Ben Aaronovitch - Moon Over Soho - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575097636
    • Publication date:21 Apr 2011
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409142898
    • Publication date:21 Jul 2011
Books in this series

Moon Over Soho

The Second Rivers of London novel

By Ben Aaronovitch

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Audio sample
Peter Grant is not just a lowly Detective Constable, he's also apprenticed to the last wizard in Britain: policing will never be the same again!

I was my dad's vinyl-wallah: I changed his records while he lounged around drinking tea, and that's how I know my Argo from my Tempo. And it's why, when Dr Walid called me to the morgue to listen to a corpse, I recognised the tune it was playing. Something violently supernatural had happened to the victim, strong enough to leave its imprint like a wax cylinder recording. Cyrus Wilkinson, part-time jazz saxophonist and full-time accountant, had apparently dropped dead of a heart attack just after finishing a gig in a Soho jazz club. He wasn't the first.

No one was going to let me exhume corpses to see if they were playing my tune, so it was back to old-fashioned legwork, starting in Soho, the heart of the scene. I didn't trust the lovely Simone, Cyrus' ex-lover, professional jazz kitten and as inviting as a Rubens' portrait, but I needed her help: there were monsters stalking Soho, creatures feeding off that special gift that separates the great musician from someone who can raise a decent tune. What they take is beauty. What they leave behind is sickness, failure and broken lives.

And as I hunted them, my investigation got tangled up in another story: a brilliant trumpet player, Richard 'Lord' Grant - my father - who managed to destroy his own career, twice. That's the thing about policing: most of the time you're doing it to maintain public order. Occasionally you're doing it for justice. And maybe once in a career, you're doing it for revenge.

Biographical Notes

Ben Aaronovitch's work reflects his abiding fascination and love for what he modestly likes to refer to as the 'Capital of the World', where he was born and raised. He works as a London bookseller when he is not writing novels and TV scripts.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575097629
  • Publication date: 13 Oct 2011
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

The Trouble With Vampires

Lynsay Sands
Authors:
Lynsay Sands
Orion

What She Saw Last Night

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross
Trapeze

The Bad Mothers' Book Club

Keris Stainton
Authors:
Keris Stainton

Since moving to the Liverpudlian seaside after her husband's career change, Emma Chance's life consists of the following: long walks on the beach (with the dog), early nights (with the kids) and Netflix (no chill).Bored and lonely, when Emma is cordially invited to the exclusive cool school-mums' book club, hosted by Head of PTA and footballer's wife, Jools Jackson, she thinks her luck may finally be about to change. She soon realises she may have made a grave mistake when she realises it's all about books, and less about wine and gossip - but it's always better to stick things out, isn't it?Or not.After a few months and a few awkward moments involving a red wine on white carpet accident and a swear-word incident involving Jools's daughter, Emma is ungraciously kicked out of the book club. Exhausted and exiled, she decides it's about time she fights back against the shame and humiliation. Enlisting the help of some similar-thinking mums, Emma sets up her own book club - no cleaners, polite conversation or reading required: this is the Bad Mother's Book Club.

Orion

The Garden on Holly Street Part One

Megan Attley
Authors:
Megan Attley

Orion

Shadows of Athens

JM Alvey
Authors:
JM Alvey
Trapeze

Bonnie and Stan

Anna Stuart
Authors:
Anna Stuart
Gollancz

Master of Sorrows

Justin Travis Call
Authors:
Justin Travis Call

The Academy of Chaenbalu has stood against magic for centuries.Hidden from the world, acting from the shadows, it trains its students to detect and retrieve magic artifacts, which it jealously guards from the misuse of others. Because magic is dangerous: something that heals can also harm, and a power that aids one person may destroy another.Of the Academy's many students, only the most skilled can become Avatars - warrior thieves, capable of infiltrating the most heavily guarded vaults - and only the most determined can be trusted to resist the lure of magic.More than anything, Annev de Breth wants to become one of them.

Gollancz

Dragon Heart

Peter Higgins
Authors:
Peter Higgins

As they fight their way across a dying land, Shay and Cass will do anything to keep their daughter, Hope, alive. The family faces unimaginable dangers as they try to stay together, and stay alive, long enough to reach safety. But when the heart of a dragon starts to beat in Hope's chest, they fear they'll lose her to a battle they can't possibly help her win . . . Critically acclaimed author Peter Higgins has written a richly evocative post-apocalyptic fantasy novel about how, even in the darkest of times, we have so much to lose.

