Michael Bishop - One Winter in Eden - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

One Winter in Eden

By Michael Bishop

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

One Winter in Eden contains the following tales:

"One Winter in Eden"
"Seasons of Belief"
"Cold War Orphans"
"The Yukio Mishima Cultural Association of Kudzu Valley, Georgia"
"Out of the Mouths of Olympus"
"Patriots"
"Collaborating"
"Within the Walls of Tyre"
"The Monkey's Bride"
"Vernalfest Morning"
"Saving Face"
"The Quickening"

Biographical Notes

Michael Bishop (1945 - )
Michael Bishop was born in 1945 in Lincoln, Nebraska. After receiving an MA in English from the University of Georgia, Bishop taught at the USAF Academy Preparatory School in Colorado, but soon began placing his short stories with the likes of Galaxy Science Fiction, If and The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. His first novel, A Funeral For The Eyes Of Fire, brought comparisons with Ursula K. Le Guin and James Tiptree, Jr and received a Nebula nomination. It was followed by a number of critically acclaimed works including BSFA Award-nominated Transfigurations, Arthur C. Clarke Award-nominated Ancient Of Days, and No Enemy But Time, for which he won the Nebula Award for Best Novel. Michael Bishop lives in Georgia, where he was writer-in-residence at LaGrange College until spring 2012.

For more information see www.sf-encyclopedia.com/entry/bishop_michael

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575123052
  • Publication date: 31 Jul 2013
  • Page count: 273
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Half a million years in the future, on a dead, war-ravaged world at the centre of the Galaxy, there is a mile-high statue of Michael Poole.Poole, born on Earth in the fourth millennium, was one of mankind's most influential heroes. He was not a warrior, not an emperor. He was an engineer, a builder of wormhole transit systems. But Poole's work would ultimately lead to a vast and destructive conflict, a million-year war between humanity and the enigmatic, powerful aliens known as the Xeelee. The Xeelee won, but at a huge cost. And, defeated in a greater war, the Xeelee eventually fled the universe. Most of them.A handful were left behind, equipped with time travel capabilities, their task to tidy up: to reorder history more to the Xeelee's liking. That million-year war with humankind was one blemish. It had to be erased. And in order to do that, a lone Xeelee was sent back in time to remove Michael Poole from history . . .

Gollancz

The Shape Of Things To Come

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gollancz

Luna: Wolf Moon

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald

Corta Helio, one of the five family corporations that rule the Moon, has fallen. Its riches are divided up among its many enemies, its survivors scattered. Eighteen months have passed.The remaining Helio children, Lucasinho and Luna, are under the protection of the powerful Asamoahs, while Robson, still reeling from witnessing his parent's violent deaths, is now a ward - virtually a hostage - of Mackenzie Metals. And the last appointed heir, Lucas, has vanished from the surface of the moon.Only Lady Sun, dowager of Taiyang, suspects that Lucas Corta is not dead, and - more to the point - that he is still a major player in the game. After all, Lucas always was a schemer, and even in death, he would go to any lengths to take back everything and build a new Corta Helio, more powerful than before. But Corta Helio needs allies, and to find them, the fleeing son undertakes an audacious, impossible journey - to Earth.In an unstable lunar environment, the shifting loyalties and political machinations of each family reach the zenith of their most fertile plots as outright war between the families erupts.

Gateway

The Cyborg and the Sorcerers

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans

The cyborg code-named "Slant" was sent out as an Independent Reconnaissance Unit during an interstellar war between Earth and its colonies. The fighting ended three hundred years ago, but Slant's computer does not admit this - he is compelled to carry on as if the war were still raging. Then he comes across a planet where his sensors register "gravitational anomalies." The computer interprets these as enemy weapons research. The local inhabitants call the anomalies "magic."

Gateway

Mind Candy

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans

Over the years, in a variety of venues, Lawrence Watt-Evans has turned his sharp, analytical, and slightly crazed mind to everything from weaponized poetry to why the Enterprise doesn't have seatbelts, and everyone from Jane Austen to Buffy Summers. Collected for the first time are twenty-three of these essays, discussing icons of comic books, television, novels, movies, and much more!

Gollancz

Empires: The First Battle

Gavin Deas
Authors:
Gavin Deas
Gollancz

Rig

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace

A fast-moving, filmic and violent SF thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Campbell. A meeting of The Road and Rogue Trooper. Barricade introduced artificial lifeform, Kenstibec. Steeple saw him reduced to the level of humanity. Now Kenstibec must fight his way to the home of the man who created him and the other Ficials. The man who tipped the world into war and sealed humanity's fate. Can Kenstibec win a future back for man?Jon Wallace has written a series of short, high-action yet thoughtful SF thrillers. Controversial yet full of dark humour these are rewarding SF thrillers that echo the pleasures of noir and bring a sharp new perspective to British SF.

