Stephen Baxter - Ultima - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575116900
    • Publication date:27 Nov 2014
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409158813
    • Publication date:11 Dec 2014

Ultima

By Stephen Baxter

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The astonishing new SF novel from multi-award winning author Stephen Baxter - a dizzying exploration of alternate universes and deep time.

Fresh from his latest collaboration with Terry Pratchett on the Long Earth sequence Stephen Baxter now returns to the mysteries and challanges first hinted at in his acclaimed novel PROXIMA.

In PROXIMA we discovered ancient alien artifacts on the planet of Per Ardua - hatches that allowed us to step across light years of space as if we were stepping into another room. The universe opened up to us. Now in ULTIMA the consequences of this new freedom make themselves felt. And we discover that there are minds in the universe that are billions of years old and they have a plan for us. For some of us. But as we learn the true nature of the universe we also discover that we have countless pasts all meeting in this present and that our future is terrifyingly finite. It's time for us to fight to take back control.

This is grand scale, big idea SF of the best possible sort. It is set to build on the massive success of PROXIMA and define Stephen Baxter's work going forward.

Biographical Notes

Stephen Baxter is the pre-eminent SF writer of his generation. With Terry Pratchett he has co-authored the Long Earth novels. Published around the world he has also won major awards in the UK, US, Germany, and Japan. Born in 1957 he has degrees from Cambridge and Southampton. He lives in Northumberland with his wife.


Visit Stephen Baxter's website at www.stephen-baxter.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575116894
  • Publication date: 08 Oct 2015
  • Page count: 560
  • Imprint: Gollancz
[Stephen Baxter] is one of the few still producing massive, fastidiously textured SF epics that engage the intelligence of the reader. Ideas come thick and fast, and an exhilarating sense of wonder is guaranteed. — The Independent
Stephen Baxter is an incredibly skilled author - a successor to Arthur C Clarke and Philip K Dick who has kept me entertained for years with his clever books written around huge ideas and concepts. — Book Bag
Ultima is a tour-de-force of grand Space Opera, where an unbridled enthusiasm and super-long timelines create a tale full of wonder and cool imaginings. Whilst enjoying the travelogue, it is clear that, in the finest Clarkean tradition, the joy of discovery leads to even greater mysteries to be understood. Ultima is great fun. I loved this book, even more than the first, and I really want to read the next book as soon as possible. Definitely one of my favourites of 2014. — SFF World
this is a hard SF novel that battles bravely with big ideas. With every passing year, the oft-made remark that Baxter is Arthur C. Clarke's heir seems more and more apt — SFX
W&N

A Double Life

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
Gollancz

Luna: Wolf Moon

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald
Gollancz

From Darkest Skies

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters

After a five year sabbatical following the tragic death of his wife and fellow agent Alysha, Keon Rause returns to the distant colony world of Magenta to resume service with the Magentan Intelligence Service. With him he brings an artificial recreation of his wife's personality, a simulacrum built from every digital trace she left behind. She has been constructed with one purpose - to discover the truth behind her own death - but Keon's relationship with her has grown into something more, something frighteningly dependent, something that verges on love.Cashing in old favours, Keon uses his return to the Service to take on a series of cases that allow him and the artificial Alysha to piece together his wife's last days. His investigations lead him inexorably along the same paths Alysha followed five years earlier, to a sinister and deadly group with an unhealthy fascination for the unknowable alien Masters; but as the wider world of Magenta is threatened with an imminent crisis, Keon finds himself in a dilemma: do his duty and stand with his team to expose a villainous crime, or sacrifice them all for the truth about his wife?

