Jonathan Maberry - The Dragon Factory - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575086999
    • Publication date:15 Apr 2010

The Dragon Factory

By Jonathan Maberry

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Special forces expert Joe Ledger is back in another brilliant horror thriller.

Having protected the world from a zombie plague in PATIENT ZERO, Joe Ledger and his crack Department of Special Sciences combat team are thrown into an even more frightening crisis.

A genetic-engineering program has been used to create the ultimate fighting machine - soldiers bred for war, soldiers with greater strength, higher reaction speeds and an utter disregard for pain. Theirs and others.

It's a nightmare from the pages of Doctor Moreau and soon Joe and his team are up against both the big business concerns who have billions invested in the project and, on the street, adversaries bred expressly to kill them. It's enough to make you wish you were facing zombies again ...

Biographical Notes

Jonathan Maberry is a multiple BRAM STOKER AWARD-winning author. He is the author of, amongst others, GHOST ROAD BLUES, DEAD MAN'S SONG and BAD MOON RISING. He has taught creatve writing and is also a martial arts expert. He lives in the USA.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575086975
  • Publication date: 10 Feb 2011
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Gollancz
...everything a good techno thriller should be - clever, imaginative and above all thrilling. — BRITISH FANTASY SOCIETY
Orion

Guess Who?

Chris McGeorge
Authors:
Chris McGeorge
Trapeze

The Craftsman

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton
Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer? KISS THE GIRLS AND MAKE THEM DIE...A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals - the latest victim of 'The Lover'. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands - to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group. As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they're being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim - Clementine - firmly in his sights. Perfect for fans of The Cuckoo's Calling, The Girl Before and Rather Be The Devil. The thriller with twists you'll never see coming! * * * * *'My Little Eye is an enthralling, intriguing and twisty tale for all of us armchair detectives who think we know it all.' Liz Nugent, author of Lying In Wait and Unravelling Oliver'The first novel in what promises to be a riveting new series, My Little Eye is a one-sitting read: gripping, clever and worringly plausible.' - Mick Herron* * * * * What readers are saying about My Little Eye: 'This book is AMAZING!!!' Goodreads'Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' - Goodreads 'My Little Eye is a bang on psychological thriller of the most addictive kind.' Goodreads'Beautifully paced writing that had me speeding through every chapter at a rate of knots. Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' Goodreads

Gollancz

Sweet Dreams

Tricia Sullivan
Authors:
Tricia Sullivan

Charlie is a dreamhacker, able to enter your dreams and mould their direction. Forget that recurring nightmare about being naked at an exam - Charlie will step in to your dream, bring you a dressing gown and give you the answers. As far as she knows, she's the only person who can do this. Unfortunately, her power comes with one drawback - Charlie also has narcolepsy, and may fall asleep at the most inopportune moment.But in London 2022, her skill is in demand. And when she is hired by a minor celebrity - who also happens to be the new girlfriend of Charlie's lamented ex - who dreams of a masked Creeper then sleepwalks off a tall building, Charlie begins to realise that someone else might be able to invade dreams...

W&N

Under the Harrow

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry

Winner of the Edgar Award for Best First Novel 2017When Nora takes the train from London to visit her sister in the Oxfordshire countryside, she expects to find her waiting at the station, or at home cooking dinner. But when she walks into Rachel's familiar house, what she finds is entirely different: her sister has been the victim of a brutal murder. Stunned and adrift, Nora finds she can't return to her former life. An unsolved assault in the past has shaken her faith in the police, and she can't trust them to find her sister's killer. Haunted by the murder and the secrets that surround it, Nora is under the harrow: distressed and in danger. As Nora's fear turns to obsession, she becomes as unrecognisable as the sister her investigation uncovers. A riveting psychological thriller, Under the Harrow explores the fierce love between two sisters and the terrifying power of the past.

Gollancz

The Switch

Justina Robson
Authors:
Justina Robson

This groundbreaking new novel from one of the genre's most respected authors is a thrilling mix of science, magic and politics.In Harmony, only model citizens are welcome.A perfect society must be maintained. The defective must be eradicated. For orphans like Nico and Twostar, this means a life that's brutal, regulated and short. But Nico and Twostar are survivors, and when they're offered a way out of the slums, they take it. Unfortunately, no one told Nico the deal included being sentenced to death for the murder of one of Harmony's most notorious gang leaders.Or that to gain his freedom, first he must lose his mind.

Gollancz

Xeelee: Endurance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Return to the eon-spanning and universe-crossing conflict between humanity and the unknowable alien Xeelee in this selection of uncollected and unpublished stories, newly edited and placed in chronological reading order.From tales charting the earliest days of man's adventure to the stars to stories of Old Earth, four billion years in the future, the range and startling imagination of Baxter is always on display. As humanity rises and falls, ebbs and flows, one thing is always needed - the ability to endure.Contains eleven short stories and novellas.

