Kate Wilhelm - Where Late The Sweet Birds Sang - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Where Late The Sweet Birds Sang

By Kate Wilhelm

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

'If all SF was as finely crafted as WHERE LATE THE SWEET BIRDS SANG, we'd have great cause to rejoice' VECTOR

The Sumner family can read the signs: the droughts and floods, the blighted crops, the shortages, the rampant diseases and plagues, and, above all, the increasing sterility all point to one thing. Their isolated farm in the Appalachian Mountains gives them the ideal place to survive the coming breakdown, and their wealth and know-how gives them the means. Men and women must clone themselves for humanity to survive. But what then?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575079144
  • Publication date: 12 Oct 2006
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Austral

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

The great geoengineering projects have failed.The world is still warming, sea levels are still rising, and the Antarctic Peninsula is home to Earth's newest nation, with life quickened by ecopoets spreading across valleys and fjords exposed by the retreat of the ice.Austral Morales Ferrado, a child of the last generation of ecopoets, is a husky: an edited person adapted to the unforgiving climate of the far south, feared and despised by most of its population. She's been a convict, a corrections officer in a labour camp, and consort to a criminal, and now, out of desperation, she has committed the kidnapping of the century. But before she can collect the ransom and make a new life elsewhere, she must find a place of safety amongst the peninsula's forests and icy plateaus, and evade a criminal gang that has its own plans for the teenage girl she's taken hostage.Blending the story of Austral's flight with the fractured history of her family and its role in the colonisation of Antarctica, Austral is a vivid portrayal of a treacherous new world created by climate change, and shaped by the betrayals and mistakes of the past. 'Paul McAuley's balanced grasp of science and literature, always a rare attribute in the writer of prose fiction, is combined with the equally rare ability to look at today's problems and know which are really problems, and what can be done about them.' William Gibson

Gateway

New York Nights

Eric Brown
Authors:
Eric Brown

New York in 2040 is a city of the lost. A good place to work in Missing Persons. But business is not quite good enough for Hal Halliday to forget his sister, burned alive when only child all those years ago. And now VR offers the chance of bringing her back, the future may yet allow Hal to live in the past. If he can survive the next job ...

Gateway

New York Blues

Eric Brown
Authors:
Eric Brown
Gateway

New York Dreams

Eric Brown
Authors:
Eric Brown

In a futuristic variation upon the modern detective story, we follow Hal as he returns from retirement, seeking the answer to the mysterious disappearance of his ex-girlfriend, last seen with a child prodigy and an unknown older man. We accompany him during his encounters with the jaded individuals who now occupy sullied Manhattan, and share his anguish at the gradual realization of the devastating effects that Virtual Reality is having upon his fellow citizens, rapidly losing their abilities to interact in the real world.

Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden

EIGHT ASTRONAUTS. ONE KILLER. NO WAY HOME. ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK meets Andy Weir's THE MARTIAN 'A rip-roaring thriller of a book that hits the ground running and doesn't stop until the final chapter' John Marrs, author of the bestselling/Radio 2 Book Club choice THE ONE * * * * * There's a murderer amongst them, and everyone's a suspect . . . Frank Kittridge is serving life for murdering his son's drug dealer, so when he's offered a deal by Xenosystems Operations - the corporation that owns the prison - he takes it. He's been selected to help build the first permanent base on Mars. Unfortunately, his crewmates are just as guilty of their crimes as he is. As the convicts set to work on the frozen wastes of Mars, the accidents multiply. Until Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all . . . * * * * *'ONE WAY is what would happen if the crime and sci-fi genres got together and had a baby. Deeply immersive, chilling and atmospheric. An utterly fabulous book!' Emma Kavanagh, bestselling author of FALLING and HIDDEN 'A cracking read. A compelling vision of the near future inhabited by well motivated characters. It's a thrilling tale that grabs you and whips along to the very last breathless page' Adam Hamdy, author of PENDULUM 'Twisty and gripping' Financial Times

Gollancz

The Smoke

Simon Ings
Authors:
Simon Ings
Gateway

Agent of the Unknown

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

The Nevermore Affair

Kate Wilhelm
Authors:
Kate Wilhelm
W&N

Not Forgetting The Whale

John Ironmonger
Authors:
John Ironmonger

WHERE WILL YOU ESCAPE TO THIS SUMMER? For fans of ELEANOR OLIPHANT, THE ROSIE PROJECT & THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, an uplifting story about the search for a place to belong. When a young man, Joe, washes up on the sands of St Piran in Cornwall, he is quickly rescued by the villagers. From the retired village doctor and the beachcomber, to the priest's wife and the flamboyant romantic novelist, they take this lost soul into their midst. And they, in turn, come to find that he gives fresh perspectives on their lives and loves. But what the villagers don't know is why Joe fled the city for St Piran, and what he left behind. Intimate, funny and heart-warming, Not Forgetting the Whale is a story about community, the best and worst in our nature, and the search for a place to call home.'Fun, uplifting, charming' Financial Times'A warm-hearted book crammed with ideas . . . very, very good' Emerald Street'A tremendously enjoyable book' Independent on Sunday

