Lucius Shepard - The Dragon Griaule - Orion Publishing Group

The Dragon Griaule

By Lucius Shepard

  • Paperback
  • £16.99

6,000 feet long from head to tail ... these are the stories of the Dragon Griaule.

Lucius Shepard's acclaimed Dragon Griaule stories are presented here for the first time in a single volume. This Fantasy Masterworks edition contains:

'The Man Who Painted the Dragon Griaule'
'The Scalehunter's Beautiful Daughter'
'The Father of Stones'
'Liar's House'
'The Taborin Scale'
'The Skull'

This is the definitive tale of the Dragon Griaule: a beast so immense its body forms part of the landscape ...

Biographical Notes

Lucius Shepard (1947 - 2014)
Lucius Shepard was born in the USA in 1947. From the mid-1960s to the early 1980s he lived in various parts of the world and travelled widely. He won the John W. Campbell Award for best new writer in 1985 and also won the World Fantasy Award twice. He died in 2014.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575089921
  • Publication date: 10 Oct 2013
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gateway

Solstice Wood

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip
Gateway

The Bards of Bone Plain

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip

Eager to graduate from the school on the hill, Phelan Cle chose Bone Plain, oft immortalised by poets and debated by scholars, for his final paper because he thought it would be an easy topic. It was commonly accepted - even at a school steeped in bardic tradition - that Bone Plain, with its three trials, three terrors and three treasures, was nothing more than a legend, a metaphor. But as his research leads him to the life of Nairn, the Wandering Bard, the Unforgiven, Phelan starts to wonder if there are any easy answers...

Gateway

Harrowing The Dragon

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip
Gateway

Supernatural Stories featuring Whirlwind of Death

R L Fanthorpe, Patricia Fanthorpe, Lionel Fanthorpe
Authors:
R L Fanthorpe, Patricia Fanthorpe, Lionel Fanthorpe

Have you ever faced one of those savage biting winds that try to hurl men from perilous heights? Have you sailed into the teeth of a vicious 90 m.p.h. gale and wondered whether there was some strange power behind the wind? An evil power? A dark power?

Gateway

Supernatural Stories featuring Sands of Eternity

R L Fanthorpe, Patricia Fanthorpe, Lionel Fanthorpe
Authors:
R L Fanthorpe, Patricia Fanthorpe, Lionel Fanthorpe

Sands of Eternity is the breath-taking saga of forbidden, secret evil erupting beneath the thin veneer of Yesterday.

Gateway

Supernatural Stories featuring The Thing from Sheol

Bron Fane, Patricia Fanthorpe, Lionel Fanthorpe
Authors:
Bron Fane, Patricia Fanthorpe, Lionel Fanthorpe

"The Thing from Sheol" by Bron Fane is the nerve-chilling saga of a thing from the next world which tore down the flimsy curtain of Reality.

Gateway

Supernatural Stories featuring The Golden Warrior

Lionel Roberts, Patricia Fanthorpe, Lionel Fanthorpe
Authors:
Lionel Roberts, Patricia Fanthorpe, Lionel Fanthorpe

Who is the mysterious Golden Warrior lingering near the ancient burial grounds? And what strange apparition haunts the dreaded Goodwin sands?Another spinetingling collection from the prolific pen of R L Fanthorpe!

Gollancz

The Vanishing Throne

Elizabeth May
Authors:
Elizabeth May
Gateway

In the Forests of Serre

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip

Everyone in the kingdom of Serre avoids the Mother of All Witches, an ugly, powerful and dangerous woman who lives in the forest. When the Prince of Serre, blinded by grief at the death of his wife and their newborn, rides down the witch's white hen, he earns her curse. Prince Ronan believes nothing can be worse than what he has already experienced, but he soon discovers that he is wrong. The curse of the witch in the Forest of Serre has only begun to exert its baleful influence...

Gateway

Alphabet of Thorn

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip

Deep inside a palace on the edge of the world, the orphan Nepenthe pores over books in the royal library, translating their languages and learning their secrets. At sixteen, she knows little of the outside world. But when a young mage gives Nepenthe a book that has defied translation - a book written in a language of thorns - it speaks to Nepenthe's soul, and becomes her secret obsession. As the words escape the brambles they reveal themselves - and begin to reveal Nepenthe's destiny ...

Gateway

The Bell at Sealey Head

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip
Gateway

Song for the Basilisk

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip

As a child, Rook had been taken in by the bards of Luly, and raised as one of their own. Of his past he knew nothing - except faint memories of fire and death that he'd do anything to forget. But nightmares, and a new threat to the island that had become his own, would not let him escape the dreaded fate of his true family. Haunted by the music of the bards, he left the only home he knew to wander the land of the power-hungry basilisk who had destroyed his family. And perhaps, finally, to find a future in the fulfillment of his forgotten destiny.

Gateway

The Tower at Stony Wood

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip

During the wedding festivities of his king, Cyan Dag, a knight of Gloinmere, is sought out by a mysterious bard and told a terrifying tale: that the king has married a false queen - a lie cloaked in ancient and powerful sorcery. Spurred on by his steadfast honour and loyalty, Cyan departs on a dangerous quest to rescue the real queen from her tower prison - to prevent war, and to awaken magic in a land that has lost its way ...

