Jack Womack - Random Acts of Senseless Violence - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575132313
    • Publication date:10 Oct 2013
Books in this series

Random Acts of Senseless Violence

By Jack Womack

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A startling post-cyberpunk thriller from the PHILIP K. DICK AWARD-winning author of ELVISSEY.

It's just a little later than now and Lola Hart is writing her life in a diary. She's a nice middle-class girl on the verge of her teens who schools at the calm end of town.

A normal, happy, girl.

But in a disintegrating New York she is a dying breed. War is breaking out on Long Island, the army boys are flamethrowing the streets, five Presidents have been assassinated in a year. No one notices any more. Soon Lola and her family must move over to the Lower East side - Loisaida - to the Pit and the new language of violence of the streets.

The metamorphosis of the nice Lola Hart into the new model Lola has begun ...

Biographical Notes

Jack Womack was born in Kentucky in 1956 but currently lives in New York City. In addition to his writing, he has worked in publicity for a number of major US publishers such as HarperCollins and Orbit. Exploring themes such as urban breakdown, racial tension and class wars, the city of New York plays a large part in the post-Cyberpunk, near-future setting of his novels. He won the 1993 PHILIP K. DICK AWARD with ELVISSEY and has the distinction of being William Gibson's favourite author.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575132306
  • Publication date: 10 Oct 2013
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Orion

Thin Air

Richard Morgan
Authors:
Richard Morgan

Richard Morgan has always been one of our most successful SF authors with his fast-moving and brutal storylines, blistering plots and a powerful social conscience behind his work.And now he's back, with his first SF novel for eight years . . . and it promises to be a publication to remember.An ex-corporate enforcer, Hakan Veil, is forced to bodyguard Madison Madekwe, part of a colonial audit team investigating a disappeared lottery winner on Mars. But when Madekwe is abducted, and Hakan nearly killed, the investigation takes him farther and deeper than he had ever expected. And soon Hakan discovers the heavy price he may have to pay to learn the truth.

Orion

Xeelee: Redemption

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

From New York Times #1 bestselling author Brandon Sanderson comes a detective thriller in a police beat like no other. Anthony Davis and his partner Chaz are the only real people in a city of 20 million, sent there by court order to find out what happened in the real world 10 days ago so that hidden evidence can be brought to light and located in the real city today.Within the re-created Snapshot of May 1st, Davis and Chaz are the ultimate authorities. Flashing their badges will get them past any obstruction and overrule any civil right of the dupes around them. But the crimes the detectives are sent to investigate seem like drudgery - until they stumble upon the grisly results of a mass killing that the precinct headquarters orders them not to investigate. That's one order they have to refuse.The hunt is on. And though the dupes in the replica city have no future once the Snapshot is turned off, that doesn't mean that both Davis and Chaz will walk out of it alive tonight.

Gollancz

The Bastard Legion: War Criminals

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gateway

Land Under England

Joseph O'Neill
Authors:
Joseph O'Neill

While searching for his missing father, Anthony Julian embarks on a terrifying journey into the Earth's interior. There he discovers a subterranean world, where descendants of the Roman Army suffer under a totalitarian regime in which individualism is completely obliterated by telepathic means. Refusing to join this rigidly controlled society, Anthony must fight to save his father and find a route to the surface - or perish.First published in 1935, the genre-transcending political and psychological themes of Land Under England put it far ahead of its time.

W&N

Dinner at the Centre of the Earth

Nathan Englander
Authors:
Nathan Englander
Orion

The Wrong Side of Goodbye

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
W&N

The Mountain Between Us

Charles Martin
Authors:
Charles Martin
Gollancz

Xeelee: Endurance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Always Coming Home

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin

A long, long time from now, in the valleys of what will no longer be called Northern California, might be going to have lived a people called the Kesh. But Always Coming Home is not the story of the Kesh. Rather it is the stories of the Kesh - stories, poems, songs, recipes - Always Coming Home is no less than an anthropological account of a community that does not yet exist, a tour de force of imaginative fiction by one of modern literature's great voices.

Gollancz

Down Station

Simon Morden
Authors:
Simon Morden

A small group of commuters and tube workers witness a fiery apocalypse overtaking London. They make their escape through a service tunnel. Reaching a door they step through...and find themselves on a wild shore backed by cliffs and rolling grassland. The way back is blocked. Making their way inland they meet a man dressed in a wolf's cloak and with wolves by his side. He speaks English and has heard of a place called London - other people have arrived here down the ages - all escaping from a London that is burning. None of them have returned. Except one - who travels between the two worlds at will. The group begin a quest to find this one survivor; the one who holds the key to their return and to the safety of London.And as they travel this world, meeting mythical and legendary creatures,split between North and South by a mighty river and bordered by The White City and The Crystal Palace they realise they are in a world defined by all the London's there have ever been.Reminiscent of Michael Moorcock and Julian May this is a grand and sweeping science fantasy built on the ideas, the legends, the memories of every London there has ever been.

W&N

Your Royal Hostage

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser
Gollancz

The Raven's Shadow

Elspeth Cooper
Authors:
Elspeth Cooper
Orion

The Second Life of Amy Archer

R.S. Pateman
Authors:
R.S. Pateman

Every mother's nightmare just got worse... A tense, gripping psychological suspense novel for fans of S.J. Watson and Gillian Flynn's GONE GIRL.Ten years ago she disappeared without a trace... now she's back.On 31st December 1999, ten-year-old Amy Archer went missing from her local playground. Her body was never found and the lives of her parents, Beth and Brian, were torn apart.On the 10th anniversary of the disappearance, Beth is alone, still struggling with the enormity of her grief and the horror of not knowing the fate of her only child. But the fear and confusion have only just begun, and Beth's world is turned upside down when a stranger knocks on her door, claiming to know what happened to Amy. Beth is introduced to a little girl who is the uncanny double of her missing daughter, who knows things that only Amy would remember: the name of her favourite toy, the place where she scratched her initials, what Beth likes for breakfast. But this can't be Amy, she hasn't aged a day...Now Beth is forced to question everything she has ever believed in, and push her faith and her sanity to the limits, if she is to find out the truth about what happened to Amy.

Gateway

Let's Put the Future Behind Us

Jack Womack
Authors:
Jack Womack
Gateway

Terraplane

Jack Womack
Authors:
Jack Womack
Gateway

Going Going Gone

Jack Womack
Authors:
Jack Womack

NEW YORK, NEW YORK... Walter Bullitt's New York, 1968. Part-time U.S. government provocateur and full-time hepcat, Walter isn't keen on the assignment his employers are trying to toss him - no need to mix with the Kennedys if you don't have to. ...SO GOOD THEY MADE IT TWICE He also hopes the ghosts he's been talking to lately are only a side-effect of the recreational drugs. Then two women from a different New York show up and tell him they aren't. Now, Walter saw When Worlds Collide but he never thought he'd be starring in the road show, especially when one world is his and the other is invisible - at the moment.

Gateway

Elvissey

Jack Womack
Authors:
Jack Womack
Gateway

Ambient

Jack Womack
Authors:
Jack Womack

You need to be rich to survive at all. But it's easier to be dead than poor.Twenty-first-century New York. It's a nightmare. Reaganomics has gone mad. There's murder and mutilation on the bombed-out streets and in the corporate conference rooms. Manhattan is a zoo. There's guerrilla war on Long Island.Seamus O'Malley is a bodyguard and assassin in the outrageously powerful Dryco organisation, and he's in deep trouble. Taking the job sounded like a good idea at the time. Falling in love with his employer's mistress, Avalon, probably wasn't so bright. Getting caught up in the Dryden family's crazy rivalries didn't help. Agreeing to murder the Old Man was plain stupid. And getting involved with the Ambients could only complicate matters further.Before long, O'Malley's on the run, and there's nowhere safe to hide.

Gollancz

Shakespeare's Counselor

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris