Related to: 'The Ice House'

Orion

The Vanishing

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

A Child's Game

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

Phoenix

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

The first novel in the grittily authentic Karen Sharpe series.The 8th April 1996 was a bad day for Karen Sharpe, the eighth anniversary of something so deeply buried she had hoped to forget it ever happened. Each year she tries to cope in whatever way she can. Most years she turns to booze. But this year that wasn't going to work. Sometime after midnight Phil Leech, her DS and partner, is executed in a military style killing, whilst Fiona Mitchell, his pretty 21-year-old informant, ends up on a South Pennine moor with bullets through her face and chest. Karen had been due to meet both when drink and memories intervened, preventing her from getting there. As the investigation begins, odd details keep forcing Karen to examine her own unclear memories. As she follows her instincts, and some very disturbing clues embedded in her own secret history, she must confront her past and act quickly if she is to prevent the seed of destruction planted eight years before from wreaking devastating and brutal consequences.Why readers love John Connor:'A first-rate thriller with a terrific climax.' Sunday Telegraph'He's created a beguilingly complex character, perfectly suited to his taut thrillers.' Mirror'John Connor drives his complex tale of secrecy and betrayal along at a cracking pace.' Irish Independent'The police procedural novel is given the kind of spruce up it has been in need of for some time.' Daily ExpressFans of Harlan Coben, David Baldacci and Linwood Barclay will love John Connor:Karen Sharpe1. Phoenix2. Playroom 3. A Child's Game 4. Falling5. Unsafe Standalone1. The Vanishing 2. The Ice House * Each John Connor novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Orion

The Playroom

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

Falling

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

Unsafe

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

A K Benedict

A K Benedict read English at Cambridge and studied creative writing at Sussex. She composed film and television soundtracks, as well as performing as a musician before becoming a full-time writer in 2012. She now writes novels, drama, poetry and short stories, and lives in St Leonards-on-Sea with her dog, Dame Margaret Rutherford. Find out more at www.akbenedict.com or follow her on Twitter @ak_benedict

Andrew Meier

Andrew Meier, a former Moscow correspondent for Time magazine, is the author of THE LOST SPY and BLACK EARTH, which was named a Book of the Year by the Times Literary Supplement, the Economist and Publishers Weekly. He lives in New York.

Anna Freeman

Anna Freeman is a lecturer in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University as well as a multiple slam-winning performance poet who has appeared at festivals across Britain including Latitude and Glastonbury. She lives in Bristol. Her first novel, THE FAIR FIGHT, was shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel award.

Antonia Fraser

Antonia Fraser is the author of many widely acclaimed historical works which have been international bestsellers. She was awarded the Medlicott Medal by the Historical Association in 2000 and was made a DBE in 2011 for services to literature.Her previous books include MARY QUEEN OF SCOTS, KING CHARLES II, THE WEAKER VESSEL: WOMAN'S LOT IN SEVENTEENTH-CENTURY ENGLAND which won the Wolfson History Prize, MARIE ANTOINETTE: THE JOURNEY, PERILOUS QUESTION; THE DRAMA OF THE GREAT REFORM BILL 1832 and THE KING AND THE CATHOLICS: THE FIGHT FOR RIGHTS 1829. MUST YOU GO?,a memoir of her life with Harold Pinter, was published in 2010, and MY HISTORY; A MEMOIR OF GROWING UP in 2015. She lives in London.Visit Antonia Fraser's website at www.antoniafraser.com

Becky Masterman

Becky Masterman created her heroine, Brigid Quinn, while working as an editor for a forensic science and law enforcement press. Her debut thriller, Rage Against the Dying, was a finalist for the Edgar Awards and the CWA Gold Dagger, as well as being chosen by the Richard and Judy Book Club. Her books have been translated into twenty different languages. Becky lives in Tucson, Arizona, with her husband.

Bernhard Schlink

Bernhard Schlink was born in Germany is 1944. A professor of law at Humboldt University, Berlin, and Cardozo Law School, New York, he is the author of the internationally bestselling novels THE READER, which became an Oscar-winning film starring Kate Winslet and Ralph Fiennes, and THE WOMAN ON THE STAIRS; the short story collections FLIGHTS OF LOVE and SUMMER LIES, and several prize-winning crime novels. His latest novel, OLGA, was a #1 bestseller internationally and will be published in English in 2020.He lives in Berlin and New York.

Boris Akunin

BORIS AKUNIN is the pseudonym of Grigory Chkhartishvili. He has been compared to Gogol, Tolstoy and Arthur Conan Doyle, and his Erast Fandorin books have sold over forty million copies around the world. He lives in London.

Brian Aldiss

Brian W. Aldiss (1925 - 2017)Brian Wilson Aldiss was born in 1925. He was a highly decorated science fiction author who achieved the rare feat of acceptance as a writer of real significance by the literary establishment in his lifetime. As well as his many award-winning novels he has been a hugely important anthologist and editor in the field. He also wrote the pre-eminent history of the genre (with David Wingrove), Billion Year Spree (later expanded and revised as Trillion Year Spree). He died in 2017 the day after his 92nd birthday.

Britta Rostlund

Britta Röstlund has lived in Paris for over fifteen years. She is a freelance journalist covering everything from the Paris Fashion Week to French politics.

Brooke Magnanti

Brooke Magnanti received a Ph.D. in Forensic Pathology from the University of Sheffield, where she studied in the Medico Legal Centre and specialised in the identification of decomposed human remains. She later worked for the NHS in child health research and cancer epidemiology, before being revealed in 2009 as the anonymous author of the award-winning blog Belle de Jour and bestselling Secret Diary of a Call Girl series of books. She lives on the West Coast of Scotland with her husband and hardly ever sees dead people any more.

Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Carlos Ruiz Zafón is the author of eight novels, including the international phenomenon THE SHADOW OF THE WIND, and THE ANGEL'S GAME. His work has been published in more than forty-five different languages, has sold over thirty million copies, and has been honoured with numerous international awards. He lives in Los Angeles, California.

Charlaine Harris

CHARLAINE HARRIS is a New York Times bestselling author who has been writing for over thirty-five years. Born and raised in the Mississippi Delta, she is the author of the Aurora Teagarden mysteries, basis for the Hallmark Movies & Mysteries Aurora Teagarden original movies; the Midnight, Texas series, now a brand-new TV series; the Sookie Stackhouse urban fantasy series, basis for the HBO show True Blood; the Lily Bard mysteries; the Harper Connelly mysteries; and the co-author of the graphic novel trilogy Cemetery Girl. Harris now lives in Texas with her husband and two rescue dogs.

Daniel Keyes

Daniel Keyes (1927-2014) Daniel Keyes was born in Brooklyn in 1927, and worked as a merchant seaman, editor and university English lecturer. He won the Hugo Award in 1960 for the short story that FLOWERS FOR ALGERNON was based on and the Nebula in 1966 for the full-length novel. In 1968 FLOWERS FOR ALGERNON became the Oscar-winning film CHARLY and has now sold over five million copies worldwide. He died in June 2014.

Donald Thomas

Donald Thomas was born in Somerset and educated at Queen's College, Taunton, and Balliol College, Oxford. He was the author of numerous crime novels include two collections of Sherlock Holmes stories and a hugely successful historical detective series written under the pen name Francis Selwyn, as well as gritty police procedurals written under the name of Richard Dacre. He was also the author of seven biographies and a number of other non-fiction works, and won the Gregory Prize for his poems POINTS OF CONTACT.