Related to: 'The Orange Girl'

Adapted from the novel by award-winning crime author Denise Mina

NEWS: The Field of Blood Returns to BBC1

The Field Of Blood, adapted from the novel by award-winning crime author Denise Mina, returns to BBC1 this week with a stellar cast, including David Morrissey, Katherine Kelly, Jayd Johnson and Ford Kiernan.

W&N

An Unreliable Man

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder

From the creative genius of Jostein Gaarder, a novel about loneliness and the power of words - perfect for fans of Sophie's WorldJakop is a lonely man. Divorced from his wife, with no friends apart from his constant companion Pelle, he spends his life attending the funerals of people he doesn't know, obscuring his identity in a web of lies and improbable stories. As his addiction to storytelling spirals out of control, he is forced to reconcile his love of language and stories, with the ever more urgent need for human connection - and truth. An Unreliable Man is a moving and thought-provoking novel about loneliness and truth, about how language and storytelling create connections and meaning, and about seeking a place in the world.Decades after his global bestseller Sophie's World, Jostein Gaarder has written a poignant and funny book for our times - full of life and hope.Praise for Sophie's World - an international cult favourite'A simply wonderful, irresistible book' Daily Telegraph'A unique popular classic' The Times"An improbable international bestseller . . . [A] tour de force' Time'Extraordinary' Newsweek'Sheer delight' Madeleine L'Engle

W&N

The World According to Anna

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder

When fifteen-year-old Anna begins receiving messages from another time, her parents take her to the doctor. But he can find nothing wrong; in fact he believes there may be some truth to what she is seeing. Anna is haunted by visions of the desolate world of 2082. She sees her great-granddaughter, Nova, roaming through wasteland with a band of survivors, after animals and plants have died out. The more Anna sees, the more she realises she must act to prevent the future in her visions becoming real. But can she act quickly enough?'Compelling' Sunday Times

W&N

The Castle in the Pyrenees

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder
W&N

Vita Brevis

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder
W&N

Maya

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder
W&N

The Christmas Mystery

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder

A startlingly original presentation of the Nativity story, woven into an enthralling and mysterious novel.Fifty years ago a girl disappeared from her home in Norway. She ran after a lamb and found herself travelling right across Europe to Palestine, and back through 2000 years to meet the Holy Family in Bethlehem. There she met angels, shepherds, wise men and other biblical characters who joined her on her pilgrimage; and she heard of many of the things that happened in the world in the last 2000 years. In present-day Norway, a boy acquires a strange old Advent calendar. Hidden in each of the windows is a tiny piece of paper. Little by little these pieces unfold the girl's story and as we learn what happened to her, another story is revealed - that of the strange old man who made the calender.

W&N

The Ringmaster's Daughter

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder
W&N

Sophie's World

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder
W&N

Through A Glass, Darkly

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder

Conversations about life and death, between a girl and an angel.It's almost Christmas. Cecilia lies sick in bed as her family bustle around her to make her last Christmas as special as possible. Cecilia has cancer. An angel steps through her window. So begins a spirited and engaging series of conversations between Cecelia and her angel. As the sick girl thinks about her life and prepares for her death, she changes subtly, in herself and in her relationships with her family.Jostein Gaarder is a profoundly optimistic writer, who writes about death with wisdom, compassion and an enquiring mind. THROUGH A GLASS DARKLY will not only bring comfort to the bereaved. It will move and amaze everyone who reads it.

W&N

The Solitaire Mystery

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder

Twelve-year-old Hans Thomas lives alone with his father, a man who likes to give his son lessons about life and has a penchant for philosophy. Hans Thomas' mother left when he was four (to 'find' herself) and the story begins when father and son set off on a trip to Greece, where she now lives, to try to persuade her to come home. En route, in Switzerland, Hans Thomas is given a magnifying glass by a dwarf at a petrol station, and the next day he finds a tiny book in his bread roll which can only be read with a magnifying glass. How did the book come to be there? Why does the dwarf keep showing up? It is all very perplexing and Hans Thomas has enough to cope with, with the daunting prospect of seeing his mother. Now his journey has turned into an encounter with the unfathomable...or does it all have a logical explanation?

Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson was born in Nebraska in 1975. Since then he has written, amongst others The Mistborn books and begun the internationally bestselling Stormlight Archive. He was also chosen by Robert Jordan's family to complete Jordan's Wheel of Time Sequence. He lives in Utah.Visit his website at http://www.brandonsanderson.com, follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/BrandSanderson and like him on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/BrandSanderson. Read his blogs at http://mistborn.blogspot.co.uk andhttp://mistborn.livejournal.com.

Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Carlos Ruiz Zafón is the author of eight novels, including the international phenomenon The Shadow of the Wind, and The Angel's Game. His work has been published in more than forty-five different languages, has sold over thirty million copies, and has been honoured with numerous international awards. He lives in Los Angeles, California.

Clare Corbett

Clare Corbett has had a successful career on stage, screen and radio. Theatre credits include 'To Kill A Mocking Bird' 'Pygmalion' and Spoonface Steinberg' and her TV credits include BBC's 'Spooks,' 'Fastnet' and 'Final Demand'. A winner of the prestigious Carleton Hobbs Radio Award, she has appeared in over 250 radio plays including 'Absolute Power' 'Venus and Adonis' and ' Dr Zhivago'. Her other voice work comprises of Aardman Animation's ' the planet sketch' and numerous audiobooks (children and adult) including 'Poppy Shakespeare', 'Swallowing Grandma' and 'Child X'. She read 'Alys, Always' by Harriet Lane for Orion.

Daniel Keyes

Daniel Keyes (1927-2014)Born in Brooklyn in 1927, Daniel Keyes worked as a merchant seaman, editor and university lecturer. He published four other novels, but Flowers for Algernon, originally a short story, for which he won the Hugo Award, later expanded into the Nebula Award-winning novel and adapted as an Oscar-winning film (Charly, 1968) remains his best-known work. Daniel Keyes had a masters degree in English and American literature and was a Professor of English and Creative writing. He died in 2014.

Daniel Weyman

Daniel appears in Foyle's War for itv as series regular Adam Wainwright. His many other television appearances include Poirot, Midsomer Murders and Dunkirk. He was nominated for Best Performance in a Play at the TMA Awards for his portrayal of Nicholas Nickleby which played at Chichester Festival Theatre, in the West End and in Toronto. His first professional job was at the Donmar Warehouse in The Vortex directed by Michael Grandage. He has recorded many audiobooks and was included in the ALA's Listen List 2013 for outstanding narration.

Diane Setterfield

Born in Berkshire, Diane Setterfield was educated at Theale Green Comprehensive School and Bristol University. Her degree in French literature led her to teach in universities in England and France, where she lived for several years. Diane's previous publications have been in the field of 19th and 20th century French literature, specialising in the writings of André Gide. After returning to the UK, Diane ran a business teaching French to those intending to live in France. She lives in London.

Domenic Stansberry

Domenic Stansberry is the Edgar Award-winning author of ten novels and a collection of stories, including The Ancient Rain (one of Booklist's best crime novels of the last decade). The White Devil was the winner of the 2016 Hammett Prize for best crime fiction.

Elisa Lodato

Elisa Lodato grew up in London and read English at Pembroke College, Cambridge. After graduating she went to live in Japan where she spent a year teaching, travelling and learning to speak the language. On returning to the UK she spent many happy years working for Google before training to become an English teacher. Helping pupils to search for meaning in a text inspired Elisa to take up the pen and write her own. Her first novel, An Unremarkable Body, was longlisted for the Bath Novel Award 2016. Elisa lives in Surrey with her husband and two children.@LodatoElisa

Francesca Jakobi

Francesca studied psychology at the University of Sussex, followed by a stint teaching English in Turkey and the Czech Republic. On returning to her native London she got a job as a reporter on a local paper and has worked in journalism ever since. She's currently a layout editor at the Financial Times. Bitter is her first novel.

Gillian Flynn

Gillian Flynn is the bestselling author of three novels, including the international phenomenon Gone Girl. Her first novel, Sharp Objects, was the winner of two CWA Daggers and was shortlisted for the Gold Dagger, and her second, Dark Places, was adapted into a film starring Charlize Theron. Gone Girl was a massive No.1 bestseller, with over 15 million sales worldwideand was made into a critically-acclaimed, smash-hit film by David Fincher, starring Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike. The screenplay was written by Gillian Flynn and was nominated for a Golden Globe and a Bafta. Her short story, 'The Grownup', won the Edgar Award for Best Short Story in 2015. Gillian also served as writer and executive producer for the television series of Sharp Objects, starring Amy Adams and directed by Jean-Marc Vallée.