Gollancz

A Quantum Mythology

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

Praised by Stephen Baxter and Adam Roberts, reviewed ecstatically by SFX magazine, Gavin Smith is one of the brightest stars of space opera.In the far future, many years after the loss of earth, humanity has changed. Strength is the only way to survive. And the most vicious man alive has a new con in mind... Here and now, a man with unnatural powers hunts down a killer with impossible abilities. Infused with a barely-understood alien technology, the two are merely pawns in a bigger game...A long time ago, the last tribes of Northern Britain face an unimaginable enemy. Demons risen from the sea, absorbing and twisting everything they touch. But there are some among the tribes who have power, who will fight...And all of these times are connected...Gavin Smith's new epic space opera is a wide-ranging exploration of the past, present and future of mankind.

W&N

Jemima Shore's First Case

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser
Gollancz

Barricade

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace

Kenstibec was genetically engineered to build a new world, but the apocalypse forced a career change. These days he drives a taxi instead.A fast-paced, droll and disturbing novel, BARRICADE is a savage road trip across the dystopian landscape of post-apocalypse Britain; narrated by the cold-blooded yet magnetic antihero, Kenstibec.Kenstibec is a member of the 'Ficial' race, a breed of merciless super-humans. Their war on humanity has left Britain a wasteland, where Ficials hide in barricaded cities, besieged by tribes of human survivors. Originally optimised for construction, Kenstibec earns his keep as a taxi driver, running any Ficial who will pay from one surrounded city to another. The trips are always eventful, but this will be his toughest yet. His fare is a narcissistic journalist who's touchy about her luggage. His human guide is constantly plotting to kill him. And that's just the start of his troubles. On his journey he encounters ten-foot killer rats, a mutant king with a TV fixation, a drug-crazed army, and even the creator of the Ficial race. He also finds time to uncover a terrible plot to destroy his species for good - and humanity too.

Gollancz

Vampire Most Wanted

Lynsay Sands
Authors:
Lynsay Sands

For Basha Argeneau, anything is better than facing her estranged family. Even hiding out in sweltering southern California. But when a sexy Vamp in black shows up determined to bring her back to the clan, she'll do anything to keep far, far away from the past she can't outrun.Marcus Notte isn't here to play games - especially not with someone as crazy as the infamous blonde. Asked by Lucian Argeneau to bring her back for questioning, Marcus is determined to carry out the request - no matter how the seductive little mind-reading Vamp feels about it.Basha doesn't mind fighting fire with fire, especially with a hot immortal involved. But if this Vamp wants to take her away, he'll have to catch her first ...

Gateway

To Say Nothing of the Dog

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis

Ned Henry is a time-travelling historian who specialises in the mid-20th century - currently engaged in researching the bombed-out Coventry Cathedral. He's also made so many drops into the past that he's suffering from a dangerously advanced case of 'time-lag'. Unfortunately for Ned, an emergency dash to Victorian England is required and he's the only available historian. But Ned's time-lag is so bad that he's not sure what the errand is - which is bad news since, if he fails, history could unravel around him ...Winner of the Hugo Award for best novel, 1999Introduction by Pat Cadigan

Gollancz

Turtle Recall

Stephen Briggs, Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Stephen Briggs, Terry Pratchett
Gollancz

Doomsday Book

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis
Gollancz

The Fractal Prince

Hannu Rajaniemi
Authors:
Hannu Rajaniemi
Gollancz

All Clear

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis
Gollancz

Eve: Templar One

Tony Gonzales
Authors:
Tony Gonzales

The technology to download the consciousnesses of pilots into multiple clones, the Capsuleers, has finally delivered the dream of immortal soldiers. Train a soldier just once and then however many times he dies he will keep on getting more experienced, more battle toughened, as his brain is downloaded into a ready supply of cloned bodies.But no-one anticpated the effects of the multiple traumas, the multiple stresses of multiple lives and deaths on the battle field.War is hell. And now it can last forever for everyone.A fast-moving action-packed novel of interstellar war and high-tech combat, backed by massive cross promotion.

Gollancz

The Raven eBook Collection

James Barclay
Authors:
James Barclay

All seven books detailing the legend of the Raven Mercenary band, now collected in one bundleContains seven fantastic novels: DAWNTHIEF, NOONSHADE, NIGHTCHILD, ELFSORROW, SHADOWHEART, DEMONSTORM and RAVENSOUL

Gollancz

The Brightonomicon

Robert Rankin
Authors:
Robert Rankin
Gollancz

The Toyminator

Robert Rankin
Authors:
Robert Rankin