Jack Womack - Random Acts of Senseless Violence - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575132313
    • Publication date:10 Oct 2013
Books in this series

Random Acts of Senseless Violence

By Jack Womack

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A startling post-cyberpunk thriller from the PHILIP K. DICK AWARD-winning author of ELVISSEY.

It's just a little later than now and Lola Hart is writing her life in a diary. She's a nice middle-class girl on the verge of her teens who schools at the calm end of town.

A normal, happy, girl.

But in a disintegrating New York she is a dying breed. War is breaking out on Long Island, the army boys are flamethrowing the streets, five Presidents have been assassinated in a year. No one notices any more. Soon Lola and her family must move over to the Lower East side - Loisaida - to the Pit and the new language of violence of the streets.

The metamorphosis of the nice Lola Hart into the new model Lola has begun ...

Biographical Notes

Jack Womack was born in Kentucky in 1956 but currently lives in New York City. In addition to his writing, he has worked in publicity for a number of major US publishers such as HarperCollins and Orbit. Exploring themes such as urban breakdown, racial tension and class wars, the city of New York plays a large part in the post-Cyberpunk, near-future setting of his novels. He won the 1993 PHILIP K. DICK AWARD with ELVISSEY and has the distinction of being William Gibson's favourite author.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575132306
  • Publication date: 10 Oct 2013
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Orion

Guess Who?

Chris McGeorge
Authors:
Chris McGeorge

At eleven years old, Morgan Sheppard solved the murder of his Maths teacher when everyone else believed it to be a suicide.Twenty-five years later...Morgan Sheppard wakes up handcuffed to a bed in an unfamiliar hotel room, with five strangers waking up around him. In the bathroom - a corpse. One of the people in the room is the killer and Sheppard has three hours to solve the murder. If he doesn't find the killer, they all die. As everyone in the room panics, Sheppard starts to unravel an impossible case, where the real mystery might stretch all the way back to his childhood.

Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer? KISS THE GIRLS AND MAKE THEM DIE...A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals - the latest victim of 'The Lover'. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands - to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group. As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they're being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim - Clementine - firmly in his sights. Perfect for fans of The Cuckoo's Calling, The Girl Before and Rather Be The Devil. The thriller with twists you'll never see coming! * * * * *'My Little Eye is an enthralling, intriguing and twisty tale for all of us armchair detectives who think we know it all.' Liz Nugent, author of Lying In Wait and Unravelling Oliver'The first novel in what promises to be a riveting new series, My Little Eye is a one-sitting read: gripping, clever and worringly plausible.' - Mick Herron* * * * * What readers are saying about My Little Eye: 'This book is AMAZING!!!' Goodreads'Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' - Goodreads 'My Little Eye is a bang on psychological thriller of the most addictive kind.' Goodreads'Beautifully paced writing that had me speeding through every chapter at a rate of knots. Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' Goodreads

Gollancz

Sweet Dreams

Tricia Sullivan
Authors:
Tricia Sullivan

Charlie is a dreamhacker, able to enter your dreams and mould their direction. Forget that recurring nightmare about being naked at an exam - Charlie will step in to your dream, bring you a dressing gown and give you the answers. As far as she knows, she's the only person who can do this. Unfortunately, her power comes with one drawback - Charlie also has narcolepsy, and may fall asleep at the most inopportune moment.But in London 2022, her skill is in demand. And when she is hired by a minor celebrity - who also happens to be the new girlfriend of Charlie's lamented ex - who dreams of a masked Creeper then sleepwalks off a tall building, Charlie begins to realise that someone else might be able to invade dreams...

Gollancz

Blade Runner

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
W&N

Under the Harrow

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry

Winner of the Edgar Award for Best First Novel 2017When Nora takes the train from London to visit her sister in the Oxfordshire countryside, she expects to find her waiting at the station, or at home cooking dinner. But when she walks into Rachel's familiar house, what she finds is entirely different: her sister has been the victim of a brutal murder. Stunned and adrift, Nora finds she can't return to her former life. An unsolved assault in the past has shaken her faith in the police, and she can't trust them to find her sister's killer. Haunted by the murder and the secrets that surround it, Nora is under the harrow: distressed and in danger. As Nora's fear turns to obsession, she becomes as unrecognisable as the sister her investigation uncovers. A riveting psychological thriller, Under the Harrow explores the fierce love between two sisters and the terrifying power of the past.

