Fiction & Non-Fiction Books from The Orion Publishing Group

  • Ella Griffin

    The Flower Arrangement

    A delightful, life-affirming novel woven around a Dublin florist from Irish author Ella Griffin.
  • Gordon Corera

    Intercept

    From Bletchley Park to cyber-attacks in the twenty-first century, this is the untold story of computers and spies: past, present and future.
  • Erica James

    The Dandelion Years

    From wartime Bletchley to a modern day Suffolk village, a gorgeous tale of friendship and love from the Sunday Times bestselling author of SUMMER AT THE LAKE.
Meet our authors

Events

Find out when our authors are visiting your area and hear a talk or get a book signed at an event near you
Orion Books

FIND YOUR LOCAL BOOKSHOP

All Orion books are available to purchase online, or you can find them at your local bookshop.
Orion On

Social Media

The latest news, events and media from The Orion Publishing Group
Follow your favourites

Authors on Twitter

Follow your favourite authors on Twitter
Browse our news stories

News

Read the latest news from Orion and our authors on our news page.
Reading Together

Book Groups

Browse our guides for book groups.
Orion

Our Imprints

Read more about imprints at Orion.
W&N

The Word Exchange

By Alena Graedon

Words are under threat. It's time to fights back . . .

Imagine a world without words. A world in which books, libraries and newspapers are things of the past. A world where personal devices provide all you could want or need.

Anana Johnson and her father, Doug, are hard at work on the final edition that will ever be printed of the English Dictionary. But one evening, Doug disappears and Anana unearths a single written clue: ALICE.

In the battle to save her father, Anana discovers secret societies, dark incinerator rooms and underground passages. Above all, she finds a world that faces ruin from the dark side of technology.

'A nervy dystopic thriller . . . spine-tingling' NEW YORK TIMES'

'Imaginative, layered, and highly original . . . An engagingly creepy story of technology gone wrong and a clever meditation on the enduring mysteries of language and love' Karen Thompson Walker, author of THE AGE OF MIRACLES

Clever, breathless and sportively Hegelian . . . THE WORD EXCHANGE combines the jaunty energy of youngish adult fiction (boyfriend trouble, parent conflicts, peer pressure and post-collegiate jitters) with the spine-tingling chill of the science-fiction conspiracy genreGraedon's spectacular, ambitious debut explores a near-future America that's shifted almost exclusively to smart technologies, where print is only a nostalgia . . . it's as full of humanity as it is of mystery and intellectual prowess[A] remarkable first novel, combining a vividly imagined future with the fondly remembered past . . . exquisiteA wildly ambitious, darkly intellectual and inventive thriller about the intersection of language, technology and meaningAlena Graedon's spectacular debut is a story for our age of 'accelerated obsolescence.' A genuinely scary and funny mystery about linguistic slippage and disturbance, it's also a moving meditation on our sometimes comic, sometimes desperate struggles to speak, and to listen, and to mean something to one another.To borrow Graedon's own invention, THE WORD EXCHANGE is 'synchronic'--a gorgeous genre mashup that offers readers the pleasures of noir, science fiction, romance and philosophy. It's an unforgettable joyride across the thin ice of languageImaginative, layered, and highly original, THE WORD EXCHANGE is an engagingly creepy story of technology gone wrong and a clever meditation on the enduring mysteries of language and loveWow! This highly addictive future noir is also terrifyingly prescient. Set in a parallel New York filled with language viruses, pneumatic tubes, and heartbreak, Alena Graedon's book is luminous and haunting at every turn. I will never look at words in quite the same way-and neither will you.Can you imagine a future without books, newspapers or magazines? Alena Graedon has done just that - her debut novel conjures up a scarily plausible dystopian future, where print is dead and intuitive handheld devices are the only method of communication.In Graedon's dystopian future, face-to-face interfacing is finished and even email is a fading memory; when the man working on the last-ever dictionary goes missing, his daughter sets out to find him and discovers murky anti-literate corporate forces and outposts of word-loving outlaws.For fans of ALICE IN WONDERLAND, SHADOW OF THE WIND and booklovers everywhere, a literary thriller and a love story set in a world threatened by the disappearance of language.Alena Graedon graduated from Brown in 2002 and received her MFA in 2007 from Columbia. She worked as the Manager of Literary Awards and Membership at the PEN America Center before leaving to finish THE WORD EXCHANGE, her first novel, with the help of fellowships at several artist colonies. Her writing has been translated into nine languages. She lives in Brooklyn.A deeply original and engaging novel which will appeal to book-lovers who love books about books.Shortlisted for the FLAHERTY-DUNNAN FIRST NOVEL PRIZE.A KIRKUS BEST FICTION BOOK OF 2014.
Orion

Homemade Takeaways

By Rob Allison

From burger joints to pizza parlours, our towns and cities sparkle with the neon lights of takeaways. But among the deliciously exotic aromas of frying noodles, rotating meats and simmering spices, linger the toxic combinations of salt and chemicals that cause heart burn, obesity and diabetes.

