Related to: 'Raft'

Gollancz

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Half a million years in the future, on a dead, war-ravaged world at the centre of the Galaxy, there is a mile-high statue of Michael Poole.Poole, born on Earth in the fourth millennium, was one of mankind's most influential heroes. He was not a warrior, not an emperor. He was an engineer, a builder of wormhole transit systems. But Poole's work would ultimately lead to a vast and destructive conflict, a million-year war between humanity and the enigmatic, powerful aliens known as the Xeelee. The Xeelee won, but at a huge cost. And, defeated in a greater war, the Xeelee eventually fled the universe. Most of them.A handful were left behind, equipped with time travel capabilities, their task to tidy up: to reorder history more to the Xeelee's liking. That million-year war with humankind was one blemish. It had to be erased. And in order to do that, a lone Xeelee was sent back in time to remove Michael Poole from history . . .

Gollancz

The Massacre of Mankind

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

It has been 14 years since the Martians invaded England. The world has moved on, always watching the skies but content that we know how to defeat the Martian menace. Machinery looted from the abandoned capsules and war-machines has led to technological leaps forward. The Martians are vulnerable to earth germs. The Army is prepared.So when the signs of launches on Mars are seen, there seems little reason to worry. Unless you listen to one man, Walter Jenkins, the narrator of Wells' book. He is sure that the Martians have learned, adapted, understood their defeat.He is right.Thrust into the chaos of a new invasion, a journalist - sister-in-law to Walter Jenkins - must survive, escape and report on the war.The Massacre of Mankind has begun.

Gollancz

The Northland Trilogy

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Behemoth

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

They have measured the slow pulse of the seasons as the Earth spins its stately annual dance. Their memories stretch back across the million-year cycles of the ice sheets.Their stories tell of the making of the world. And as the millenia have passed, their legends have served them well.And a thousand years from now, on a different world, they will be the difference between life and death, between extinction and a future as long as the past.This new ebook edition collects three of Stephen Baxter's early books together for the first time.Starting with the story of SilverHair, the last of the few remaining mammoths that have survived in a Siberian evolutionary backwater the MAMMOTH trilogy is the story of the mammoths of history and legend. It is their story built on their own myths and traditions. Conscious and intelligent, the mammoths of this trilogy have, within the limits of their nature, their own culture and oral mythology, even a creation myth, which they will use to tell their story, understand their world and try to cope with the encroachments of mankind.

Gollancz

Destiny's Children

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Time's Tapestry

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Xeelee Sequence

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Beginning with RAFT in 1991, Stephen Baxter's epic sequence of Xeelee novels introduced readers to perhaps the most ambitious fictitious universe ever created. Beginning with the rise and fall of sub-quantum civilisations in the first nano-seconds after the Big Bang and ending with the heat death of the universe billions of years from now the series charts the story of mankind's epic war against the ancient and unknowable alien race the Xeelee.Along the way it examines questions of physics, the nature of reality, the evolution of mankind and its possible future. It looks not just at the morality of war but at the morality of survival and our place in the universe.This is a landmark in SF. And now, for the first time, all ten titles comprising the Xeelee sequence are collected together in one volume. Includes: Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux, Ring, Coalescent, Exultant, Transcendent, Resplendent, Vacuum Diagrams, Xeelee: Endurance

Gollancz

The Medusa Chronicles

Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter

Inspired by Sir Arthur C. Clarke's short story A Meeting with Medusa, this novel, with permission from the Clarke Estate, continues the story of Commander Howard Falcon over centuries of space-exploration, interaction with AI, first contact and beyond. All brought to life by two of our greatest SF authors, Stephen Baxter and Alastair Reynolds.Howard Falcon almost lost his life in an accident . . . and a combination of human ingenuity and technical expertise brought him back. Not as himself, but as an augmented human: part man, part machine, and exceptionally capable.The Medusa Chronicles charts his journey through time, the changing interaction between humanity and our universe, and combined moments of incredible action with unparalleled exploration of and expansion into space. A compelling read from the beginning, this is classic SF which has appeal for readers who like Gravity and The Martian.

Gollancz

Iron Winter

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

The final volume in the millennia-spanning trilogy about an England with a very different history to our ownMany generations ago the Wall was first built to hold back the sea. Northland, a country of fertile plains and ancient forests rescued from the ocean, has become a thriving civilisation based on trade, technology and tradition, centred on the ancient home of the first builders, Etxelur. The whole of Europe, spanned by the Northlanders' steam caravan lines, has been changed in ways that could never have been predicted. But nothing can last forever, not even the Wall. The weather is changing, growing colder, and in the wake of the long winters come famine, destruction and terror. And as whole nations are forced out of their lands and head for warmer climes, it seems that even Northland may not be able to endure. But there is one man, an elderly scholar, who believes he can calculate why the world is cooling, and perhaps even salvage some scraps of the great civilisation of Etxelur. As he embarks on his grand quest across the world, as nations struggle for survival and the fires of war burn in the gloom, only one thing is certain.The Ice is coming.

Gateway

Timelike Infinity

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Timelike Infinity: the strange region at the end of time where the Xeelee, owners of the universe, are waiting... The second novel in Stephen Baxter's Xeelee sequence.First there were good times: humankind reached glorious heights, even immortality. Then there were bad times: Earth was occupied by the faceless, brutal Qax. Immortality drugs were confiscated, the human spirit crushed. Earth became a vast factory for alient foodstuffs.Into this new dark age appears the end of a tunnel through time. Made from exotic matter, it is humanity's greatest engineering project in the pre-Qax era, where the other end of the tunnel remains anchored near Jupiter. When a small group of humans in a makeshift craft outwit the Qax to escape to the past through the tunnel, it is not to warn the people of Earth against the Qax, who are sure to follow them. For these men and women from the future are themselves dangerous fanatics in pursuit of their own bizarre quantum grail.Michael Poole, architect of the tunnel, must boldly confront the consequences of his genius.

Gateway

Flux

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gateway

Ring

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Wormhole technology has revealed that our sun will die in 5,000,000 years. A race of superbeings, the fabulous Xeelee, owners of the universe, are thought to be responsible. The bizarre and wealthy cult, the Superet, funds two projects aimed at combatting the force that will murder the sun.

Gollancz

Bronze Summer

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Stone Spring

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

8,000 years ago Europe was a very different place. England was linked to Holland by a massive swathe of land. Where the North Sea is now lay the landmass of Northland. And then came a period of global warming, a shifting of continents and, over a few short years, the sea rushed in and our history was set.But what if the sea had been kept at bay? Brythony is a young girl who lives in Northland. Like all her people she is a hunter gatherer, her simple tools fashioned from flint cutting edges lodged in wood and animal bone. When the sea first encroaches on her land her people simply move. Brythony moves further travelling to Asia. Where she sees mankind's first walled cities. And gets an idea. What if you could build a wall to keep the sea out?And so begins a colossal engineering project that will take decades, a wall that stretches for hundreds of miles, a wall that becomes an act of defiance, and containing the bones of the dead, an act of devotion. A wall that will change the geography of the world. And it's history.Stephen Baxter has become expert at embedding human stories into the grandest sweeps of history and the most mind-blowing of concepts. STONE SPRING begins a trilogy that will tell the story of a changed world. It begins in 8,000 BC with an idea and ends in 1500 in a world that never saw the Roman Empire, Christianity or Islam. It is an eye-opening look at what history could so easily have been and an inspiring tale of how we control our future.

Gollancz

Ark

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Weaver

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Emperor

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

A woman gives birth to her child in a village in Northern England, the cold northern edge of the Roman Empire. As she struggles through a painful labour she begins to scream out a series of words in Latin. A language she has never heard before, much less spoken. One of the family recognises the words for what they are.Only later does it become clear that the women has spoken a prophecy. A prophecy that relates to the death of the Emperor Constantine. A prophecy that if enacted will change the fate of the Roman Empire and all of the future beyond it.Stephen Baxter's new series takes ordinary individuals living at history's tipping points and presents them with a prophecy that challenges everything they believe about their world and prompts them to take action that could change it forever.The fourth volume reveals the nature of the prophecies and reveals a battle that has been fought through the ages.

Gollancz

Transcendent

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Sunstorm

Arthur C. Clarke, Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke, Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Evolution

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter