Ben Aaronovitch - Moon Over Soho - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575097629
    • Publication date:13 Oct 2011
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575097636
    • Publication date:21 Apr 2011
Books in this series

Moon Over Soho

The Second Rivers of London novel

By Ben Aaronovitch
Read by Kobna Holdbrook-Smith

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Audio sample
Peter Grant is not just a lowly Detective Constable, he's also apprenticed to the last wizard in Britain: policing will never be the same again! Unabridged edition read by Kobna Holdbrook-Smith

I was my dad's vinyl-wallah: I changed his records while he lounged around drinking tea, and that's how I know my Argo from my Tempo. And it's why, when Dr Walid called me to the morgue to listen to a corpse, I recognised the tune it was playing. Something violently supernatural had happened to the victim, strong enough to leave its imprint like a wax cylinder recording. Cyrus Wilkinson, part-time jazz saxophonist and full-time accountant, had apparently dropped dead of a heart attack just after finishing a gig in a Soho jazz club. He wasn't the first.

No one was going to let me exhume corpses to see if they were playing my tune, so it was back to old-fashioned legwork, starting in Soho, the heart of the scene. I didn't trust the lovely Simone, Cyrus' ex-lover, professional jazz kitten and as inviting as a Rubens' portrait, but I needed her help: there were monsters stalking Soho, creatures feeding off that special gift that separates the great musician from someone who can raise a decent tune. What they take is beauty. What they leave behind is sickness, failure and broken lives.

And as I hunted them, my investigation got tangled up in another story: a brilliant trumpet player, Richard 'Lord' Grant - my father - who managed to destroy his own career, twice. That's the thing about policing: most of the time you're doing it to maintain public order. Occasionally you're doing it for justice. And maybe once in a career, you're doing it for revenge.

Read by Kobna Holdbrook-Smith

(p) 2011 Orion Publishing Group

Biographical Notes

Ben Aaronovitch grew up as part of a famously engaged and lively North London family. He has written for many TV series including Doctor Who and been a bookseller. His Peter Grant novels have been hugely successful and he now writes full time. He still lives in London, the city he likes to refer to as 'the capital of the world'.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409142898
  • Publication date: 21 Jul 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
You feel that Kobna Holdbrook-Smith, the narrator, is yarning away directly to you, and his deadpan delivery alloys the writer's zany wit to do its work. — THE TIMES
Gollancz

Beneath the Twisted Trees

Bradley Beaulieu
Authors:
Bradley Beaulieu

Çeda was an elite warrior in service to the kings of Sharakhai. She has been an assassin in dark places. A weapon poised to strike from the shadows. A voice from the darkness, striving to free her people.No longer.Now she's going to lead.The age of the Kings is coming to an end . . .

W&N

The Most Fun We Ever Had

Claire Lombardo
Authors:
Claire Lombardo

A dazzling multi-generational novel, The Most Fun We Ever Had introduces us to the Sorenson family. When Marilyn and David fall in love in the 1970s, they are blithely ignorant of all that's to come. By 2016, their four radically different daughters are matching wits, harbouring grudges and recklessly igniting old rivalries. When a teenage boy, given up for adoption fifteen years before, reappears, long-buried secrets threaten to shatter the lives they've built and reveal the rich and varied tapestry of the Sorenson's past.(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

Gollancz

The October Man

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch

A brand new stand-alone novella in the Rivers of London series!Tobias Winter has been assigned to the Abteilung KDA - the Department for Complex and Unspecific Matters. Despite the intriguing department name, as Winter explains, dealing with the strange and the supernatural is 'actually 90% paperwork'. But this is a story about the other 10% of the job: the life-threatening danger part. This is a tale about the Queen of the Harvest, the October Man, and the little-known time the vineyard around Trier started to eat people . . .Winter may be P. C. Peter Grant's German counterpart, but surviving this investigation is entirely down to him...(p) 2019 Orion Publishing Group

Gollancz

We Are The Dead

Mike Shackle
Authors:
Mike Shackle
Gollancz

Wolf Rain

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Orion

You Can Take Her Home Now

Anna Jefferson
Authors:
Anna Jefferson

That moment when you realise . . . you have absolutely no clue.Emily Jones is a new mum: she's bought the swank buggy, planned her labour soundtrack, read the books. Then her little girl actually arrives and Emily realises: she has all the gear, no idea - and only 12 months of maternity leave to figure it out. Lonely but not alone, it's the women Emily befriends in this first year who really see her through to the other side. Perfect for fans of The Unmumsy Mum, Louise Pentland and Gill Sims. (p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019