Gollancz

The Switch

Justina Robson
Authors:
Justina Robson
Gollancz

Xeelee: Endurance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

S.N.U.F.F.

Victor Pelevin
Authors:
Victor Pelevin
W&N

Jemima Shore's First Case

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser
Gollancz

Vampire Most Wanted

Lynsay Sands
Authors:
Lynsay Sands
Gateway

Let's Put the Future Behind Us

Jack Womack
Authors:
Jack Womack

In the unfettered freedom of Russia's new-found venture-capital frenzy, Max Borodin can organise anything - so long as the readies are ready. That's why he's Moscow's most successful businessman.But Max's life has its downside: his wife, Tanya, nags him, his mistress, Sonya, exhausts him; his brother Evgeny needs him - to help extricate him from yet another shady business fiasco. Then there are always the country's friendly mafia, keen to lend a helping hand with the profits of Max's Universal Manufacturing Company - producer of documents, historical and otherwise, to suit every conceivable occasion.Satire rarely comes more sulphuric than this. Let's Put the Future Behind Us is the wittiest job of fictional surgery on New Russia since its iron curtain was amputated.

Gollancz

To Say Nothing of the Dog

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis
Gateway

Terraplane

Jack Womack
Authors:
Jack Womack
Gateway

Going Going Gone

Jack Womack
Authors:
Jack Womack
Gateway

Elvissey

Jack Womack
Authors:
Jack Womack

New York, 2033. A rebellious populace flocks to join the C of E - Church of Elvis. The Elvii have already formed schismatic groups: among them the Hosts of Memphis and the Shaken, Rattled and Rolled. Global corporation Dryco send their operative, Iz, back to 1954 to bring Elvis home to his adoring millions. But the America she finds is strangely altered, and so too is the King. At the Presley home Elvis - nineteen, acned, never recorded - stands over the blood-spattered body of his ma...

Gateway

Ambient

Jack Womack
Authors:
Jack Womack

You need to be rich to survive at all. But it's easier to be dead than poor.Twenty-first-century New York. It's a nightmare. Reaganomics has gone mad. There's murder and mutilation on the bombed-out streets and in the corporate conference rooms. Manhattan is a zoo. There's guerrilla war on Long Island.Seamus O'Malley is a bodyguard and assassin in the outrageously powerful Dryco organisation, and he's in deep trouble. Taking the job sounded like a good idea at the time. Falling in love with his employer's mistress, Avalon, probably wasn't so bright. Getting caught up in the Dryden family's crazy rivalries didn't help. Agreeing to murder the Old Man was plain stupid. And getting involved with the Ambients could only complicate matters further.Before long, O'Malley's on the run, and there's nowhere safe to hide.

Gateway

Heathern

Jack Womack
Authors:
Jack Womack

The year is 1998, and the nightmare is close at hand. The world economy has gone into a mega-crash. Most of the population has been plunged into abject poverty. Anarchy and violence stalk the streets. All power is in the hands of Dryco, headed by paranoid tycoon Thatcher Dryden, and his monstrous wife, Susie. But on the desperate streets of the Lower East Side miracles are happening. A Messiah seems to have risen from the people and is healing the sick, teaching children, raising the dead. Dryco's New Projects Manager, Joanna, is sent to check him out. Thatcher's got a plan for world domination, and a genuine Messiah could be the key he's looking for. And even if he's fake, he may have his uses. But soon, Joanna finds herself trapped in a crisis of conscience, between the relative security of a Dryco job and the dream of healing a sick world.

Gollancz

Doomsday Book

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis
Gollancz

The Fractal Prince

Hannu Rajaniemi
Authors:
Hannu Rajaniemi
Gollancz

Eve: Templar One

Tony Gonzales
Authors:
Tony Gonzales

The technology to download the consciousnesses of pilots into multiple clones, the Capsuleers, has finally delivered the dream of immortal soldiers. Train a soldier just once and then however many times he dies he will keep on getting more experienced, more battle toughened, as his brain is downloaded into a ready supply of cloned bodies.But no-one anticpated the effects of the multiple traumas, the multiple stresses of multiple lives and deaths on the battle field.War is hell. And now it can last forever for everyone.A fast-moving action-packed novel of interstellar war and high-tech combat, backed by massive cross promotion.