Rob Scott and Jay Gordon - The Larion Senators - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575087071
    • Publication date:23 Dec 2010
Books in this series

The Larion Senators

The Eldarn Sequence Book 3

By Rob Scott and Jay Gordon

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

'Could become as legendary as Donaldson' OUTLAND

Nerak is defeated. Steven Taylor has cast the malevolent dictator's soul into the Fold's inky void - but the evil that controlled Nerak and brutalised the people of Eldarn has escaped, and taken Mark Jenkins with it. Steven must put his own feelings to one side, for Eldarn's fate still hangs in the balance, and he remains the land's only real hope.

As he and his companions make their way across country, rallying what remains of their allies, Mark, no longer the affable teacher from Colorado, disappears into the foothills of the Blackstone Mountains, determined to excavate the Larion spell table and use its awesome power to destroy Eldarn.
During an epic sea journey to the enemy strongholds of northern Malakasia, Steven discovers he is stronger than he thought, but a confrontation with Mark is inevitable ... Is Steven willing to kill his best friend and face eternal exile in Eldarn to save two worlds from annihilation?

Return to Eldarn for this towering finale, where our heroes face a terrifying army of mutated beasts, and the mysteries of the Larion Senators are waiting to be unlocked, for good or for evil ...

Biographical Notes

Robert Scott was born in New York. He has studied classical guitar, and completed a Masters degree in education. Following a 1994 concert series in Brazil, he moved to Colorado to teach and to complete a doctorate in educational leadership and policy study. He's now a headmaster. He lives in Virginia with his wife and two children. Jay Gordon was born in New York. Before his death from Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) in 2005 he was a business programmer, then a network management specialist. He founded an independent consulting firm building corporate network and technology systems. He is survived by his wife and two daughters. THE HICKORY STAFF was Robert & Jay's first work of fiction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575082823
  • Publication date: 12 Jun 2008
  • Page count: 592
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

Summerland

Hannu Rajaniemi
Authors:
Hannu Rajaniemi

I burned through it . . . Great book: Tinker Tailer Soldier Spook' Ian McDonaldLoss is a thing of the past. Murder is obsolete. Death is just the beginning. ***** How do you catch a spy who's already dead? In 1938, death is no longer feared but exploited. Since the discovery of the afterlife, the British Empire has extended its reach into Summerland, a metropolis for the recently deceased. But Britain isn't the only contender for power in this life and the next. The Soviets have spies in Summerland, and the technology to build their own god. When SIS agent Rachel White gets a lead on one of the Soviet moles, blowing the whistle puts her hard-earned career at risk. The spy has friends in high places, and she will have to go rogue to bring him in.

Gateway

The Spiral Labyrinth

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes

It was bad enough when Henghis Hapthorn, Old Earth's foremost discriminator and die-hard empiricist, had to accept that the cosmos was shortly to rewrite its basic operating system, replacing rational cause-and-effect with detestable magic. Now he finds himself cast forward several centuries, stranded in a primitive world of contending wizards and hungry dragons, and without his magic-savvy alter ego. Worse, some entity with a will powerful enough to bend space and time is searching for him through the Nine Planes, bellowing "Bring me Apthorn!" in a voice loud enough to frighten demons.

Gateway

Vaneglory

George Turner
Authors:
George Turner

Beloved Son told how the world was given atomic power and chose the atom bomb, was given the key to genetic miracles and chose biological warfare.The world was lucky the first time; enough of it remained for salvaging in a few decades. It was simply unfortunate that in those difficult years a new menace arose-the offer of dreams-come-true in this world, here and now. There was a price of course. What World Council could not realize-and did not properly query-was the immensity of the price, but the offer was one nobody in his right mind could refuse. Or could he?Psychiatrist James Lindley recognized the danger of dealing with the Devil but fanatical Police Controller Parker saw it as the Gift of God; Angus, whose name and face changed as often as his coat, saw it as a fine game to be played, while Commissioner Ferendija saw it as an exercise in pragmatism-and Security Tech Sanders lost everything he believed in as the welter of guilt and disillusionment swallowed him whole.Under the pressure of decision the cracks showed in the highest echelons of the proud Ethical Culture. Is there a benefit so great that, if the price were the end of homo sapiens, we would pay it?George Turner's Beloved Son was the first volume in what is now recognized as on of the outstanding science fiction achievements of the past decade. Vaneglory is its successor; and, though completely self-contained, it develops with gripping imaginative brilliance the characters and situations already established in Beloved Son.