HOMEMADE TAKEAWAYS injects the nation's favourite takeaways with new inspiration by recreating them using fresh produce and proper cooking methods. This is by no means a health book or a diet book, but by simply being able to control the quality of ingredients you use to cook the recipes, this book will make infinitely healthier food than you will find in any takeaway. Rob Allison uses his wealth of experience in the food industry to create mouth-watering and flavoursome food for any occasion.

A genuinely brilliant idea for a book and beautifully executed to boot.A collection of homemade and mouth-watering recipes inspired by Britain's favourite takeaways.Since falling in love with cooking as a Stagiere in a Parisian hotel, Rob Allison has collaborated with numerous authors on hugely successful cookbooks, including THE ULTIMATE STUDENT COOKBOOK, Gok Wan's GOK COOKS CHINESE and Nigella Lawson's NIGELISSIMA. He also contributed as a home economist on Nigella's three previous series and is currently working on a new BBC1 food programme.Hungryhouse, the UK's number one online takeaway food delivery service delivers from over 10,000 restaurants across the UK and has close to 2 million visitors to the website a month. HOMEMADE TAKEAWAYS targets this extensive audience, offering them the healthy homemade alternative.Rob Allison was the home economist for THE ULTIMATE STUDENT COOKBOOK, NIGELISSIMA by Nigella Lawson and Gok Wan's GOK COOKS CHINESE which sold 137,000 copies.
Gollancz

Crashing Heaven

By Al Robertson

A diamond-hard, visionary new SF thriller. Nailed-down cyberpunk ala William Gibson for the 21st century meets the vivid dark futures of Al Reynolds in this extraordinary debut novel.

With Earth abandoned, humanity resides on Station, an industrialised asteroid run by the sentient corporations of the Pantheon. Under their leadership a war has been raging against the Totality - ex-Pantheon AIs gone rogue.

With the war over, Jack Forster and his sidekick Hugo Fist, a virtual ventriloquist's dummy tied to Jack's mind and created to destroy the Totality, have returned home.

Labelled a traitor for surrendering to the Totality, all Jack wants is to clear his name but when he discovers two old friends have died under suspicious circumstances he also wants answers. Soon he and Fist are embroiled in a conspiracy that threatens not only their future but all of humanity's. But with Fist's software licence about to expire, taking Jack's life with it, can they bring down the real traitors before their time runs out?

Meet Hugo Fist. The most terrifying and enticing AI to grace SF since the works of Al Reynolds and Hannu RajaniemiAl Robertson is a Creative Consultant on branding. His work has been shortlisted for the BSFA Short Story Award and longlisted for the British Fantasy Awards. He lives in Brighton and this is his first novel.Cutting edge cyberpunk for a new generation of SF readers.Our biggest ever deal for an SF debut.Perfect for fans of William Gibson, Neal Stephenson and Al ReynoldsHugo Fist is an extraordinary character and a unique talking point for readers.Al Robertson has excellent links in the genre world.
Orion

The Age-Defying Diet

By Caroline Apovian

THE AGE-DEFYING DIET provides a revolutionary solution to unwanted weight increase in your 40s and 50s. NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author, Dr Caroline Apovian, has developed a ground-breaking programme that outsmarts the body's ageing processes and enables readers to reverse the metabolic clock.

New studies show that ageing changes the nutritional needs for both men and women in drastically different ways. Muscle loss, which naturally comes with age, thwarts efforts to fight fat and slows metabolism. Diets that seemed to work in your 20s and 30s only sabotage your efforts in your 40s and 50s by slowing your metabolism and leading to dangerous yo-yo dieting.

Dr Caroline Apovian has the solution to the unwanted weight increase: Metabolism Reboot. Drawing on her clinical experience and the latest science and research, Dr. Apovian has created a simple 3-week plan that reveals exactly how to combat the effects of aging. By combining the powerful metabolism-boosting effects of intermittent fasting with targeted strength-training exercises, readers will lose weight fast, but they will also fix common complaints of ageing, including night sweats for women and low-testosterone for men.

THE AGE-DEFYING DIET will help you burn fat, have more energy and look younger.

A revolutionary diet plan to reverse the ageing process.The anti-ageing industry was worth an estimated $274.5 billion in 2013 and the global market for weight loss management was worth $265 billion in 2012. Both industries are growing year on year.Dr Caroline's previous book THE OVERNIGHT DIET was a worldwide sensation and a NEW YORK TIMES bestseller.