Arthur C. Clarke - Rendezvous With Rama - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575088009
    • Publication date:05 Mar 2012
Books in this series

Rendezvous With Rama

By Arthur C. Clarke

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The multi-award-winning SF masterpiece from one of the greatest SF writers of all time

The multi-award-winning SF masterpiece from one of the greatest SF writers of all time

Rama is a vast alien spacecraft that enters the Solar System. A perfect cylinder some fifty kilometres long, spinning rapidly, racing through space, Rama is a technological marvel, a mysterious and deeply enigmatic alien artefact.

It is Mankind's first visitor from the stars and must be investigated ...

Winner of the HUGO AWARD for best novel, 1974
Winner of the NEBULA AWARD for best novel, 1973
Winner of the JOHN W. CAMPBELL AWARD for best novel, 1974
Winner of the BSFA AWARD for best novel, 1973

Biographical Notes

Arthur C. Clarke was born in Minehead in 1917. During the Second World War he served as a radar instructor for the RAF, rising to the rank of flight-lieutenant. After the war, he entered King's college, London taking, in 1948, his Bsc in physics and mathematics with first class honours.One of the most respected of all science-fiction writers, he has won Kalinga Prize, the Aviation Space-Writers Prize and the Westinghouse Science Writing Prize. He also shared an Oscar nomination with Stanley Kubrick for the screenplay of 2001: A Space Odyssey, which was based on his story, The Sentinel. He has lived in Sri Lanka since 1956.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575077331
  • Publication date: 13 Apr 2006
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

Rig

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace

A fast-moving, filmic and violent SF thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Campbell. A meeting of The Road and Rogue Trooper.'My nanotech is dead. By definition I am no longer Ficial. On the other hand I don't experience your emotions. That makes me inhuman. Like I said: neither one nor the other.'Caught in a world that is too busy destroying itself to care for anything except how to exploit the weak, Kenstibec is the ultimate outsider: he used to be invulnerable but now he's just a killer with no-one to kill for.But when the old world is ending everyone needs a reason to live, someone to live for. Kenstibec is on aquest. A quest that will take him across a freezing ocean and into the cold heart of a new world order.

Gollancz

From Darkest Skies

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
Gollancz

The Hangman's Daughter

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gollancz

Down Station

Simon Morden
Authors:
Simon Morden
Gateway

Swastika Night

Murray Constantine
Authors:
Murray Constantine
Gollancz

Day Shift

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

Soon to be an NBC TV series!Welcome to the most intriguing mystery you'll read this year.Welcome to Midnight, Texas. It's a quiet little town, perched at the junction between Davy Road and Witch Light Road, and it's easy to miss. With its boarded-up windows, single traffic light and sleepy air, there's nothing special about Midnight . . . which is exactly how the residents like it.So when the news comes that a new owner plans to renovate the run-down, abandoned old hotel in town, it's not met with pleasure. Who would want to come to Midnight, with its handful of shops, the Home Cookin diner, and quiet residents - and why? But there are bigger problems in the air. When Manfred Bernado, the newest resident in town, is swept up in a deadly investigation suddenly the hotel and its residents are the least of the towns concern. The police, lawyers and journalists are all headed to Midnight, and it's the worst possible moment . . .

Gollancz

Something Coming Through

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

Steeple

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace
Gollancz

The Relic Guild

Edward Cox
Authors:
Edward Cox

Magic caused the war. Magic is forbidden. Magic will save us.It was said the Labyrinth had once been the great meeting place, a sprawling city at the heart of an endless maze where a million humans hosted the Houses of the Aelfir. The Aelfir who had brought trade and riches, and a future full of promise. But when the Thaumaturgists, overlords of human and Aelfir alike, went to war, everything was ruined and the Labyrinth became an abandoned forbidden zone, where humans were trapped behind boundary walls 100 feet high.Now the Aelfir are a distant memory and the Thaumaturgists have faded into myth. Young Clara struggles to survive in a dangerous and dysfunctional city, where eyes are keen, nights are long, and the use of magic is punishable by death. She hides in the shadows, fearful that someone will discover she is touched by magic. She knows her days are numbered. But when a strange man named Fabian Moor returns to the Labyrinth, Clara learns that magic serves a higher purpose and that some myths are much more deadly in the flesh.The only people Clara can trust are the Relic Guild, a secret band of magickers sworn to protect the Labyrinth. But the Relic Guild are now too few. To truly defeat their old nemesis Moor, mightier help will be required. To save the Labyrinth - and the lives of one million humans - Clara and the Relic Guild must find a way to contact the worlds beyond their walls.

