Sven Hassel - Legion of the Damned - Orion Publishing Group

Legion of the Damned

By Sven Hassel

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Sven Hassel's iconic war novel about the Russian Front, now relaunched with a stunning new look.

Sven Hassel's iconic war novel about the Russian Front.

'An extraordinary book, which has captured the attention of all of Europe' - NEW YORK TIMES

'LEGION OF THE DAMNED is an incredible picture of totalitarianism, of stupefying injustice ... He is graphic, at times brilliantly so, but never brutal or bitter. He is, too, a first-rate storyteller' - WASHINGTON POST

Convicted of deserting the German army, Sven Hassel is sent to a penal regiment on the Russian Front. He and his comrades are regarded as expendable, cannon fodder in the battle against the implacable Red Army. Outnumbered and outgunned, they fight their way across the frozen steppe...

This iconic anti-war novel is a testament to the atrocities suffered by the lone soldier in the fight for survival.

Sven Hassel's unflinching narrative is based on his own experiences in the German Army. He began writing his first novel, LEGION OF THE DAMNED in a prisoner of war camp at the end of the Second World War.

Biographical Notes

Born in 1917 in Fredensborg, Denmark, Sven Hassel joined the merchant navy at the age of 14. He did his compulsory year's military service in the Danish forces in 1936 and then, facing unemployment, joined the German army. He served throughout the Second World War on all fronts except North Africa. When the war ended in 1945 he was transferred between Russian, American and French prison camps, and upon returning to Denmark, was sentenced to 10 years in prison for treason. He began writing LEGION OF THE DAMNED during his time as a prisoner of war. His 14 Second World War books, which draw on his own encounters and experiences as a soldier, have sold over 53 million copies worldwide and have been published in more than 50 countries. He peacefully passed away in Barcelona in 2012, where he had resided since 1964.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780228143
  • Publication date: 29 May 2014
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

Thin Air

Richard Morgan
Authors:
Richard Morgan

Richard Morgan has always been one of our most successful SF authors with his fast-moving and brutal storylines, blistering plots and a powerful social conscience behind his work.And now he's back, with his first SF novel for eight years . . . and it promises to be a publication to remember.An ex-corporate enforcer, Hakan Veil, is forced to bodyguard Madison Madekwe, part of a colonial audit team investigating a disappeared lottery winner on Mars. But when Madekwe is abducted, and Hakan nearly killed, the investigation takes him farther and deeper than he had ever expected. And soon Hakan discovers the heavy price he may have to pay to learn the truth.

W&N

Neon in Daylight

Hermione Hoby
Authors:
Hermione Hoby

A New York summer so hot the air is turning yellow. Kate, a young woman newly arrived from London, is determined to become the kind of person who is up for it and down for it - and not remotely troubled over how those two semantically opposed phrases could have come to mean the same thing. In the sweltering city, she encounters Bill, a once-lauded now booze-sodden novelist, and Inez, his teenage daughter who makes extra cash catering to the sexual fantasies of men she has met online - and falls into a complex infatuation with them both.

Orion

Bear Grylls: The Hunt

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls
Trapeze

The Lonely Hearts Cinema Club

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett
Orion

Bear Grylls: Ghost Flight

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls
Orion

A Year at Hotel Gondola

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino

'Recipe For Life pulls off the rare trick of being both gritty and lyrical, heartrending and compelling. A novel about how easy it is to become an observer in your own life, and the joy of learning to live again. It also made me very hungry!' JOJO MOYES on Recipe for LifeA woman swaps her far-flung travels for her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas.Kat has never wanted to live a small life. She's an adventurer, a food writer who travels the world visiting far-flung places and eating unusual things. Now she is about to embark on her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. She has fallen in love with an Italian man and is moving to live with him in Venice where she will help him run his small guesthouse, Hotel Gondola. Kat has lined up a book deal and will write about the first year of her new adventure, the food she eats, the recipes she collects, the people she meets, the man she doesn't really know all that well but is going to make a life with. But as Kat ought to know by now, the thing about adventures is that they never go exactly the way you expect them to...******'Venice comes alive...warm, engaging and truly delicious' Rosanna Ley, author of The Little Theatre by the Sea'A delicious and sensual adventure. I was whisked away to the sights and tastes of the most romantic - and mysterious - of cities. A story as evocative and captivating as Venice itself' Fiona Gibson, author of The Woman Who Met Her Match'With a wonderfully evocative setting and mouth-watering descriptions of Venetian food, A Year at Hotel Gondola is a refreshingly different take on the challenges of making a relationship when you're older' Pamela Hartshorne, author of The Cursed Wife