Gateway

Gather Yourselves Together

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

As the Communists advance, a small group of Americans trapped in a Chinese factory must learn to work together in this early novel from Philip K. DickThree American workers are left behind in China by their employer, biding their time in an abandoned factory as the communists approach. As they while away the days, both the young and naive Carl Fitter and the older, worldly Verne Tildon vie for the affections of Barbara Mahler, a woman who may not be as tough as she acts.But Carl's innocence and Verne's boorishness might drive Barbara away from both of them ...This early novel by Dick, unpublished in his lifetime, is a remarkable insight into his future works.

Gateway

Better than One

Kate Wilhelm, Damon Knight
Authors:
Kate Wilhelm, Damon Knight

A collection containing two short stories ("Semper Fi" and "Baby, You Were Great"), seven poems, and autobiographical introductions.

Gateway

Welcome, Chaos

Kate Wilhelm
Authors:
Kate Wilhelm
Gateway

Kate Wilhelm SF Gateway Omnibus

Kate Wilhelm
Authors:
Kate Wilhelm
Gateway

Crazy Time

Kate Wilhelm
Authors:
Kate Wilhelm

Why is Lauren Steele being followed around by a mysterious red-haired ghost? Why is the Pentagon after her? And why doesn't anyone believe her?As a psychologist at the Waycross Clinic in Seattle, she has enough problems. Her clients never seem to listen to anything she says, and her co-workers could use extensive counseling themselves. The last thing she needs is an obnoxious figment of her own imagination showing up at the least opportune moments.But Daniel ("Corky") Corcoran is actually the victim of a fault experimental laser, having been accidentally "dispersed" when the device misfired during a demonstration. He has literally gathered his wits about him by focusing on the last person he saw - Lauren. The trouble is, Corky's attempts at communication only convince Lauren that she is going crazy.Add to this one paranoid colonel from the Pentagon who is convinced that both Corky and Lauren are Soviet spies, and you have a mix of zany and colourful characters caught up in a plot that is quintessential Wilhelm.

Gateway

Oh, Susannah!

Kate Wilhelm
Authors:
Kate Wilhelm
Gateway

Listen, Listen

Kate Wilhelm
Authors:
Kate Wilhelm

This book contains four striking novellas, and the author's own philosophy of fiction writing expressed in her speech as a guest of honour at the 38th World Science Fiction Convention."The Winter Beach" turns what might be a spy story into suspense of a far different order."Julian" begins when its youthful hero trains his telescope on nearby earth rather than the stars and sees a woman who rules the rest of his life."With Thimbles, with Forks and Hope" seems to be the dramatic story of a holiday fishing trip, but once on the ocean we are gripped by a different reality."Moongate", set in the mountains of the Northwest, takes its two men and one woman through many dimensions in time and space."The Uncertain Edge of Reality" casts a new light on Kate Wilhelm's many books and short stories. "This is my subject matter when I write," she says. "I am asking, What actually do we mean by reality, and are we stuck with the one we have? This is what I mean by reality fiction, and usually it is also called science fiction...We are more than simple animals using sophisticated tools in our search for food, security and mates. We are something new on the earth...We can change reality."Kate Wilhelm's writing always has meaning on many levels. Listen, Listen provides a feasts for fans and new readers alike.

Gateway

Children of the Wind

Kate Wilhelm
Authors:
Kate Wilhelm
Gateway

And the Angels Sing

Kate Wilhelm
Authors:
Kate Wilhelm

The dozen stories in this delightful volume span the career of Kate Wilhelm, showcasing the wide-ranging works of this exceptional stylist. These stories include:"The Look Alike", in which a grieving young mother encounters a doppelganger of her lost daughter."Forever Yours, Anna", recipient of the 1988 Nebula Award for best short story."The Day of the Sharks", presents a relentless account of a woman recovering from a breakdown.Ranging from the harrowing to the humorous, from the charming to the strange, And the Angels Sing is a chorus of literary delights.

Gateway

Immersion, and Other Short Novels

Gregory Benford
Authors:
Gregory Benford
Gateway

Abyss: Two Novellas

Kate Wilhelm
Authors:
Kate Wilhelm

Abyss Anyone? Enter Kate Wilhelm's realm of extrasensory perception, alternate universes, alien monsters, and something else, something much more strange...the abyss that lurks near each of us, ready to destroy us...or set us free.