Kate Mosse - Citadel - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats

Citadel

By Kate Mosse

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

1942. Occupied France. A time of courage, betrayal, loyalty - and love.
An epic wartime novel from the No.1 bestselling author of LABYRINTH and THE MISTLETOE BRIDE.

An epic wartime novel from the No.1 bestselling author of LABYRINTH and THE MISTLETOE BRIDE.

1942, Nazi-occupied France. Sandrine, a spirited and courageous nineteen-year-old, finds herself drawn into a Resistance group in Carcassonne - codenamed 'Citadel' - made up of ordinary women who are prepared to risk everything for what is right.

And when she meets Raoul, they discover a shared passion for the cause, for their homeland, and for each other.

But in a world where the enemy now lies in every shadow - where neighbour informs on neighbour; where friends disappear without warning and often without trace - love can demand the highest price of all...

Biographical Notes

Kate Mosse is an international bestselling author with sales of more than five million copies in 42 languages. Her fiction includes the novels Labyrinth (2005), Sepulchre (2007), The Winter Ghosts (2009), Citadel (2012), and The Taxidermist's Daughter (2015), as well as an acclaimed collection of short stories, The Mistletoe Bride & Other Haunting Tales (2013).

Kate is the Co-Founder and Chair of the Board of the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction (previously the Orange Prize) and in June 2013, was awarded an OBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to literature. She lives in Sussex.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409112099
  • Publication date: 25 Oct 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

The Memory Shop

Ella Griffin
Authors:
Ella Griffin

Day-dreamer Nora has inherited all of her grandmother's worldly belongings that she remembers from her childhood - a feather shrug, a Tiffany mirror, a gold locket, and many more precious things besides. Nora dreads seeing her beloved grandmother's possessions go but she's determined that item by item, memory by memory, she will find the perfect new owners. When she opens The Memory Shop in the front of her grandmother's house, the community is gradually drawn inside by her stunning window displays. Nora begins transforming the lives of those around her through the objects she pairs them with. Soon Nora realises that by letting go of the past, she might start making space for new happiness in her future . . . An uplifting novel with a huge heart about the most important things in life, The Memory Shop will be loved by fans of Jojo Moyes, Cecelia Ahern and Lucy Diamond.

Orion

Meditation, Orion Plain and Simple

Lynne Lauren
Authors:
Lynne Lauren

A practical guide to reducing stress and finding peace through meditation.Meditation is a practice that calms the mind and the body in a natural way. Its aim is to quiet or still the mind, which leads to calm awareness without the interference of troublesome thoughts. Meditation can help you focus, relax, and cope with life's twists and turns.Meditation, Orion Plain and Simple is a wise and helpful beginner's guide to the practice of meditation. Lynne Lauren not only explains why it is important to meditate, but also demonstrates how simple meditation can be. It can be done anywhere by anyone. Lynne provides a brief overview of the different types of meditation, along with more than 50 meditations and visualisations that can be used in different circumstances to reach particular goals.This simple guide provides all of the information that beginners will need to slow down, de-stress, and discover how rich life can be!

Gollancz

Rhyming Rings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Orion

The Hiding Places

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb

The perfect book group read for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Santa Montefiore.A secret buried so deep, only a liar could uncover itWiltshire, 1922. When murder comes to the idyllic, sleepy village of Slaughterford one hot summer, nobody is prepared for it - or for the sudden loss of one of their own. The killing is a shock to all who knew the victim, and when Pudding Cartwright's brother is suspected of the crime she is drawn towards conspicuous newcomer Irene, both determined to discover the identity of the killer in their midst. Unaware of just how deep the roots of the crime lie, Pudding and Irene begin to uncover truths neither of them could have foreseen, and the chance finding of a strange object, hidden away for years, will change everything.Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb: 'An enormously talented writer' Santa Montefiore'I've loved all of Katherine Webb's books' Kate Riordan'Katherine Webb's writing is beautiful' Elizabeth Fremantle'Webb has a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart' Kate Williams'A truly gifted writer of historical fiction' Lucinda Riley

W&N

The Mountain Between Us

Charles Martin
Authors:
Charles Martin

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Idris Elba and Kate WinsletWhat would you do if your survival depended on a stranger? On a stormy winter night, two strangers wait for a flight at the Salt Lake City airport. Ashley Knox is an attractive, successful writer, who is flying East for her much anticipated wedding. Dr Ben Payne has just wrapped up a medical conference and is also eager to return home. When the last outgoing flight is cancelled due to a forthcoming storm, Ben finds a charter plane that can take him around the weather front. And when the pilot says the single engine prop plane can fit one more, Ben offers the seat to Ashley. Then the unthinkable happens and the plane crashes into the High Uintas Wilderness - one of the largest stretches of harsh and remote land in the United States. Ben, who has broken ribs, and Ashley, who suffers a terrible leg fracture, along with the pilot's dog, are faced with a battle to survive. How will they make it out of the wilderness and if they do, will they ever be the same again?

