Related to: 'The Whispering Swarm'

Gateway

The Sundered Worlds

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Dorian Hawkmoon... Corum Jhaelen Irsei... Elric of Melniboné. Over the years, Michael Moorcock has captivated readers with his unending versions of the Eternal Champion, the timeless warrior who serves the Cosmic Balance in the ongoing battle that rages between Law and Chaos through the many planes and levels of the multiverse. But what is the multiverse and what are its origins? In this essential novel, Michael Moorcock provides readers these critical answers.World War Three has come and gone, and humankind has survived its brutal past to assume its place among the stars. Yet their existence is endangered nonetheless, as their entire universe is threatening to collapse. All their hopes rest on the shoulders of Count Renark von Bek, a nobleman of extraordinary psychic abilities and carefully guarded secrets.Aided by his companions, von Bek will delve into the Sundered Worlds, a mysterious galaxy outside the space-time continuum that has materialized on the edges of known space. Inside this roving galaxy, they will uncover the secrets of the multiverse and embark upon a last desperate gamble to save humankind.But as they will soon discover, even survival comes laden with danger, as the solutions to their dilemma may also hold the final keys to their destruction

Gateway

Barbarians of Mars

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Michael Moorcock's Eternal Champion returns in the form of Michael Kane, a brilliant Earthman stranded on the treacherous deserts of Ancient Mars! In this sweeping, epic sword-and-planet adventure in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Kane and his blue giant companion Hool Haji must travel to the far reaches of the Red Planet to halt the hideous Green Death, an unstoppable disease that rots the mind as well as the body. From gorgeous Karnala, City of Green Mists, to the empty streets of tainted Cend-Amrid to the forgotten weird-science laboratories of the lost, highly advanced Yaksha culture, Masters of the Pit promises stunning locales, disgusting Martian creatures, and relentless action from the Nebula and World Fantasy Award-winning creator of Elric of Melniboné!

Gateway

Blades of Mars

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Once before, physicist and warrior Michael Kane's experiments in matter transmission catapulted him across space and time to the verdant and war-torn Mars of the distant past, only to wrench him back home at his greatest moment. Now, desperate to return to the princess he loves and the kingdom he left behind, Kane throws himself once more into the ether, and finds himself again on Mars - but this time confronted with man-sized spiders, ancient mutated races, and a brutal civil war between the planet's familiar Blue Giants. Can it be that he's arrived thousands of years too late to find his beloved Shizala?The creator of Elric of Melniboné, Michael Moorcock remains one of the most honored science fiction and fantasy authors of all time. With Kane of Old Mars, Moorcock's Eternal Champion returns with interplanetary adventure in the best Edgar Rice Burroughs tradition.

Gateway

Warriors of Mars

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

That first visit to Mars had been a mistake. A miraculous journey out through the myriad miles of space and back, back through the millennia to a time before Man existed, it had been the chance result of a small-scale malfunction in an experimental matter transfer machine.But Michael Kane's first great adventure in a world where great mythic armies battled, where hugely bizarre creatures roamed and deeds of high heroism and dark treachery resounded, was but the start. For as he learned to control and use the machinery, he was to return to Mars again and again.Containing the complete Martian adventures of Michael Kane, of the proud Princess Shizala, her warrior brother and the darkly beautiful but evil Horguhl, are brought together in one volume.

Gollancz

London Bone and Other Stories

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Mysterious fossils found deep under London's streets create a whole new 'heritage' industry - but what does selling London's history mean for the city? In these remarkable stories Moorcock explores the parts of London most of us will never see, and creates a patchwork of tales which build up to a portrait of the whole city.

Gollancz

The Brothel in Rosenstrasse and Other Stories

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gollancz

Elric: The Revenge of the Rose

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Feared by enemies and friends alike, Elric of Melnibone walks a lonely path among the worlds of the multiverse. The destroyer of his own cruel and ancient race, as well as its final ruler, Elric is the bearer of a destiny as dark and cursed as the vampiric sword he carries - the sentient black blade known as Stormbringer.The soul of Elric's father is tortured and suffering. To free it, Elric must face the princes of hell, and put all of his trust in one woman - the Rose.With an introduction by Holly Black, and containing THE REVENGE OF THE ROSE as well as associated short stories, this collection presents Moorcock's greatest creation in a revised and approved order.

