Sven Hassel - Wheels of Terror - Orion Publishing Group

Wheels of Terror

By Sven Hassel

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Sven Hassel's ultimate tank warfare novel, now relaunched with a stunning new look.

Sven Hassel's ultimate tank warfare novel.

'This is a book of horrors, and should be left alone by those prone to nightmares. Sven Hassel's descriptions of the atrocities committed by both sides are the most horrible indictments of war I have ever read ... A great war novel!' Alan Silitoe

Stationed on the Russian Front and now equipped with armoured vehicles, Sven Hassel and his comrades from the 27th Penal Regiment fight on remorselessly...

All of them should be dead: life expectancy on the Russian Front is measured in weeks. But Sven, Porta, Tiny and The Legionnaire fight to the end, not for Germany, not for Hitler, but for survival.

WHEELS OF TERROR is a sobering depiction of war's brutalities, and the violence and inhumanity that the history books leave out.

Biographical Notes

Born in 1917 in Fredensborg, Denmark, Sven Hassel joined the merchant navy at the age of 14. He did his compulsory year's military service in the Danish forces in 1936 and then, facing unemployment, joined the German army. He served throughout the Second World War on all fronts except North Africa. When the war ended in 1945 he was transferred between Russian, American and French prison camps, and upon returning to Denmark, was sentenced to 10 years in prison for treason. He began writing LEGION OF THE DAMNED during his time as a prisoner of war. His 14 Second World War books, which draw on his own encounters and experiences as a soldier, have sold over 53 million copies worldwide and have been published in more than 50 countries. He peacefully passed away in Barcelona in 2012, where he had resided since 1964.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780297865766
  • Publication date: 23 Dec 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin
Gollancz

The Girl King

Mimi Yu
Authors:
Mimi Yu
Orion

The House of Shadows

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams
Trapeze

Part-Time Working Mummy

Rachaele Hambleton
Authors:
Rachaele Hambleton
Orion

What Fresh Hell

Lucy Vine
Authors:
Lucy Vine
Gollancz

Shadows of Self

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Fans of Robert Jordan and George RR Martin alike have found a new champion of epic fantasy in Brandon Sanderson. And now, in the first of two sequels to The Alloy Of Law the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author returns to the world of Mistborn anda hunt for a mysterious assassin. The criminal elite of Elendel were invited to an auction - which became a massacre, when an unknown assailant slaughtered everyone in attendance. Now Wax and Wayne, both able to use magic, both lawmen from the rough and ungoverned frontier territories, are on the case. All the clues suggest the killer is a rogue kandra - a secretive, almost mythical, figure who acts from the shadows - called Bleeder . . . and that the governor is her next target. Bleeder, and the conspiracy behind the killings, has to be stopped . . . before the city is plunged into chaos.A brilliant adventure and a gripping story, Shadows of Self offers fans of The Alloy of Law everything they've been hoping for and, this being a Brandon Sanderson book, more, much more.

W&N

Wheels of Terror

Sven Hassel, Jordy Diago
Authors:
Sven Hassel, Jordy Diago

A graphic novel adaptation of Sven Hassel's classic war novel, WHEELS OF TERROR, illustrated by Jordy Diago.Stationed on the Eastern Front and now equipped with armoured vehicles, Sven Hassel and his comrades from the 27th Penal Regiment fight on remorselessly . . . All of them should be dead: life expectancy on the Front is measured in weeks. But Sven, Porta, the Old Un and the Legionnaire fight to the end, not for Germany, not for Hitler, but for survival.From the blistering cold to the horrors of tank warfare, WHEELS OF TERROR is a sobering depiction of war's brutalities, and the violence and inhumanity that the history books leave out.

W&N

The Commissar

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

A shocking insight into the brutalities faced by ordinary soldiers and the atrocities committed in the name of survival.Dispassionately we stared at the bloody scene. It had become an everyday sight. The 27th Penal Regiment care nothing for Hitler's war. They fight only to stay alive. But then they uncover the Soviet Army's biggest secret. A Russian commissar has hidden 30 million dollars of gold somewhere behind enemy lines. In a madcap scheme, Porta brokers a deal with the commissar: free passage for the Russians in return for a share of the gold. To find it, Sven and his comrades must be prepared to lie, steal and go behind the lines of the deadly Russian army...

W&N

O.G.P.U. Prison

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

The Russian uses his machine pistol like a scythe. Feldwebel remains standing for a fraction of a second. The rain of bullets pours into him, making him twitch violently. He falls to the floor. The Russian grins. There is no doubt that he is enjoying himself. Sven Hassel and his comrades are ordered to take O.G.P.U. Prison in any way they can, even if it means killing the Russians with their bare hands. Armed with flame-throwers and heavy artillery, the 27th Penal Regiment plan their attack.O.G.P.U. PRISON is one of Sven Hassel's most compulsively readable novels, full of battle scenes, written in the gritty style that Hassel is renowned for.

W&N

Blitzfreeze

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

A shocking insight into the realities of war, the conditions endured by ordinary soldiers and their unwavering solidarity.It was supposed to be Hitler's glorious conquest of Russia...The 27th Penal Regiment has been ordered to invade the Soviet Union. They are half-starved and ill-equipped. To reach Moscow they must defeat the fearsome Red Army.But instead, they find themselves at the mercy of an even deadlier enemy: the killer cold of the Russian winter. As they advance across the icy wastes, they think only of survival.

W&N

The Bloody Road To Death

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

Court Martial

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

'They beat me,' whispers the artillery officer, 'Smashed my teeth in, sent an electric current through me. They want me to confess to something I never did.'Sven Hassel and his comrades are fighting on the Finnish front, facing an arctic winter more ferocious than anything they've ever known. But if they survive, they face shipment to Torgau Prison - the centre of Hitler's penal system - where deserters, convicts and anyone showing anti-Nazi sentiments are imprisoned and punished. This could mean arrest, court-martial and execution. Or it could mean torture and starvation.COURT MARTIAL is Sven Hassel's darkest novel and a shocking insight into the cruelty the Nazi regime inflicted on its own people.

W&N

Reign of Hell

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

Liquidate Paris

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

LIQUIDATE PARIS shows the eruption of the Second World War in its most brutal and cruel phase, as allied troops advance upon Paris and the penal regiment retreat.I had a grenade in my hand. So, no doubt, did the English private. I tore out the pin with my teeth. Lay there and counted. Twenty-one, twenty-two, twenty-three, twenty-four...It is Hitler's last chance to save the Third Reich...Millions of Allied troops have landed in Normandy.The orders are clear: Sven and his comrades, hardened by a savage war that has led them from the bloody steppes of the Russian Front, to the slopes of Monte Cassino, are ordered to withdraw to Strasbourg and destroy Paris on the way...

W&N

Monte Cassino

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

SS General

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

Comrades of War

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

Legion of the Damned

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

March Battalion

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
Gollancz

Time of Contempt

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski

Geralt the Witcher has fought monsters and demons across the land, but even he may not be prepared for what is happening to his world. The kings and armies are manoeuvring for position, each fearing invasion from across the river, each fearing their neighbours more. Intrigue, dissent and rebellion are on all sides.The Elves and other non-humans are still suffering under decades of repression, and growing numbers join the commando units hidden deep in the forest, striking at will and then dissolving into the trees. The Magicians are fighting amongst themselves, some in the pay of the kings, some sympathetic to the elves.And against this backdrop of fear and contempt Geralt and his lover Yennefer must protect Ciri, orphaned heir and sought by all sides. For the prophecy rests on her, and whether she lives or dies she has the power to save the world - or perhaps end it.