Related to: 'Gabby: The Little Dog that had to Learn to Bark'

Trapeze

Will You Love Me? The Rescue Dog that Rescued Me

Barby Keel
Authors:
Barby Keel
Trapeze

The Street Dog Who Found a Home

Barby Keel
Authors:
Barby Keel

A heartwarming true animal story, for fans of A Dog's Purpose, A Street Cat Named Bob and Marley & Me. When Chewy the dog arrives at the animal sanctuary run by the inimitable Barby Keel, the scrawny little dog is terrified. Having been abandoned by his beloved owner, who is himself homeless, Chewy's whole world has been turned upside down. After years of sleeping on the streets, Chewy knows what it is to be cold and hungry, to have nowhere safe to stay, no warm bed to sleep on, no regular food or time to play. Despite her resolve to not get too attached to the animals that come into her care, Barby cannot help but feel there is something special about this little dog. Soon he won't let Barby out of his sight, and in doing so works his way into her heart. But some scars run too deep and it takes every ounce of Barby's patience to help Chewy heal from the traumas of his past. In doing so, Barby learns that in healing others, we often heal ourselves. A Street Cat Named Bob meets Marley & Me, The Street Dog Who Found a Home is a beautifully uplifting and heartwarming tale of the love and friendship that exists between humans and animals.

A.P. McCoy

Born in County Antrim in 1974, A. P. McCoy rode his first winner in 1992. In 1996, he was crowned champion jockey for the first time, and he has held the title ever since. He received an OBE in 2010, a year after riding his 3,000th winner, and he was the first jockey to be named BBC Sports Personality of the Year. He lives with his wife, Chanelle, and children, Eve and Archie, in Berkshire. Follow on Twitter at https://twitter.com/AP_McCoy

Abigail Thomas

Abigail Thomas is the author of two memoirs - SAFEKEEPING and A THREE DOG LIFE - as well as a novel and two story collections.

Barbara Davilman

A co-author of the bestselling YIDDISH WITH DICK AND JANE and YIDDISH WITH GEORGE AND LAURA, Barbara Davilman is a writer for television and movies.

Belle de Jour

Belle de Jour is the nom de plume of a former London call girl. Find Belle online at belledejour-uk.blogspot.com.

Britta Rostlund

Britta Röstlund has lived in Paris for over fifteen years. She is a freelance journalist covering everything from the Paris Fashion Week to French politics.

Cathryn Kemp

Cathryn Kemp is an award-winning journalist and author. She has written across the spectrum of the British press, both tabloid and broadsheet, and online, and for many magazines. In 2002 she won the Peter Wilson Award for Journalism before running her own, highly successful press agency writing for radio and television. She is the author of PAINKILLER ADDICT, published by Piatkus in 2012, which won the Big Red Read Prize for non-fiction in 2013. This is a personal and lovingly crafted account of her grandmother's life and her legacy.

Daniel Keyes

Daniel Keyes (1927-2014) Daniel Keyes was born in Brooklyn in 1927, and worked as a merchant seaman, editor and university English lecturer. He won the Hugo Award in 1960 for the short story that FLOWERS FOR ALGERNON was based on and the Nebula in 1966 for the full-length novel. In 1968 FLOWERS FOR ALGERNON became the Oscar-winning film CHARLY and has now sold over five million copies worldwide. He died in June 2014.

Dave Pelzer

Dave Pelzer is recognised as one of America's most effective and respected communicators addressing corporations, conventions and health/psychology/primary care workers. His unique accomplishments have garnered personal commendations from Ronald Reagan and George Bush. He was selected as torchbearer for the 1996 Olympic Torch relay. He has dedicated his life to helping others help themselves.

David Anderson

David Anderson is Lecturer in African Studies at the University of Oxford. He was previously Director of the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London. Co-editor 1988-98 of the Journal of African History, he has also edited a number of collections on the history of Kenya and Africa. He lives in St Albans, Hertfordshire.

David Ebershoff

David Ebershoff is the author of THE ROSE CITY, PASADENA, THE 19TH WIFE and THE DANISH GIRL, which has been made into a film starring Academy Award-winner Eddie Redmayne and directed by the Academy Award-winning director of THE KING'S SPEECH, Tom Hooper. His books have been translated into twenty languages and honoured by the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Lambda Literary Foundation and the American Library Association. He has taught writing at Princeton, NYU and Columbia, and was Vice President and Executive Editor at Random House for many years.

Ellis Weiner

Co-author of the bestselling YIDDISH WITH DICK AND JANE and YIDDISH WITH GEORGE AND LAURA, Ellis Weiner has been an editor of NATIONAL LAMPOON, a columnist for SPY, and a contributor to many magazines, including THE NEW YORKER and THE NEW YORK TIMES MAGAZINE.

Evelyn Doyle

Evelyn Doyle now lives in Scotland with her partner of 14 years Michael. She trained as a psychiatric nurse, then became a police officer and later moved on to running her own patisserie company. She has one son, Benjamin, and grandson Joshua.Molly McCloskey, who collaborated with Evelyn, was born in 1964 in Philadelphia. She published her first collection of short stories, Soloman's Seal, in 1997. Her new collection, The Beautiful Changes, was published by the Lilliput Press in February 2002. She now lives in Ocean City, Co Sligo.Evelyn Doyle now lives in Scotland with her partner of 14 years Michael. She trained as a psychiatric nurse, then became a police officer and later moved on to running her own patisserie company. She has one, Benjamin, and grandson, Joshua.

George East

George East has enjoyed a spectacularly eclectic career path including stints as a pickled onion manufacturer, gravedigger, radio producer, publican and professional bed tester. Now dedicated to writing and to devising increasingly elaborate money-making schemes, George has settled in the Cotentin region of Normandy where he lives very happily with long-suffering wife Donella.

Jane Dolby

Jane Dolby lives on the Essex coast and formed The Fishwive's Choir, which has seen them perform all over the country and on BBC BREAKFAST, ITV, THE ONE SHOW and many more. The Fishwives website can be found at http://www.fishwiveschoir.co.uk/. Their music can be heard at https://www.youtube.com/user/FishwivesChoir and they also have a Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/TheFishwivesChoir.

Jean Fullerton

Jean Fullerton is the author of seven historical novels. She is a qualified District and Queen's nurse who has spent most of her working life in the East End of London, first as a Sister in charge of a team, and then as a District Nurse tutor. She is also a qualified teacher and spent twelve years lecturing on community nursing studies at a London university. She now writes full-time. Find out more at www.jeanfullerton.com

Jennifer Worth

Jennifer Worth trained as a nurse at the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading, and was later ward sister at the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital in London, then the Marie Curie Hospital, also in London. Music had always been her passion, and in 1973 she left nursing in order to study music intensively, teaching piano and singing for about 25 years. Jennifer died in May 2011 after a short illness, leaving her husband Philip, two daughters and three grandchildren. Her books have all been bestsellers.

Julie Tottman

Over the last twenty years, Julie has been the animal trainer behind a whole host of major Hollywood blockbusters - from the Harry Potter series to Lassie, The Dark Knight, 102 Dalmations and, most recently, Game of Thrones.

Maggie Hartley

Maggie Hartley has fostered more than 300 children while being a foster carer for over twenty years. Taking on the children other carers often can't cope with, Maggie helps children that are deemed 'unadoptable' because of their behaviour or the extreme trauma that they've been through. She's looked after refugees, supported children through sexual abuse and violence court cases, cared for teenagers on remand and taught young mums how to parent their newborn babies.