Mark Alder - Son of the Morning - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575115163
    • Publication date:08 Jan 2015

Son of the Morning

By Mark Alder

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The Hundred Years War rages, and angels and demons stalk the earth. The beginning of an acclaimed new series for fans of George R.R. Martin and Bernard Cornwell alike.

Lauded by fellow authors, a five star 'SFX recommends' title, adored by the bloggers, Mark Alder's debut novel of angels, demons, kings and the Hundred Years War marks the beginning of a hugely exciting new series.

Edward III stands in a burnt English church, destroyed in a French raid. A raid on his land, a raid on him. He is in debt and surrounded by doubters, only victory against France will save his throne.

But Philip of Valois can put 50,000 men in the field. He has sent his priests to summon the very angels themselves to fight for France. Edward could call on God for aid but he is a usurper. What if God truly is on the side of the French?

But for a price, Edward could open the gates of Hell and take an unholy war to France ...

Mark Alder has brought the epic fantasy of George R.R. Martin to the vivid historical adventure of Bernard Cornwell and has a created a fantasy that will sweep you to a new vision of the Hundred Years War.

Biographical Notes

Mark Alder lives in Brighton with his wife and daughter. He is a journalist and stand-up comedian as well as a writer of historical fantasy.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575115170
  • Publication date: 17 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gollancz
SFX FIVE STAR RECOMMENDATION - SON OF THE MORNING is a smart, gripping historical fantasy — SFX
A triumphant combination of great characters and an epic - yet not too sprawling - plot....a vivid and realistic story that, once you're in, you'll find it hard to leave — Fantasy Faction
What the author has accomplished here is nothing short of remarkable, providing a rich window into an alternative history that hits all the right notes and doesn't alienate those without a deep knowledge of historical happenings — SF BOOK
This is fast-paced and absorbing but most of all it is as visual as a richly coloured medieval tapestry packed with detail — We Love This Book
It is a novel that demands to be read — Fantasy Book Review
Expertly written, highly detailed and vividly imagined, this is an outstanding work of historical fiction/alternate history which pulled me in with its prose and story from page 1 — Grim Dark Fantasy Reader
Gollancz

Son of the Night

Mark Alder
Authors:
Mark Alder
Gollancz

The Boy Who Wept Blood

Den Patrick
Authors:
Den Patrick
Gollancz

The Immortal Who Loved Me

Lynsay Sands
Authors:
Lynsay Sands

A few hours ago, Sherry Carne would have sworn that vampires didn't exist. That's before rogue immortals rampage through her store, leaving bloody chaos (literally) in their wake. The kicker comes when Sherry learns that one of the vamps on the bad guys' trail may be her life mate. Her head says it's impossible. The rest of her takes one look at Basileios Argeneau, and has much more interesting ideas.Whatever Basil expected in a life mate, funny, outspoken Sherry isn't it. But mind-blowing chemistry and instinct don't lie. They tell him something else too - that Sherry's connection to the immortal world goes deeper than she knows. And that she's in the kind of danger only Basil can save her from - if she'll just trust him, now and forever...

Alex Bell

Alex Bell is an exceptional novelist. She lives in Hampshire.

Andrzej Sapkowski

Sapkowski was born in 1948 in Poland. He studied economy and business, but the success of his fantasy cycle about the sorcerer Geralt de Rivia turned him into a bestselling writer and he is now one of Poland's most famous and successful authors, selling more in his own country than Stephen King or Michael Crichton.

Anna Caltabiano

Anna Caltabiano was born in British colonial Hong Kong and educated in Mandarin Chinese schools before moving to Palo Alto, California; the mecca of futurism. She lives down the street from Facebook in the town where its founders reside, along with the pioneers of Google and Apple.

Anna Sheehan

Anna Sheehan has been a dedicated writer since her first year in high school, when her novella won second place in a local competition, losing only to a (now) professional mystery writer. Her first novel was published serially in a local newsletter when she was 16. She is a regular attendee of the Pacific Northwest Writers Association conference, who first invited her to attend their meeting with a scholarship. Anna lives on an isolated mountain ranch in central Oregon.

Bron Fane

Bron Fane is a pseudonym for Lionel Fanthorpe.

Chloe Neill

Chloe Neill was born in the south of the USA and currently resides in Nebraska. SOME GIRLS BITE was her debut novel and the first in the Chicagoland Vampires series. She is also the author of the YA Dark Elite series.

Geoff Ryman

Geoff Ryman was born in Canada in 1952 but moved to America when he was eleven. He moved to London in 1973. He began writing science fiction in 1976. His other novels include Was and 253. He currently lives and works in London and Oxfordshire.

John Crowley

John Crowley was born in 1942 and has worked in documentary films and TV since 1966. The Deep, his first SF novel, was published in 1975 and was followed by Beasts, Engine Summer and Great Work of Time. In his later work, Little, Big, Aegypt and Love and Sleep, he has moved into writing fantasy to great critical acclaim.

Justin Cronin

Born and raised in New England, Justin Cronin is a multi-award-winning writer. He is Professor of English at Rice University, and lives with his family in Houston, Texas.

L. Sprague deCamp

Lyon Sprague de Camp was born in 1907 and died in 2000. During a writing career that spanned seven decades, he wrote over a hundred books in the areas of science fiction, fantasy, historical fiction, non-fiction and biography. Although arguably best known for his continuation of Robert E. Howard's Conan stories, de Camp was an important figure in the formative period of modern SF, alongside the likes of Isaac Asimov and Robert A. Heinlein, and was a winner of the Hugo, World Fantasy Life Achievement and SFWA Grand Master awards.

Leo Brett

Leo Brett is a pseudonym for Lionel Fanthorpe.

Lionel Roberts

Lionel Roberts is a pseudonym for Lionel Fanthorpe.

Lisa Tuttle

Lisa Tuttle is an acclaimed writer with an impeccable critical record. She lives in Argyll.

Nathan Hawke

Nathan Hawke is a British writer of fantasy fiction. He has worked variously in the City, as a consultant to the police and to the services. He has travelled in the far east, worked for a time in Las Vegas, was briefly involved in video game design, and once skied off a mountain under a parachute for a bet. His current ambitions include rafting the Colerado River and walking the Milford Track. The Gallow series are his first novels.

R L Fanthorpe

R. L. Fanthorpe is a pseudonym for Lionel Fanthorpe.

Sean Barrett

Sean Barrett has narrated many television documentaries for the BBC and Discovery Channel, notably THE PEOPLE'S CENTURY, WALKING WITH BEASTS, and GREAT LIVES. As a member of the BBC Radio Rep, he has appeared in hundreds of radio plays, and played Father Gillespie in the BBC Worldservice / BBC7 serial WESTWAY throughout its eight year-run. As a film and television actor he has appeared in pieces as diverse as TWELFTH NIGHT and FATHER TED, and he is a doyen of audiobook reading, with acclaimed recordings of authors ranging from Chaucer to Beckett and in 2012 recorded Antony Beevor's THE SECOND WORLD WAR.

Stephen Donaldson

Stephen Donaldson lived in India for 13 years with his father, a medical missionary, who worked extensively with lepers; it was here that he conceived the character of Thomas Covenant. He was awarded the John W. Campbell Award as Best Writer of the Year for The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant The Unbeliever, which, with the sequel trilogy, became instant bestsellers. He is also the author of the fantasy duology 'Mordant's Need', the SF epic quintet 'The Gap', and a number of mysteries written under the pseudonym Reed Stephens. He won the World Fantasy Award in 2000. The four books of The Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant have been acclaimed worldwide.