W&N

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti
W&N

Restless Souls

Dan Sheehan
Authors:
Dan Sheehan

'Restless Souls turns genre inside out . . . it never stops being a page-turner' Colum McCann After three years embedded in the Siege in Sarajevo, war correspondent Tom returns to Dublin a haunted shell of his former self. Laughably unqualified, but determined to see him through the darkness, his childhood friends Karl and Baz embark on a journey for an unlikely cure, to an experimental Californian clinic called Restless Souls. But as they try to save Tom from his memories, they are forced to confront their own - of what happened to the lost member of their group, Gabriel. 'Ambitious, rambunctious and extremely accomplished' Sunday Times 'A bawdy, alive, profane panegyric to the indissoluble bonds of friendship' Colin Barrett 'The funniest sad book I've read in a long time' J. Robert Lennon 'A tender, banter-filled debut' Daily Mail 'Sheehan is a brave new voice in fiction, fusing comedy and heart to explore a friendship transformed by trauma' Alexandra Kleeman

Gollancz

Cold Iron

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Orion

Our Life in a Day

Jamie Fewery
Authors:
Jamie Fewery

A 10 year love story in 24 hours - the heartbreaking, emotional, funny 2019 debut novel for fans of One Day in December by Josie Silver, With or Without You by Shari Low, and The Note by Zoe Folbigg.THE RULES ARE SIMPLE:Choose the most significant moments from your relationship - one for each hour in the day.You'd probably pick when you first met, right? And the instant you knew for sure it was love? Maybe even the time you watched the sunrise after your first night together?But what about the car journey on the holiday where everything started to go wrong? Or your first proper fight?Or that time you lied about where you'd been?It's a once in a lifetime chance to learn the truth. But if you had to be completely honest with the one you love, would you still play?For Esme and Tom, the game is about to begin. And once they start, there's no going back . . .*************Why readers love Our Life in a Day:'A great portrayal of mental illness... A quite brilliant book''Explores depression, the spiral of addiction and the impact that mental illness has in those closest''I could have gone on reading about Esme and Tom forever''Oh my heart... I loved every page'

Orion

The Adults

Caroline Hulse
Authors:
Caroline Hulse
Gollancz

Lies Sleeping

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Orion

The Three Secret Cities

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
Gollancz

The Furthest Station

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Trapeze

We Own The Sky

Luke Allnutt
Authors:
Luke Allnutt
Gollancz

The Hanging Tree

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch

Suspicious deaths are not usually the concern of PC Peter Grant or the Folly, even when they happen at an exclusive party in one of the most expensive apartment blocks in London. But Lady Ty's daughter was there, and Peter owes Lady Ty a favour.Plunged into the alien world of the super-rich, where the basements are bigger than the house and dangerous, arcane items are bought and sold on the open market, a sensible young copper would keep his head down and his nose clean. But this is Peter Grant we're talking about.He's been given an unparalleled opportunity to alienate old friends and create new enemies at the point where the world of magic and that of privilege intersect. Assuming he survives the week . . .

Gollancz

Foxglove Summer

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
W&N

The Fair Fight

Anna Freeman
Authors:
Anna Freeman

I sat before my tambour hoop but I did not sew. I thought of split lips, flying teeth and red blood on white linen.Born in a Bristol brothel at the end of the eighteenth century, Ruth Webber, her toe upon the scratch, is ready to face all comers.Lady Charlotte Sinclair, scarred with small pox and bullied by her boorish brother, is on the verge of smashing the bonds of convention that have held her for so long.George Bowden, without inheritance or title, is prepared to do whatever it takes to make his way in the world.Let the fight begin . . .

Orion

The Cutting Crew

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby

The dark new thriller from the author of THE THIRD PERSON...The small team of policemen never even identified the dead girl and, for the officers involved, her murder came to symbolise everything that was wrong with the city: a haphazard sprawl of commerce and indifference. Four months on, that group is in disarray. Sean has disappeared into the city's black heart and not returned, and Martin is separated from his job, his wife and his friends. But then a simple note from his ex-partner forces him to re-enter an investigation he'd rather forget. 'I found her', it says. The search leads him from one side of the city to the other, in a downward spiral of violence and pain, and drags him into the orbit of the things that are really wrong with the city: the eight brothers rumoured by legend to have control over everything.

Orion

Dreamer

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James

When waking from your dream means living your nightmare...The last time the dream came, Sam was seven years old; and that was the night her parents were to die.Twenty-five years later, Sam's nightmares are starting to come true once more. Now a successful TV commercials producer, juggling her roles of career woman, wife and mother, she attempts to shut them out. But soon Sam is faced with the reality of dreams in which her life and that of her family are threatened. In desperation, she consults the experts: a psychiatrist; a clairvoyant ... but to no avail. Sam is being inexorably drawn into a vortex of terror from which there is no escape...