Boris Akunin - The Diamond Chariot - Orion Publishing Group

The Diamond Chariot

Erast Fandorin 10

By Boris Akunin

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A stunning and epic finale to the series, pitting Fandorin against both Ninjas and terrorists on the Trans-Siberian Express!

A stunning and epic finale to the series, pitting Fandorin against both Ninjas and terrorists on the Trans-Siberian Express!

The first of the interlinked plotlines is set in Russia during the Russo-Japanese War in 1905. Fandorin is charged with protecting the Trans-Siberian Railway from Japanese sabotage in a pacy adventure filled with double agents and ticking bombs.

Then we travel back to the Japan of the late 1870s. This is the story of Fandorin's arrival and life in Yokohama, his first meeting with Masa and the martial arts education that came in so handy later. He investigates the death of a Russian ship-captain, fights for a woman, exposes double-agents in the Japanese police, fights against, and then with the ninjas, and becomes embroiled in a shocking finale that interweaves the two stories and ties up the series as a whole.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780753828199
  • Publication date: 27 Sep 2012
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: W&N
The most playful, ingenious historical thriller series in modern publishing — Guardian
Boris Akunin shows how it should be done ... an absurdly imaginative story, surreal and comic ... irresistible — The Times
A witty, rip-roaring thrill-fest — Time Out
Ingeniously plotted, racily written and wryly observed — Financial Times
The most playful, ingenious historical thriller series in modern publishing — Guardian
Boris Akunin shows how it should be done ... an absurdly imaginative story, surreal and comic ... irresistible — The Times
As past and present converge the finale is unforgettable. — THE DAILY EXPRESS
W&N

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

She Lover Of Death

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

He Lover of Death

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

Akunin goes noir as Fandorin meets bandits!Senka Skorikov, orphan and urchin, has been abandoned to the murky world of Moscow's gangster district. While picking a pocket or two, he glimpses the most beautiful woman he has ever seen, and joins the gang of her overlord lover, The Prince, so desperate he is to meet her. Senka climbs the criminal ranks, uncovering a stash of precious metal, and gradually capturing the heart of his beloved Death - so named for the life expectancy of her lovers. But as the bandit community balks at his success on both fronts, threats on his life begin to pour in . A dandy and his 'Chinese' sidekick seem to be taking an inordinate interest in Senka's welfare, and it becomes clear that those threatening Senka are linked to a spate of murders, grizzly even by underworld standards. Fandorin must unweave a tangled web of narcotics, false identities and organised crime - but can he survive an encounter with the ever-alluring Death unscathed? Find out in the darkest Fandorin to date!

W&N

The Death of Achilles

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

Murder on the Leviathan

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

The Winter Queen

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

'Think Tolstoy writing James Bond with the logical rigour of Sherlock Holmes. A hoot' GuardianThe first book in the internationally bestselling Erast Fandorin Mysteries series.Moscow 1876. A young law student commits suicide in broad daylight in Moscow's Alexander Gardens. But this is no ordinary death, for the young man was the son of an influential industrialist and has left a considerable fortune.Erast Fandorin, a hotheaded new recruit to the Criminal Investigation Department, is assigned to the case. Brilliant, young, and sophisticated, Fandorin embarks on an investigation that will take him from the palatial mansions of Moscow to the seedy backstreets of London in his hunt for the conspirators behind this mysterious death.'A sparkling romp of a story' TLS'An effectively concocted story' Independent'Very fast-moving and enjoyable' Crime Time'In Russia Boris Akunin is roughly the counterpart of John Grisham... The Winter Queen is as delicate and elegant as a Fabergé egg' TimeWhat readers are saying about the Erast Fandorin Mysteries:'I loved it... I just couldn't put it down!' My book Obsession'A delightful mystery/adventure! There's a dark twist at the end that has me anxious to continue in this series' Neil on Goodreads (five stars)'Ultimately, the overall success of The Winter Queen is due to the vibrancy of its setting, the cleanness of its prose and the magnetism of its protagonist... Odds seem good that Akunin will be the next detective to capture readers' fancy en masse. If so, it will only be a matter of time before the entire Fandorin Cycle is translated -- the sooner, the better' Sarah Weinman, January Magazine 'These books are a fun, riotous read that you don't want to put down until you've completed each and every one of them' Jill on Goodreads (five stars)'The conclusion is shocking and this reader can't wait to delve into the next in the series' A Writer's Jumble'Nail-biter all the way through!' Corin on Goodreads (five stars)A page-turning delight perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Hercule Poirot and the Russian literary greats.

