Related to: 'The Street Dog Who Found a Home'

Trapeze

Will You Love Me? The Rescue Dog that Rescued Me

Barby Keel
Authors:
Barby Keel

Late one night, as she checks on the animals in her care before bed, the peaceful silence surrounding Barby Keel's animal sanctuary is shattered by the sound of a van screeching into the driveway before roaring off into the distance. Hurrying to the front of the sanctuary, Barby is horrified by the sight that greets her. In her many years caring for neglected and mistreated animals, Barby has seen the worst of what people can do to the creatures in their care, but the sight of the dog in front of her shocks her to her core. As her torch beam sweeps the trembling body of the greyhound that has been dumped on her doorstep, she can see every rib and every bone through the patches of matted hair. Badly beaten, it's clear that the dog is only hours from death. A year into her second cancer diagnosis, Barby puts all thoughts of her own health aside as she throws herself into caring for the greyhound, who she names Bailey. Can Barby save Bailey's life? And who will care for the animals at the sanctuary if Barby doesn't survive her second cancer diagnosis?

Trapeze

Gabby: The Little Dog that had to Learn to Bark

Barby Keel
Authors:
Barby Keel

A heartwarming true animal story, for fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Marley & Me. In the 54 years she has run the Barby Keel Animal Sanctuary, deep in the Kent countryside, Barby has taken in all manner of animals in need of love, care and a second chance at life. She thinks she's seen it all until Gabby, a scruffy, golden-haired terrier, arrives on her doorstep. Trembling, her eyes wide with fear, Gabby is unable to play with other dogs and is completely mute. When Barby discovers that Gabby has been kept locked indoors her whole life, all becomes clear - Gabby has never learnt to be a dog. Soon Barby has fallen in love with this strange little mutt and is determined to help her connect with her true nature. But when tragedy befalls Barby, it is not only Gabby but the entire animal sanctuary that's at stake...A Street Cat Named Bob meets Marley & Me, this is an emotional, joyful true story of the deepest bond that exists between humans and animals.

Trapeze

Sold To Be A Wife

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
Trapeze

Battered, Broken, Healed

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley

A new challenge faces foster carer Maggie Hartley: this time it's not a child that's at risk, it's her mother. Can Maggie help Hailey to escape her abusive husband, and reunite her with her baby daughter? A heartbreaking true story perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis.*****A TRUE STORY BY THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR MAGGIE HARTLEYWhen six-week-old Jasmine is placed in her care, foster mother Maggie Hartley is delighted to have a baby in the house again. Maggie's been given temporary custody of Jasmine after social services were concerned that the baby was failing to thrive and develop. With Maggie's love and care, Jasmine soon flourishes into a healthy, happy baby - but it is clear that all is not quite as it seems with her mum, Hailey. Timid, pale and withdrawn, Hailey looks as though she is carrying the weight of the world onher shoulders. Maggie fears she may be suffering from postnatal depression until late one night she discovers Hailey on her doorstep, her body battered and broken, her spirit crushed. Hailey admits that her husband has been abusing her for years, but this revelation places Maggie in an awful situation: there's no way Hailey can regain custody of Jasmine until her husband is off the scene. But after years of physical and emotional abuse, can Hailey find the strength to leave him? An uplifting and ultimately redemptive story by Sunday Times bestselling foster carer Maggie Hartley. Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis.

Trapeze

The Girl No One Wanted

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley

She was the girl no one wanted. Violent and disruptive, no foster carer could cope with Leanne's behaviour. Can Maggie Hartley succeed where so many others failed? Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis. ***** A TRUE SHORT STORY BY THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR MAGGIE HARTLEYEleven-year-old Leanne is out of control. Since being taken into care at the age of three, she has had over forty placements, each carer less able to cope with her anger and destruction than the last. Late one night, foster carer Maggie Hartley receives a terrified call from Leanne's current placement, who has barricaded herself in her bathroom to protect herself from Leanne's rage. With the police on standby, Maggie manages to diffuse the situation but Leanne is left without a home once more. Maggie is Leanne's only hope. But this is her last chance. If this placement fails, she will have to be put in a secure unit. Then Leanne threatens Maggie with a knife and makes accusations against her that have to be investigated by Maggie's superiors. Where most others would simply walk away, Maggie refuses to give up on the little girl who's never known love. Can Maggie get through to Leanne and begin to help her heal? Will the girl no one wanted find her forever home?A true short story by The Sunday Times bestselling foster carer Maggie Hartley. Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis.

Abigail Thomas

Abigail Thomas is the author of two memoirs - SAFEKEEPING and A THREE DOG LIFE - as well as a novel and two story collections.