Gateway

The Sword of the Dawn

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Runestaff

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

The Dark Empire of Granbretan has humiliated and mutilated Dorian Hawkmoon, but it cannot rob him of his two consuming passions: his love for Yisselda of Brass and his hatred of her ruthless suitor Meliadus.But before he can defy the Dark Empire and win the beauteous Yisselda, he must seek the Runestaff, a quest that will send him into barbaric wonder and perverse evil ... and only if he succeeds will he avert the doom of all the world...

Gateway

The Oak and the Ram

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

The seasons have turned from spring to summer across the quiet earth - yet the Fhoi Myore were hiding in mist, awaiting their chance to unleash their icy realm of death. To defeat the Cold Gods, Corum of the Silver Hand must restore the High King's power with legendary treasures - the Golden Oak and the Silver Ram - lost talismans that wield miraculous forces. Forces that Corum must now tame...

Gateway

Count Brass

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Champion of Garathorm

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

After journeying across the multiverse with other manifestations of the Eternal Champion,Dorian Hawkmoon is stunned to discover that he has returned to a version of his world in which it was his friend and ally, Count Brass, who survived the Battle of Londra, rather than Brass's daughter - and Hawkmoon's beloved wife - Yisselda. Driven close to madness by the loss of his wife and children (who never existed in this world), he locks himself away in Castle Brass, painstakingly recreating the battle of Londra, in an attempt to discover a version in which Yisselda also survives. But the paths through the multiverse are treacherous...

Gateway

The Quest for Tanelorn

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Knight of the Swords

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Queen of the Swords

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

The Second Book of Corum: the Prince in the Scarlet Robe.Fresh from victory over the Chaos Lord, Arioch, Prince Corum must battle the forces of Xiombarg, the dreaded Queen of the Swords, whose armies are close to delivering control of five planes of existence to Chaos, the forces of Law all but defeated.Corum and his allies enter the fray, though the odds are stacked against them. Their only hope lies in locating the advanced weaponry of the fabled City in the Pyramid. But the City is besieged by the forces of Chaos - and the Chaos Lords are now sworn enemies of the Prince in the Scarlet Robe...

Gateway

The Hollow Lands

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

At the world's end, all love is timeless, and all age-old disputes irrelevant . . .Jherek Carnelian, however, is in danger of taking reality too seriously, and grows tired of his pleasures. Perhaps a hunt for aliens could lift his spirits? Or better yet, a journey through time? Ah, yes! The past! So complicated and strange - especially with its scarcity of time machines for a return trip! But regardless of the dangers, the past does hold one irresistible lure: Mrs Amelia Underwood, for whom the Hero at the End of Time risks all.

Gateway

The End of All Songs

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Jherek Carnelian and Mrs Amelia Underwood return to the End of Time from their brief exile in the Devonian Period to find the world under attack from the Lat and extinction a very real possibility. The perfect occasion, then, for love to bloom, the secret of Jherek's past to be revealed and the true nature of time to be unveiled...

Gollancz

Elric: The Fortress of the Pearl

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gollancz

Daughter of Dreams

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

'My name is Ulric, Graf von Bek, and I am the last of my earthly line.'As Nazism engulfs the Fatherland, the albino Ulric von Bek battles to keep the occult blade Ravenbrand from being taken by Adolf Hitler.As an inhuman army engulfs the eternal city of Tanelorn, the legendary albino Elric, last of the sorcerer-kings of Melniboné, fights to keep his black sword Stormbringer from the grasp of Gaynor the Damned.Failure for both puts the entire multiverse at risk, and the separate heroes of two worlds must now become the single champion of all worlds. Elric and Ulric must merge their lives and souls and become one, trusting their destinies to each other - and to Oona, the mysterious Daughter of Dreams ...

Gollancz

Destiny's Brother

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

'I am Oona, the shape-taker, Grafin von Bek, daughter of Oone the Dreamthief and Elric, Sorcerer Emperor of Melniboné'Ulric von Bek, now married to Oona, the Daughter of Dreams, has been abducted by a band of spectral natives, while travelling through Canada.Oona gives chase, en route to the Skrayling Oak which contains all realities, to brave the maelstrom of a mythic America - where malign forces try to pitch her against Elric, an aspect of the Eternal Champion and her father.Meanwhile, the captured Ulric finds himself once more in the multiverse where finally he is reunited with his alternate self, Elric, and his wife, Oona. There, the three of them must take arms against an impossible enemy, bent on destroying the Skrayling Oak. For if the tree falls, so too does the multiverse ...