Gateway

Majestrum

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes
Orion

The Girl King

Mimi Yu
Authors:
Mimi Yu

Two sisters become unwitting rivals in a war to claim the title of Emperor in this sweeping tale of ambition, sacrifice and betrayal for readers of Sabaa Tahir and Alwyn Hamilton.All hail the Girl KingSisters Lu and Min have always understood their places as princesses of the Empire. Lu knows she is destined to become the dynasty's first female ruler, while Min is resigned to a life in her shadow.Then their father declares their male cousin Set the heir instead - a betrayal that sends the sisters down two very different paths. Determined to reclaim her birthright, Lu goes on the run. She needs an ally - and an army - if she is to succeed. Her quest leads her to Nokhai, the last surviving wolf shapeshifter. Nok wants to keep his identity secret, but finds himself forced into an uneasy alliance with the girl whose family killed everyone he ever loved . . . Alone in the volatile court, Min's hidden power awakens - a forbidden, deadly magic that could secure Set's reign . . . or allow Min to claim the throne herself. But there can only be one Emperor, and the sisters' greatest enemy could turn out to be each other.(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

Gateway

Galactic Patrol

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith

The space-pirates of Boskone raided at will, menacing the whole structure of interstellar civilization. Master-minded by a super-scientist, their conquering fleets outgunned even the mighty space cruisers of the Galactic Patrol.When Lensman Kim Kinnison of the Patrol discovered the secret Boskonian base, it was invulnerable to outside attack. But where a battle-fleet would meet insuperable resistance, a single infiltrator might penetrate the Boskonian defenses - if he had the guts to take on million-to-one odds. Kinnison had guts enough to take on the odds - even with the future of the civilized Universe riding on his shoulders . . .Galactic Patrol is the first self-contained novel in E. E. 'Doc' Smith's epic Lensman series, one of the all-time classics of adventurous, galaxy-spanning science fiction.

Gollancz

Before Mars

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman
Gateway

Template

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes
Gateway

Destiny Makers

George Turner
Authors:
George Turner
Gateway

Fool Me Twice

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes

In another sparkling and slightly askew adventure in the mode of Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams and Jack Vance, Fools Errant's Filidor Vesh sashays once more through the penultimate age, finding that love is a many splintered thing. The dandified Archon's apprentice is literally bowled over by beautiful Emmlyn Podarke -- she knocks him flat and steals his credentials, daring him to pursue her to a remote and mostly forgotten corner of Old Earth. Now Filidor must cope with philosophical pirates, prophet-seeking aliens, light-fingered mummers, and a tiny, bothersome voice in his left ear. Meanwhile, the Archon may or may not have been kidnaped, and somebody's digging up a mysterious ancient artefact buried on the Podarke family farm.

Gateway

The Compleat Guth Bandar

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes

In Old Earth's penultimate age, humanity's collective unconscious has long since been fully explored and mapped by the noönaut scholars of the Institute for Historical Inquiry. But something is threatening the integrity - perhaps even the very existence - of the noösphere, and aspiring academic Guth Bandar finds his career plans diverted by a collective unconscious that appears to be waking up.The Compleat Guth Bandar brings together the full series of Bandar stories originally published in The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction and later assembled into a "fix-up" novel: The Commons.

Gateway

Trial of Flowers

Jay Lake
Authors:
Jay Lake
Gateway

The Other

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes
Gateway

Fools Errant

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes
Gateway

The Well-Favoured Man

Elizabeth Willey
Authors:
Elizabeth Willey
Gollancz

Lies Sleeping

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Gollancz

The Books of Earthsea: The Complete Illustrated Edition

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin
Gollancz

The Belles

Dhonielle Clayton
Authors:
Dhonielle Clayton
Gollancz

Cold Iron

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

Aranthur is a student. He showed a little magical talent, is studying at the local academy, and is nothing particularly special. Others are smarter. Others are more talented. Others are quicker to pick up techniques. But none of them are with him when he breaks his journey home for the holidays in an inn. None of them step in to help when a young woman is thrown off a passing stage coach into the deep snow at the side of the road. And none of them are drawn into a fight to protect her.One of the others might have realised she was manipulating him all along . . .A powerful story about beginnings, coming of age, and the way choosing to take one step towards violence can lead to a slippery and dangerous slope, this is an accomplished fantasy series driven by strong characters and fast-paced action.'A stirring, gritty and at times quite brutal epic fantasy' Tor.com'This series promises to be the standout epic fantasy for the ages' Fantasy Book Critic

Gateway

The Sands of Mars

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

It is the twenty-first century. On Mars a dedicated group of pioneers - among them some of Earth's finest brains - struggle to change the face of the planet . . .Science fiction writer Martin Gibson finally gets a chance to visit the research colony on the Red Planet. It's a dream come true - until he discovers the difficulties and perils of survival on another world . . . and the very real terror it holds.