Alan Philps

Alan Philps started his career as Russian correspondent with Reuters. He then became Russian correspondent for the DAILY TELEGRAPH before moving to become the paper's Middle East correspondent and then its Foreign Editor. He lives in London.

Anthea Bell

Anthea Bell

Britta Rostlund

Britta Röstlund has lived in Paris for over fifteen years. She is a freelance journalist covering everything from the Paris Fashion Week to French politics.

Daniel Keyes

Daniel Keyes (1927-2014)Born in Brooklyn in 1927, Daniel Keyes worked as a merchant seaman, editor and university lecturer. He published four other novels, but Flowers for Algernon, originally a short story, for which he won the Hugo Award, later expanded into the Nebula Award-winning novel and adapted as an Oscar-winning film (Charly, 1968) remains his best-known work. Daniel Keyes had a masters degree in English and American literature and was a Professor of English and Creative writing. He died in 2014.

Dave Pelzer

Dave Pelzer is recognised as one of America's most effective and respected communicators addressing corporations, conventions and health/psychology/primary care workers. His unique accomplishments have garnered personal commendations from Ronald Reagan and George Bush. He was selected as torchbearer for the 1996 Olympic Torch relay. He has dedicated his life to helping others help themselves.

Ella Griffin

Ella Griffin was born in Dublin. She was an award-winning advertising copywriter before she took the leap into fiction. She has written three novels since 2011. She writes about love and loss and loves making readers laugh and cry (sometimes on the same page.) Ella lives with her husband in County Wicklow in Ireland.You can find Ella at www.ellagriffin.com, Facebook/EllaGriffinAuthor and @EllaGriffin1

Evelyn Doyle

Evelyn Doyle now lives in Scotland with her partner of 14 years Michael. She trained as a psychiatric nurse, then became a police officer and later moved on to running her own patisserie company. She has one son, Benjamin, and grandson Joshua.Molly McCloskey, who collaborated with Evelyn, was born in 1964 in Philadelphia. She published her first collection of short stories, Soloman's Seal, in 1997. Her new collection, The Beautiful Changes, was published by the Lilliput Press in February 2002. She now lives in Ocean City, Co Sligo.Evelyn Doyle now lives in Scotland with her partner of 14 years Michael. She trained as a psychiatric nurse, then became a police officer and later moved on to running her own patisserie company. She has one, Benjamin, and grandson, Joshua.

Julie Tottman

Over the last twenty years, Julie has been the animal trainer behind a whole host of major Hollywood blockbusters - from the Harry Potter series to Lassie, The Dark Knight, 102 Dalmations and, most recently, Game of Thrones.

Karine Lambert

Karine Lambert is a photographer and novelist. Her first novel, L'Immeuble des femmes qui ont renoncé aux hommes, sold more than 120,000 copies in France. Now Let's Dance has sold in nine territories, and is already a bestseller in France and Germany.

Kitty Neale

Kitty Neale (real name Brenda Warren) was brought up in Battersea. She started writing after working as a bereavement counsellor which she took up after the death of her son.

Maggie Hartley

Maggie Hartley has fostered more than 300 children while being a foster carer for over twenty years. Taking on the children other carers often can't cope with, Maggie helps children that are deemed 'unadoptable' because of their behaviour or the extreme trauma that they've been through. She's looked after refugees, supported children through sexual abuse and violence court cases, cared for teenagers on remand and taught young mums how to parent their newborn babies.

Paul Johnson

Paul Johnson was born in 1928. He edited the New Statesman in the 1960s and has written over forty books. His Modern Times, a history of the world from the 1920s to the 1990s, has been translated into more than fifteen languages. As well as a weekly column in the Spectator, he contributes to newspapers all over the world.

Richard Coles

The Reverend Richard Coles is the presenter of SATURDAY LIVE on BBC Radio 4. He is also the only vicar in Britain to have had a number-one hit single and appeared on STRICTLY COME DANCING. He read Theology at King's College London, and after ordination worked as a curate in Lincolnshire and subsequently at St Paul's Church in Knightsbridge, London. He is the author of LIVES OF THE IMPRBABLE SAINTSand two memoirs, the bestselling FATHOMLESS RICHES and BRINGING IN THE SHEAVES. He lives in his parish of Finedon, Northamptonshire.www.richardcoles.comwww.twitter.com/RevRichardColes

Veronica Henry

Veronica Henry has worked as a scriptwriter for THE ARCHERS, HEARTBEAT and HOLBY CITY amongst many others, before turning to fiction. She won the 2014 RNA NOVEL OF THE YEAR AWARD for A NIGHT ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS. Veronica lives with her family in a village in north Devon. Find out more at www.veronicahenry.co.uk or follow her on Twitter @veronica_henry