Gollancz

Invisible Planets

Hannu Rajaniemi
Authors:
Hannu Rajaniemi
Orion

The City of Mirrors

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin
Gollancz

Into Everywhere

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

The Jackaroo, those enigmatic aliens who claim to have come to help, gave humanity access to worlds littered with ruins and scraps of technology left by long-dead client races. But although people have found new uses for alien technology, that technology may have found its own uses for people.The dissolute scion of a powerful merchant family, and a woman living in seclusion with only her dog and her demons for company, have become infected by a copies of a powerful chunk of alien code. Driven to discover what it wants from them, they become caught up in a conflict between a policeman allied to the Jackaroo and the laminated brain of a scientific wizard, and a mystery that spans light years and centuries. Humanity is about to discover why the Jackaroo came to help us, and how that help is shaping the end of human history.

Gollancz

Fish Tails

Sheri S. Tepper
Authors:
Sheri S. Tepper

In her 35th novel, science fiction master Sheri S. Tepper boldly weaves together the storylines of eleven of her previous works - from KING'S BLOOD FOUR (1983) to THE WATERS RISING (2010)In FISH TAILS, two of Tepper's beloved characters - Abasio and Xulai (A PLAGUE OF ANGELS and THE WATERS RISING) - and their children travel from village to village scattered across the sparsely populated land of Tingawa. They are searching for others who might be interested in adopting their sea-dwelling lifestyle.Along their journey they encounter strange visitors from the far-off world of Lom, characters from Tepper's nine-book True Game series of novels - Mavin Manyshaped, Jinian Star-eye, and Silkhands the Healer - all of whom have been gathered up by an interfering, time-traveling, rule-breaking do-gooder to do one last good dead on earth before its metamorphosis is complete. For the waters are rising and will soon engulf the entire planet, transforming it utterly and irrevocably.

Gollancz

Robot Overlords

Mark Stay
Authors:
Mark Stay
Gateway

Michael G Coney SF Gateway Omnibus

Michael G. Coney
Authors:
Michael G. Coney
Gateway

Tarzan's Quest and Other Tales

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs
Gollancz

Wild Cards: Dead Man's Hand

George R.R. Martin, John J. Miller
Authors:
George R.R. Martin, John J. Miller

Chrysalis, the glass-skinned queen of the Joker underworld, has been found brutally murdered in her popular restaurant, the Crystal Palace.Now two men are out to find her killer - Jay Ackroyd, the Ace private detective who discovered her ruined body, and the vigilante archer known as The Yeoman, who has been framed for the crime.Their quest leads them on a nightmare journey of madness, violence, passion and intrigue that will forever alter the fate of those who contracted the Wild Card virus.Collaboratively written by George R. R. Martin and John J. Miller, this is both a gripping mystery and a chilling story of suspense.

Gollancz

Wild Cards: Ace in the Hole

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin

The return of the famous shared-world superhero books created and edited by George R. R. Martin, author of A GAME OF THRONESDecades have passed since the first victims of the Wild Card virus appeared in public life. Transformed into Aces - with useful and remarkable powers - or Jokers - deformed and twisted - the virus has changed lives. But not all mutations are easily identified.As campaigners converge on Atlanta for the Democratic Party Convention, one man sets his final plan into motion. Gregg Hartmann, outwardly normal, polite and serious, is in fact secretly a sadistic murderer with terrible psychic abilities. He also has an insatiable lust for power.And what better hiding place is there than being in the race for the most protected, public and powerful role in the world? If Hartmann can secure the Democratic nomination, he may well become the President of the United States. But there are those who would stop him ...Edited by George R. R. Martin with assistance from Melinda M. Snodgrass, this mosaic novel also contains work from Victor Milan, Walter Jon Williams, Walton Simons and Stephen Leigh.

Gateway

The Iron Dream

Norman Spinrad
Authors:
Norman Spinrad

Norman Spinrad's 1972 alternate history, gives us both a metafictional what-if novel and a cutting satire of one of the 20th century's most evil regimes . . .In 1919, a young Austrian artist by the name of Adolf Hitler immigrated to the United States to become an illustrator for the pulp magazines and, eventually, a Hugo Award-winning SF author.This volume contains his greatest work, Lord of the Swastika: an epic post-apocalyptic tale of genetic 'trueman' Feric Jagger and his quest to purify the bloodline of humanity by ruthlessly slaughtering races of the genetically impure - a quest Norman Spinrad expertly skewers through ironic imagery and over-the-top rhetoric.Spinrad hoped to expose some unpalatable truths about much of SF and Fantasy literature and its uncomfortable relationship with fascist ideologies - an aim that was not always apparent to neo-fascist readers. In order to make his aims clear to the hard-of-understanding, Spinrad added an imaginary critical analysis by a fictional literary scholar, Homer Whipple, of New York University.

Gateway

Edmond Hamilton SF Gateway Omnibus

Edmond Hamilton
Authors:
Edmond Hamilton
Gateway

Deus X

Norman Spinrad
Authors:
Norman Spinrad

Can human consciousness exist within the framework of an electronic "brain" and still maintain its humanity? In DEUS X, a dying priest's consciousness is uploaded into the most advanced computer of the day - and what ensues is a thought-provoking, entertaining and overly intriguing clash between the various characters surrounding the experiment, a female Pope and a computer guru who'd rather be sailing and smoking pot, for example.

Gateway

Transfigurations

Michael Bishop
Authors:
Michael Bishop