Orion

Shtum

Jem Lester
Authors:
Jem Lester

The Kindle bestseller by debut author Jem LesterInspired by the author's experiences with his own son, SHTUM is a novel about three generations of a family learning to get along. Not to be missed by readers who loved Jojo Moyes and David Nicholls. 'Will make you laugh, make you cry and make you think' Graeme SimsionTen-year-old Jonah lives in a world of his own.He likes colours and feathers and the feel of fresh air on his skin.He dislikes sudden loud noises and any change to his daily routine.Jonah has never spoken, yet somehow he communicates better than all of the adults in his life.Will make you laugh, make you cry and make you think' Graeme Simsion'Fiercely funny ... an unforgettable first novel' The Times'A book with true heart and soul' Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP'Whether you think Shtum is a novel about autism or about marriage (it's both, by the way), you will agree that it is, in the end, a love story infused with wit, charm, and a deep appreciation for the complex beauty of damaged souls.' Jonathan TropperWhat readers are saying about this heartwarming book from Jem Lester:'This book has gone onto my all-time favourite list''This is a book that will stay with me for a very long time.''I cried my heart out.''A gripping and emotional story.''Brilliant humour.''A must read for everyone.''real and honest with an equal mix of joy and pain.'

W&N

Vigilante

Shelley Harris
Authors:
Shelley Harris
Orion

The Taxidermist's Daughter

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
Orion

Sepulchre

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
Gollancz

Foxglove Summer

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Orion

Labyrinth

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
Orion

The Mistletoe Bride and Other Haunting Tales

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
W&N

The Siege

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte

WINNER OF THE CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER 2014Cádiz, 1811. While the city is under siege from the marauding French army, an even greater menace is lurking within the city walls: a serial killer is on the loose, flaying young women to death. Each of these murders takes place near where a French bomb has just fallen. In order to find the murderer, police commissioner Rogelio Tizon begins to perceive the city as a vast chessboard as he tries to predict his unknown opponent's next deadly move.In the claustrophobic atmosphere of the besieged town, an heiress, an unscrupulous corsair captain, a taxidermist who is also a spy and a hardened soldier begin to cross paths, and behind them all the figure of Tizon is getting closer to deciphering the lethal pattern behind the murders...With all the intrigue and romance of Pérez-Reverte's bestsellers, THE DUMAS CLUB and THE FLANDERS PANEL, THE SIEGE is the story of a city and a people who will never be the same again.

Gollancz

Broken Homes

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch

Orion

Suspect

Robert Crais
Authors:
Robert Crais
Gollancz

Whispers Under Ground

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Gollancz

Moon Over Soho

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
W&N

The Frozen Heart

Almudena Grandes
Authors:
Almudena Grandes

A sweeping epic saga about the Spanish Civil War -- the Spanish DR ZHIVAGO.In the small town of Torrelodones on the outskirts of Madrid, a funeral is taking place. Julio Carrión González, a man of tremendous wealth and influence in Madrid, has come home to be buried. But as the family stand by the graveside, his son Alvaro notices the arrival of a stranger -- a young and attractive woman. No one appears to know who she is, or why she is there. Alvaro's questions only deepen when the family inherits an enormous amount of money that is a surprise even to them. In his father's study Alvaro discovers an old folder with letters sent to his father in Russia between 1941 and 1943, faded photos of people he never met and a locked grey metal box. The woman is Raquel Fernández Perea, the daughter of Spaniards who fled during the Civil War. One episode in her past has marked her for ever -- the only time she saw her grandfather cry. Her fate, and that of the family, now hangs on the secrets of Julio's past.From the provincial heartlands of Spain to the battlefields of Russia, THE FROZEN HEART is a mesmerising journey through a war that tore families apart, pitted fathers against sons, brothers against brothers, wives against husbands. Against such a past, where do faith and loyalty lie?

Gollancz

The Rats and the Ruling Sea

Robert V.S. Redick
Authors:
Robert V.S. Redick

THE RATS AND THE RULING SEA begins where THE RED WOLF CONSPIRACY ended; Thasha's wedding is hours away. It is a wedding that will both fulfil the promise of a mad god's return and see her murdered. Pazel has thwarted the sorcerer who would bring back the god but both sides now face deadlock. Can Thasha be saved? Can the war between two Empires be stopped?THE RATS AND THE RULING SEA is, once again, focused on the giant ancient ship, the CHATHRAND, but now she must brave the terrors of the uncharted seas; the massive storms and the ship swallowing whirlpools and explore lands forgotten by the Northern world, all the time involved in a vicious running battle with a ship half her size but nearly her match.Robert Redick's new novel takes the reader further into the labyrinthine plots and betrayals that have underscored the trilogy from the beginning. Robert Redick's sequel to the acclaimed THE RED WOLF CONSPIRACY is a masterpiece of plotting and adventure. As each page turns the reader shares with the characters the dawning realisation that nothing is at it seems.

W&N

The Winter Queen

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin