Related to: 'Wives v. Girlfriends'

Orion

The Inheritance

Katie Agnew
Authors:
Katie Agnew

What are the secrets we pass on?A sweeping story bringing together three women from across generations - perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Book of Lost and Found "I can still recall how cold the pearls felt on my bare neck as Mr Fitzroy secured the clasp and how heavy they were. I also remember that they were far, far too long for me. But, oh how mesmerising I found those pearls..."Tilly Beaumont was a legend in Hollywood's golden era, her days were full of glamour and adventure but now her health is failing and she's ready to tell her story. From her hospital bed, Tilly sends her granddaughter, Sophia, letters with stories about her life, about old family secrets and a beautiful necklace made of incredible pearls. If Sophia will listen, she could unlock the story of generations of remarkable women and find that this necklace has changed the lives of all who have worn it. The only problem? No one knows where it is.Sophia must decide if she's ready to take on the search for something so perfect it can change a life. Wouldn't a girl do anything to hold that in her hands?

Orion

Too Hot to Handle

Katie Agnew
Authors:
Katie Agnew

There's trouble in paradise in Katie Agnew's latest rollercoaster ride of romance, glamour and scandal... The brand new novel from the author of WIVES V GIRLFRIENDSEver dreamt of escape? That's what Paradise promises: an ultra-exclusive hotel on the Caribbean island of St Barts. There, a retired actor from Hollywood's golden age has brought together a glittering selection of guests. But why are they there...and what are they hiding?Mal and Lexi, popstar newlyweds, have the world at their feet - if they can stay married for more than 48 hours. Then there's Grace, the glamourpuss cougar who lives at the hotel and has her eye on the male guests. For Lauren and Sebastian, it's a final chance to rekindle their marriage, while for the rumpled-looking novelist at the bar, it's time to face his writer's block.And while the guests get plenty of sun, sea and scandal, the staff at the hotel see everything. From the cocktail-king with a heartbreaker's smile to the Irish chambermaid far from home, behind the scenes at Paradise life is far from quiet...

Orion

Drop Dead Gorgeous

Katie Agnew
Authors:
Katie Agnew

Love, life and lust in the fast lane...Laura McNaughton's life is almost perfect. She's young, pretty and she has a fabulous job on a glossy magazine, which involves interviewing celebrities (and air-brushing their personalities). But when she is offered a job presenting a trendy Friday night television show she can't resist the opportunity to experience fame first hand.Putting her puritanical Scottish upbringing, her intellectual boyfriend and her hippy best friend behind her, she soon hooks up with world-famous actress Lucy Lloyd and gorgeous, infamous rock god Ricky Jones, who introduce her to a hedonistic world of partying where appearance is everything and nothing really matters but sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll. But as the stories about her private life become front page news, Laura begins to doubt those closest to her, and her life starts to spiral dangerously out of control. Packed with passion, glamour and danger, DROP DEAD GORGEOUS is a unmissable glimpse into the fame game - and the price you have to pay to play it.

Orion

Saints v Sinners

Katie Agnew
Authors:
Katie Agnew

Bling, bust-ups and make-ups in another scandalous slice of blockbuster from Katie Agnew.Heartbreak, danger, passion and glamour: all in a day's work...The LaFata family have it all - obscene wealth, talent, good fortune and beautiful genes. Or at least they used to...until the head of the family, Giancarlo 'Fatty' La Fata, vanishes over the side of his yacht one dark night in Monaco. His widow (and fourth wife) Jade, his son, Carlo Jr, and daughters, Francesca and Angelica, are left awash in a sea of heartbreak and confusion. Did Fatty fall, or was he pushed? But this question only leads to more - for around a strong man, are even stronger women. Mothers, daughters, lovers, wives and sisters - Fatty has left a web of women who all have their own secrets.When one of these women steps forward to clean up the mess Fatty left behind she will meet the shady figures that lurk behind the glamour of the French Riviera and risk her heart as well as her life. Can she save the La Fata family from destruction? Or is it already too late?

Bernhard Schlink

Bernhard Schlink was born in Germany is 1944. A professor of law at Humboldt University, Berlin, and Cardozo Law School, New York, he is the author of the internationally bestselling novels THE READER, which became an Oscar-winning film starring Kate Winslet and Ralph Fiennes, and THE WOMAN ON THE STAIRS; the short story collections FLIGHTS OF LOVE and SUMMER LIES, and several prize-winning crime novels. His latest novel, OLGA, was a #1 bestseller internationally and will be published in English in 2020.He lives in Berlin and New York.

Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Carlos Ruiz Zafón is the author of eight novels, including the international phenomenon THE SHADOW OF THE WIND, and THE ANGEL'S GAME. His work has been published in more than forty-five different languages, has sold over thirty million copies, and has been honoured with numerous international awards. He lives in Los Angeles, California.

Emily Fridlund

Emily Fridlund grew up in Minnesota. She holds an MFA from Washington University in St. Louis and a PhD in Literature and Creative Writing from the University of Southern California. Her collection of stories, CATAPULT, was chosen by Ben Marcus for the Mary McCarthy Prize. She lives in the Finger Lakes region of New York. HISTORY OF WOLVES is her first novel.

Geoffrey Household

Geoffrey Household was a prolific novelist of political thrillers and suspense stories, most notably the classic ROGUE MALE, which, THE TIMES recently declared, 'remains as exciting and probing as ever'. He was as widely travelled as the settings of his books suggest: after graduating from Magdalen College, Oxford, with a first in English literature he worked abroad for twenty-five years, and served in British Intelligence during World War Two in Greece and the Middle East. He married twice and eventually settled in the English countryside with his wife and three children.

