Frank Herbert - Dune - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575104419
    • Publication date:30 Dec 2010
Books in this series

Dune

By Frank Herbert

  • Hardback
  • £11.99

The most famous, widely acclaimed and popular of all sf novels

The Duke of Atreides has been manoeuvred by his arch-enemy, Baron Harkonnen, into administering the desert planet of Dune. Although it is almost completely without water, Dune is a planet of fabulous wealth, for it is the only source of a drug prized throughout the Galactic Empire. The Duke and his son, Paul, are expecting treachery, and it duly comes - but from a shockingly unexpected place.

Then Paul succeeds his father, and he becomes a catalyst for the native people of Dune, whose knowledge of the ecology of the planet gives them vast power. They have been waiting for a leader like Paul Atreides, a leader who can harness that force ...

DUNE: one of the most brilliant science fiction novels ever written, as engrossing and heart-rending today as it was when it was first published half a century ago.

Joint winner of the HUGO AWARD for best novel, 1966
Winner of the NEBULA AWARD for best novel, 1965

Biographical Notes

Frank Herbert (1920-86) was born in Tacoma, Washington and worked as a reporter and later editor of a number of West Coast newspapers before becoming a full-time writer. His first sf story was published in 1952 but he achieved fame more than ten years later with the publication in Analog of DUNE WORLD and THE PROPHET OF DUNE, amalgamated in the novel DUNE in 1965.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575081505
  • Publication date: 18 Oct 2007
  • Page count: 624
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

Blackwing

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald

The republic faces annihilation, despite the vigilance of Galharrow's Blackwings. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow and a mysterious noblewoman must investigate a long dead sorcerer's legacy. But there is a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve the ancient wizard's paradox, the Deep Kings will walk the earth again, and all will be lost.The war with the Eastern Empire ended in stalemate some eighty years ago, thanks to Nall's 'Engine', a wizard-crafted weapon so powerful even the Deep Kings feared it. The strike of the Engine created the Misery - a wasteland full of ghosts and corrupted magic that now forms a No Mans Land along the frontier. But when Galharrow investigates a frontier fortress, he discovers complacency bordering on treason: then the walls are stormed, and the Engine fails to launch. Galharrow only escapes because of the preternatural magical power of the noblewoman he was supposed to be protecting. Together, they race to the capital to unmask the traitors and restore the republic's defences. Far across the Misery a vast army is on the move, as the Empire prepares to call the republic's bluff.Blackwing is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky.

Gateway

The Lazarus Effect

Frank Herbert, Bill Ransom
Authors:
Frank Herbert, Bill Ransom

In the Jesus Incident Herbert and Ransom introduced Ship, an artificial intelligence that believed it was God, abandoning its unworthy human cargo on the all-sea world of Pandora. Now centuries have passed. The descendants of humanity, split into Mermen and Islanders, must reunite... because Pandora's original owner is returning to life!

Gateway

The Dosadi Experiment

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert
Gateway

The Dragon in the Sea

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert
Gateway

The Ascension Factor

Frank Herbert, Bill Ransom
Authors:
Frank Herbert, Bill Ransom

This final book in the "Destination: Void" collaboration between Frank Herbert and Bill Ransom, set twenty-five years after the previous book The Lazarus Effect, concludes the story of the planet Pandora.

Gateway

Frank Herbert SF Gateway Omnibus

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert

From The SF Gateway, the most comprehensive digital library of classic SFF titles ever assembled, comes an ideal sample introduction to one of the giants of 20th century science fiction: Frank Herbert. Although best known for his award-winning Dune, Herbert's other work is equally ambitious and accomplished. This omnibus contains three novels spanning some 20 years of Herbert's career: The Dragon in the Sea, The Santaroga Barrier and The Dosadi Experiment. THE DRAGON IN THE SEAIn the endless war between East and West, oil has become the ultimate prize. Nuclear-powered subtugs brave enemy waters to tap into hidden oil reserves. Psychologist John Ramsay has gone undercover aboard a Hell Diver subtug where, hunted relentlessly by the enemy, the crew find themselves isolated in a claustrophobic undersea prison, struggling for survival against the elements . . . and themselves.THE SANTAROGA BARRIERSantaroga seemed to be nothing more than a prosperous farm community. But there was something . . . different . . . about Santaroga. Maybe Santaroga was the last outpost of American individualism. Maybe they were just a bunch of religious kooks . . . Or maybe there was something extraordinary at work in Santaroga. Something far more disturbing than anyone could imagine.THE DOSADI EXPERIMENTGenerations of a tormented human-alien people, caged on a toxic planet, conditioned by constant hunger and war - this is the Dosadi Experiment, and it has succeeded too well. For the Dosadi have bred for Vengeance as well as cunning, and they have learned how to pass through the shimmering God Wall to exact their dreadful revenge on the Universe that created them . . .

