Jeff Lindsay - Dexter In The Dark - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409117292
    • Publication date:19 Mar 2009

Dexter In The Dark

By Jeff Lindsay

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

No rest for the wicked - the serial killer with a heart is back . . .

No rest for the wicked - the serial killer with a heart is back . . .

Dexter Morgan is busy planning his wedding to Rita to complete his nice-guy disguise.

But when a student is found burnt, molested and headless - seemingly sacrificed to an ancient god - and Dex is brought in as forensic analyst to help investigate, he realises he could be dealing with someone a whole lot more sinister than he is. Soon it seems the dark passenger in Dexter's head has gone into hiding. And when something creeps out your friendly neighbourhood serial killer, you know it's serious . . .

As Halpern and Dexter are stalked by death, it looks like it's getting personal - especially as Dex now has a family to protect. Gradually, Dexter realises his stepchildren might share his extracurricular interest in death. Could he help them target their bloodlust, just as he steers his own? But to do that, Dex must cope with a certain mutilated sergeant from his past, and more importantly . . . stay alive . . .

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752881607
  • Publication date: 24 Jul 2008
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Orion
Dark humour at its creepy best — DAILY EXPRESS
Orion

What Lies Buried

Margaret Kirk
Authors:
Margaret Kirk
W&N

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti

In a quiet village surrounded by centuries-old woods and the imposing Italian Alps, a series of violent assaults take place. Police inspector and profiler Teresa Battaglia is called back from the city when the first body is found in the woods, a naked man whose face has been disfigured and eyes gouged out. Teresa quickly realises that the killer intends to strike again, and soon more victims are found - all having been subjected to horrendous mutilations. When a new-born baby is kidnapped, Teresa's investigation becomes a race against the clock...But Teresa is also fighting a different kind of battle: a battle against her own body, weighed down by age and diabetes, and her mind, once invincible and now slowly gnawing away at her memory...Something devastating has taken place here in these mountains. Something that requires all my investigative abilities. My name is Teresa Battaglia, I am a police chief inspector, specialised in profiling, and I walk through hell every day. It's not my gun, nor my uniform: my real weapon is my mind. Yet my mind is failing me. Not my body, weathered by the passing of time, nor my tormented heart. My name is Teresa Battaglia, I have a secret that I dare not reveal even to myself, and for the first time in my life I am afraid".Read by Anna Bentinck(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

Orion

The New Iberia Blues

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke
W&N

Down the River Unto the Sea

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
W&N

Don't Let Go

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
Orion

Broken Promise

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Found

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben

Following SHELTER and SECONDS AWAY - the gripping new Mickey Bolitar YA thriller from the internationally bestselling master of suspense.It's been eight months since Mickey Bolitar witnessed the tragic death of his father. Eight months of lies, dark secrets and unanswered questions. While he desperately wants answers, Mickey's sophomore year of high school brings on a whole new set of troubles. Spoon is in hospital, Rachel won't tell him where he stands, his basketball teammates hate him . . . and then there's Ema's surprise announcement: she has an online boyfriend and he's vanished.As he's searching for Ema's missing boyfriend (who may not even exist!), Mickey also gets roped into helping his nemesis, Troy Taylor, with a big problem. All the while, Mickey and his friends are pulled deeper into the mysteries surrounding the Abeona Shelter, risking their lives to find the answers - until the shocking climax, where Mickey finally comes face-to-face with the truth about his father.

Orion

Dexter Is Dead

Jeff Lindsay
Authors:
Jeff Lindsay
Orion

The Stranger

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben

The Stranger appears out of nowhere, perhaps in a bar, or a parking lot, or at the grocery store. His identity is unknown. His motives are unclear. His information is undeniable. Then he whispers a few words in your ear and disappears, leaving you picking up the pieces of your shattered world.Adam Price has a lot to lose: a comfortable marriage to a beautiful woman, two wonderful sons, and all the trappings of the American Dream: a big house, a good job, a seemingly perfect life.Then he runs into the Stranger. When he learns a devastating secret about his wife, Corrine, he confronts her, and the mirage of perfection disappears as if it never existed at all. Soon Adam finds himself tangled in something far darker than even Corrine's deception, and realizes that if he doesn't make exactly the right moves, the conspiracy he's stumbled into will not only ruin lives - it will end them...

