotes her days tending to the broken, battered books that find their way to her, daydreaming about the people who had once turned their pages. When she discovers a notebook carefully concealed in an old Bible - and realising someone has gone to a great deal of trouble to hide a story of their own - Saskia finds herself drawn into a heart-rending tale of wartime love...

Orion

The Hidden Cottage

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Erica James - Seven Great Novels

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

The Real Katie Lavender

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

A secret that changed everything...Katie Lavender has always thought she was pretty unshockable, until a year after her mother's death she receives a letter from a solicitor telling her that the man she thought was her father, in fact wasn't. Her real father, a man named Stirling Nightingale, has for years been building a trust fund for her. And now she's of an age to collect it. But Katie's not interested in the money. She wants to know about the man instead. So decides to do some snooping. She tracks him down to a beautiful riverside home on the night he's hosting a birthday party for his ninety-year-old mother. And as she's hovering outside, Katie is mistaken for a replacement waitress - an opportunity just too good to miss. And so Katie discovers that the Nightingales are far from your normal family...But what makes a normal family anyway?

Orion

Promises, Promises

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

The Queen of New Beginnings

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

If you've ever dreamed of starting over, then this bestselling novel from Erica James is just what you need...Alice Shoemaker habitually goes to great lengths to avoid telling the truth about herself and her past. After agreeing to help out a friend by shopping and cleaning for the unknown man staying at Cuckoo House, she soon becomes suspicious that her strange and obnoxiously rude client has something to hide... Clayton Miller's life is a mess. His career as one of the country's best comedy scriptwriters has stalled and his long-term girlfriend has left him for his ex-best friend and ex-writing partner. Just when he thinks his life couldn't get any worse, he commits a spectacularly public fall from grace and with the press hounding him, his agent banishes him to the middle of nowhere until the dust has settled. And there he meets Alice...When Alice and Clayton discover the truth about each other they form an unlikely friendship - until Alice discovers Clayton has betrayed her in the worst possible way.

Orion

Hidden Talents

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

Bestselling author Erica James explores the stories of a potent mix of characters who meet at a creative writers' group.Dulcie Ballantyne knows that creative writers' groups attract an unlikely mix of people, so when she starts up Hidden Talents, she is well prepared for the assortment of people she is bringing together.Beth King is facing empty-nest syndrome as her only son, Nathan, leaves home for university. Jack Solomon, a local estate agent, is having trouble coming to terms with the shock of his wife leaving him for his best friend. Jaz Rafferty is an intensely private seventeen-year-old girl who writes to escape her large, boisterous family. Victor Blackmore is a know-it-all, who claims to be writing the blockbuster novel every publisher will be clamouring for. What they all have in common is a need to escape, as well as a desire to keep their lives as private as possible. As they grow more confident in their writing skills, friendships develop, and gradually they come to realise that a little openness isn't necessarily a bad thing.

Orion

The Holiday

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

A long summer holiday on the beautiful island of Corfu is just what Izzy Jordan needs, but is she prepared for the romance and drama? From the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of SUMMER AT THE LAKETorn between struggling to live up to the expectations of being a Modern Woman and ridding herself of the effect of a repressed upbringing, Izzy Jordan would be the first to admit that it's time to take stock of her life. She's thirty-one, with a teaching career on the skids - not surprising, really, given that she harbours a strong desire to lock her pupils in the art room cupboard and throw away the key. She also has a manipulative mother and an ex-boyfriend whose parting shot was to tell her she was boring in bed!So when she's invited to spend the summer on Corfu and is offered the chance of a no-strings holiday romance with the irresistible Theo, what should she do? Go for it, or listen to the voice of Modern Woman and tell him to sling his hook? Just as she thinks she's made up her mind, along comes Mark, whose turbulent past sets in motion a series of dramatic events...

Orion

Love and Devotion

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

Erica James at her best - 'A very moving novel about life, families and love' Sunday ExpressHarriet Swift thinks she has the perfect life - a satisfying career, her own flat and a new boyfriend who respects her need for her own space. But then her only sister is killed in a car crash, and Harriet is forced to give up her well-ordered life to help look after her orphaned niece and nephew. Moving back to her childhood home in Maple Drive, and sacrificing so much, doesn't come easy and before long Harriet discovers things about her family she never believed possible. Meanwhile, the shabbiest house in Maple Drive has a new occupant. Will Hart also thinks he has the perfect life. Having swapped his successful career as a lawyer for that of an antiques dealer, he believes in living for the moment and is entirely happy with his lot. Then from nowhere tragedy strikes and he faces the biggest challenge of his life. Harriet and Will have no choice but to piece together a new future for themselves, but can they see it through?

Orion

A Sense Of Belonging

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

A terrific novel of love, life and friendship from the Sunday Times bestselling author.In the heart of the Cheshire countryside, Cholmford Hall Mews, a converted eighteenth-century barn, is far more than an exclusive home to its new inhabitants.For Jessica Lloyd, it is a haven where she can recover from a love affair long past its sell-by date; Amanda Fergusson, whose marriage is one of straightforward convenience, is determined to get the most out of the situation; for Kate Morris it offers a fresh start where her love for newly divorced Alec can flourish; and for Josh Crawford, his new home offers a sanctuary where he can come to terms with the most devastating news of his life. In their different ways, all the newcomers to Cholmford Hall Mews are searching for something - love, peace, a sense of belonging. But will they find rather more than they bargained for...?

Orion

Time For A Change

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Gardens Of Delight

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

A gorgeous, heart-warming tale set among the gardens of Italy from bestselling author Erica James.The Gardens of Delight brochure promises the opportunity to visit some of the most beautiful gardens in the Lake Como area of Italy. For Lucy, the chance to go to Italy offers more than just gardens. Lake Como is where her father lives, and the last time she saw him was when she was just a teenager. Recently married Helen and her wealthy husband have just moved into the Old Rectory. With her husband spending so much time away from home, Helen throws herself into caring for the garden. But Helen needs help - and friends - and so decides to take the plunge and join the local Garden Club. Conrad isn't the least bit interested in gardening. Widowed for five years, his life revolves around work and humouring Mac, his elderly uncle who lives with him, and who has expressed a desire to go on the Gardens of Delight tour. Reluctantly, Conrad agrees to accompany him. 'Anything for a peaceful life,' he concedes. But a peaceful life is the last thing any of them are in for...

Orion

It's The Little Things

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Tell It To The Skies

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Airs and Graces

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

A Breath of Fresh Air

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Paradise House

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Precious Time

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James