Gollancz

Seventh Decimate

Stephen Donaldson
Authors:
Stephen Donaldson
Gollancz

White Knight/Black Swan

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

David Gemmell was the UK's number one fantasy and historical novelist until his death in 2006. A regular Sunday Times bestseller and international sensation, his legacy lives on through his novels and his influence on the fantasy genre.White Knight Black Swan was Gemmell's only published crime novel, released under the pseudonym Ross Harding. Building on the world Gemmell saw around him while working as a local journalist in eighties London, it shows a way of life now long gone.'Bimbo' Jardine is a special man - a giant with a heart of gold, generous to his friends, feared by his enemies. His job is to collect money for Reardon, the local gangster, but everyone in this patch of South London knows him to be an honourable man, despite his capability for violence.But when Bimbo stops a homophobic attack, and then takes on the man who ordered it, he sets himself on a collision course with his own boss. Reardon cannot be seen to back down. Bimbo believes he did the right thing and won't step away.And when the two men clash, other lives will be at risk.

Orion

The Wrong Side of Goodbye

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
W&N

Wheels of Terror

Sven Hassel, Jordy Diago
Authors:
Sven Hassel, Jordy Diago
Gollancz

The Gospel of Loki

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

The novel is a brilliant first-person narrative of the rise and fall of the Norse gods - retold from the point of view of the world's ultimate trickster, Loki. It tells the story of Loki's recruitment from the underworld of Chaos, his many exploits on behalf of his one-eyed master, Odin, through to his eventual betrayal of the gods and the fall of Asgard itself.Using her life-long passion for the Norse myths, Joanne Harris has created a vibrant and powerful fantasy novel.

W&N

Empire of the Deep

Ben Wilson
Authors:
Ben Wilson
W&N

Blitzfreeze

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

Reign of Hell

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

Liquidate Paris

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

The Color Purple

Alice Walker
Authors:
Alice Walker

The classic, PULITZER PRIZE-winning novel that made Alice Walker a household name.Set in the deep American South between the wars, THE COLOR PURPLE is the classic tale of Celie, a young black girl born into poverty and segregation. Raped repeatedly by the man she calls 'father', she has two children taken away from her, is separated from her beloved sister Nettie and is trapped into an ugly marriage. But then she meets the glamorous Shug Avery, singer and magic-maker - a woman who has taken charge of her own destiny. Gradually Celie discovers the power and joy of her own spirit, freeing her from her past and reuniting her with those she loves.'One of the most haunting books you could ever wish to read ... it is stunning - moving, exciting, and wonderful' Lenny Henry

W&N

The Sven Hassel Collection

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

SS General

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

SS GENERAL is the definitive Stalingrad novel, a gripping portrait of war's brutal realities.It was said that Stalingrad had been burning since August, ever since the first German bombs were dropped...Sven Hassel and his comrades are plunged into the maelstrom of Stalingrad. Radio Moscow reports that one German soldier dies every minute. Trapped by the Russian counter-attack, starving soldiers must resort to cannibalism to survive. But 'Tiny', Porta, the Legionnaire and Sven attempt to break out, to fight their way across the frozen steppe.Their leader: an SS general who takes no prisoners...

W&N

Wheels of Terror

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

Comrades of War

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

There were not so much people as animals. Sometimes small and frightened, huddling together in cattle cars, wounds gaping, tongues swelling even as they licked the moist frost from the walls...Grievously wounded - having survived the operating table and the perilous journey West on a freezing freight train - Sven Hassel and his comrades find themselves behind the lines in a Hamburg hospital. The Reich is a hotbed of lies, betrayal and propaganda. Disgusted by the Nazi cause, the comrades drink themselves into oblivion, visit brothels where women dance naked on saloon tables and reach for home comforts before they return to the dreaded Russian Front. Because Hitler's war must go on... COMRADES OF WAR is a gritty portrayal of war's harsh realities and the fear and fanaticism at the heart of The Third Reich.Sven Hassel's unflinching narrative is based on his own experiences in the German Army. He began writing his first novel, LEGION OF THE DAMNED in a prisoner of war camp at the end of the Second World War.