Gollancz

Terry Pratchett's Discworld Imaginarium

Paul Kidby
Authors:
Paul Kidby
Gollancz

Austral

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Exodus

Alex Lamb
Authors:
Alex Lamb

The Photurians - a hivemind of sentient AIs and machines - were awakened by humanity as part of a complex political trap. But they broke free, evolved, and now the human race is almost finished. Once we spanned dozens of star systems; now only four remain, and Earth is being evacuated.But the Photes can infect us, and among the thousands rescued from our home world may be enemy agents. Tiny colonies struggle to house the displaced. Our warships are failing. The end of humanity has come.But on a distant planet shielded from both humanity and the Photurians, one hope may still live. The only person who might be able to intervene. The roboteer. He is trapped in a hell of his own making, and does not know he is needed. And so a desperate rescue mission is begun. But can he be reached in time? Or will he be the last remnant of humanity in the universe?

Gollancz

Slow Bullets

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds
Orion

The Massacre of Mankind

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Northland Trilogy

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Behemoth

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Destiny's Children

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Time's Tapestry

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Includes all four novels: Emperor, Conqueror, Navigator, WeaverCollected for the first time in one complete volume.An epic series of counter-factual historical thrillers with a plot that weaves a story over a thousand years in the making. From the decline of the Roman Empire and the emergence of Britain to the discovery of America and the modern world of World War Two, follow the threads of this superb alternate history.

Gollancz

Obelisk

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

A remarkable collection of short fiction from one of our greatest SF authors, including two brand new short stories. This collection contains stories set in the universe of the bestselling duology PROXIMA and ULTIMA, which expand on the characters and worlds of that series. There are also a selection of alternate histories and possible futures, echoing Baxter's work with Terry Pratchett on the LONG EARTH series. Confirms Stephen Baxter's place as one of the greatest practitioners of the SF short story.

Gollancz

Xeelee Sequence

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Beginning with RAFT in 1991, Stephen Baxter's epic sequence of Xeelee novels introduced readers to perhaps the most ambitious fictitious universe ever created. Beginning with the rise and fall of sub-quantum civilisations in the first nano-seconds after the Big Bang and ending with the heat death of the universe billions of years from now the series charts the story of mankind's epic war against the ancient and unknowable alien race the Xeelee.Along the way it examines questions of physics, the nature of reality, the evolution of mankind and its possible future. It looks not just at the morality of war but at the morality of survival and our place in the universe.This is a landmark in SF. And now, for the first time, all ten titles comprising the Xeelee sequence are collected together in one volume. Includes: Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux, Ring, Coalescent, Exultant, Transcendent, Resplendent, Vacuum Diagrams, Xeelee: Endurance

Gollancz

The Medusa Chronicles

Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter

Inspired by Sir Arthur C. Clarke's short story A Meeting with Medusa, this novel, with permission from the Clarke Estate, continues the story of Commander Howard Falcon over centuries of space-exploration, interaction with AI, first contact and beyond. All brought to life by two of our greatest SF authors, Stephen Baxter and Alastair Reynolds.Howard Falcon almost lost his life in an accident . . . and a combination of human ingenuity and technical expertise brought him back. Not as himself, but as an augmented human: part man, part machine, and exceptionally capable.The Medusa Chronicles charts his journey through time, the changing interaction between humanity and our universe, and combined moments of incredible action with unparalleled exploration of and expansion into space. A compelling read from the beginning, this is classic SF which has appeal for readers who like Gravity and The Martian.

Gateway

Silverhair

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gateway

Longtusk

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Takes the story of the mammoths back into prehistory; 16,000 B.C.It is a time when the mammoths face the vicious intrusions into their world of the Lost - mankind. And it is up to Longtusk, the only Bull to feature in the great story cycle of the mammoths to lead them away to a new land, safe from the lost.

Gateway

Icebones

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gateway

Xeelee: Vacuum Diagrams

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Return to the eon-spanning and universe-crossing conflict between humanity and the unknowable alien Xeelee in this collection of stories, available in ebook for the first time!Baxter's future history, known as the Xeelee sequence, is an exemplar of the form: it comprises his first four novels - Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux and Ring - and these marvellous linked stories, as well as those in the new collection XEELEE: ENDURANCE.Contains 21 short stories, all set in the XEELEE universe.