Gateway

Od Magic

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip

Brenden Vetch has a gift. With an innate sense he cannot explain to himself or describe to others, he connects to the agricultural world, nurturing gardens to flourish and instinctively knowing the healing properties each plant and herb has to offer. But Brenden's gift isolates him from people, and from becoming part of a community - until the day he receives a personal invitation from the wizard Od, to serve as a gardener in her great school of wizards. But even Brenden isn't fully aware of the full extent of his power - and the true reason Od has recruited him ...

Gateway

Supernatural Stories featuring The Frozen Tomb

Leo Brett, Patricia Fanthorpe, Lionel Fanthorpe
Authors:
Leo Brett, Patricia Fanthorpe, Lionel Fanthorpe

Another spinetingling collection from the prolific pen of R L Fanthorpe!The Frozen Tomb: Unliving and undying she waited in a casket of ice.Sleeping Place: His thin lips curled back to display rows of sharp, white teeth.Strange Country: "What is he doing there? How could he escape?"Cry in the Night: The wolf cry sounded strangely human in the darkness...The Thing from Boulter's Cavern: Inhuman survivors of a weird, ancient race lived on in the labyrinth.The Coveters: "Greed is a psychic disease...maybe it has a psychic cure...?"

Orion

The Dread Wyrm

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

SOME ARE BORN TO POWERSOME SEIZE ITAND SOME HAVE THE WISDOM NEVER TO WIELD ITThe Red Knight has stood against soldiers, against armies and against the might of an empire without flinching. He's fought on real and on magical battlefields alike, and now he's facing one of the greatest challenges yet. A tournament.A joyous spring event, the flower of the nobility will present arms and ride against each other for royal favour and acclaim. It's a political contest - and one which the Red Knight has the skill to win. But the stakes may be higher than he thinks. The court of Alba has been infiltrated by a dangerous faction of warlike knights, led by the greatest knight in the world: Jean de Vrailly - and the prize he's fighting for isn't royal favour, but the throne of Alba itself.Where there is competition there is opportunity; the question is, will the Red Knight take it? Or will the creatures of the Wild seize their chance instead . . . 'A stirring, gritty and at times quite brutal epic fantasy' Tor.com'This series promises to be the standout epic fantasy for the ages' Fantasy Book CriticRead by Neil Dickson(p) 2015 Hachette Audio

Gateway

Longtusk

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Takes the story of the mammoths back into prehistory; 16,000 B.C.It is a time when the mammoths face the vicious intrusions into their world of the Lost - mankind. And it is up to Longtusk, the only Bull to feature in the great story cycle of the mammoths to lead them away to a new land, safe from the lost.

Gateway

Grendel

John C. Gardner
Authors:
John C. Gardner

When Grendel is drawn up from the caves under the mere, where he lives with his bloated, inarticulate hag of a mother, into the fresh night air, it is to lay waste Hrothgar's meadhall and heap destruction on the humans he finds there. What else can he do? For he is not like the men who busy themselves with God and love and beauty. He sees the infuriating human rage for order and recognises the meaninglessness of his own existence. GRENDEL is John Gardner's masterpiece; it vividly reinvents the world of Beowulf. In Grendel himself, a creature of grotesque comedy, pain and disillusioned intelligence, Gardner has created the most unforgettable monster in fantasy.

Orion

Shadows of Self

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Fans of Robert Jordan and George RR Martin alike have found a new champion of epic fantasy in Brandon Sanderson. And now, in the first of two sequels to The Alloy Of Law the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author returns to the world of Mistborn anda hunt for a mysterious assassin. The criminal elite of Elendel were invited to an auction - which became a massacre, when an unknown assailant slaughtered everyone in attendance. Now Wax and Wayne, both able to use magic, both lawmen from the rough and ungoverned frontier territories, are on the case. All the clues suggest the killer is a rogue kandra - a secretive, almost mythical, figure who acts from the shadows - called Bleeder . . . and that the governor is her next target. Bleeder, and the conspiracy behind the killings, has to be stopped . . . before the city is plunged into chaos.A brilliant adventure and a gripping story, Shadows of Self offers fans of The Alloy of Law everything they've been hoping for and, this being a Brandon Sanderson book, more, much more.Read by Michael Kramer(p) 2015 Macmillan Audio

Orion

The Cathedral of Known Things

Edward Cox
Authors:
Edward Cox

This audiobook features an exclusive interview with Edward Cox and Imogen Church.Also available, THE CHAMPION OF DEAD TIME, a prelude to THE CATHEDRAL OF KNOWN THINGS.Divided, hunted and short on resources, the surviving members of the Relic Guild are in real trouble. Their old enemy, the Genii, and their resurrected master have infiltrated Labrys Town and taken over the police force. So the Relic Guild must flee their home, and set off on a dangerous journey across the worlds of the Aelfir. One that will lead them to a weapon which might destroy the Genii. Or the whole universe...And forty years before all this, the war which led to the fall of the Genii continues. And what happens to the Relic Guild during that conflict will change the course of their desperate flight.Read by Imogen Church(p) 2015 Orion Publishing Group