Ben Aaronovitch - Broken Homes - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575132498
    • Publication date:25 Jul 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409126805
    • Publication date:25 Jul 2013
Books in this series

Broken Homes

The Fourth Rivers of London novel

By Ben Aaronovitch

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Audio sample
From the author of RIVERS OF LONDON - the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling PC Peter Grant series returns with something dark south of the river...

Ben Aaronovitch has stormed the bestseller list with his superb London crime series. A unique blend of police procedural, loving detail about the greatest character of all, London, and a dash of the supernatural.

A mutilated body in Crawley. Another killer on the loose. The prime suspect is one Robert Weil - an associate of the twisted magician known as the Faceless Man? Or just a common garden serial killer?

Before PC Peter Grant can get his head round the case, a town planner going under a tube train and a stolen grimoire are adding to his case-load.

So far so London.

But then Peter gets word of something very odd happening in Elephant and Castle, on an housing estate designed by a nutter, built by charlatans and inhabited by the truly desperate.

Is there a connection?

And if there is, why oh why did it have to be South of the River?

Full of warmth, sly humour and a rich cornucopia of things you never knew about London, Aaronovitch's series has swiftly added Grant's magical London to Rebus' Edinburgh and Morse's Oxford as a destination of choice for those who love their crime with something a little extra.

Biographical Notes

Ben Aaronovitch was born and raised in London and all his work has reflected his abiding fascination and love for what he modestly likes to refer to as the Capital of the World. He worked as a bookseller before writing tie-in novels and TV scripts. He used to write for DOCTOR WHO.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575132481
  • Publication date: 08 May 2014
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

Dark Forge

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

Gollancz

Cold Iron

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

Orion

25 Days Till Christmas

Poppy Alexander
Authors:
Poppy Alexander

A contemporary, emotional, but ultimately feel-good, festive up-lit novel for fans of Jenny Colgan, Debbie Johnson, and Holly Martin.Kate Potter used to love Christmas. A few years ago she would have been wrapping her presents in September and baking mince pies on Halloween, counting down to the countdown to Christmas. But a few years ago, everything was different. That was before Kate's husband went away with the army and didn't come home. Now she can hardly stand December at all.Kate's lonely. She doesn't think she's ready for romance, but she needs more than this, and her son Jack needs a Christmas to remember. What Kate needs is a Christmas miracle, and if there isn't one on its way, she'll just have to make her own.So begins Kate's advent countdown to the best Christmas ever. She has it all planned out, but you can't plan for the unexpected, and when the path of the loneliest woman in town crosses with that of the loneliest man, she just might find a way to save Christmas for all of them...(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Orion

Lies Sleeping

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
W&N

RL's Dream

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Gollancz

The Dream Gatherer

Kristen Britain
Authors:
Kristen Britain

The Dream GathererDreams can be dangerous. A visit with the eccentric Berry sisters turns dangerous when an arcane device is discovered in their house that can summon dreamers through their dreams, and one of them is a nightmare.WishwindFinding peace during the Long War. Raised in an orphan camp, Green Rider Danalong has known only war and strife, until a shipwreck leaves him stranded on a mysterious island.Linked, on the Lake of SoulsA story of friendship within a story of friendship. In the sixth volume of the Green Rider series, Firebrand, a wounded Karigan G'ladheon asks her friend Estral to tell her a story to take her mind off her pain. This is that story.This collection includes illustrations, backstory on the creation of Green Rider by Kristen Britain, and a special introduction by award-winning science fiction and fantasy author, Julie E. Czerneda.

Gollancz

Empress of all Seasons

Emiko Jean
Authors:
Emiko Jean
W&N

An Unreliable Man

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder

From the creative genius of Jostein Gaarder, author of modern classic Sophie's World, comes a novel about loneliness and the power of words Jakop is a lonely man. Divorced from his wife, with no friends apart from his constant companion Pelle, he spends his life attending the funerals of people he doesn't know, obscuring his identity in a web of improbable lies. As his addiction spirals out of control, he is forced to reconcile his love of language and stories with the ever more urgent need for human connection. An Unreliable Man is a moving and thought-provoking novel about loneliness and truth, about seeking a place in the world, and about how storytelling gives our lives meaning.Decades after his global bestseller Sophie's World, Jostein Gaarder has written a poignant and funny book for our times - full of life and hope.Praise for Sophie's World'A TOUR DE FORCE' Time'EXTRAORDINARY' Newsweek'A UNIQUE POPULAR CLASSIC' The Times'A SIMPLY WONDERFUL, IRRESISTIBLE BOOK' Daily Telegraph

Gateway

The Second Great Dune Trilogy

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert
Orion

The Dream Wife

Louisa de Lange
Authors:
Louisa de Lange
Orion Spring

Wicca

Harmony Nice
Authors:
Harmony Nice

To me, Wicca will always be about experiencing the earth, working with what you can find and practising the craft for its true meaning. It promotes equality in all and has brought me many benefits: acceptance, kindness and self-love.Harmony Nice is at the heart of a growing community of modern-day wiccans who practise natural magic to improve their own lives and the world around them. In Wicca she encourages you to explore the positive impact that ritual, meditation and embracing nature can have on your creativity, confidence and sense of self-worth.Discover how to cast spells, start your own Book of Shadows, join a coven and feel empowered to follow a path that feels good and true to you.