Orion

The Girl King

Mimi Yu
Authors:
Mimi Yu

Two sisters become unwitting rivals in a war to claim the title of Emperor in this sweeping tale of ambition, sacrifice and betrayal for readers of Sabaa Tahir and Alwyn Hamilton.All hail the Girl KingSisters Lu and Min have always understood their places as princesses of the Empire. Lu knows she is destined to become the dynasty's first female ruler, while Min is resigned to a life in her shadow.Then their father declares their male cousin Set the heir instead - a betrayal that sends the sisters down two very different paths. Determined to reclaim her birthright, Lu goes on the run. She needs an ally - and an army - if she is to succeed. Her quest leads her to Nokhai, the last surviving wolf shapeshifter. Nok wants to keep his identity secret, but finds himself forced into an uneasy alliance with the girl whose family killed everyone he ever loved . . . Alone in the volatile court, Min's hidden power awakens - a forbidden, deadly magic that could secure Set's reign . . . or allow Min to claim the throne herself. But there can only be one Emperor, and the sisters' greatest enemy could turn out to be each other.(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

Gateway

Devil or Angel and Other Stories

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes
Gollancz

The Snow

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
Gateway

Fool Me Twice

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes

In another sparkling and slightly askew adventure in the mode of Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams and Jack Vance, Fools Errant's Filidor Vesh sashays once more through the penultimate age, finding that love is a many splintered thing. The dandified Archon's apprentice is literally bowled over by beautiful Emmlyn Podarke -- she knocks him flat and steals his credentials, daring him to pursue her to a remote and mostly forgotten corner of Old Earth. Now Filidor must cope with philosophical pirates, prophet-seeking aliens, light-fingered mummers, and a tiny, bothersome voice in his left ear. Meanwhile, the Archon may or may not have been kidnaped, and somebody's digging up a mysterious ancient artefact buried on the Podarke family farm.

W&N

The Man In My Basement

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

The man at Charles Blakey's door has a proposition almost too strange for words. The stranger offers him $50,000 in cash to spend the summer in Charles's basement, and Charles cannot even begin to guess why. The beautiful house has been in the Blakey family for generations, but Charles has just lost his job and is behind on his mortgage payments. The money would be welcome. But Charles Blakey is black and Anniston Bennet is white, and it is clear that the stranger wants more than a basement view. There is something deeper and darker about his request, and Charles does not need any more trouble. But financial necessity leaves him no choice. Once Anniston Bennet is installed in his basement, Charles is cast into a role he never dreamed of. Anniston has some very particular requests for his landlord, and try as he might, Charles cannot avoid being lured into Bennet's strange world. At first he resists, but soon he is tempted--tempted to understand a set of codes that has always eluded him, tempted by the opportunity to understand the secret ways of white folks. Charles's summer with a man in his basement turns into an exploration of inconceivable worlds of power and manipulation, and unimagined realms of humanity. Walter Mosley pierces long-hidden veins of justice and morality with startling insight into the deepest mysteries of human nature

Gollancz

The Relic Guild Trilogy

Edward Cox
Authors:
Edward Cox
W&N

RL's Dream

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

Winner of the 1996 Black Caucus of the American Library Association Literary Award in FictionSoupspoon Wise is dying on the unforgiving streets of New York City, years and worlds away from the Mississippi delta, where he once jammed with blues legend Robert "RL" Johnson. It was an experience that burned indelibly into Soupspoon's soul - never mind that they said RL's gift came from the Devil himself. Now it's Soupspoon's turn to strike a deal with a stranger. An alcoholic angel of mercy, Kiki Waters isn't much better off than Soupspoon, but she too is a child of the South, and knows its pull. And she is determined to let Soupspoon ride out the final notes of his haunting blues dream, to pour out the remarkable tale of what he's seen, where he's been - and where he's going.

Orion

Christmas at the Beach Hut

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Orion

My Mamma Mia Christmas

Annie Robertson
Authors:
Annie Robertson
Orion

Not Just for Christmas

Natalie Cox
Authors:
Natalie Cox
Orion

The Adults

Caroline Hulse
Authors:
Caroline Hulse
W&N

Time is a Killer

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi

It is summer 1989 and fifteen-year-old Clotilde is on holiday with her parents in Corsica. On a twisty mountain road, their car comes off at a curve and plunges into a ravine. Only Clotilde survives.Twenty-seven years later, she returns to Corsica with her husband and their sulky teenage daughter. Clotilde wants the trip to do two things - to help exorcise her past, and to build a bridge between her and her daughter. But in the very place where she spent that summer all those years ago, she receives a letter. From her mother. As if she were still alive.As fragments of memory come back, Clotilde begins to question the past. And yet it all seems impossible - she saw the corpses of her mother, her father, her brother. She has lived with their ghosts. But then who sent this letter - and why?