Adrian Goldsworthy - Run Them Ashore - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780227924
    • Publication date:10 Dec 2015

Run Them Ashore

By Adrian Goldsworthy

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Spain, 1810. On land and sea, the British fight for their lives.

It's autumn 1810, Napoleon's legions have overrun Spain, and it looks as if Britain is losing the war.

Backed by the Royal Navy, the British and their Spanish allies are clinging on to a toe-hold at Cadiz. As the French press ever closer, Lieutenant Williams of His Majesty's 106th Foot joins the Spanish partisans fighting behind enemy lines. Embroiled in the merciless guerrilla war, he soon realises that the greatest dangers come from his own side. A traitor is at work, and Williams must try to reach the British lines and warn them before a surprise raid on the French turns into a disaster.

Biographical Notes

Adrian Goldsworthy has a doctorate from Oxford University. His first book, THE ROMAN ARMY AT WAR was recognised by John Keegan as an exceptionally impressive work, original in treatment and impressive in style. He has gone on to write several other books, including THE FALL OF THE WEST, CAESAR, IN THE NAME OF ROME, CANNAE and ROMAN WARFARE, which have sold more than a quarter of a million copies and been translated into more than a dozen languages. A full-time author, he regularly contributes to TV documentaries on Roman themes.

Visit www.adriangoldsworthy.com for more information.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780297871859
  • Publication date: 14 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
The action sequences are pungently exciting and the characters colourfully drawn. There is a fair bit of derring-do on the water... and Goldsworthy pays fitting tribute to the RN — WARSHIPS INTERNATIONAL FLEET REVIEW
Orion

Clash of Empires

Ben Kane
Authors:
Ben Kane
W&N

The Lightkeeper's Daughters

Jean Pendziwol
Authors:
Jean Pendziwol
Orion

Music Across the Mersey

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

When a Dublin family is torn apart, can a new start in Liverpool help heal the wounds? 1940s DublinHandsome widower Johnny Cassidy is out of work and lost as to how to look after his four children. Broken-hearted, he's tempted to look for the answer at the bottom of a beer glass, and it takes another calamity for him to realise help sometimes comes from the strangest places.With Johnny's family over the sea in Liverpool, it's his wife's spinster cousin who comes to the rescue. Nora's well-ordered life is turned upside down by this brood of children to keep fed, schooled and out of trouble. But underneath the bustle of daily life, they all cherish secret dreams, some of which threaten to tear the family apart.With Nora around, Ella Cassidy can be a teenager again, rather than trying to raise her younger siblings, while her older brother, Sean, finds that music might be his salvation. But when he takes to the stage, it's the start of a journey that will take him far from home, and right to the kind of trouble he thought he'd outran.A warm and inviting story of family and friendship, duty and desire, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews.Read by Caroline Lennon(p) Soundings 2017

Orion

At First Light

Vanessa Lafaye
Authors:
Vanessa Lafaye
W&N

The Sun Over Breda

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
Gollancz

The Fall of Dragons

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

The Red Knight's final battle lies ahead . . . but there's a whole war still to fight first.He began with a small company, fighting the dangerous semi-mythical creatures which threatened villages, nunneries and cities. But as his power - and his forces - grew, so the power of the enemy he stood against became ever more clear. Not the power of men . . . but that of gods, with thousands of mortal allies.Never has strategy been more important, and this war will end where it started: at Lissen Carak. But to get there means not one battle, but many - to take out the seven armies which stand against them and force Ash, the huge black dragon, to finally take to the field himself . . .

Orion

The Hiding Places

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
W&N

Pax Romana

Adrian Goldsworthy
Authors:
Adrian Goldsworthy
Orion

The Green Count

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron

One of the finest historical fiction writers in the world - Ben KaneAfter the bloody trials of Alexandria, Sir William Gold is readying for a pilgrimage to Jerusalem to ease the burden on his soul. He hopes, too, that the Holy City might allow his relationship with Emile, cousin of the Green Count of Savoy, to develop.But the Roman Emperor of Constantinople has been taken hostage by an unknown enemy, and the Green Count is vital to the rescue effort. It is up to Sir William to secure his support, but he soon finds that his past, and his relationship with Emile, might have repercussions he had not foreseen...Suddenly thrust onto the stage of international politics, Sir William finds himself tangled in a web of plots, intrigue and murder. He must hold true to his chivalric principles, and to his knights, if he is to save the Emperor and survive to tell the tale.

Orion

Tom Swan and the Last Spartans: Part Five

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron

The latest instalment of the Tom Swan adventures - the fast-paced serialised novel set in the turbulent Europe of the fifteenth century.Available exclusively in eBook.

Orion

Tom Swan and the Last Spartans: Part Four

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron
Orion

Tom Swan and the Last Spartans: Part Three

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron

The latest instalment of the Tom Swan adventures - the fast-paced serialised novel set in the turbulent Europe of the fifteenth century.

W&N

Julian Fellowes's Belgravia

Julian Fellowes
Authors:
Julian Fellowes
Orion

The English Girl

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
Orion

Tom Swan and the Last Spartans: Part Two

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron
Orion

Tom Swan and the Last Spartans: Part One

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron
W&N

Whose Business is to Die

Adrian Goldsworthy
Authors:
Adrian Goldsworthy
Orion

The Night Falling

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb

The international bestselling author of THE LEGACY and THE UNSEEN returns with a searing novel of secrets and feudsItaly, 1921. When Leandro Cardetta returns to Puglia from America a rich man, he is determined to make his mark. But how did he get so wealthy?Boyd, a quiet English architect, is hired to build Leandro's dreams. But why is he so afraid of Leandro, and what really happened between them years before?When Boyd's wife, Clare, is summoned to Puglia, she is instantly desperate to leave, but soon finds a compelling reason to stay.And Ettore, starving, poor and grieving for his lost fiancée, is too proud to ask his Uncle Leandro for help. Until events conspire to force his hand.Tensions are high as poverty leads veterans of the Great War to the brink of rebellion. And under the burning sky, a reckless love and a violent enmity will bring brutal truths to light . . .Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb's sweeping historical dramas: 'An enormously talented writer' Santa Montefiore 'Webb have a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart and exploring the truth of love' Kate Williams 'Katherine Webb's writing is beautiful' Elizabeth Fremantle 'A truly gifted writer of historical fiction' Lucinda Riley 'Katherine's writing is rich, vivid and evocative' Iona Grey

W&N

Pirates of the Levant

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
W&N

Purity of Blood

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte

The second 'Captain Alatriste' novel, from a series which has sold 4 million copies worldwideA woman has been found in a sedan chair in front of a church, strangled. In her hand is a pouch containing fifty escudos and a handwritten - but unsigned - note bearing the words 'For masses for her soul'. The chief constable Martin Saldana confides in his old friend and comrade in arms, Diego Alatriste. Still in danger from the powerful enemies he made in his first adventure, Captain Alatriste is considering returning to Flanders where the war has just resumed. But first, his old friend Quevedo asks him for a favour. The daughter of one of his friends must be rescued from a convent, which certain 'priests' seem to be treating as little more than a harem. Then the woman who brought the girl to the convent goes missing and the connection is made to the murder at the church. It seems that Alatriste's sword is required once more.