Kate Williams - The House of Shadows - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409139959
    • Publication date:26 Jul 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409139935
    • Publication date:26 Jul 2018

The House of Shadows

By Kate Williams

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

For fans of Downton Abbey, Atonement and Birdsong - a compelling historical saga from popular TV historian Kate Williams.

'Brilliant - a passionate and poignant story of a glittering family on the precipice of a vanished world' Lisa Hilton

A family destroyed by war. A secret that could change everything.

Celia De Witt is half-German, half-English, and heir to her family's vast fortune. But as the glittering Twenties plunge into Depression, a shocking revelation sends her far from everything she knows.

Thrust headlong into the wealth and promise of New York, Celia sets out to rescue the family business - and to set in motion her own plans. The son she thought was dead, and the man she once loved, are both close at hand - but in opening the Pandora's Box of the past, what other secrets will she let loose...?

As the shadow of war darkens across Europe, Celia is determined to save those she loves, even if salvation comes at the highest price...

***

'A beautifully conjured family saga. Fans of Downton Abbey will love it' Alison Weir

'An all-encompassing, sweeping epic' Katherine Webb

'Richly detailed, light of foot, Williams tantalises with loose ends and disturbs with shocking shadows' Independent

'Shades of Downton, with a dash of Atonement' Tatler

Biographical Notes

Kate Williams is an author, social historian and broadcaster. She is the author of the widely acclaimed and bestselling novels The Storms of War and The Edge of the Fall and four historical biographies of Emma Hamilton, Queen Victoria, Elizabeth II and Empress Josephine - which is being made into a major TV series. She studied for her DPhil at Oxford, is Professor of Public History at the University of Reading, and has also taught creative writing under Andrew Motion at Royal Holloway. She judges various prizes and was the Chair of the Costa Book Award.

Kate is CNN's historical and royal expert and regularly appears on other TV programmes, presenting on Restoration Home and her series Game of Kings, and on shows from BBC Breakfast to Countryfile, from Newsnight to The Great British Bake Off, discussing social and royal history, general politics and culture. She has won Celebrity Mastermind, Pointless and Antiques Roadshow and once beat an Egghead in the history round. In her spare time, she reads and tries to grow pot plants.

Find out more at www.kate-williams.com and follow her on Twitter @KateWilliamsme

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409139966
  • Publication date: 18 Apr 2019
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Orion
Downton fans will love the elegance, intrigue and drama of The House of Shadows. — YOURS MAGAZINE
Brimming with a historian's knowledge and an author's human insight, Williams's trilogy has been an exciting and absorbing portrait of a world in flux, and a poignant fictional reflection on life in the opening decades of the 20th century. — Pam Norfolk, LANCASHIRE TELEGRAPH
A rocket of a historical novel. — Helena Gumley-Mason, THE LADY
Orion

My Mother's Daughter

Ann O'Loughlin
Authors:
Ann O'Loughlin
Orion

Fame Adjacent

Sarah Skilton
Authors:
Sarah Skilton
W&N

The Hour of Separation

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon
Orion

A Year at Hotel Gondola

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino
Orion

The Edge of the Fall

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams

In the aftermath of the Great War, the de Witt family are struggling to piece together the shattered fragments of their lives.Rudolf and his wife Verena, still reeling from the loss of their second son, don't know how to function in the post-war world. Stoneythorpe Hall has become an empty shell with no servants to ensure its upkeep.Celia, the de Witt's youngest daughter, is still desperate to spread her wings and see more of the world. To escape Stoneythorpe and the painful secrets that lie there, she moves to London and embraces life and love in the Roaring Twenties.

Orion

The Storms of War

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams
W&N

Young Elizabeth

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams

The story of how Elizabeth II became queen.We can hardly imagine a Britain without Elizabeth II on the throne. It seems to be the job she was born for. And yet for much of her early life the young princess did not know the role that her future would hold. She was our accidental Queen.As a young girl, Elizabeth was among the guests in Westminster Abbey watching her father being crowned, making her the only monarch to have attended a parent's coronation. Kate Williams explores the sheltered upbringing of the young princess with a gentle father and domineering mother, her complicated relationship with her sister, Princess Margaret, and her dependence on her nanny, Marion 'Crawfie' Crawford. She details the profound and devastating impact of the abdication crisis when, at the impressionable age of 11, Elizabeth found her position changed overnight: no longer a minor princess she was now heiress to the throne.Elizabeth's determination to share in the struggles of her people marked her out from a young age. Her father initially refused to let her volunteer as a nurse during the Blitz, but relented when she was 18 and allowed her to work as a mechanic and truck driver for the Women's Auxiliary Territorial Service. It was her forward-thinking approach that ensured that her coronation was televised, against the advice of politicians at the time.Kate Williams reveals how the 25-year-old young queen carved out a lasting role for herself amid the changes of the 20th century. Her monarchy would be a very different one to that of her parents and grandparents, and its continuing popularity in the 21st century owes much to the intelligence and elusive personality of this remarkable woman.

