Michael Bishop - Stolen Faces - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Stolen Faces

By Michael Bishop

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Muphormosy, a disease not unlike leprosy, has ravaged the first settlers on the planet Tezcatl. Generations later, their similarly emaciated descendants live in a compound where they are isolated from the planet's normal inhabitants. The new kommissar of the compound, Lucian Yeardance, cares for his charges and alleviates their suffering with the narcotic heartsease. despite the open revulsion the normal inhabitants show for the maimed men and women, Luican determines to find out what the dread disease really is. Still, he is unprepared for the appalling discovery he makes: except for the open lesions and missing limbs and digits, not one of the muphormers shows a sign of any disease.

Biographical Notes

Michael Bishop (1945 - )
Michael Bishop was born in 1945 in Lincoln, Nebraska. After receiving an MA in English from the University of Georgia, Bishop taught at the USAF Academy Preparatory School in Colorado, but soon began placing his short stories with the likes of Galaxy Science Fiction, If and The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. His first novel, A Funeral For The Eyes Of Fire, brought comparisons with Ursula K. Le Guin and James Tiptree, Jr and received a Nebula nomination. It was followed by a number of critically acclaimed works including BSFA Award-nominated Transfigurations, Arthur C. Clarke Award-nominated Ancient Of Days, and No Enemy But Time, for which he won the Nebula Award for Best Novel. Michael Bishop lives in Georgia, where he was writer-in-residence at LaGrange College until spring 2012.

For more information see www.sf-encyclopedia.com/entry/bishop_michael

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575122932
  • Publication date: 13 May 2013
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Shape Of Things To Come

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gollancz

Luna: Wolf Moon

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald
Gateway

The Cyborg and the Sorcerers

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans

The cyborg code-named "Slant" was sent out as an Independent Reconnaissance Unit during an interstellar war between Earth and its colonies. The fighting ended three hundred years ago, but Slant's computer does not admit this - he is compelled to carry on as if the war were still raging. Then he comes across a planet where his sensors register "gravitational anomalies." The computer interprets these as enemy weapons research. The local inhabitants call the anomalies "magic."

Gateway

Mind Candy

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gollancz

Empires: The First Battle

Gavin Deas
Authors:
Gavin Deas
Gollancz

Rig

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace

A fast-moving, filmic and violent SF thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Campbell. A meeting of The Road and Rogue Trooper. Barricade introduced artificial lifeform, Kenstibec. Steeple saw him reduced to the level of humanity. Now Kenstibec must fight his way to the home of the man who created him and the other Ficials. The man who tipped the world into war and sealed humanity's fate. Can Kenstibec win a future back for man?Jon Wallace has written a series of short, high-action yet thoughtful SF thrillers. Controversial yet full of dark humour these are rewarding SF thrillers that echo the pleasures of noir and bring a sharp new perspective to British SF.

Gollancz

Invisible Planets

Hannu Rajaniemi
Authors:
Hannu Rajaniemi

Hannu Rajaniemi exploded onto the SF scene in 2010 with the publication of his first novel The Quantum Thief. Acclaimed by fellow authors such as Charles Stross, Adam Roberts and Alastair Reynolds and brilliantly reviewed everywhere from Interzone to the Times and the Guardian he swiftly established a reputation as an author who could combine extraordinary cutting edge science with beautiful prose and deliver it all with wit, warmth and a delight in the fun of storytelling.It is exactly these qualities that are showcased in this his first collection of short stories. Drawn from antholgies and magazines and online publication and brought together in book form for the first time in this collection here is a collection of sixteen short stories that range from the lyrical to the bizarre, from the elegaic to the impish. It is a collection that shows one of the great new imaginations in SF having immense fun.

Orion

The City of Mirrors

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin

In life I was a scientist called Fanning.Then, in a jungle in Bolivia, I died.I died, and then I was brought back to life... Prompted by a voice that lives in her blood, the fearsome warrior known as Alicia of Blades is drawn towards to one of the great cities of The Time Before. The ruined city of New York. Ruined but not empty. For this is the final refuge of Zero, the first and last of The Twelve. The one who must be destroyed if mankind is to have a future.What she finds is not what she's expecting. A journey into the past.To find out how it all began.And an opponent at once deadlier and more human than she could ever have imagined.The Passage - soon to be an epic drama on Fox from writer Elizabeth Heldens and executive producer Ridley Scott.