Gateway

Dune: The Gateway Collection

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert

This collection contains Frank Herbert's Dune saga, widely considered to be one of the greatest works of SF in history:DuneDune MessiahChildren of DuneGod Emperor of DuneHeretics of DuneChapter House Dune

Gateway

The Jesus Incident

Frank Herbert, Bill Ransom
Authors:
Frank Herbert, Bill Ransom
Gateway

The Santaroga Barrier

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert

Santaroga seemed to be nothing more than a prosperous farm community. But there was something . . . different . . . about Santaroga.Santaroga had no juvenile delinquency, or any crime at all. Outsiders found no house for sale or rent in this valley, and no one ever moved out. No one bought cigarettes in Santaroga. No cheese, wine, beer or produce from outside the valley could be sold there. The list went on and on and grew stranger and stranger.Maybe Santaroga was the last outpost of American individualism. Maybe they were just a bunch of religious kooks. . . .Or maybe there was something extraordinary at work in Santaroga. Something far more disturbing than anyone could imagine.

Gollancz

Hellstrom's Hive

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert
Gateway

Dune Messiah

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert
Gateway

Chapter House Dune

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert
Gateway

Children Of Dune

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert
Gateway

Heretics Of Dune

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert

From Dune to Rakis to Dune, the wheel turns full circle. From burning desert to green and fertile land and on again to burning desert ... the cycle is complete.The people of the Scattering are returning. Amongst them, mysterious and threatening, are the women who call themselves the Honoured Matres, adepts of an ecstatic cult.And on Rakis, become Dune, an ancient prophecy is fulfilled with the coming of the she-sheer, Sheeana ...

Gollancz

The Great Dune Trilogy

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert

Three of the greatest SF novels in the world in one bumper omnibusHerbert's evocative, epic tales are set on the desert planet Arrakis, the focus for a complex political and military struggle with galaxy-wide repercussions.Arrakis is the source of spice, a mind-enhancing drug which makes interstellar travel possible; it is the most valuable substance in the galaxy. When Duke Atreides and his family take up court there, they fall into a trap set by the Duke's bitter rival, Baron Harkonnen. The Duke is poisoned, but his wife and her son Paul escape to the vast and arid deserts of Arrakis, which have given the planet its nickname of Dune.Paul and his mother join the Fremen, the Arrakis natives, who have learnt to live in this harsh and complex ecosystem. But learning to survive is not enough - Paul's destiny was mapped out long ago and his mother is committed to seeing it fulfilled.

Gollancz

God Emperor Of Dune

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert

The epic that began with the HUGO and NEBULA Award-winning classic DUNE continues ...More than three thousand years have passed since the first events recorded in DUNE. Only one link survives with those tumultuous times: the grotesque figure of Leto Atreides, son of the prophet Paul Muad'Dib, and now the virtually immortal God Emperor of Dune.He alone understands the future, and he knows with a terrible certainty that the evolution of his race is at an end unless he can breed new qualities into his species.But to achieve his final victory, Leto Atreides must also bring about his own downfall ...

Dan Simmons

Dan Simmons won the World Fantasy Award for his first novel, SONG OF KALI, inspired by his travels in India. In the 1990s he rewrote the SF rulebook with his Hyperion Cantos quartet. He has also written thrillers. Alongside his writing he maintains a career as a college lecturer in English Literature in the USA.

David Bischoff

David Bischoff is an American SF author. Born in Washington D.C. and now living in Eugene, Oregon, Bischoff writes science fiction books, short stories, and scripts for television. Though he has been writing since the early 1970s, and has had over 80 books published, Bischoff is best known for novelizations of popular movies and TV series including the Aliens, Gremlins, Star Trek: The Next Generation, and WarGames.

David Harris

?

David Moody

David Moody was born in 1970 and grew up in Birmingham on a diet of trashy horror and pulp science fiction books and movies. He worked as a bank manager and as operations manager for a number of financial institutions before giving up the day job to write about the end of the world for a living. He has written a number of horror novels, including AUTUMN, which has been downloaded more than half a million times since publication in 2001 and has spawned a series of sequels and a movie starring Dexter Fletcher and David Carradine. Film rights to HATER have been bought by Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy, Pan's Labyrinth) and Mark Johnson (producer of the Chronicles of Narnia films). Moody lives in the Midlands with his wife and a houseful of daughters and stepdaughters, which may explain his pre-occupation with Armageddon.