Gateway

The Snows of Olympus

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

This is the story of how a world could be resurrected¿Mars is a barren planet, almost without atmosphere and with a temperature ranging from near zero to 120 degrees below. No water flows and there is no evidence that life has ever existed there.Yet Mars is Earth's near neighbour and has always exerted a powerful hold on our imagination. The astronomer Lowell thought he'd discovered canals on the planet's surface; H.G. wells (and his near namesake Orson) speculated on the red planet's inhabitants invading Earth; sf writers have always used Mars as a setting and continue to do so.In the Snows of Olympus Arthur C. Clarke uses a revolutionary computer program to show, in words and pictures, how the surface of the planet would change as, gradually, scientists created an atmosphere and raised the temperature. Taking as his starting point Olympus Mons, the highest mountain in the Solar System, a 27km extinct volcano, Clarke creates detailed 'photographs' of the Martian surface and then shows how the landscape would change as vegetation began to thrive and water to flow. He speculates about how this might happen, about the journey to Mars and about what living on the planet would be like. The result is one of the most fascinating, challenging and imaginatively stimulating books of the year.Arthur C. Clarke has long been hailed as the most visionary and accurate of science fiction and non-fiction writers, having predicted communications satellites years before their development. In this extraordinary booked he chart the next chapter of humanity's future in space.

Gollancz

Wild Cards: Ace in the Hole

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin
Gollancz

Barricade

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace
Gollancz

Wild Cards: Aces Abroad

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin

Return to the early days of the Wild Cards series, as a group of super-powered Aces set off on a fact-finding tour of the worldEver since the Wild Card virus spread across New York, people have changed - some becoming superpowered 'Aces', some distorted and bizarre 'Jokers'. But the effects of the virus have spread, and all across the world new mutations are popping up.Sent by the UN on a world tour, tasked with investigating and recording the spread of the virus - and the reactions of the world - a group of Aces will discover that no matter where in the world they are, one thing will remain the same. Humanity is capable of kindness, acceptance and tolerance. But not all of the time ...Featuring stories by George R. R. Martin, Melinda M. Snodgrass, Stephen Leigh, Walter Simons and many more, this volume also contains two new stories by Carrie Vaughn and Kevin Andrew Murphy never before published in the UK.

Gollancz

Life, The Universe And Everything

Douglas Adams
Authors:
Douglas Adams

Only five individuals stand between the killer robots of Krikkit and their goal of the total annihilation of the universe. They are Arthur Dent, homeless Englishman currently marooned in the deep past; his friend Ford Prefect, temporarily insane to see if he likes it, also marooned; Slartibartfast, once of the planet builders of Magrathea; Zaphod Beeblebrox, ex-confidence trickster and part-time galactic president; and Trillian, the sexy space cadet who is torn between a persistent Thunder God and a very depressed Beeblebrox. In other words: we're doomed.

Gateway

Islands in the Sky

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

When young Roy Malcolm won the aviation quiz contest, his prize should have meant an ordinary sight-seeing jaunt on one of the man-made space stations that circled the earth. But instead the trip turned into a terrifying journey as misadventure after misadventure plagued the artificial satellite. The climatic moment came when one of the crew pushed the wrong button and rocketed the runaway ship into outer space...

Gollancz

The Path of Anger

Antoine Rouaud
Authors:
Antoine Rouaud
Gateway

Rama II

Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee

The sequel to the only SF novel to sweep all SF awards and one of the bestsellers of all timeIn 2130, an alien spaceship, Rama, entered our solar system. The first product of an alien civilisation to be encountered by man, it revealed many wonders to mankind - but most of its mysteries remained unsolved ... Sixty-six years later, a second approaching spacecraft was detected; four years on, the Ramans are definitely returning. But this time, Earth is ready.And maybe now, with the arrival of Rama II, some of the questions posed by Rama will at last be answered.

Gateway

The Garden of Rama

Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee

In the year 2130 a mysterious spaceship, Rama, arrived in the solar system. It was huge - big enough to contain a city and a sea - and empty, apparently abandoned. By the time Rama departed for its next, unknown, destination many wonders had been uncovered, but few mysteries solved. Only one thing was clear: everything the enigmatic builders of Rama did, they did in threes.Eighty years later the second alien craft arrived in the solar system. This time, Earth had been waiting. But all the years of preparation were not enough to unlock the Raman enigma.Now Rama II is on its way out of the solar system. Aboard it are three humans, two men and a woman, left behind when the expedition departed. Ahead of them lies the unknown, a voyage no human has ever experienced. And at the end of it - and who could tell how many years away that might be? - may lie the truth about Rama...

Gateway

Rama Revealed

Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee

Years after the appearance in the solar system of the immense, deserted spaceship named by its discoverers Rama, a second craft arrived, destined to become home for a group of human colonists. But now the colony has become a brutal dictatorship, committing genocide against its peaceful alien neighbours and terrorizing its own inhabitants. Nicole Wakefield, condemned to death for treason, has escaped and crossed the Cylindrical Sea to the island of mysterious skyscrapers which the humans call New York. There she is reunited with her husband, and soon they are joined by others of their family and friends. But pursuit is not far behind and they are forced to flee to the subterranean corridors of New York inhabited by the menancing octospiders.

Gollancz

To Say Nothing of the Dog

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis