Related to: 'Gabby: The Little Dog that had to Learn to Bark'

Trapeze

Please Don't Take My Sisters

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
Trapeze

Will You Love Me? The Rescue Dog that Rescued Me

Barby Keel
Authors:
Barby Keel
Trapeze

The Street Dog Who Found a Home

Barby Keel
Authors:
Barby Keel

A heartwarming true animal story, for fans of A Dog's Purpose, A Street Cat Named Bob and Marley & Me. When Chewy the dog arrives at the animal sanctuary run by the inimitable Barby Keel, the scrawny little dog is terrified. Having been abandoned by his beloved owner, who is himself homeless, Chewy's whole world has been turned upside down. After years of sleeping on the streets, Chewy knows what it is to be cold and hungry, to have nowhere safe to stay, no warm bed to sleep on, no regular food or time to play. Despite her resolve to not get too attached to the animals that come into her care, Barby cannot help but feel there is something special about this little dog. Soon he won't let Barby out of his sight, and in doing so works his way into her heart. But some scars run too deep and it takes every ounce of Barby's patience to help Chewy heal from the traumas of his past. In doing so, Barby learns that in healing others, we often heal ourselves. A Street Cat Named Bob meets Marley & Me, The Street Dog Who Found a Home is a beautifully uplifting and heartwarming tale of the love and friendship that exists between humans and animals.

Trapeze

Dogs With Jobs

Laura Greaves
Authors:
Laura Greaves
Trapeze

The Girl No One Wanted

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley

Eleven-year-old Leanne is out of control. Since being taken into care at the age of three, she has had over forty placements, each carer less able to cope with her anger and destruction than the last. Late one night, foster carer Maggie Hartley receives a terrified call from Leanne's current placement, who has barricaded herself in her bathroom to protect herself from Leanne's rage. With the police on standby, Maggie manages to diffuse the situation but Leanne is left without a home once more. Maggie is Leanne's only hope. But this is her last chance. If this placement fails, she will have to be put in a secure unit.Then Leanne threatens Maggie with a knife and makes accusations against her that have to be investigated by Maggie's superiors. Where most others would simply walk away, Maggie refuses to give up on the little girl who's never known love. Can Maggie get through to Leanne and begin to help her heal? Will the girl no one wanted find her forever home?

W&N

Blue

John Sutherland
Authors:
John Sutherland
Orion

A Child Called It

Dave Pelzer
Authors:
Dave Pelzer

A harrowing, yet inspiring true story of a young boy's abusive childhood, from internationally bestselling author Dave Pelzer.Dave Pelzer was brutally beaten and starved by his emotionally unstable, alcoholic mother - a mother who played tortuous, unpredictable games. She no longer considered Dave a son, but a slave; no longer a boy, but an 'it'.His bed was an old army cot in the basement, his clothes were torn and unwashed, and when he was allowed the luxury of food it was scraps from the dog's bowl. The outside world knew nothing of the nightmare played out behind closed doors. But throughout Dave kept alive dreams of finding a family to love him. This book covers the early years of his life and is an affecting and inspirational book of the horrors of child abuse and the steadfast determination of one child to survive.

W&N

The Nature of Horses

Stephen Budiansky
Authors:
Stephen Budiansky

Abigail Thomas

Abigail Thomas is the author of two memoirs - SAFEKEEPING and A THREE DOG LIFE - as well as a novel and two story collections.

Alfred Lansing

Alfred Lansing was a native of Chicago. After serving more than five years in the Navy, he enrolled at North Western University, Illinois and majored in journalism. Until 1949 he edited a weekly newspaper in Illinois. He then joined the United Press and in 1952 became a freelance writer. ENDURANCE was his first book. He died in 1975.

Barbara Davilman

A co-author of the bestselling YIDDISH WITH DICK AND JANE and YIDDISH WITH GEORGE AND LAURA, Barbara Davilman is a writer for television and movies.

Dave Pelzer

Dave Pelzer is recognised as one of America's most effective and respected communicators addressing corporations, conventions and health/psychology/primary care workers. His unique accomplishments have garnered personal commendations from Ronald Reagan and George Bush. He was selected as torchbearer for the 1996 Olympic Torch relay. He has dedicated his life to helping others help themselves.

Ellis Weiner

Co-author of the bestselling YIDDISH WITH DICK AND JANE and YIDDISH WITH GEORGE AND LAURA, Ellis Weiner has been an editor of NATIONAL LAMPOON, a columnist for SPY, and a contributor to many magazines, including THE NEW YORKER and THE NEW YORK TIMES MAGAZINE.

Gavin Mortimer

Gavin Mortimer was born in London 34 years ago. As a freelance journalist he has contributed articles to a diverse range of magazines and newspapers, including the Observer, the Guardian, History Monthly and Esquire. The Longest Night is his fourth book and the second to be published by Weidenfeld & Nicolson. The first, Stirling's Men: the Inside History of the SAS in World War II, was published in 2004 and is now available in paperback.

John Sutherland

John Sutherland is a father of three, who lives with his wife and children in south London. For the best part of twenty-five years, he served as a Metropolitan Police Officer. He won the Baton of Honour as the outstanding recruit in his training-school intake. Over the course of his career, in which he was awarded several commendations, he worked in seven different London boroughs, in a variety of different ranks and roles, and he was also posted to Scotland Yard on three separate occasions. His final operational job was as the Borough Commander for Southwark. John can be found on Twitter and Wordpress as 'policecommander'. Blue is his first book.

Julie Tottman

Over the last twenty years, Julie has been the animal trainer behind a whole host of major Hollywood blockbusters - from the Harry Potter series to Lassie, The Dark Knight, 102 Dalmations and, most recently, Game of Thrones.

Maggie Hartley

Maggie Hartley has fostered more than 300 children while being a foster carer for over twenty years. Taking on the children other carers often can't cope with, Maggie helps children that are deemed 'unadoptable' because of their behaviour or the extreme trauma that they've been through. She's looked after refugees, supported children through sexual abuse and violence court cases, cared for teenagers on remand and taught young mums how to parent their newborn babies.

Nando Parrado

Nando Parrado was born in Montevideo, Uruguay. After surviving the Andes plane crash of 1972, has gone on to become a successful businessman and television producer and presenter. He speaks five languages and is a hugely successful lecturer around the world. In his spare time races motorcycles and stock cars.

Peter Martin

Peter Martin was born in Argentina of English parents and educated there and in the US. He has taught English literature on both sides of the Atlantic and written extensively on 18th-century British and American literature and culture. He divides his time between Spain and a house in West Sussex.

Stephen Budiansky

Formerly Washington editor of the journal Nature, Stephen Budiansky is a senior writer at US News & World Report, where he writes about science, the environment and current affairs. He lives with his wife and two children on a small farm in Virginia.