Gollancz

Into Everywhere

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

Fish Tails

Sheri S. Tepper
Authors:
Sheri S. Tepper
Gollancz

Robot Overlords

Mark Stay
Authors:
Mark Stay

To find his father, one boy must defy an empire...Three years ago, Earth was conquered by a force of robots from a distant world. They have one rule:STAY IN YOUR HOMESStep outside and you get one warning before you're vaporised by a massive robot Sentry, or a crawling Sniper, or a flying Drone. That's if the vast Cube doesn't incinerate you first.But Sean Flynn is convinced that his father - an RAF pilot who fought in the war - is still alive. And when he and his gang figure out a way to break the robots' curfew, they begin an adventure that will pit them against the might of the ROBOT OVERLORDS.This fast-paced, thrilling novelisation is based on the hit British film starring Sir Ben Kingsley (IRON MAN THREE), Gillian Anderson (THE X-FILES) and Callan McAuliffe (THE GREAT GATSBY). A perfect companion to the movie, it expands on the story with additional action, characters, and a special peek behind the scenes.

Gateway

Michael G Coney SF Gateway Omnibus

Michael G. Coney
Authors:
Michael G. Coney
Gateway

Tarzan's Quest and Other Tales

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs

The son of a Civil War veteran, Edgar Rice Burroughs was a prolific writer for the early pulp magazines. Famous the world over as the creator of Tarzan - and in SF circles for his Martian tales featuring John Carter - Burroughs is a household name. This omnibus collects the final six tales of Tarzan of the Apes - the greatest pulp hero of all time: TARZAN'S QUEST, TARZAN THE MAGNIFICENT, TARZAN AND THE FORBIDDEN CITY, TARZAN AND THE FOREIGN LEGION, TARZAN AND THE MADMAN and TARZAN AND THE CASTAWAYS.

Gollancz

Wild Cards: Dead Man's Hand

George R.R. Martin, John J. Miller
Authors:
George R.R. Martin, John J. Miller

Chrysalis, the glass-skinned queen of the Joker underworld, has been found brutally murdered in her popular restaurant, the Crystal Palace.Now two men are out to find her killer - Jay Ackroyd, the Ace private detective who discovered her ruined body, and the vigilante archer known as The Yeoman, who has been framed for the crime.Their quest leads them on a nightmare journey of madness, violence, passion and intrigue that will forever alter the fate of those who contracted the Wild Card virus.Collaboratively written by George R. R. Martin and John J. Miller, this is both a gripping mystery and a chilling story of suspense.

Gollancz

Wild Cards: Ace in the Hole

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin
Gateway

The Iron Dream

Norman Spinrad
Authors:
Norman Spinrad
Gateway

Edmond Hamilton SF Gateway Omnibus

Edmond Hamilton
Authors:
Edmond Hamilton
Gateway

Deus X

Norman Spinrad
Authors:
Norman Spinrad
Gateway

Transfigurations

Michael Bishop
Authors:
Michael Bishop

In a clearing of the great forest of the planet Bosk Veld, a strange, ape-like species of alien, the Asadi, act out their almost-incomprehensible rituals, rainbow eyes flashing, spinning like pinwheels. Egon Chaney, in his anthropological study, "Death and Designation Among the Asadi" has shown how their life-style has apparently degenerated from a level of complex technological sophistication and devolved to a primal simplicity. Long after his disappearance in the forest, his daughter, Elegy Cather, comes to Bosk Veld to carry on his studies of the Asadi where he left off. With her is an intelligent ape, Kretzoi, physically adapted to resemble the aliens. Together with Thomas Benedict, Chaney's old partner, Elegy begins to unravel the enigma of the Asadi. As Kretzoi insinuates himself into their rituals, so we are drawn into what is perhaps the most convincing portrayal of the alien yet.