Lucius Shepard - The Dragon Griaule - Orion Publishing Group

The Dragon Griaule

By Lucius Shepard

  • Paperback
  • £16.99

6,000 feet long from head to tail ... these are the stories of the Dragon Griaule.

Lucius Shepard's acclaimed Dragon Griaule stories are presented here for the first time in a single volume. This Fantasy Masterworks edition contains:

'The Man Who Painted the Dragon Griaule'
'The Scalehunter's Beautiful Daughter'
'The Father of Stones'
'Liar's House'
'The Taborin Scale'
'The Skull'

This is the definitive tale of the Dragon Griaule: a beast so immense its body forms part of the landscape ...

Biographical Notes

Lucius Shepard (1947 - 2014)
Lucius Shepard was born in the USA in 1947. From the mid-1960s to the early 1980s he lived in various parts of the world and travelled widely. He won the John W. Campbell Award for best new writer in 1985 and also won the World Fantasy Award twice. He died in 2014.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575089921
  • Publication date: 10 Oct 2013
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

The Girl King

Mimi Yu
Authors:
Mimi Yu

Two sisters become unwitting rivals in a war to claim the title of Emperor in this sweeping tale of ambition, sacrifice and betrayal for readers of Tomi Adeyemi, Sabaa Tahir and Alwyn Hamilton.All hail the Girl KingSisters Lu and Min have always understood their places as princesses of the Empire. Lu knows she is destined to become the dynasty's first female ruler, while Min is resigned to a life in her shadow. Then their father declares their male cousin Set the heir instead - a betrayal that sends the sisters down two very different paths. Determined to reclaim her birthright, Lu goes on the run. She needs an ally - and an army - if she is to succeed. Her quest leads her to Nokhai, the last surviving wolf shapeshifter. Nok wants to keep his identity secret, but finds himself forced into an uneasy alliance with the girl whose family killed everyone he ever loved . . . Alone in the volatile court, Min's hidden power awakens - a forbidden, deadly magic that could secure Set's reign . . . or allow Min to claim the throne herself. But there can only be one Emperor, and the sisters' greatest enemy could turn out to be each other.

Gollancz

Mistborn: Secret History

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gollancz

Dragon Heart

Peter Higgins
Authors:
Peter Higgins
Orion

Lies Sleeping

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch

Martin Chorley, aka the Faceless Man, wanted for multiple counts of murder, fraud and crimes against humanity, has been unmasked and is on the run.Peter Grant, Detective Constable and apprentice wizard, now plays a key role in an unprecedented joint operation to bring Chorley to justice.But even as the unwieldy might of the Metropolitan Police bears down on its foe, Peter uncovers clues that Chorley, far from being finished, is executing the final stages of a long term plan.A plan that has its roots in London's two thousand bloody years of history, and could literally bring the city to its knees.To save his beloved city Peter's going to need help from his former best friend and colleague - Lesley May - who brutally betrayed him and everything he thought she believed in. And, far worse, he might even have to come to terms with the malevolent supernatural killer and agent of chaos known as Mr Punch...Read by Kobna Holdbrook-SmithMP3 ON CD - THIS MP3-CD CANNOT BE PLAYED ON ALL DISC PLAYERS. PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU HAVE ACCESS TO AN MP3 COMPATIBLE DEVICE.(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Gollancz

Skyward

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Spensa's world has been under attack for hundreds of years. An alien race called the Krell leads onslaught after onslaught from the sky in a never-ending campaign to destroy humankind. Humanity's only defense is to take to their ships and fight the enemy in the skies. Pilots have become the heroes of what's left of the human race. Spensa has always dreamed of being one of them; of soaring above Earth and proving her bravery. But her fate is intertwined with her father's - a pilot who was killed years ago when he abruptly deserted his team, placing Spensa's chances of attending flight school somewhere between slim and none. No one will let Spensa forget what her father did, but she is still determined to fly. And the Krell just made that a possibility. They've doubled their fleet, making Spensa's world twice as dangerous . . . but their desperation to survive might just take her skyward . . . Praise for Brandon Sanderson's #1 New York Times Bestselling Reckoners series: 'Another win for Sanderson . . . he's simply a brilliant writer' Patrick Rothfuss 'Action-packed' EW.com 'Compelling . . . Sanderson uses plot twists that he teases enough for readers to pick up on to distract from the more dramatic reveals he has in store' AV Club

