Related to: 'Song of the Skylark'

Orion

Coming Home to Island House

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Tell It To The Skies

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

*Includes an exclusive extract of Erica's moving and life-affirming new novel, publishing in 2018!*Set in the beautiful city of Venice, a captivating novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Summer at the Lake.Venice has been Lydia's home for many years, a place where she has found peace and fulfilment. Then one day she glimpses a young man's face in the crowd that threatens to change everything. He's a heart-stopping reminder of a dreadful secret she believed she had banished to the past...As a young child, Lydia and her sister were sent to live with grandparents they'd never even met before. It was a cruel and loveless new world for them and it forced Lydia to grow up fast. She learned to keep secrets and to trust sparingly, and through it all she was shadowed by grief and guilt.Now, twenty-eight years later, Lydia is persuaded to leave behind the safe new life she has created for herself and return to England to face the past. And maybe her future.The perfect escapist read for fans of Santa Montefiore and Katie Fforde.

Orion

The Dandelion Years

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

A gorgeous tale of friendship and love from Sunday Times bestseller Erica James.Ashcombe was the most beautiful house Saskia had ever seen as a little girl. A rambling pink cottage on the edge of the Suffolk village of Melbury Green, its enchanting garden provided a fairy-tale playground of seclusion, a perfect sanctuary to hide from the tragedy which shattered her childhood.Now an adult, Saskia is still living at Ashcombe and as a book restorer devotes her days tending to the broken, battered books that find their way to her, daydreaming about the people who had once turned their pages. When she discovers a notebook carefully concealed in an old Bible - and realising someone has gone to a great deal of trouble to hide a story of their own - Saskia finds herself drawn into a heart-rending tale of wartime love...

Orion

The Hidden Cottage

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Erica James - Seven Great Novels

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

Seven brilliant novels from one of contemporary women's fiction's best writers. Full of Erica James's signature warmth, wit and compelling characters.Comprises: AIRS AND GRACES; ACT OF FAITH; PRECIOUS TIME; HIDDEN TALENTS; LOVE AND DEVOTION; GARDENS OF DELIGHT; TELL IT TO THE SKIES.

Orion

The Real Katie Lavender

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Promises, Promises

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

The Queen of New Beginnings

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

If you've ever dreamed of starting over, then this bestselling novel from Erica James is just what you need...Alice Shoemaker habitually goes to great lengths to avoid telling the truth about herself and her past. After agreeing to help out a friend by shopping and cleaning for the unknown man staying at Cuckoo House, she soon becomes suspicious that her strange and obnoxiously rude client has something to hide... Clayton Miller's life is a mess. His career as one of the country's best comedy scriptwriters has stalled and his long-term girlfriend has left him for his ex-best friend and ex-writing partner. Just when he thinks his life couldn't get any worse, he commits a spectacularly public fall from grace and with the press hounding him, his agent banishes him to the middle of nowhere until the dust has settled. And there he meets Alice...When Alice and Clayton discover the truth about each other they form an unlikely friendship - until Alice discovers Clayton has betrayed her in the worst possible way.

Orion

Act of Faith

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Airs and Graces

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

A Breath of Fresh Air

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Hidden Talents

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

Bestselling author Erica James explores the stories of a potent mix of characters who meet at a creative writers' group.Dulcie Ballantyne knows that creative writers' groups attract an unlikely mix of people, so when she starts up Hidden Talents, she is well prepared for the assortment of people she is bringing together.Beth King is facing empty-nest syndrome as her only son, Nathan, leaves home for university. Jack Solomon, a local estate agent, is having trouble coming to terms with the shock of his wife leaving him for his best friend. Jaz Rafferty is an intensely private seventeen-year-old girl who writes to escape her large, boisterous family. Victor Blackmore is a know-it-all, who claims to be writing the blockbuster novel every publisher will be clamouring for. What they all have in common is a need to escape, as well as a desire to keep their lives as private as possible. As they grow more confident in their writing skills, friendships develop, and gradually they come to realise that a little openness isn't necessarily a bad thing.