Gillian Flynn

GILLIAN FLYNN is the author of the #1 SUNDAY TIMES bestseller GONE GIRL, for which she wrote the Golden Globe-nominated screenplay, and the SUNDAY TIMES bestsellers DARK PLACES and SHARP OBJECTS. A former critic for ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY, she lives in Chicago with her husband and children.

Gregoire Delacourt

Grégoire Delacourt is the bestselling author of five novels and has won several literary awards. THE LIST OF MY DESIRES was a runaway number-one bestseller in France, with rights sold in thirty-three countries, and was selected for the Waterstones Book Club in the UK. WE ONLY SAW HAPPINESS , published in France as On ne voyait que le bonheur, was longlisted for the Prix Goncourt 2014. Grégoire lives in Paris, where he runs an advertising agency with his wife.

Jardine Libaire

Jardine Libaire is the author of the novel HERE KITTY KITTY, and the creative nonfiction book GRAVITY IS STRONGER HERE (a collaboration with photographer Phyllis Dooney). Originally from New York, she now lives in Austin. She's a volunteer teacher in the Truth Be Told writing programme for incarcerated women in Texas.

Jean Pendziwol

Jean E. Pendziwol is an award-winning Canadian author of books for children. ONCE UPON A NORTHERN NIGHT was shortlisted for a Governor General's Award and the 2014 TD Canadian Children's Literature Awards Book of the Year. THE LIGHTKEEPER'S DAUGHTERS is her debut novel for adults. She lives in Ontario in the shadow of the Nor'Wester Mountains near Lake Superior.

Joe Ide

Joe Ide grew up in South Central Los Angeles. His favourite books were the Conan Doyle Sherlock Holmes stories. The idea that a person could face the world and vanquish his enemies with just his intelligence fascinated him. Joe went on to earn a graduate degree and had several careers before writing IQ, his debut novel, inspired by his early experiences and love of Sherlock. Joe lives in Santa Monica, California.www.joeide.com

Jostein Gaarder

JOSTEIN GAARDER was born in Oslo in 1952. SOPHIE'S WORLD, the first of his books to be published in English, has been translated into 60 languages and has sold over 40 million copies. He is the author of many other bestselling, beloved novels and children's books.He lives in Oslo with his family.

Kate Harrison

Before becoming a novelist, Kate Harrison worked for a news agency, reporting mainly for the national tabloids. She then moved to the BBC where she was a reporter in regional news in Bristol and Birmingham, producer on NEWSROUND, and worked on PANORAMA and other investigative/consumer shows and documentaries.Kate Harrison writes fiction and non-fiction: her novels include The Secret Shopper's Revenge, Brown Owl's Guide to Life and the Soul Beach thriller trilogy, her young adult series. She's also the author of the bestselling The 5:2 Diet Book, plus three other 5:2 Books. Visit Kate's website at kate-harrison.com, follow her on Twitter at https://twitter.com/katewritesbooks and Pinterest at http://pinterest.com/katewritesbooks and watch her Youtube channel at http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL961FBF0F8A8CE2B2&feature=view_all. Visit the Soul Beachwebsite at http://www.soulbeach.org, the Soul Fire website at http://burningtruths.com and follow Soul Beach on Twitter at https://twitter.com/onsoulbeach and Pinterest at http://pinterest.com/katewritesbooks/the-dream-soul-beach-cast-list. Learn more with http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=auJWC-o-RiY.

Kei Miller

Kei Miller was born in Jamaica in 1978. He is the author of three novels, THE SAME EARTH, THE LAST WARNER WOMAN and AUGUSTOWN, several collections of poetry and a book of short stories, THE FEAR OF STONES, which was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best First Book. In 2014, he won the prestigious Forward Prize for Poetry for his collection, THE CARTOGRAPHER TRIES TO MAP A WAY TO ZION. He teaches Creative Writing at Royal Holloway, University of London.

Keith Lee Morris

Keith Lee Morris is a professor of English and Creative Writing at Clemson University, South Carolina. His previous book, THE DART LEAGUE KING, was selected for the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers programme. His work has appeared in numerous publications including TIN HOUSE, the SOUTHERN REVIEW and the NEW ENGLAND REVIEW.

Leila Aboulela

Leila Aboulela was born in Cairo and grew up in Khartoum. She is the author of four novels: THE TRANSLATOR, MINARET and LYRICS ALLEY, all of which were longlisted for the Orange Prize, and THE KINDNESS OF ENEMIES. LYRICS ALLEY won Novel of the Year at the Scottish Book Awards and was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize, while Aboulela's collection of short fiction, COLOURED LIGHTS, won the Caine Prize. She lives in Aberdeen.

Lisa Carey

Lisa Carey is the author of THE MERMAIDS SINGING, IN THE COUNTRY OF THE YOUNG, LOVE IN THE ASYLUM and EVERY VISIBLE THING. She lived in Ireland for five years and now resides in Portland, Maine, with her husband and their son.

Maria Semple

Maria Semple spent fifteen years in Los Angeles as a television writer, working on hit shows including ELLEN, SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE, MAD ABOUT YOU and ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT. Her second novel, WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE, was an international bestseller and was shortlisted for the 2013 Women's Prize for Fiction and won the 2013 Melissa Nathan Award. Maria lives in Seattle. www.mariasemple.com