Gollancz

Archangel's Prophecy

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Orion

Wicca

Harmony Nice
Authors:
Harmony Nice
Gollancz

Legion: The Many Lives of Stephen Leeds

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Orion

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding
Authors:
Chris Wooding

A land under occupation. A legendary sword. A young man's journey to find his destiny.Aren has lived by the rules all his life. He's never questioned it; that's just the way things are. But then his father is executed for treason, and he and his best friend Cade are thrown into a prison mine, doomed to work until they drop. Unless they can somehow break free . . .But what lies beyond the prison walls is more terrifying still. Rescued by a man who hates him yet is oath-bound to protect him, pursued by inhuman forces, Aren slowly accepts that everything he knew about his world was a lie. The rules are not there to protect him, or his people, but to enslave them. A revolution is brewing, and Aren is being drawn into it, whether he likes it or not.The key to the revolution is the Ember Blade. The sword of kings, the Excalibur of his people. Only with the Ember Blade in hand can their people be inspired to rise up . . . but it's locked in an impenetrable vault in the most heavily guarded fortress in the land.All they have to do now is steal it . . .Read by Simon Bubb(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Trapeze

Fierce Fairytales

Nikita Gill
Authors:
Nikita Gill
Gollancz

Cold Iron

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Gollancz

Wild Hunger

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill
Gollancz

Slaying It

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill
Gollancz

The Quanderhorn Xperimentations

Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall
Authors:
Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall

ADAPTED BACKWARDS VIA THE FUTURE FROM THE RADIO 4 SERIES BEFORE IT WAS MADE A richer, deeper, more comprehensive exploration of the Quanderhorn phenomenon. With added secrets.England, 1952.A time of peace, regeneration and hope. A Golden Age.Unfortunately, it's been 1952 for the past 65 years.Meet Professor Quanderhorn: a brilliant, maverick scientific genius with absolutely no moral compass. Assisted by a rag-tag crew - his part-insect "son" (reputedly 'a major breakthrough in Artificial Stupidity'), a recovering amnesiac, a brilliant scientist with a half-clockwork brain, and a captured Martian hostage - he'll save the world.Even if he has to destroy it in the process.With his Dangerous Giant Space Laser, Utterly Untested Matter Transfuser Booth and Fleets of Monkey-driven Lorries, he's not afraid to push the boundaries of science to their very limit.And far, far beyond ...

Gollancz

Sea of Rust

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill
Gollancz

The Smoke

Simon Ings
Authors:
Simon Ings

Simon Ings' The Smoke is about love, loss and loneliness in an incomprehensible world. Humanity has been split into three different species. Mutual incomprehension has fractured the globe. As humans race to be the first of their kind to reach the stars, another Great War looms. For you that means returning to Yorkshire and the town of your birth, where factories churn out the parts for gigantic spaceships. You're done with the pretentions of the capital and its unfathomable architecture. You're done with Georgy Chernoy and his questionable defeat of death. You're done with his daughter, Fel, and losing all the time. You're done with love. But soon enough you will find yourself in the Smoke again, drawn back to the life you thought you'd left behind. You're done with love. But love's not done with you.

Seven Dials

Tarot, Orion Plain and Simple

Leanna Greenaway
Authors:
Leanna Greenaway

A practical guide on how to master the art of reading cards.Tarot is a popular form of divination that has been used for centuries. By following the simple guidelines set out in this book, you will come to understand how easy it is to master the art of reading cards. Many people struggle with the many different tarot books available today ? they can be difficult for the novice to follow, and many present differing interpretations of the cards. This practical guide brings tarot into the 21st century, making the card meanings relevant and easy to understand and follow.Tarot, Orion Plain & Simple offers modern and up-to-date interpretations for all 78 cards. Once you know these basics, you'll soon progress on to more advanced and complex tarot books. Throughout this useful book, Leanna Greenaway discusses various card groups for interpretation, focusing mainly on the Celtic cross spread.

Seven Dials

Fairies, Orion Plain and Simple

Various
Authors:
Various
Gollancz

The Republic of Thieves

Scott Lynch
Authors:
Scott Lynch
Gollancz

Last Argument Of Kings

Joe Abercrombie
Authors:
Joe Abercrombie

The end is coming.Logen Ninefingers might only have one more fight in him - but it's going to be a big one. Battle rages across the North, the King of the Northmen still stands firm, and there's only one man who can stop him. His oldest friend, and his oldest enemy. It's past time for the Bloody-Nine to come home.With too many masters and too little time, Superior Glokta is fighting a different kind of war. A secret struggle in which no-one is safe, and no-one can be trusted. His days with a sword are far behind him. It's a good thing blackmail, threats and torture still work well enough.Jezal dan Luthar has decided that winning glory is far too painful, and turned his back on soldiering for a simple life with the woman he loves. But love can be painful too, and glory has a nasty habit of creeping up on a man when he least expects it.While the King of the Union lies on his deathbead, the peasants revolt and the nobles scramble to steal his crown. No-one believes that the shadow of war is falling across the very heart of the Union. The First of the Magi has a plan to save the world, as he always does. But there are risks. There is no risk more terrible, after all, than to break the First Law...