Orion

The Holiday

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Time For A Change

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

A vibrant, often humorous tale of life, love - and infidelity - from the bestselling author of PROMISES, PROMISES.Hilary had always thought she'd lived a charmed life. With a caring husband, David, and two lively children, she took an active part in both family and village life. Then, one Monday morning, Hilary's world is turned upside down. She discovers that David is having an affair. How could he? How could he put at risk their children and everything they have built together over the years? The question is, what should Hilary do? Turn a blind eye, much as neighbour Cindy has done over her own husband's various dalliances? Confront him, as her outspoken new friend Georgia suggests? Or perhaps she should throw herself at attractive newcomer to the village Nick Bradshaw...Whatever happens, it seems certain that for Hilary, life is never going to be quite the same again.

Orion

It's The Little Things

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

A gripping novel about how friendships survive the best and worst of times from the bestselling author of SUMMER AT THE LAKE.Dan and Sally Oliver and their friend Chloe Hennessey are lucky to be alive. Three years on, after surviving one of the world's biggest natural disasters - the Boxing Day tsunami - their lives have changed dramatically.Dan and Sally are now parents. Dan is enjoying being a stay-at-home father taking care of their young son, and Sally is the breadwinner and loves her job as a partner in a Manchester law firm. The arrangement has so far worked well, but when Dan starts to question whether Sally has got her priorities right, the cracks in their marriage begin to appear. Dan and Sally have everything Chloe wishes for in life - a happy marriage and a beautiful child. Dumped by her long-term boyfriend just weeks after the tsunami, she's been on a mission ever since to find the perfect father for the child she craves. When she meets Seth Hawthorne, she thinks she may have hit the jackpot. But is Seth the man she thinks he is?IT'S THE LITTLE THINGS is a moving, compelling story of how a life can change in a heartbeat.

Orion

Paradise House

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Precious Time

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

When Clara gives up her safe, conventional life and takes off with her son on a three-month trip, she is soon forced to confront problems she thought she would never have to face...In order to spend more time with her four-year-old son Ned, Clara Costello trades in her secure, well-paid job and two-seater sports car for a camper van called Winnie, and the three of them set off on a mystery tour of England. Of course, her friends and family think she's gone mad. But when they arrive in Deaconsbridge, a small market town on the edge of the Peak District, Clara and Ned become drawn into the lives of the locals. Two in particular seem destined to get under Clara's skin: Gabriel Liberty, a cranky widower who terrifies his family; and Archie Merryman, a local dealer in second-hand furniture who possesses a heart of gold.Then Clara finds herself having to confront a problem much closer to home, and one she had hoped she would never have to face...

Orion

A Sense Of Belonging

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

A terrific novel of love, life and friendship from the Sunday Times bestselling author.In the heart of the Cheshire countryside, Cholmford Hall Mews, a converted eighteenth-century barn, is far more than an exclusive home to its new inhabitants.For Jessica Lloyd, it is a haven where she can recover from a love affair long past its sell-by date; Amanda Fergusson, whose marriage is one of straightforward convenience, is determined to get the most out of the situation; for Kate Morris it offers a fresh start where her love for newly divorced Alec can flourish; and for Josh Crawford, his new home offers a sanctuary where he can come to terms with the most devastating news of his life. In their different ways, all the newcomers to Cholmford Hall Mews are searching for something - love, peace, a sense of belonging. But will they find rather more than they bargained for...?

Orion

Love and Devotion

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Gardens Of Delight

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

The Gardens of Delight brochure promises the opportunity to visit some of the most beautiful gardens in the Lake Como area of Italy. For Lucy, the chance to go to Italy offers more than just gardens. Lake Como is where her father lives and the last time she saw him was when she was just a teenager. Recently married Helen and her wealthy husband have just moved into the Old Rectory. With her husband spending so much time away from home, Helen throws herself into caring for the garden. But Helen needs help - and friends - and so decides to take the plunge and join the local Garden Club. Conrad isn't the least bit interested in gardening. Widowed for five years, his life revolves around work and humouring Mac, his elderly uncle who lives with him, and who has expressed a desire to go on the Gardens of Delight tour. Reluctantly, Conrad agrees to accompany him. 'Anything for a peaceful life,' he concedes. But a peaceful life is the last thing any of them are in for...Read by Jenny Seagrove(p) 2005 Orion Publishing Group