Gollancz

The Caged Queen

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli

WHAT WOULD YOU SACRIFICE FOR LOVE? DEATH-DEFYING, WORLD-ALTERING LOVE?Roa and her sister Essie were born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. It was a magic they cherished - until the terrible day Essie died and her soul was trapped in this world.Dax, the heir to the throne of Firgaard, was responsible. Roa swore she would never forgive him - yet when he came begging for her help to dethrone his cruel father, Roa made him a deal. She'd give him the army he needed if he made her queen.Now she is royalty, but an outlander; far from home and married to her enemy. And even after everything she has sacrificed, Dax's promises go unfulfilled. Roa's people still suffer.Then a chance to right every wrong arises - an opportunity for Roa to rid herself of this enemy king and rescue her beloved sister. During the Relinquishing, when the spirits of the dead are said to return, Roa can reclaim her sister for good. All she has to do is kill the king. . . The Caged Queen takes readers back to the lush, immersive world of The Last Namsara with a stunning story about the unbreakable bond between two sisters and the sacrifices we make for love.

Orion

Depth of Winter

Craig Johnson
Authors:
Craig Johnson
W&N

The Lightkeeper's Daughters

Jean Pendziwol
Authors:
Jean Pendziwol

LONGLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN 2018*** A RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK ***Elizabeth grew up in a lighthouse, inseparable from her enigmatic twin sister Emily. Their father, the lightkeeper, kept a journal of his observations and their daily life. When those journals are discovered on a shipwrecked boat, many decades later, Elizabeth is living in a retirement home and her eyesight is failing. She enlists the help of a troubled teenager, Morgan, to read to her, and an unlikely friendship grows between the two. But as Morgan reads on, Elizabeth discovers that the past revealed is not as she remembers it, and that the journal may contain answers to unexplained events that have haunted her all her life . . .

Orion

The House of Shadows

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams

'Downton fans will love the elegance, intrigue and drama of The House of Shadows' - Yours The final compelling historical saga concluding a trilogy that began with Storms of War and The Edge of the Fall, from popular TV historian and critically-acclaimed author Kate Williams. Celia De Witt is half-German, half-English and heir to her family's vast fortune. But it is 1929, the world is changing and her life seems less secure than ever. A shocking revelation from her father sends her far from England and the life she knew and headlong into New York, a city brimming with money and promise. Celia sets about saving the family firm by creating an innovative new range of convenience foods for the new generation of independent young women. But she also has other plans. The son she thought was dead is in America and the man she once thought she loved is nearby - but if she opens the Pandora's Box of the past, she may find other secrets will escape... As the shadow of war once again threatens to fall across Europe, Celia is determined to save those she loves, even if it comes at the highest price...'A beautifully conjured family saga. Fans of Downton Abbey will love it' - Alison Weir'This terrific saga comes with a fascinating twist ... Williams has a gift for showing how great movements in history affect the lives of people caught up in them' The Times'Brilliant - a passionate and poignant story of a glittering family on the precipice of a vanished world ... a must-read' Lisa Hilton

Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

From New York Times #1 bestselling author Brandon Sanderson comes a detective thriller in a police beat like no other. Anthony Davis and his partner Chaz are the only real people in a city of 20 million, sent there by court order to find out what happened in the real world 10 days ago so that hidden evidence can be brought to light and located in the real city today.Within the re-created Snapshot of May 1st, Davis and Chaz are the ultimate authorities. Flashing their badges will get them past any obstruction and overrule any civil right of the dupes around them. But the crimes the detectives are sent to investigate seem like drudgery - until they stumble upon the grisly results of a mass killing that the precinct headquarters orders them not to investigate. That's one order they have to refuse.The hunt is on. And though the dupes in the replica city have no future once the Snapshot is turned off, that doesn't mean that both Davis and Chaz will walk out of it alive tonight.

Gateway

Raft

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
W&N

Time is a Killer

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
Gollancz

Jerry Cornelius: His Lives and His Times

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
W&N

Night Soldiers

Alan Furst
Authors:
Alan Furst