Diana Bretherick

Diana Bretherick is an ex-criminal barrister and now a lecturer in criminology and criminal law at Portsmouth University. She won the GOOD HOUSEKEEPING new novel competition in 2012.

Graham Hurley

Graham Hurley is an award-winning TV documentary maker who now writes full time. He is married and has grown up children. He lived in Portsmouth for 20 years but now lives in Exmouth, Devon.www.grahamhurley.co.uk

Katie Agnew

Katie Agnew was born in Edinburgh and educated at Aberdeen University and City University, London. She worked as a journalist for many years, writing for MARIE CLAIRE, COSMOPOLITAN, RED and the DAILY MAIL amongst others. She was features editor on MARIE CLAIRE magazine for two years before becoming a novelist. Her first novel, DROP DEAD GORGEOUS, was published in 2003 and won a WH SMITH FRESH TALENT AWARD. Her subsequent novels, including DROP DEAD GORGEOUS and WIVES V GIRLFRIENDS, are loved by readers who like their fiction packed with glamour, passion and drama. Katie lives in Bath with her family.

Ken Grimwood

KEN GRIMWOOD (1944-2003) was a radio journalist in California. He was the author of Breakthrough, Elise, The Voice Outside and Into the Deep. He won the World Fantasy Award for Replay.

Michel Houellebecq

Michel Houellebecq lives in County Cork, Ireland. He is the bestselling author of Atomised, Platform, Lanzarote and Whatever. He is also a poet, essayist and rap artist.

Nigel Balchin

Nigel Balchin was born in 1908 and graduated in Natural Science from Cambridge University. During the Second World War he worked as a psychologist in the personnel section of the British War Office, before becoming Deputy Scientific Advisor to the Army Council. He wrote numerous books, including How to Run a Bassoon Factory (under the pseudonym Mark Spade), and Darkness Falls from the Air. He died in 1970.

Paul Torday

Paul Torday burst on to the literary scene in 2007 with his first novel, SALMON FISHING IN THE YEMEN, an immediate international bestseller that has been translated into 28 languages and has been made into a film starring Ewan McGregor, Kristin Scott Thomas and Emily Blunt. His subsequent novels, THE IRRESISTIBLE INHERITANCE OF WILBERFORCE, THE GIRL ON THE LANDING, THE HOPELESS LIFE OF CHARLIE SUMMERS, MORE THAN YOU CAN SAY, THE LEGACY OF HARTLEPOOL HALL and LIGHT SHINING IN THE FOREST, were all published to great critical acclaim. He was married with two sons by a previous marriage, had two stepsons, and lived close to the River North Tyne. He died at home in December 2013.

Peter Higgins

Peter Higgins read English at Oxford University and Queen's, Ontario. He was a Junior Research Fellow at Wolfson College, Oxford and worked in the British Civil Service. His short stories have appeared in Fantasy: Best of the Year 2007, Best New Fantasy 2, Asimov's Science Fiction, Fantasy Magazine, Zahir and Revelation, and in Russian translation in the St Petersburg magazine Esli. His first novel was the acclaimed Wolfhound Century. He lives with his family in South Wales.

Philip Kazan

Philip Kazan is an informed historian, a passionate cook and a keen traveller. He brings real gusto and humanity to his writing. He blogs at https://philipkazan.wordpress.com/.

Rachael English

Rachael English is a presenter on Ireland's most popular radio show, Morning Ireland. During more than 20 years as a journalist she has covered a huge range of national and international stories for RTÉ Radio's leading current affairs programmes. Her debut novel, Going Back, was nomnated in the SUNDAY INDEPENDENT Newcomer of the Year category in the IRISH BOOK AWARDS.

Rachel Billington

Rachel Billington has published twenty novels and nine books for children, as well as several non-fiction works. She is also a regular journalist, feature writer and reviewer. She is co-editor of Inside Time, the national newspaper for prisoners and a Vice-President of English PEN. She has four children and five grandchildren and lives in London and Dorset.

Robert Ludlum

Robert Ludlum is one of the world's bestselling authors and there are more than 300 million copies of his books in print. He is published in 32 languages and 50 countries. As well as blending sophisticated plotting and extreme pace, Robert Ludlum's novels are meticulously researched. In addition to the popular titles in the Covert-One series, Robert Ludlum's best-known books include THE SCARLATTI INHERITANCE, THE CHANCELLOR MANUSCRIPT and the Jason Bourne series.

Saul Friedlander

Saul Friedlander was born in Prague in 1932. He fled to France where he survived the war in hiding. He arrived in Israel in 1948 and took part in the Israeli War of Independence. Since 1987 he was been Professor of Holocaust Studies at UCLA. In 2008 he was awarded the general non-fiction Pulitzer prize for his book THE YEARS OF EXTERMINATION: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1939-1945. He lives in Los Angeles.