W&N

The Coronation

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

Pelagia And The Red Rooster

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

The next caper in the Sister Pelagia mystery from the bestselling author of THE WINTER QUEEN.Returning from the Synod in St Petersburg - and an official rebuke of her crime-fighting ways - Sister Pelagia finds herself aboard a steamer dodging pickpockets, zealots and a sinister man with a detachable eye.But a brutal murder in the next cabin spells the end of her sleuthing retirement, and the start of an investigation that will take her to the Holy Land and far beyond.Pelagia's journey is peppered with tales of miracles and roosters, and caves that act as portals to other worlds. But an assassin is closing in, pursuing the sister to the land of the Gospels where her criminal enquiry becomes a spiritual enquiry as she sets down her knitting needles to question the very foundations of her faith...

W&N

The State Counsellor

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

Pelagia And The Black Monk

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

Sister Pelagia, bespectacled, freckled, woefully clumsy and possessed of a not very nunnish aptitude for solving crimes, returns in a tale of monastic intrigue, murder and adventure.Just as the dust from the case of the White Bulldog begins to settle in the small Russian town of Zavolzhsk, its sleepy rural existence is shaken up once again by the arrival of a desperately frightened monk who seeks the help of the bishop, Mitrofanii.The monks have been troubled by visions of a dark, hooded figure that appears to walk on the waters of the vast Blue Lake surrounding their monastery. Sceptical of ghost stories, Mitrofanii sends first his clever young ward, then two of his most trusted advisors, to investigate the mystery. All meet with unexpected fates.Finally Sister Pelagia takes matters into her own hands and, adopting a number of ingenious disguises, she ventures across the Blue Lake in search of answers. As she delves deeper into the layers of secrecy that cloak the islanders, and as the body count continues to rise, Pelagia begins to realise that an encounter with a ghost may be the least of her problems...

W&N

Special Assignments

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

Boris Akunin's well-loved, inimitable hero faces two very different adversaries: one, a deft, comedic swindler and master of disguise, whose machinations send ripples spreading through the carefully maintained calm of Moscow in 1886. The other is a brutal serial killer, driven by an insane, maniacal obsession, who strikes terror into the heart of the Moscow slums in 1889 - and who may have more in common with London's own Jack the Ripper than simply a taste for women of easy virtue.

W&N

Pelagia and the White Bulldog

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

Turkish Gambit

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

A.C. Grayling

A.C. Grayling is Master of the New College of the Humanities, and a Supernumerary Fellow of St Anne's College, Oxford. Until 2011 he was Professor of Philosophy at Birkbeck College, University of London. He is the author of numerous books, and is also a distinguished literary journalist and broadcaster. He has been a columnist for the Guardian and The Times, is a Contributing Editor of Prospect magazine, and Editor of Online Review London. He is a Fellow of both the Royal Society of Literature and the Royal Society of Arts. His website can be visited at www.acgrayling.com.

A.P. McCoy

Born in County Antrim in 1974, A. P. McCoy rode his first winner in 1992. In 1996, he was crowned champion jockey for the first time, and he has held the title ever since. He received an OBE in 2010, a year after riding his 3,000th winner, and he was the first jockey to be named BBC Sports Personality of the Year. He lives with his wife, Chanelle, and children, Eve and Archie, in Berkshire. Follow on Twitter at https://twitter.com/AP_McCoy

Alan Bradley

Alan Bradley was born into a family of storytellers who never stopped talking about the old days 'back home' in England - for which he is eternally grateful. He is a former professor at the University of Saskatchewan, where he lectured on screen writing. Alan is the author of a memoir, THE SHOEBOX BIBLE in addition to the bestselling Flavia de Luce series. He lives with his wife, Shirley, in the Isle of Man.To find out more, visit www.flaviadeluce.com.

Alex Scarrow

Alex Scarrow lives a nomadic existence with his wife Frances and his son Jacob, their current home being Norwich. He spent the first ten years out of college in the music business chasing record deals and the next 12 years in the computer games industry. nd out more at www.scarrow.co.uk.

Arturo Perez-Reverte

Arturo Perez Reverte lives near Madrid. Originally a war correspondent, he now writes fiction full time. His novels include THE FLANDERS PANEL, THE CLUB DUMAS, THE FENCING MASTER, THE SEVILLE COMMUNION, THE NAUTICAL CHART, THE QUEEN OF THE SOUTH and the bestselling CAPTAIN ALATRISTE series. In 2003 he was elected to the Spanish Royal Academy. His website can be visited at www.perez-reverte.com

Barbara Flynn

Barbara Flynn began acting in her native Hastings whilst at school, and since leaving drama school has worked steadily across stage, film and television, creating and sustaining some memorable television characters.

Ben Aaronovitch

Ben Aaronovitch is the author of the Sunday Times bestselling PC Peter Grant series of novels (Rivers of London, Moon Over Soho, Whispers Under Ground, Broken Homes, Foxglove Summer and the upcoming The Hanging Tree).He was born and raised in London, and his love for the city is reflected throughout the series. Ben has also previously written for television and worked as a bookseller.He still resides in London, and is currently working on his next novel. Find out more on his website www.the-folly.com, or follow him on Twitter @Ben_Aaronovitch.