Orion

The Black Echo

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Dexter's Final Cut

Jeff Lindsay
Authors:
Jeff Lindsay
Orion

Missing You

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben

From SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author Harlan Coben, a heart-pounding thriller about the ties we have to our past ... and the lies that bind us together.It's a profile, like all the others on the online dating site. But as NYPD Detective Kat Donovan focuses on the accompanying picture, she feels her whole world explode, as emotions she's ignored for decades come crashing down on her. Staring back at her is her ex-fiancé Jeff, the man who shattered her heart 18 years ago.Kat feels a spark, wondering if this might be the moment when past tragedies recede and a new world opens up to her. But when she reaches out to the man in the profile, her reawakened hope quickly darkens into suspicion and then terror as an unspeakable conspiracy comes to light, in which monsters prey upon the most vulnerable.As Kat's hope for a second chance with Jeff grows more and more elusive, she is consumed by an investigation that challenges her feelings about everyone she ever loved - her former fiancé, her mother, and even her father, whose cruel murder so long ago has never been fully explained. With lives on the line, including her own, Kat must venture deeper into the darkness than she ever has before, and discover if she has the strength to survive what she finds there.

Orion

Six Years

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben

A lost love... and the secrets and lies at its heart. The stunning novel from No.1 bestseller Harlan Coben.Six years have passed since Jake Fisher watched Natalie, the love of his life, marry another man. Six years of hiding a broken heart by throwing himself into his career. Six years of keeping his promise to leave Natalie alone, and six years of tortured dreams of her life with her new husband, Todd.But six years haven't come close to extinguishing his feelings, and when Jake comes across Todd's obituary, he can't keep himself away from the funeral. There he gets the glimpse of Todd's wife he's hoping for... but she is not Natalie - and Jake's world is turned completely inside out.As Jake searches for the truth, his picture-perfect memories of Natalie begin to unravel. Mutual friends of the couple either can't be found or don't remember Jake. No one has seen Natalie in years. Jake's search for the woman who broke his heart - and who lied to him - soon puts his very life at risk as it dawns on him that the man he has become may be based on carefully constructed fiction.

W&N

The Gillian Flynn Collection

Gillian Flynn
Authors:
Gillian Flynn
Orion

Seconds Away

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben
Orion

Stay Close

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben
Orion

Talking to the Dead

Harry Bingham
Authors:
Harry Bingham

A crime you'll always remember. A detective you'll never forget.A young girl is found dead. A prostitute is murdered. And the strangest, youngest detective in the South Wales Major Crimes Unit is about to face the fiercest test of her short career.A woman and her six-year-old daughter are killed with chilling brutality in a dingy flat. The only clue: the platinum bank card of a long-dead tycoon, found amidst the squalor.DC Griffiths has already proved herself dedicated to the job, but there's another side to her she is less keen to reveal. Something to do with a mysterious two-year gap in her CV, her strange inability to cry - and a disconcerting familiarity with corpses.Fiona is desperate to put the past behind her but as more gruesome killings follow, the case leads her back into those dark places in her own mind where another dead girl is waiting to be found...Praise for the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:'I have to say that in a lifetime of reading crime fiction I have never come across anyone quite like Fiona Griffiths . . . Read this book. Enjoy every syllable. Hold your breath, and tick off the weeks until the next one' Crime Fiction Lover'Compelling...a new crime talent to treasure' Daily Mail 'Gritty, compelling...a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year' USA Today 'With Detective Constable Fiona 'Fi' Griffiths, Harry Bingham...finds a sweet spot in crime fiction...think Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander...[or] Lee Child's Jack Reacher... The writing is terrific' The Boston Globe 'This cleverly plotted police procedural introduces a likeable, maverick detective destined for a bestseller following' ChoiceFans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Ann Cleeves will be gripped by the other titles in the Fiona Griffiths mystery series: 1. Talking to the Dead2. Love Story, With Murders3. The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths4. This Thing of Darkness5. The Dead House 6. The Deepest Grave (coming soon!)If you're looking for a crime thriller series to keep you hooked, then go no further: you've just found it.** Each Fiona Griffiths thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order **

Orion

The Guardians

Andrew Pyper
Authors:
Andrew Pyper
Orion

Double Dexter

Jeff Lindsay
Authors:
Jeff Lindsay
W&N

Valdez is Coming

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

No writer chronicles the battles of misfits, underdogs and renegades like Elmore Leonard ...VALDEZ IS COMING is a stunning stale of morality and justice in which a simple, honest man is transformed into a killer - and begins a long journey of revenge against those who scarred his soul for ever.Elmore Leonard's Western novels stand as some of the most vivid writing of his career. With all of his trademark sharp dialogue and set against a beautifully evoked landscape, this is a classic work that captures the wild and glorious spirit of the American West.