Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Thirteen

Thirteen

‘To your knowledge, is there anything that would preclude you from serving on this jury?’

Murder wasn’t the hard part. It was just the start of the game.

Joshua Kane has been preparing for this moment his whole life. He’s done it before. But this is the big one.

This is the murder trial of the century. And Kane has killed to get the best seat in the house.

But there’s someone on his tail. Someone who suspects that the killer isn’t the man on trial.

Kane knows time is running out – he just needs to get to the conviction without being discovered.

For the only way to guarantee a guilty verdict is to get a seat on the jury.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 14th June 2018

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409170679

Reviews

An oh so clever hook for an oh so clever, gripping book. THIRTEEN is courtroom drama at its finest, blended with page-turning twists and characters you can't get enough of. Steve Cavanagh is the John Grisham for a new generation. Slick, thrilling and unique, THIRTEEN is my favourite read of the year.
Sarah Pinborough
A superbly intriguing, hooky, grippy, twisty, clever thriller that kept me up all night.
Liz Nugent
What a book! I loved it so much.
Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle and The Collector
A fast-paced and absorbing thriller. Prepare to buckle up as a smattering of seemingly isolated events spiral into a twist-laden read.
The Herald
Great hook. Great plot. Great book. Thirteen is a real page turner and one you won't want to put down.
Simon Kernick
An adrenaline-fuelled thrill ride. Thirteen is courtroom drama at its finest. An outstanding legal thriller, so original, clever and accomplished that it should not be missed. It marks out Cavanagh as the heir apparent to John Grisham.
Daily Express
Great hook and the book lives up to it!
Ian Rankin
Fans of John Grisham and Lee Child will enjoy this book.
Independent
Witty and clever ... irresistible.
Daily Telegraph
This incredibly skilful novel deserves nothing less than five stars. It would be a crime to miss it.
The Sun
Guilty of thrills, twists, and expertly manipulating the reader.
Mason Cross
Cavanagh sets a cracking pace ... a genuine, read-in-one-sitting page-turner.
Guardian
Smart and original. This is a belter of a book.
Clare Mackintosh
It's hard to resist Cavanagh's mix of high-wire plotting and higher octane action.
Mail on Sunday
A truly first-class US courtroom drama.
The Times
Wow! This book is friggin' awesome! Utterly immersive.
Emma Kavanagh
Fantastically gripping? Guilty as charged!
Angela Clarke
Grisham-on-steroids.
Irish Independent
Quite simply deserves to be HUGE. If you read a thriller as good this year, it's only because you've read this one twice.
Mark Billingham
Outstanding - an intriguing premise, a tense, gripping build-up, and a spectacular climax. This guy is the real deal. Trust me.
Lee Child
A brilliant, twisty, ingeniously constructed puzzle of a book. Steve Cavanagh pulls off an enviable premise with panache.
Ruth Ware
That central hook along with Cavanagh's breakneck prose pace and expert plotting make for a white-knuckle ride of a story. It's something of a high-wire act, blending the machinations of a courtroom drama with the high-octane cat and mouse of a serial killer plotline, but Cavanagh delivers on both counts in spades, expertly cranking up the tension towards an explosive finale that will take thereader's breath away. Cracking stuff.
Big Issue
Smells like a best seller to me. I read it in 2 sittings ... LOVED it.
Adrian McKinty
A twisty clever read.
Woman's Way
A cracking premise.
Sunday Independent
Believe the hype, folks. This is one of the most mercilessly compelling thrillers you will read this decade.
Chris Brookmyre
This is a heart-racing novel with vertiginous twists and turns. A winning mix of glamour and gruesomeness.
The Lady
Superb, fast-paced legal thriller. So well-plotted (I LOVED the court/jury details). Hints of Lee Child. BRILLIANT.
Will Dean, author of Dark Pines
A blisteringly exciting thriller, with a chilling killer.
Sunday Express
Tore through this between dusk and dawn. Absolute 5-star cracker from Steve Cavanagh, who's gotta be among top legal thriller writers out there nowadays. A powerhouse of a book that's much more than its high-concept hook.
Craig Sisterson
This dazzling serial killer thriller set in Manhattan is written by a Dublin-based civil rights lawyer. One of the most accomplished legal dramas I have read this year, it reminds me of Scott Turow's stunning Presumed Innocent. The trial itself reveals Cavanagh's astonishingly sure touch for character and the skill of his serpentine plotting.
Daily Mail
Twisty, clever and beautifully written, a book this good deserves the highest praise possible. That's why I'm giving it 13/10.
Simon Toyne
I've been tracking Steve Cavanagh for a few years now and Thirteen is his best, a dead bang beast of a book that expertly combining his authority on the law with an absolutely great thrill ride. Books this ingenious don't come along very often.
Michael Connelly
An absolute rollercoaster of a read. Thrilling.
Cass Green